The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Tunnel
Review(s): 9

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-10-03
Reviewid: 133636Chapter: 1
He had crawled along for what seemed like hours now, and still he could not see the exit. For all he knew, he could be under Hogsmeade, or even further.

He was petrified, and with wide eyes watched as the light inside what he now realised must be the Shrieking Shack…

Wow. That’s amazing. After endless crawling underground and he knew the building from one peek inside.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114366Chapter: 1
This really brought tears to my eyes. Your description of the tunnel, and of Snape's fear was so vivid I felt as though I was realy there and to have Sirius belittling the boy he had half killed at the end made me want to feed *him* to a werewolf. I'm with McGonagall here- amnesia really would be a blessing in his case. That was one moment that made me smile, though.

<He knew that she suspected him of being suicidal.>

Reminds me rather of Hermione. ;).

I like how you show Snap's thoughts as he re- enters the tunnel. It's so heart- breaking to think of him going in to save Potter, even though it meant re- living his worst memory (well... whatever) and then to have Black escaping and Dumbledore overrule him. I'm not usually much of a Snape fan but I can't help feeling rather indignant on his behalf.
Your characterizations were superb, from James to McGonagall and your writing was perfectly paced. Amazing stuff, keep writing!

Reviewer: debbieDate: 2004-11-05
Reviewid: 103528Chapter: 1
this is rlly gud! it portrays snape's side of the story perfectly...n i feel rlly bad for him 2- the shrieking shack incident in harry's 3rd yr takes on a different turn wen u read the 5th book. i think thats wen i realised that maybe he didnt go in2 the shack that nite jus for the glory of catching sirius. mayb he did go int here 2 save the three friends-who he had every indication wud b in danger. *sigh poor sevvy

Reviewer: debbieDate: 2004-11-05
Reviewid: 103527Chapter: 1
this is rlly gud! it portrays snape's side of the story perfectly...n i feel rlly bad for him 2- the shrieking shack incident in harry's 3rd yr takes on a different turn wen u read the 5th book. i think thats wen i realised that maybe he didnt go in2 the shack that nite jus for the glory of catching sirius. mayb he did go int here 2 save the three friends-who he had every indication wud b in danger. *sigh poor sevvy

Reviewer: taedaDate: 2004-10-29
Reviewid: 102841Chapter: 1
The descriptiveness was wonderful! The end of the second part was kind of heartbreeaking in a way, and I really liked your take on the second part.

Plus "from crime and spying he had seamlessly moved on to a career in education" is really funny.

Reviewer: ScarlettDate: 2004-10-28
Reviewid: 102799Chapter: 1
Excellent start! I felt myself drawn down into that tunnel, gasping for breath when Snape's panic started. I believe you've captured him perfectly while making him a touch sympathetic. I loved the brief moment when Minerva comforted him, my mind quickly flash-forward to the fact that they would become co-workers and that her care for him would have a lasting impact on his treatment of her. I look forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2004-10-28
Reviewid: 102765Chapter: 1
Marvelous! What wonderful insight into Snape's mind and the parallel of the night of the prank and the night in POA. Really excellent!

Reviewer: SelDearDate: 2004-10-28
Reviewid: 102754Chapter: 1
I like this - it never occurred to me that courage was probably one of the things Snape needed to walk back along the passage to the Shrieking Shack. A very intriguing premise!

Reviewer: PotioncatDate: 2004-10-28
Reviewid: 102743Chapter: 1
"...and his lanky frame proved most unsuitable to the exploration of tunnels." is one of the great lines. It's in character for the Snape we know and a good description of a teen who has suddenly come into his height. And the discomfort builds, constantly all the way through the story. It still makes me claustraphobic.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --