The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: HIM
Review(s): 33

Reviewer: siriusly_fishyDate: 2007-08-27
Reviewid: 149041Chapter: 1
this is brilliant! I love how she decides to get a diary at the end...very sneaky...

~SIK~

Reviewer: AllyLovesHPDate: 2007-08-07
Reviewid: 148731Chapter: 1
Ooooooh! I just got a shiver from the last 3 lines! Such good foreshadowing, how Ginny thought she needed a diary, and you led up to that conclusion very well, about how she had no one to talk to. And it's true, at that age Ginny didn't know anyone yet. I loved this, it was very realistic, just how an 11-year-old girl would think. and it fit in very well with the events from Chamber of Secrets. Awesome job!

Reviewer: DeviStarreDate: 2006-01-03
Reviewid: 137973Chapter: 1
Oooh!!!!!!!!!!! awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww, it's soooooooooooooo cute! Very well written. How can you be such a damn good artist and STILL write well?!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-20
Reviewid: 137471Chapter: 1
So Nice

Reviewer: The NeverworldDate: 2005-10-27
Reviewid: 135171Chapter: 1
"A diary..."

Creepy. Shivers down spine. I love it.

Reviewer: GoldfishDate: 2005-09-10
Reviewid: 132215Chapter: 1
Niiiiiiiiiiiiice. I loooove the ending...

"Yes. That’s it. A diary."

Smooth... absolutely awesome. Loved it.

Reviewer: Lil' MoonyDate: 2005-08-14
Reviewid: 129905Chapter: 1
I love it! Such... Ginnyness! XD

Reviewer: monicaDate: 2005-06-26
Reviewid: 125239Chapter: 1
that's really good you know? i loved the way you ended it although it was quite sad. You are a very good writer-i read 'Forget Cho' and i thought that you definatley had talent! I'm sure your favourite charaecter is Ginny! Way to go!

Reviewer: dumbbunnyDate: 2005-04-09
Reviewid: 119097Chapter: 1
oh, diary! understanding....thought processing....excellent story!

Reviewer: ;lll;lll;lll;Date: 2005-03-29
Reviewid: 118115Chapter: 1
Good story!!!!!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-02-03
Reviewid: 112823Chapter: 1
No, not a diary. Bad idea. Very bad idea. *shivers*
Anyhow, like your story. Poor Ginevra, brothers are impossible aren't they? This was well written and very in character all around- just how I imagine she would be thinking. Keep it up!

Reviewer: EricaDate: 2004-12-27
Reviewid: 108715Chapter: 1
Oops, nvm, I just got the whole diary thing. *smacks self in the head* Don't mind me, I'm frequently oblivious...Great ending though!

Reviewer: EricaDate: 2004-12-27
Reviewid: 108714Chapter: 1
I absolutely *adore* the way you write Ginny, it's just so...Perfect! I love it. There will be more, I hope?

Reviewer: jayDate: 2004-12-19
Reviewid: 108084Chapter: 1
An excellent take on the situation from Ginny's view. Her inner voice seemed to be writing to a diary as well. which had a splendid fortelling of CoS. The ending about getting a diary is a wonderfully wicked twist.

Reviewer: EurydiceDate: 2004-12-14
Reviewid: 107733Chapter: 1
Very nice. I'd never really thought about this scene through Ginny's perspective. Poor thing!

Reviewer: MadelineDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106468Chapter: 1
This was really great- talk about getting emotion down well! I especially liked the ending. It was chillingly delicious.

Reviewer: BlankDate: 2004-10-30
Reviewid: 102940Chapter: 1
Ending the story with the part about the diary was brilliant, if I say so myself.

Reviewer: Sandy PhoenixDate: 2004-10-29
Reviewid: 102929Chapter: 1
Ouch! Poor Ginny!

Despite the agonizing embarrassment, you have given her a rather mature inner voice and I appreciate that. I have never been a fan of the weak, wibbling Ginny so I always enjoy a portrayal that gives her more brass. You've done that so well here.

The foreshadowing of the diary is nice, too and doesn't jar or seem contrived. In fact, it seems the most natural thing in the world. Very nicely done.

Thanks for the story!

Reviewer: jolene_xxDate: 2004-10-29
Reviewid: 102901Chapter: 1
oooh, lovely ending, leading right to book two. well done

Reviewer: saraDate: 2004-10-29
Reviewid: 102835Chapter: 1
this was adorable. i really felt for Ginny, and you described her emotions very well and intertwined them with the book. Great job!

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-10-29
Reviewid: 102819Chapter: 1
Great work! And a great ending! I was moving along reading it as a sweet look into a young crush and then, WHAM! You mention the diary. Really nicely done!

Reviewer: GabrielDate: 2004-10-28
Reviewid: 102805Chapter: 1
Good story! I really like your take on what inspired Ginny to get that fateful diary. I’d never really thought about it before.

I’m actually going to disagree with everyone else and say that I don’t think Ginny always sounded like an eleven-year-old girl. Overall, I thought she sounded more like fifteen. I really did like the way she (you) described the way she felt about her brothers, but it seemed a bit vehement and bitter for someone so young. Some of the words and phrases seemed a little bit out of her league – “brotherly compassion”, “nonetheless”, and “compensation” are a few examples. It’s not that I think she wouldn’t know what those words meant; I just don’t think she’d use them or even really think them at that age. She’d probably say “all the same” instead of “nonetheless” and “you’d think they’d be nicer to me” instead of the bit about a speck of brotherly compassion (although that phrase, on its own, is very pleasing). Every now and then I would read a phrase that didn’t seem to fit for a different reason – because it sounded more like the words of an adult, third-person observer than the private thoughts of a young girl. The bit about Ginny being the “unsuspecting victim of a piercing green stare” is a good example. That just doesn’t sound like something she would think, or the way she would describe what she was thinking. It’s too complicated and detailed – it’s the descriptive voice of the storyteller. Of course, there are many aspects of Ginny’s speech/thought that were dead-on for an eleven-year-old girl. The incomplete and run-on sentences really convey her distress well, and I like the way you used erratic punctuation (?!?), italics, and capital letters for emphasis. Very youthful.

I’ve got to admit that I’ve always found Ginny’s crush on Harry (at age 11) to be a bit odd, and this is no criticism at all of your story. J.K. Rowling laid the groundwork for this, and you’re building on it. It’s just that I remember when I was eleven, and I didn’t care a fig about boys. They were silly and kind of mean, and not at all physically attractive. I didn’t really find any boys physically attractive until high school, because most boys don’t really change much until then. At twelve, they just look like… well, little boys! So even though I thought Ginny sounded older than her years, this has something to do with the fact that I find her crush somewhat unbelievable. I’m just saying that there’s a disconnect there for me, if you know what I mean, and again, that’s not your fault at all. Hmm… I hope that made sense. :-) So anyway, great work! I might have thought that Ginny sounded older than eleven, but I still enjoyed this glimpse into her mind immensely. And again, great job on the ending. It was eerie and unsettling (Don’t do it, Ginny! is what I was thinking!) which is just what you were going for, I’m sure. Congratulations on getting accepted, and I’m looking forward to reading more of your work!

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2004-10-28
Reviewid: 102803Chapter: 1
Awwwww...Poor Ginny, lol. I know the feeling of being very shy and it sucks :P.

*Geena

Reviewer: July 31Date: 2004-10-28
Reviewid: 102794Chapter: 1
Brilliant! You have captured the essence of eleven-year-old girl! I especially liked that ending...

:-D Good job!

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2004-10-28
Reviewid: 102788Chapter: 1
A fun read! I'll agree with everyone that your 11-year-old Ginny patter is very winning. I loved "every last freckled one of them." And your turning to the diary the end introduced a great note of foreboding. Makes me think more about what a horrible thing that was to happen to a little girl. Nice work.

Reviewer: IncognitoDate: 2004-10-28
Reviewid: 102787Chapter: 1
Really good

Reviewer: YlimeDate: 2004-10-28
Reviewid: 102770Chapter: 1
Mmm, this is really good! You've really walked around Ginny's head and got the feel of her personality exactly. And the foreshadowing at the end is very good. Your fic really shows why Ginny might have wanted a diary in the first place.

Well done!

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-10-28
Reviewid: 102755Chapter: 1
I love this look into Ginny's head. This character study is really well done and I like how much you've stuck to canon while looking at the scene from another pov.

I look forward to seeing more of your stories published here soon.

Reviewer: BabyRuthDate: 2004-10-28
Reviewid: 102738Chapter: 1
Have you got an eleven year old girl down or what? This was marvelous insight to Ginny! And great foreshadowing at the end. Nicely done!

Reviewer: BrittneyDate: 2004-10-28
Reviewid: 102737Chapter: 1
Welcome to the Quill archives! I'm not actually archived here myself, but it would be an honor.

I love your characterization of Ginny. It's ME as an eleven-year-old. You gave her the perfect voice, and her comments were so realistic. I could connect with her (although I'm older). Great job; hope to see you around!

~Brittney

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2004-10-28
Reviewid: 102736Chapter: 1
That was awesome. You had the perfect eleven-year-old-girl voice.

Reviewer: ryoroowDate: 2004-10-28
Reviewid: 102733Chapter: 1
Welcome to The Sugar Quill! Great story and I like how you tied in the diary. I also like your characterization of Ginny. Please write more!

Reviewer: HazelleDate: 2004-10-28
Reviewid: 102731Chapter: 1
Very cute! I like your take on little-girl-Ginny, it's got a very comical realism to it; it's funny, but it's also kind of painful to think about from Ginny's perspective! And somehow, I find myself relating to the whole "What did I do that? WHY?" You do Ginny and mortification very well.

~Hayley

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --