The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: For in that Sleep
Review(s): 30

Reviewer: BeakerDate: 2005-05-11
Reviewid: 121870Chapter: 1
Very nicely done! The voices & dialogue sound very authentic. I particularly like how you've captured two moods existing side by side so well: Harry's, of course, but also the mood of life going on in spite of everything, around him... Harry feeling blue on his birthday because Sirius isn't there to help celebrate rings true, as well. But of course the heart of the story is Ginny quietly leading Harry back to join the living--both in his dreams and in reality--and making him see that's it's better to live with a burden of grief, than to die.

Reviewer: StetchnikDate: 2005-05-07
Reviewid: 121540Chapter: 1
Cool. Very cool. :)

Reviewer: MissDaisyDate: 2005-05-03
Reviewid: 121273Chapter: 1
Oh, how lovely and emotionally true this story is...just a wonderful job overall. I love the repetiton of the word Wait...it's like a chiming bell in the background of the story and then we get Ginny's Don't worry I will.

Excellent job.

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-04-20
Reviewid: 120129Chapter: 1
That was simply brilliant. It has reawoken the H/G shipper that I used to be before I was taken over by R/Hr thoughts. Not that the two are mutually exclusive, but I used to be all over H/G. I'm definitly bookmarking this.

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-03
Reviewid: 115334Chapter: 1
Now THIS is truly a great H/G

Reviewer: Mingo CortezDate: 2004-12-16
Reviewid: 107926Chapter: 1
I just wanted to say thank you to everyone who reviewed this story—- your complements and comments are sincerely appreciated. The positive response that I’ve gotten definitely helped to inspire me to undertake another Harry/Ginny story that will hopefully be post-able someday—- so thank you again!

Reviewer: MadeleineDate: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106757Chapter: 1
This is wonderful. The months it took you to write really paid off. I loved every minute of it; the frisbee game, the dream, Harry's "wait". It was perfectly paced, not too angsty, or overly romancey- just a bittersweet sadness, and Harry's weariness. I love how Harry longs for the rest and comfort from beyond the veil, and how Ginny, seeming to embody all the energy and courage of living called him back "We need you"- beautiful.

Reviewer: NarumiDate: 2004-12-02
Reviewid: 106637Chapter: 1
I LOVE THIS FIC!!! It's so perfect, so cannon, and SO believeable. And I just love the "wait..." while he can't think what he's trying to say, and she knows just what he means... *sigh* *gush* yay, i can go have happy dreams now...

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-12-02
Reviewid: 106629Chapter: 1
You know, I actually had the idea of writing a story just like this--but I don't think I can, now, because this one is just too good. It was very poignant, how Harry was so tired, just ready to quit on everything, and she pulled him away from it. And then when he saw her after he woke up, and told her to wait, and her vaguely foreshadowing response.

For some reason, the final description of Ginny struck me--the dress fluttering against her legs in the wind as she walked away. It sort of promotes a surreal air to the whole thing, in a way, and it's also an interesting contrast or foil to the image of the fluttering veil. Life instead of death . . . well, anyway, I just liked it. Very nicely done!

Reviewer: Purple Eyed WeasleyDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106470Chapter: 1
Wow. This story was absolutely awesome. Really well done. I really liked the dream, and your descriptions. your portrayal of all the characters is really well done. I especially liked Ginny, and I loved the moment where she stops him from going behind the veil. That was a really good story, and I hope you will write more, to this extent. Follow it up.

Reviewer: MorganDate: 2004-11-09
Reviewid: 104069Chapter: 1
Hi Mingo! I just finished reading this - it's great! I think my favorite part was the moment when Harry can't form the words to express himself, and merely says again, "Wait"... and Ginny responds with, "Don't worry, Harry. I will." That brought a smile to my face. Really lovely. (And this piece also had an excellent description of setting as well.) Thanks for sharing your writing with us.

Morgan

Reviewer: SDBDate: 2004-11-09
Reviewid: 104056Chapter: 1
Lovely first piece! Your characterizations of Harry and Ginny were exactly as I imagine them in the summer after OotP, and I love the descriptions, especially in the DoM. I look forward to more from you.

Reviewer: p0tterfanDate: 2004-11-08
Reviewid: 103885Chapter: 1
Very nice ... well written.

Reviewer: bando2Date: 2004-11-07
Reviewid: 103696Chapter: 1
I really like this I hope there is more

Reviewer: SammyDate: 2004-11-06
Reviewid: 103619Chapter: 1
wow ... that was very touching. it's 930 on a saturday morning and i feel like crying and smiling all at the same time. no matter how long these things take, stories like this one make it all worth while. Thank you for such a wonderful piece.

Reviewer: emma moonDate: 2004-11-04
Reviewid: 103445Chapter: 1
What a wonderful story! I thought it was extremely well written. I hope you write more!

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2004-11-04
Reviewid: 103436Chapter: 1
Oh, that was lovely! Very well written and I especially liked the way it ended.

Reviewer: WrenDate: 2004-11-03
Reviewid: 103411Chapter: 1
Very nicely done. I like this a lot.

Reviewer: HaydenDate: 2004-11-03
Reviewid: 103367Chapter: 1
This is the BEST Harry/Ginny story I've ever read, which is very refreshing for someone who isn't sure which to root for: Harry/Ginny or Harry/Hermione! It's so awesome - well-written, interesting, just...so great. Good job, I hope to read more from you!

Reviewer: izzyDate: 2004-11-01
Reviewid: 103210Chapter: 1
Perfect.

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2004-11-01
Reviewid: 103189Chapter: 1
What a wonderful piece of work. I felt these soft and muted edges all around when I was imagining it in my head...definately like a summer day. The DOM scene is touching..and the ending...I loved it! She knew, even without him saying...she knew. And that did not surprise me in the least. Well, well done.

Reviewer: Date: 2004-11-01
Reviewid: 103154Chapter: 1
good

Reviewer: srutiDate: 2004-11-01
Reviewid: 103137Chapter: 1
lovely-pls keep writing

Reviewer: ryoroowDate: 2004-11-01
Reviewid: 103135Chapter: 1
This is the best fan fiction I have read- and I've read a lot! Your writing just flows so naturally and your wording is beautiful- it was evident from the very beginning. I really, really hope that you continue to write. You could definitely be a professional writer. Wow, impressive! I CANNOT WAIT for the next installment!

Reviewer: Madame ButterflyDate: 2004-10-31
Reviewid: 103116Chapter: 1
That was great! Correct and truthful characterisation of all the characters. A lovely way of introducing special feelings between Ginny and Harry that I REALLY HOPE do actually come to be.
Keep writing! That was fantastic!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-10-31
Reviewid: 103112Chapter: 1
That was beautiful. Very sweet.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2004-10-31
Reviewid: 103111Chapter: 1
I really liked the Ginny/Harry interaction. I think they definitely have a bond, although I don't know that I think it will lead to romance. But I certainly like fics like this, that imply it will. :) You wrote Harry's agony very realistically, as well as Ginny's concern.

Reviewer: Kit BlackDate: 2004-10-31
Reviewid: 103109Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this story. I thought that the story flowed well and you seemed to have a good grip on the characters. Really good. Keep writing.

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2004-10-31
Reviewid: 103083Chapter: 1
Very nice...I liked this a lot! Especially the quote from Hamlet at the beginning--it set the right tone for the story. Thanks for a great read!

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2004-10-31
Reviewid: 103078Chapter: 1
An outstanding first outing! What a wonderful story, beautifully written and characterized. I look forward to more of your work.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --