The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Here Lies a Friend
Review(s): 57

Reviewer: slytherinatheartDate: 2006-10-13
Reviewid: 145704Chapter: 1
Amazing, in a sad way. Makes me want to cry.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-28
Reviewid: 140363Chapter: 1
A straight – well done. What can I say when you already know that you’re good? Try harder next time?? See. I`m not yelling I Love Jack. Those are only eccos.

Reviewer: 1SadFoolDate: 2006-01-13
Reviewid: 138473Chapter: 1
*tear*

.......
.........

Dammit.

Reviewer: EmerikaDate: 2005-12-23
Reviewid: 137628Chapter: 1
Bellatrix Lestrange! I will hunt you down and serverly injure you so you suffer and then i will kill you for killing him! But this might be hard since she is a fictional character and is just in the book.
Maybe I'll google her and see if there really is a Bellatrix Lesrange. God, i hate her!!

Happy Holidays from the Motor City!
Super Bowl 40!
Love,
Emerika

Reviewer: MaiaDate: 2005-09-14
Reviewid: 132543Chapter: 1
As someone else said, I started out laughing, and ended up crying. I think everything that I wanted to say has already been taken by other reviewers, so I'll just say that this was a wonderful story, and leave it at that.
I loved your disclaimer- I guess I'm a weird person now.

In denial for Sirius and mourning for Zombie!James
-calenlily

Reviewer: kdojgDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129800Chapter: 1
*sob*

Reviewer: LaurenDate: 2005-07-19
Reviewid: 127404Chapter: 1
This made me cry almost

Reviewer: AnaxandraDate: 2005-06-23
Reviewid: 124990Chapter: 1
This is so dam sad. Boo-hoo-hoo. Anyway.... is all right, jus'not funny enough, sir. i feel like i can't critique you. its like telling the queen she can't talk with an accent. This was a very nesscescary part of the HP epic, Your Majesty.

Reviewer: OtterfudgeDate: 2005-06-17
Reviewid: 124307Chapter: 1
Oh, how beautiful. Your writing is phenomenal: both witty and heartfelt at once, it's a rare and appreciated mix. I love how each section focused on a different person and their own meaningful gift. Zonko's inner battle of morality vs. businessman was priceless, as was your depiction of Tonk's encounter with the abrasively flaming used--er, vintage--book seller. And Remus' passage was heartbreaking: "For years, he didn't look in the box, because it reminded him that one of his best friends had been a traitor.

Years later, when Remus and Sirius met again, Remus still didn't look into the box, because it reminded him that he'd once thought his best friend a traitor." ...Wonderful. And Padfoot's tooth...just beautiful. It's so right, somehow, that he have an unmarked memorial behind the Shrieking Shack. And you're right: Sirius is certainly not a man whose life can be summarized on a rock. You hit all the notes perfectly here, and it makes for a moving piece of work that is a joy to read. Thank you for honoring our missed Padfoot so eloquently. :)

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-04-28
Reviewid: 120873Chapter: 1
Disclaimer: If I had owned Harry Potter, I wouldn't have killed Sirius. I would have killed... James. He was already dead, no one would have missed him. Of course, you might still have weird people crying over poor Zombie James.

*cracks up laughing* Never noticed that before. That will teach me to skim disclaimers.

Reviewer: CamryDate: 2005-04-23
Reviewid: 120385Chapter: 1
Wow. You can write serious pieces as well as the funny ones. I really like your idea for the memorial service here.

Reviewer: MandyDate: 2005-03-11
Reviewid: 116201Chapter: 1
I started reading this story laughing and finished it crying. Sirius is my favourite character and I still get sooo mad at Jk for killing him off.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2005-01-27
Reviewid: 112257Chapter: 1
I can just imagine Sirius watching them from the afterlife, grinning like the big muttonhead he is. I'm definitely grinning like anything.

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2005-01-15
Reviewid: 110994Chapter: 1
This was wonderful. Funny, as always, in parts but overwhelmingly sad. I loved the idea of the gross of dungbombs. You are a genius.

Reviewer: ButterfliesDate: 2005-01-05
Reviewid: 109846Chapter: 1
Beautiful. Poignant but not too angsty. And the tooth idea was a stroke of genius.

Reviewer: WendelinDate: 2004-11-24
Reviewid: 105767Chapter: 1
The example of a perfect story.

Let me elaborate. According to artistic traditions in India, there is a total of nine possible elements that any story can have. I don't know all nine off hand, but every story, in order to be meaningful, needs to have at least five. And yours does: suspense, laughter, sadness, purpose and change.

I think this story best showcases your phenomenal talents: humour, writing style, and your ability to unify disparate elements into a meaningful story that's far greater than the sum of its parts. Bravo!

Reviewer: StetchnikDate: 2004-11-21
Reviewid: 105465Chapter: 1
Thanks so much for writing that and sharing it with us--very well done!

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-11-21
Reviewid: 105446Chapter: 1
**sniff** this was tremendous: Funny and poignant all at once... We're behind in reading your Collected Works, but hurrying like mad to catch up. Greate story!

Reviewer: Evelyn SingerDate: 2004-11-20
Reviewid: 105379Chapter: 1
This is very sweet and sad indeed, and a fitting tribute. This line is especially lovely:

"The memorial, and it can be called nothing else, is still there. It's unmarked, because if you have any business there, you already know where it is."

P.S. The unhelpful bookshop owner that Tonks visits is Aziraphael from "Good Omens", isn't he? I always thought he'd fit in very well in the Potterverse...

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2004-11-17
Reviewid: 105104Chapter: 1
Excellent work. One of the best, by far, tributes to Sirius that I have read. Thanks.

Reviewer: AbbaDate: 2004-11-17
Reviewid: 105091Chapter: 1
A perfect send-off. Thank you!

Reviewer: chelseaDate: 2004-11-13
Reviewid: 104654Chapter: 1
snif snif that made ne cry just like when i read the 5 book .

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-11-08
Reviewid: 103886Chapter: 1
One of your best yet, wethinks! You have a real gift for blending humor and pathos, that makes us cry all the harder.

Reviewer: Sarah ElizabethDate: 2004-11-06
Reviewid: 103595Chapter: 1
Wow. That brought a tear or two to my eye. Really fantastic. I loved it, even though I still doubt that Sirius is truly dead. Wonderful job.

Reviewer: McGonagall's CatDate: 2004-11-05
Reviewid: 103553Chapter: 1
*sniff*
Well done!

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2004-11-03
Reviewid: 103399Chapter: 1
Oh my, I'm still wiping tears from my eyes. I love the part about the tooth. Just heart wrenching and lovely.

And I completely agree with your logic of killing James. No one would miss him because he's already dead.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-10-31
Reviewid: 103086Chapter: 1
Loved this...it was so perfect.

-PQ

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-10-30
Reviewid: 102994Chapter: 1
Great story! You stay true to all the characters- I liked your opening- the man selling Dungbombs in the jokeshop struggling with his conscience- quite amusing. Myfavourite part was:"Tonks placed the book on top of the box. “He took me on his motorcycle once. Of course, Mum had a fit, and forbade him from ever doing it again. But when we met up again, he said, 'Once I'm cleared, kid, you and me, we're going on a ride.'” "

That's so Sirius. It brought a lump to my throat. Why did he have to die? It's so unfair! *sulks*
One part I did have a problem with though:
"Whoops,” she said, in a tone indicating that no, no she wasn't, really.
Did you mean to say sorry instead of whoops? Maybe I'm being thick but I couldn't work that sentence out.

Anyhow, very nice fic, keep writing!

Reviewer: rabid lolaDate: 2004-10-30
Reviewid: 102967Chapter: 1
when i started reading this, i was laughing. and when i finished reading, there was this little sad twist in my chest. good work.

Reviewer: PhoenixWingsDate: 2004-10-30
Reviewid: 102966Chapter: 1
Again, a great piece of fiction. You're such a versatile writer that it's really refreshing to see you do something more serious (no pun intended).

>The used—pardon, vintage—bookstore in Soho smelled of dust and age.

As soon as I read that, I went, That wouldn't be Aziraphale's store, would it? And then I read on...gayer than a tree full of monkeys on nitrous oxide indeed. Good Omens references are always appreciated.

Reviewer: GinDate: 2004-10-29
Reviewid: 102821Chapter: 1
Hey review-whore,

You made me cry. A miss the first two minutes of Joey.

Thanks.

Gin

Reviewer: p0tterfanDate: 2004-10-28
Reviewid: 102749Chapter: 1
Adieu Sirius.

Nicely done!

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-10-27
Reviewid: 102716Chapter: 1
Thanks for writing this, because I always feel better when I can mix laughter and tears. And your style is lovely, as usual!

Reviewer: BookQueen604Date: 2004-10-27
Reviewid: 102712Chapter: 1
Great work! Not many authors can successfully mix humor and angst. Keep writing.

P.S.-I love your disclaimers!

Reviewer: Deborah PetersDate: 2004-10-27
Reviewid: 102691Chapter: 1
Lovely, Jack. Can't believe I missed a "Good Omens" reference! I do hope you realize you're responsible for my tearing up... at work... just when somebody stopped by to ask about his appointment with my supervisor. It's totally worth it.

Reviewer: (letter after u, before w)alerieDate: 2004-10-27
Reviewid: 102688Chapter: 1
*sniffle* That was wonderful. I thought that starting the story out as humorous and then ending it as bittersweet and sorrowful as that was absolutely brilliant. It is refreshing to see that an author talented at humor is also excellent at sorrow, but is able to make the sorrow a bit more bearable by adding a hint of humor to it. That made no sense. Anyway, I thouroughly enjoyed this piece. RIP Sirius *sniff*

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2004-10-27
Reviewid: 102654Chapter: 1
damn. that was nice.

Reviewer: KajiDate: 2004-10-27
Reviewid: 102638Chapter: 1
Oh, that was lovely--and I especially enjoyed the reference to "Good Omens;" "gayer than a tree full of monkeys on nitrous oxide" is the best line ever.

But it was very touching, and I enjoyed it. Thank you. especially the teeth.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-10-27
Reviewid: 102626Chapter: 1
Ooooooooooooooooooooooh! *cries in background* That was wonderful!

Reviewer: eca celliDate: 2004-10-27
Reviewid: 102617Chapter: 1
"Sirius was a friend."

Indeed, Jack, indeed.

Reviewer: ScarlettDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102608Chapter: 1
Its amazing the things that make me sad all over again that Sirius died. You captured that essence perfectly - the sadness - the love that those close to him had for him. When Remus pulled out the tooth (no pun intended...) I could've cried. It was perfect. While it didn't happen in canon, it was amazingly easy to imagine Sirius giving Remus his tooth. Thanks for sharing this.

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102579Chapter: 1
<<There's no epitaph, because this is a man whose life can't be summed up on a rock. If nothing else, however, the most appropriate thing said in this place was “Sirius was a friend.”>>

Jack...you're amazing! I have laughed so hard I was in danger of busting a gut when reading many of your stories, but who knew you could also bring me to tears! Wow...just, wow.

thanks,
Jules

Reviewer: Frankie B.Date: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102570Chapter: 1
Oh, Jack. This was excellent. Sweet and still humorous, and exactly what was needed. Very, very nicely done.

Reviewer: shiningstarDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102567Chapter: 1
That was one of the best "Sirius memorial" stories I've read. Thanks for sharing it with all of us.

Reviewer: SDBDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102563Chapter: 1
...Cue giant 'awww' and a few tears. I don't know how you do it, but you always manage to create these one-shots with hilarious sayings and spot-on characterizations, and end with such heartbreaking images. You are brilliant, Jack.

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102546Chapter: 1
Jack, beautiful and moving tribute to one of the most colorful characters of J.K.'s realm. I'm still floating on the river denial, (he's not really gone!!!). Remus' gift was touching and poignant, just like the man himself. Harry, thoughtful for his age. Characters were all dead on. Job well done!

Reviewer: WendelinDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102541Chapter: 1
"Upon entering, Tonks felt that she was aging faster than she had been when she was outside." --> My favourite line!

Great story..

Reviewer: emma moonDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102513Chapter: 1
Lovely one shot. I thought it quite touching and true to form. Harry's 144 dungbombs, the motorcycle manual and Sirius' last baby tooth. A fitting tribute.

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102508Chapter: 1
That is probably one of the best ways to remember someone and the wonderfully simple way you wrote it cleanly illustrates it. *Looks back at review* That looks like I was trying to hard. Oh well, I meant every word of it.

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102495Chapter: 1
Sorry - just so you know, I meant that in a good way. This is an incredibly touching, well thought out piece

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102494Chapter: 1
Oof. You can write side-achingly funny (maturity) and then follow it up with this. Ouch.

Reviewer: SC HardyDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102480Chapter: 1
*cries*

Very sweet and to the point, just...great.

Reviewer: CaraDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102457Chapter: 1
This is wonderful. I love what you've had everyone add to the memorial - very fitting.

And it's Aziraphale! Such a great cameo.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102429Chapter: 1
At this point, even his conscience was saying, “You know, on the other hand...”
-My favorite line. I was grinning throughout that whole scene.

Please write more.

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102427Chapter: 1
A bit of an interesting beginning; it developed into a very good story overall! I've read lots of Sirius memorials, but very few as good as this. I especially like the ending, starting from "the memorial." Thanks for a good read!!

Reviewer: TrulyDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102426Chapter: 1
a gross of dungbombs..... so appropriate. and the bike magazine, and the tooth.... just beautiful jack, really. if nothing else, it was a *sirius* occasion, in every sense of that word.

"gayer than a tree full of monkeys on bitrous oxide".... i just stopped reading and imagined what that would be like.... oh god i love those random metaphors!

"“Whoops,” she said, in a tone indicating that no, no she wasn't, really. The dirt wouldn't be noticed among the dust anyway."

whas that maybe changed from sorry? just doesnt sit right... like she wasnt 'whoops'

"My Little Grim that he'd bought for Nymphadora" lol i'm just trying to think what sort of looks he must have gotten.... here, have a death omen, small child!


i love these stories of yours... thanks :)

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102405Chapter: 1
A nice memorial (which is what Harry & friend had in mind, I'm sure). I wonder who will visit it in 10 years, 20 years, 50 years, or even (if possible) 100 years? Thanks for prompting me to ask questions.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --