The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Yarn Shop
Review(s): 37

Reviewer: HeadGirlInTrainingDate: 2006-07-09
Reviewid: 144057Chapter: 1
Oh, this was just lovely. And Seamus and Dean with that...explanatory text? Priceless. You say R/H is out of your comfort zone, but this story certainly doesn't show it!

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-06-20
Reviewid: 143560Chapter: 1
awwwwwwwwwwww, thanks for telling me about this one! i would've missed it! but it's sooo sweet! and cozy! you just feel warm by reading it! just as great as JKR's several sunlit days!

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2006-06-01
Reviewid: 143164Chapter: 1
This was so charming. I love Ron's reaction to St. Mungos guy, lol. At least we know once he's going out with Hermione, he'll never cheat on her! At least your Ron wouldn't.....but I don't think JKR's Ron would either.

~GW

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-09-20
Reviewid: 132891Chapter: 1
good

Reviewer: lysithaDate: 2005-09-03
Reviewid: 131630Chapter: 1
your story is great, really sweet and well written. good job !

Reviewer: Grace (Laurel)Date: 2005-08-20
Reviewid: 130432Chapter: 1
Ah! Well- written fluff! Very sweet, but realistic and in-character, too.

Reviewer: finite_incantatemDate: 2005-05-30
Reviewid: 123062Chapter: 1
I'm not one for fics about Ron and Hermione's first date. Really. But I think you did a pretty good job of it. I'm pretty impressed. Great fic.

Reviewer: The Jelly MonsterDate: 2005-01-29
Reviewid: 112393Chapter: 1
Awwwwwwwwwwww this is screaming warm and fuzzy!! Its great. I love reading this story over and over again because its so good

Reviewer: TessDate: 2005-01-07
Reviewid: 110136Chapter: 1
*wipes away happy tear* Awesome. =) This story made me feel all warm and fuzzy...just like yarn! Wow. Funny how that works out.

Reviewer: SilvestriaDate: 2004-12-30
Reviewid: 109297Chapter: 1
This is the first piece of R/Hr fluff I've ever read, and let me say, I'm jolly glad it is. I think I may be jumping ships... It was so SWEET! If my own first date could be like that...

Reviewer: Sarah PotterDate: 2004-12-16
Reviewid: 107915Chapter: 1
lovely story! R/Hr rocks. I especially liked it because of the way Ron told the story, and how he felt about Hermione's every action. Very cute.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-12-16
Reviewid: 107910Chapter: 1
Again, this was lovely. Ron's desire not to make a mistake, despite the many pitfalls to dating, was adorable. And I loved Hermione's little scheme to find out the exact shade of Chudley Cannons orange, as well as her plan to make him a scarf. The description of the kiss was lovely too. And I can just imagine Madam Purl - is she a plump woman with fluffy white/gray hair? - fretting over her yarn! I really have to read the fic this story came out of!

Reviewer: Elise WeasleyDate: 2004-12-12
Reviewid: 107628Chapter: 1
Oh, I LOVE IT, I LOVE IT, I LOVE IT!!!!!! Wow, this was really great!! I cannot find words to describe it's greatness!! Write more fluffy stories, PLEASE!

Toodleoo,
EW

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-11-28
Reviewid: 106179Chapter: 1
Teena! I wrote this story for you! I don't dedicate stories to people who offend me! I understand the need for fluff - and I am flattered when R/Hrs trust me enough with their favorite ship! I consider it a compliment! So please don't worry about the H/G or R/Hr divide. It's all good.

Reviewer: MinuialDate: 2004-11-23
Reviewid: 105697Chapter: 1
All I can say is 'Awwww'. You manage to capture the awkwardness and tentativeness of a first date very well. Even if Ron and Hermione have knowns each other for several years, they are worried about this date and you make us feel how important it is for them.
And the detail of Hermione dropping the wool as Ron kiss her is the sweetest thing ever.

Reviewer: TeenaDate: 2004-11-23
Reviewid: 105600Chapter: 1
Hi, St. M. I left a review on your previous story proclaiming that I had read it mostly for the R/Hr, but that I had enjoyed the story as a whole, as well. I must now say thank you for this lovely story. You write R/Hr well--you're a master at fluff. I don't know why fluff is often looked down upon...I love fluffy pieces. There's too much darkness in HP fanfic, imo. Sorry o/t. I just want to say that you've written a marvelous piece of fanfic here...no wonder you're practically a goddess around here. :)

Anyway, I think I upset some people with my previous comments (to Red is the Heart). I lurk in the forums and noticed someone ranting about people leaving reviews that bemoan the lack of R/Hr fanfics. I'm sorry if I upset you or anyone else...such was not my intention. I was merely stating an opinion. Some are not H/G by persuasion, others are not R/Hr. And that's fine! Variety is the spice of life. And you do variety good. ;) Keep up the excellent work and I may just read your new story...*grin*

-Teena, the die-hard R/Hr fan who is willing (on occassion, when it's written by a very, very good author) to read H/G fanfics. ;)

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-11-20
Reviewid: 105384Chapter: 1
Awww - what a sweet, sensitive story! I love all the little details which show how much Ron knows Hermione; and how he recognises that he still has lots to learn! Seamus and Dean were amusing, as always, and the date was brilliant - you really captured all the tension and delight of two people getting to know one another.

Favourite bit: "That was his undoing - that softness." Ron *knows* Hermione's got a soft side, and he wants to find out what that's like.

Two thumbs up!

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: CannonsGurl 90Date: 2004-11-18
Reviewid: 105210Chapter: 1
You write Ron and Hermione so well, it's like canon. This is such a good protrayal of going on a date with your friend for the first time - akward but cute. Been there, done that. Anyway, just wanted to say great job and you're an awesome writer.

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2004-11-17
Reviewid: 105117Chapter: 1
Ack, Nooooo! Hasn't Hermione heard of the Curse of Boyfriend Knitting? It's the surest way to break up a relationship. That scarf is jinxed before it's even made!

*ahem* Stepping back from my knitting personality for a moment, this was a great story. :) Your writing is personable and flows easily, yet allows the reader to get in touch with the characters. I still think you write Ron a tad more mature than I envision him from canon, but I do like him this way. You make him more of a person I'd like to be around.

Reviewer: AliceDate: 2004-11-15
Reviewid: 104966Chapter: 1
Awwwwwwwwwwww So Sweeeeeet ! Good Job, I like the way u wrote this fanfic its teriffic I love it! Thats all I am gonna say for now !

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2004-11-15
Reviewid: 104944Chapter: 1
Aww, this is so sweet! I love it.

Reviewer: ILuvRonniekinsDate: 2004-11-12
Reviewid: 104533Chapter: 1
omg that was soooo good I am in like happy tears! hehe I love R/Hr stuff! .... oh and I loved red is the Heart and really wanted to see this scene ... thanks for writing it!!!
Leigh

Reviewer: SofiaDate: 2004-11-04
Reviewid: 103433Chapter: 1
perfect

Reviewer: NARDate: 2004-10-31
Reviewid: 103079Chapter: 1
What I really liked in this story is that both of them are making an effort not to argue, not to snap back, to be kind and in the end they get their "reward".

Reviewer: story645Date: 2004-10-31
Reviewid: 103039Chapter: 1
I liked how you introduced the fic. Jumping straight into the action, pulling the reader into it. I want to read about Hermione's experiment dating Boot, it seems like something she would do.

I liked Ron and Hermione's little bicker about the hat, and Ron's comment "It was a hat that she must have knitted herself. At least he thought it was a hat . . . or a tea cozy." was funny and in character. I also liked how you had her offering and not pushing it on him. I liked the place Ron picked for the date, it sounds perfect for Hermione. It sounds great in general, except for thhe music. I also like how they both seem unsure of what they to do and how to conduct themselves because it's a date.

I love the section with Dean and Seamus. Them acting like such boys talking about sex and teasing each other and boasting. It seems pretty in character considering what we know about them from canon, and fleshes out their personalities. I also like how Ron blushes because of the title of the book and his reaction to the Valentine display. The books sound like the types on most shelves when February rolls around. And Hermione is great for standing up to them. It's definitely something she would do. It's also cute that she is learning about Quidditch Strategy.

I liked the scene in the Cafe. I thougt it made a lot of sense for her to be worried about him affording everything, and for him to be insecure about the whole thing. I loved his indignant reaction to the philandering creep and Hermione's suggestion to perform a shrinking charm on the man's ego. I liked his reaction to the tiny portions. I'm kind of a believer in Ron and Hermione's first date being at the three broomsticks because it's more comfortable, but I could totally see Ron trying to impress her by taking her to a place like that cafe. But I think he'd be squirming the whole time, because it just doesn't seem like the type of place he'd be comfortable in, especially while on his first date with Hermione.

"Once he had used some knitting needles for a mock duel with Ginny before they were found out, but that was the most fun he had ever had in one of these places." Very funny, and a cute picture of a younger Ron and Ginny. I like how you throw in a sibling flashback. "Madam Purl has more than wool here. She has spun hair from the Demiguise. You know, to make Invisibility Cloaks." -Is that a reference to a fic? Which one?

I liked how Hermione wanted to make him a scarf and that was why she was bugging him. It was unexpected but unsurprising and really sweet. The kiss was just like the Hershey's candy, melt in your mouth sweet. Madam Purl's outcry because of the yarn added a nice funny moment to break up the fluffyness. I like the whole symbolic angle of it being in a yarn shop and all the soft imagery. Ron's thoughts on the new status of their relationship and how a conversation about it would probably be superflous was a nice way to wrap it up, considering how uncertain he was about the whole thing through out the fic.

Thanks for going outside of your comfort zone and writing an R/Hr fic. You did a great job, keeping them in character and writing a very sweet fic. Your list of moments in Red is the Heart is very funny. You go beyond the call of duty to be nice to R/Hr's who aren't fond of H/G. You totally rock.

Reviewer: belitaDate: 2004-10-30
Reviewid: 103009Chapter: 1
Oh! How lovely! You've written a wonderful R/H story, so don't you worry about it being out of your comfort zone. I thought it was perfect.
And as a knitter, I now want to shop at Madam Purl's Yarn Emporium. :D

Reviewer: AngharadDate: 2004-10-30
Reviewid: 102979Chapter: 1
Yay, you wrote more, and it was great. So cute!

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2004-10-29
Reviewid: 102926Chapter: 1
Marvelous! I loved it, and I'm so glad you've continued to add to your stories. I hope you're writing another full length one for all your fans.

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2004-10-28
Reviewid: 102767Chapter: 1
YAY! What a great story...good fluff (again...it's what you do...)...very Ron/Hermione-ish. I love it! Now, you should write about Ginny's 16th birthday party! Wondering what Harry gives her...and what Mr. and Mrs. Weasley think...

*Katie*
nymphadora_florida

Reviewer: MiaDate: 2004-10-27
Reviewid: 102664Chapter: 1
I'm never really much for R/Hr stories, either, but this was so cute I was sure I was going to die!! Very, very good.. as always!

Reviewer: NicDate: 2004-10-27
Reviewid: 102663Chapter: 1
Oh, St. Margarets, you always know how to warm my heart with your R/Hr moments! I am so glad that you decided to write this Missing Moment and it was such a nice surprise for me coming back from my holiday to find such a nice R/Hr fic. I don't know how you can say that writing R/Hr is beyond your comfort zone, because you do it so well - and I'm sure that everyone else agrees with me.

As always, you had some quality comedy lines thrown in. I do tend to find myself laughing out loud like a mad person at certain lines whilst reading your fics!

You portrayed Ron as such a gentleman, which of course I think he is, and I liked how you emphasised Hermione's softer side, because she does have one, and it seems to me that a lot of people forget that. Nice touch with the reference to Say It With Socks - if anyone is reading this review and hasn't read that fic, then you really should!

I could gush all day about how much I loved reading that. It was a really uplifting R/Hr fic and I can't wait to read your next fic, whatever ship it is (although I have a good idea what it will be ;)).

Nic xx

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102575Chapter: 1
ONE! ONE! This fic, set on Valentine's Day, is nothing but fluff, and so I have to give it a ONE on the RLS fluff scale. Congratulations!

I (and a few other readers) were curious about the R/H date from "Red," and so I'm glad that you finally wrote about it.

I almost missed this fic, until I saw the comment you made to hairy_hen about the alphabetical list.

Meanwhile, does anyone know what exactly happened to the 'Quill? I tried to access the forum, but I got a message The Sugar Quill has left the fandom. Is this a joke? Or did sveltskye's letter reach JKR and the author ordered that the 'Quill be shut down? Or did, God forbid, JKR declare H/H to be canon?

Well, if there's to be no more 'Quill, then I guess there's always SIYE for all of St. M's fics!

Reviewer: SammyDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102525Chapter: 1
well it's as promised and I loved it! I'm glad it was from Ron's PoV. I have to go to class now - but I love it!

Reviewer: MaggyLaneDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102446Chapter: 1
Positively wonderful and sweet!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102410Chapter: 1
You have such a beatiful way of writing around emotions.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102396Chapter: 1
Yay! Oh, this is lovely. I've enjoyed all of your Wallpaper universe, and this is a nice tangent. I love how they can still have these moments of being young, innocent 16-year-olds when the world around them is so grim. You've made it believable, too. I wasn't distracted, thinking, "But they would never be this happy!" I just rejoiced for them. Ron and Hermione may be outside your comfort zone, but I think you still have a very good feel for them. Nicely done.

Reviewer: bando2Date: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102394Chapter: 1
Awww

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --