The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 20

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2006-01-11
Reviewid: 138347Chapter: 2
Lovely - apart from the odd americanisms which were a bit intrusive. I loved this bit:
"She could feel Ronís collarbone poking her in the eye, his thin chest warm under her cheek and his hand awkwardly patting her on the back. His heart thumped, the beat reassuringly steady and strong. She cried even harder, thinking of that steady beat silenced forever."
It's such a simple, low-key description but it evokes Ron's character beautifully, without sentimentality. Great to read about the aftermath of Ron's getting smashed over the head by the chess piece and the reactions of his loved ones - it's one of the few really powerful moments of the first book for me (the other being the Mirror of course).

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2005-10-16
Reviewid: 134598Chapter: 2
Both thee moments are lovely and tender. My oly (mild) complaint is that the dialogue is a bit American, but I suppose it's best to write dialogue the way it feels real to you.

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131280Chapter: 2
Love it! A nice balance of...God, it's summer, where're my literary terms?

Yeah, good balance with having Ginny think things and having her show things in relating her relationship with Ron.

Sorry, I do know the literary terms, but I've been out of school soooo looooong.

Reviewer: Wannabe WeasleyDate: 2005-01-17
Reviewid: 111187Chapter: 2
I love it! Please add more, wondrous word-weaver!

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-12-02
Reviewid: 106632Chapter: 2
Lovely! I love Weasely-family stories.

-PQ

Reviewer: chandDate: 2004-11-27
Reviewid: 106160Chapter: 1
This is beautiful. Just fuzzy, nice, and really well-written. Great attention to detail and characterization of Ginny. Incredibly believable. I enjoyed it immmensely.. thank you! Looking forward to more of your work.

Reviewer: stephanieDate: 2004-11-27
Reviewid: 106111Chapter: 1
loved it! It sounds very much like Ginny would sound if JK Rowling wrote more about her.

Reviewer: MichelleDate: 2004-11-26
Reviewid: 106013Chapter: 2
Oh, I so enjoy your depictions of young Ron and Ginny. I think we don't see enough of the sibling bonding stories. And I very much liked your wording of his promise "I promise I wonít follow any more possessed madmen into the depths of Hogwarts". It gives a good sense of irony and foreshadowing for the coming year. You're wonderful--don't stop writing!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-11-25
Reviewid: 105985Chapter: 2
I have really enjoyed these first two chapters. You capture Ginny's excitement and trepidation, and I love her perception of Harry's familiar classes. It took me a while to work out who the boy with three younger brothers was, but I did finally get it, nice little piece of foreshadowing. The advantages and disadvantages of being the only child in the house when you're used to siblings - check. ^_^ The description of life at the Burrow - the harvesting of vegetables, the various traditions - was colourful and detailed.

My favourite parts were "Mini-Ginny" and that wondeful line "I promise I wonít follow any more possessed madmen into the depths of Hogwarts..." Lovely bit of irony there.

I love poetry and I often use it in my fiction, so I like to see other people doing the same thing, especially if it's a poem I don't know.

I'll be back for more.


xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2004-11-25
Reviewid: 105931Chapter: 2
Oh, my, that was very good. Well written and descriptive! My favorite line was << I promise I wonít follow any more possessed madmen into the depths of Hogwarts. >> Ha ha, little does he know!

Reviewer: Gina PotterDate: 2004-11-24
Reviewid: 105833Chapter: 2
This story is so sweet. Thank you so much for writing it! I just love the Weasleys siblings!

Reviewer: ValDate: 2004-11-08
Reviewid: 103941Chapter: 1
Lovely story! I've always imagined Ron and Ginny as very close. And obviously they are still young, and Ginny hero-worships Harry before even getting to know him. Wonderfully written, will there be any more? Either way, fantastic job. Loved reading it.

Reviewer: BrittneyDate: 2004-11-06
Reviewid: 103648Chapter: 1
(Welcome to the SQ archives! :) )
Wow-- that is so great! I'm not Ginny's biggest fan or anything, so I usually don't read fics starring her. I've never considered how she must have felt that year by herself-- but this is so perfect for her. If I had considered the year before her first at Hogwarts, it probably would have been like this, although now I'll probably think of this fic every time. I love your characterizations of Fred, George, and Molly, although I think Ginny seemed a little old. Then again, I haven't been ten for five years. I wouldn't remember. Great job!
~Brittney

Reviewer: SaeasDate: 2004-10-30
Reviewid: 102971Chapter: 1
I like this, I hope there is going to be more! You captured Ginny's feelings about Ron excellently and managed to keep her child like qualities too. And Ron's remark about his head rolling off was very in character.

One point (not a criticism, though!) it would be July 1992, not 1993. Harry, Ron and Hermione were born in 1980 and therefore would have turned eleven and started Hogwarts in 1991, making their return home in 1992.

Reviewer: buzzfloydDate: 2004-10-29
Reviewid: 102868Chapter: 1
Excellent first chapter! Your Weasleys seem very in character, and I'm itching to read more about life at the Burrow. :) A few Americanisms have sneaked in, but they don't spoil the story.
I hope you'll update soon!

Reviewer: SimpkinDate: 2004-10-29
Reviewid: 102818Chapter: 1
Oh, that was so cute! I love it that you fleshed out Ron's and Ginny's relationship more than JKR has. I also like all the details you included, like the crisps and horklumps. Well done!

Reviewer: FarieDate: 2004-10-28
Reviewid: 102792Chapter: 1
This was really nice! I really loved the ending, the part where arthur was comforting molly tied the story up really well!

If Ron were hurt, the only sound from Arthur Weasley would be a firm command and the pop of Disapparation. That soft rumble under Mollyís quiet sobs meant that everything was fine.

Very Very well done, it brought a lot of heart into this story! I hope to see more from you!

Reviewer: IncognitoDate: 2004-10-28
Reviewid: 102790Chapter: 1
That's really good.

Reviewer: MaartjeDate: 2004-10-28
Reviewid: 102783Chapter: 1
Oh, I loved this. It's pretty hard for me to imagine my brother as my best friend (yergh!), but Ginny and Ron must've been close. A nice read, I like your characterisations, and it was sweet but not sticky. I hope to read more of your work :D.

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2004-10-28
Reviewid: 102735Chapter: 1
That was beautiful! I'm glad that there's going to be more. :)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --