The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Disavowals
Review(s): 361

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2007-04-02
Reviewid: 147649Chapter: 24
I just finished rereading this entire saga over the course of spring break. I don't have anything new to say, but this story has really stuck with me. Your characters are full, rich, REAL human beings. I felt what they felt. Thank you for writing this. I know how much work it is, and you never lost patience for a moment. It was a wonderful ride.

Reviewer: Te ArohaDate: 2006-02-06
Reviewid: 139432Chapter: 14
Oh - Alex Archer, as in 'Alex' by Tessa Duder? I wonder what other NZ flags I've been missing. Are Jake Oram and Cait McDonnel significant?

Reviewer: Te ArohaDate: 2006-02-06
Reviewid: 139406Chapter: 10
Doubt thou the stars are fire / Doubt that the sun doth move / Doubt truth to be a liar / But never doubt that I love ~ no WONDER Theo was embarrassed!
BTW, thanks for adding the location of the quote. I looked for it as soon as I saw it and not being able to find anything was driving me crazy.
I'm in the middle of re-reading the Distractions series - hey, who needs book seven :D
BTW 2: Is the cello very difficult? (I'm thinking about starting it)

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-01-25
Reviewid: 138859Chapter: 24
You are, obviously, brilliant. This was, of course, wonderfully done, again, and I thank you for posting it.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-01-25
Reviewid: 138857Chapter: 1
You are, obviously, brilliant. This was, of course, wonderfully done, again, and I thank you for posting it.

Reviewer: Julie AitkenDate: 2005-10-12
Reviewid: 134356Chapter: 24
Wow... I've never read a fan fiction story that could make me cry multiple times. You are amazing... I almost wish you had thought of Harry Potter first and had written this story. The characters had so much depth to them, they became your characters, not jk rowlings. Well its 3am here and i have to get up in 2 hours (I blame your amazingness for keeping me up) and i just wanted to say that this story has been one of the best I've read in my life. If you ever publish a book I'll be first in line to buy it!!
Julie

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-10-03
Reviewid: 133701Chapter: 24
Brilliant. Beautiful. Touching. Lovely. There are still loose ends, but they're all pointing towards the future now, a future of hope instead of fear.

Thank you for this whole series. It's been quite a ride.

Mcily

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-10-02
Reviewid: 133563Chapter: 15
No earth-shattering commentary here, but this chapter made me cry.

Reviewer: MélissaDate: 2005-10-01
Reviewid: 133512Chapter: 24
That was amazing. Thank you.

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-09-28
Reviewid: 133379Chapter: 1
It's finally happening! Wow. Go Theo!

Oh, and I love that the chapters are named after musical terms. Cool.

Reviewer: claudiastarDate: 2005-08-22
Reviewid: 130584Chapter: 24
I love your Theo and Anne stories. They're so complex and interesting and well written. You really like to challenge our cosy complacent convictions don't you. Anne is a great O.C., original and well written. She has an amazing inner strength which came out in this particular fic really well. When she was challenging her father for instance. I love how she is able to challenge Theo and fight with him but still support him when he needs her. I love their philosophical discussions about family, prejudice, choices, and morality. They have a great thoughtful relationship. I also love their families- Terry is a great character. I love the way you provide a view of Harry's battle from the sidelines. A knew point of view is always interesting. I really enjoyed that their relationship was out in the open in this one and that Theo finally confronted his father. Great ending by the way- new beginnings and all that Jazz. Great job all round

Reviewer: BronteDate: 2005-08-21
Reviewid: 130516Chapter: 24
I love your Anne and Theo stories and am trying to be patient in the wake of HBP.
As its the end of the story I don't have alot to reveiw but I wanted to write soemthing as an encouragement.
I hope to see new posts soon

Reviewer: loveandheartbrokenDate: 2005-08-11
Reviewid: 129590Chapter: 24
you are definately my idol. i LOVE your stories! lol.

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2005-07-13
Reviewid: 127101Chapter: 24
Brava dear, beautiful to the very end. Congrats on such a wonderful and absolutely satisfying story. :)

Reviewer: beckDate: 2005-07-12
Reviewid: 126973Chapter: 24
I have thourgholy enjoyed this story and i cant wait till you post more you did a awesome job

Reviewer: KelseyDate: 2005-07-11
Reviewid: 126870Chapter: 5
Yay for 1984 allusions. :-D I love it, ha!

Reviewer: EresseaDate: 2005-07-11
Reviewid: 126778Chapter: 24
I'm so glad you're going to continue writing. These are some of my favorite stories. So completely original, and so well written.

Reviewer: silver_blaiseDate: 2005-07-10
Reviewid: 126727Chapter: 24
awesome. totally awesome. i always wait for you to update. AND I LOVE your little authorial intrusions with the rthetorics that you intersperse in your chapters. very reflective and they add a depth to the story. also the way you took two.. nondescript characters and made them flesh and blood. and the ending is amazing. as are all your ending. AAAAAH!!!! wish it didnt have to end.

Hello, I'm Theodore Nott. Pleased to meet you."

"Anne Fairleigh," said Anne, taking it. She smiled up at him, twining her fingers in his. "Welcome to the future."

kayjal

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-07-10
Reviewid: 126708Chapter: 24
Excellent. If I wasn't so tired I would analyze what I liked and comment on parts that were particularly good, but I've been reading for about three hours and I have to sleep but this was wonderful and I'm so glad it's finished. Yes, that was a horrible run-on sentence, oh well. Good work, you're a great writer.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2005-07-10
Reviewid: 126707Chapter: 24
I have followed this series of stories from the very first chapter and with each new story have become more involved with Anne and Theo. In fact, you changed my thinking about "some" Slytherins, making them not quite so abrasive and easy to loath. However, what really kept me reading was the fact that you used Anne and Theo's mutual love for music to bring them together in the first place and then made it an integral part of their relationship. I loved how Theo's time in the practice room with Anne helped him to become more open to seeing the world through another's opinions/eyes. You did a wonderful job, too of showing how Theo learned to accept the fact that his thinking differed from his father's; that when the choice between what was right for him and the easy way out, he took the harder road and was true to himself. I was so very glad, when he chose to escape, that Anne and her family were there to give him shelter until Theo could find a refuge until school started. As sad as I am to see this series end, I realize that you as an author probably have many plot bunnies running around in your computer and that once HBP has been released, you'll let them out one by one. I look forward to reading more of your work as you have become one of my favorite writers. Congratulations on a successful conclusion to the Anne Fairleigh/Theodore Nott story.

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-07-09
Reviewid: 126661Chapter: 24
How sweet… I’m sad to see the end of this fic, but will eagerly be awaiting more Theo and Anne. You ended ‘Disavowals’ on just the right note — a sort of bittersweet happiness with the promise of a new beginning.

Keep writing, Elsha!

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: wokka42Date: 2005-07-09
Reviewid: 126630Chapter: 24
I'm sorry I've been remiss in reviewing - life does get busy sometimes. But I did want to post a final review for this story and series. Elsha, you are simply a magnificent writer. These final chapters, even crammed chock full of action and suspense, are filled to bursting with eloquent, thoughtful, beautiful writing. I love Anne's realization - difficult, troubling, but realistic and thoughtful - that her future lies not in the Muggle world but in the wizarding one. Sometimes you have to make choices, and the idea that she will ever truly feel back at home in the Muggle world might perhaps be the happier one but not necessarily truer. I also really liked how you brought the series full circle - the practice room is a great place to finish it off. And Anne and Theo's final conversation there wraps up the essence of the story perfectly. I like the insight that ultimately, all the sturm and drang that our hero and heroine faced has given them only the chance to have a normal adult life - this is more of a beginning than an ending, after all, and that's a magnificent insight. To close with Anne and Theo introducing themselves to each other again really ends everything on just the right note.

Once again, I have to say that you have written all your stories with extraordinary sensitivity, a wonderfully dry wit, and an unparalleled understanding of the human spirit. You created two meticulously detailed and richly developed characters in Anne and Theo, and took them on a journey of personal discovery that illustrates just how sharp an eye you have for human interaction, learning, and growth. Theo's transformation from an unsure boy facing a future he doesn't want into a young man on the cusp of adulthood who makes the right choices because he feels he cannot do anything else is maybe the best character arc I've seen in fanfiction anywhere (and certainly better than some things I've read in actual novels). And you created a wonderfully sympathetic foil for him in Anne - the quiet Hufflepuff with a good eye for people but isn't quite as gentle as everyone expects. And their interplay - and the insights about love, family, friendships, and right and wrong - is just masterful.

Oh, I'm going to miss Anne and Theo! I hope you continue to write once HBP comes through! I look forward to seeing what magic you can conjure next.

Reviewer: BarbDate: 2005-07-09
Reviewid: 126629Chapter: 24
Hey there... i've been following your story for a while and... well... it seems so strange that it's finished. I just got into a habit of looking at the updates and finding you there and now well.. it's strange how finished stories feel. But i have to admit, your story ended just perfeclty... And by the way, when Theo left his father at the end of chapter 22 or 21, can't remember, that would've also done a really strong ending... not to say that isn't right, this has a real DONE feeling to it, but... yeah, just saying that it would've been fine too. Anyway, I just wanted to congratulate you on your story. It was really well written and the characters developped amazingly. You really captured a perfect developmental line mentally. I wouldn't have been able to describe it differently. Anyway, I'm really looking to reading some more from you, but i guess it will be while, since HBP comes out next week... Well, very good job, and I'll try to review more often for your other stories!
-Barb

Reviewer: Headmistress SkiesDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126597Chapter: 1
Brilliant fic. I started off laughing - '"Parents don't count, they complain about everything"' - and identifying with the wanting to choke your siblings, but by the end... You shift the mood and tone incredibly well.

Your characters - both your original ones, and Theo, who there is next to no information on - are well developed. You seem very good at creating these entire existences that we've known nothing about previously. You'd be very good at RPing because of this - www.geocities.com/headmaster_cromwell - it's for original characters, so please check it out.

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126596Chapter: 24
Wow. I'm speechless. Just -- wow. This is so good, all of it, Anne and Theo and Terry and Eddie and all of it. I've been following it since the beginning, even if I haven't actually reviewed, and I would do that for anything less than this. I love the ending. I lvoe your characters. I love how well you write canon characters. I love your OCs (especially Eddie, for some reason!). I love how Theo and Anne met. I love this entire series. It's something I'll read over and over again because it's so great and it's so REAL.

Thank you.

Reviewer: WhitneyDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126595Chapter: 24
Gosh. I can't believe it's over! This was just so wonderful. Thank you so much for sharing this world with us. It was really, really great.

Reviewer: Hadyp YanicDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126572Chapter: 24
Rather nice and appropriate ending to the tale. Bravo!

Reviewer: desertroseDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126549Chapter: 24
loved this! do you realise how devastated i'm going to be if Theo turns out to be a bad guy in HBP after following your stories?

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126524Chapter: 24
Oh, man... two fics have ended tonight.

Anyway, the ten things I loved about this fic list:

1. The way Anne and Theo have contradicting views that somehow mix together so well; they compliment one another.

2. Anne's combination of innocence and wisdom.

3. The way the war was so realistic - no melodramatic soap opera endings or anything.

4. Anne's questioning Hermione's actions; I like when fic characters do that, because it makes the reader think. Plus, it also shows that we all feel differently. (For what it's worth, I'm on Anne's side - I'm also a Hufflepuff).

5. The way the fics disproved two house stereotypes.

6. The way you still made Harry a part of the story, even though he was seperate from Anne and Theo.

7. The Shakespeare quote. Because it just fits.

8. The use of musical notes per chapter; how appropriate!

9. This is more about you, but the way you interact with the readers. It allows us to see that you're a person! ;)

10. The way this ended. It gives room for so much.

Reviewer: NatalieDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126493Chapter: 24
Again, a lovely, lovely chapter. Your writing over the past several stories has completely drawn me into the world of Theo and Anne; thank you for so many wonderful hours spent reading your stories! I'm really looking forward to seeing more of Theo and Anne. Again, great job! These stories are some of my absolute favorites in the HP universe.

Reviewer: jkDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126490Chapter: 24
that was SO good! *sigh*
this chapter was VERY philosophical, and very, VERY good.
i want to know what happens to them once anne is out of hogwarts too!
well, chao for now!
-jk

Reviewer: person with eyesDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126486Chapter: 24
brilliant story... absolutely lovely. looking forward to reading more of your work after HBP. thank you for giving me a little bit of jo on a boring day.
8 more days at this point... (can't help but squeal!)

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126435Chapter: 24
Best Theo fic I've read and I'll be dissapointed if Anne doesn't show in HbP.

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126420Chapter: 24
Well done! Do you know, I hardly ever read a fan-fic with an ending that satisfies? You brought this one in for a light landing, perfectly in character with all that had been established. I love the way it came around full circle to the very beginning of their relationship, then looks ahead.

Do keep giving us our Theo and Anne stories. I love 'em.

Reviewer: David WolfskillDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126413Chapter: 24
Beautiful; very well-written! Thank you ever so much for sharing your story-telling talents. And I look forward to seeing those "Anne and Theo pieces in the pipeline" when you post them.

Reviewer: KathrynDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126412Chapter: 24
Thank You So Much! I loved that story! It was refreshing not to hear about the same old characters. These were really interesting.

Reviewer: stars_inthe_sky (LJ)Date: 2005-07-02
Reviewid: 125896Chapter: 23
Um, wow. This series is absolutely amazing, and so well-written.

Reviewer: CDate: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125809Chapter: 23
Bravo, very well-written. I have a soft spot for Ernie Macmillan, and you've done him well. Estella Haywood was also one of the more interesting supporting characters I've ever come across.

I must confess, though, that I can't help thinking of Theo Nott & Anne Fairleigh as "Though Not Unfairly".

Reviewer: ThessalyDate: 2005-06-30
Reviewid: 125728Chapter: 23
God, I love these stories. I review occasionally, but I read every chapter. You write beautifully, and your characterization is fantastic. This is an excellent ending to an excellent story. Being a Shakespeare reader, I appreciate the quotes. Being a musician, I am forced to ask, what is a ritando? Is it like a ritardando, missing a syllable?

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2005-06-30
Reviewid: 125676Chapter: 23
::standing ovation:: One of the best stories I've followed in a long time. Wonderful! And a great lead-up to Book six. Thank you immensely! I look foward to the epilogue.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2005-06-30
Reviewid: 125659Chapter: 23
Please tell me you're not hinting at a break up.

Ack, now I sound like one of those annoying reviewers, don't I? So, *ahem.*

I really liked this - their shocked reactions made sense. And the grief - poor Parvati; how horrible it must be to lose a dear friend like that.

Reviewer: GerardDate: 2005-06-28
Reviewid: 125519Chapter: 1
powerful ceation.

Theo frowned after her. "I wonder how the Dark Lord found out the actual wording of the prophecy?"

Some seeds for an epilogue? + there is a Malfoy lurking with revenge in his heart?

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2005-06-28
Reviewid: 125508Chapter: 23
Ah. Lovely. I like the slightly upbeat ending. ". . . personal horizons were clear, never mind the sky outside."

You've brought us in for a sweet landing.

Reviewer: sparkleygemDate: 2005-06-28
Reviewid: 125507Chapter: 23
That was so sweet - i loved the way he told her he loved her. poor terry. poor theo. poor callum! can't wait for the epilogue.

Reviewer: hillaDate: 2005-06-28
Reviewid: 125472Chapter: 1
This is the best fanfic I have ever read in my life, in every espect of the story (and Ihad my share of fics...). The characters are so real, the dialogs are absolutly brilliant and the conflicts as well. It's not fluffy, and everything is so well-written (another sequel will be very apriciated, by the way).

(sorry about my english, I'm not used to write in this language)

Reviewer: jkDate: 2005-06-28
Reviewid: 125456Chapter: 23
wow.
wow!
WOW!!
how the HELL do you do it?!!
HOW do you make everything SO realistic and... i can't even THINK straight!
you-are-AMAZING!!!
please, please, PLEASE don't let that be the end!!!!!!!
it is quite possible that i will go insane if you stop now or any time soon.
this series is TOO GOOD!!!
i especially liked anne & theo's confessions of love!
cute, sweet, adorable... and best of all: very REAL!
finally! no mushy, fluffy, over-the-top, unrealistic confessions of love!!!!! yyyyeeeeeeeeeeeeeeessssssssssssssssssssss!!!!!!!!!!!
THIS is what i've been waiting for people!
a story that seems like it could ACTUALLY HAPPEN! A STORY THAT--
oh... sorry- got a little carried away there...
anywayz, gotta go.
-jk

Reviewer: EresseaDate: 2005-06-28
Reviewid: 125454Chapter: 23
Great chapter. I really hope you continue with this story. It's one of the most original and realistic ones out there.

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-06-28
Reviewid: 125446Chapter: 23
Brava!!! There are no words, other than emotionally satisfying and beautifully worded, that could truly express how I feel about this story - the entire Anne/Theo universe, actually. I've read a couple of their post-Hogwarts stories and I loved those. I'm looking forward to the epilogue!

Reviewer: CaseyDate: 2005-06-28
Reviewid: 125445Chapter: 23
I didn't want to say this last chapter in case you actually did it, but I think last chapter would have been an excellent place to end the fic. Theo's dad calling out to him in the rain, and Theo walking away. It would have made the fic very different, but it would have worked really well.

I'm glad to hear that you aren't leaving Theo and Anne up in the air with HBP approaching.

Nice chapter, cant wait to see how you finish it.

Reviewer: pablo alvarezDate: 2005-06-28
Reviewid: 125444Chapter: 23
i have really enjoyed this story. so although I am no good at writing useful reviews, thank you very much!

Reviewer: David WolfskillDate: 2005-06-28
Reviewid: 125433Chapter: 23
Amazing; excellent work!

Thanks for noticing (if belatedly) the "funny symbols" and trying to do something about them.

Interesting fate for Draco's wand. Seems to fit.

"Pick the one you like best, and stick with it. Or not, as circumstances warrant." -- indeed; how very Slytherin. :-}

Reviewer: BrittneyDate: 2005-06-25
Reviewid: 125195Chapter: 10
Just a tiny weeny review:

Hamlet, Act 2, Scene 2? So very, very cute. :) I'll write a much longer review later.

Britt

Reviewer: beckDate: 2005-06-24
Reviewid: 125041Chapter: 22
wow what a chapter great job cant wait for the next one =)

Reviewer: CharlotteDate: 2005-06-23
Reviewid: 124957Chapter: 22
Was this all? Is there going to be another chapter?

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-06-23
Reviewid: 124956Chapter: 22
Wow. That...How on earth do you do that? I was going to say that scene between Theo and his father was incredible, and I would go into more detail, and then I realized that trying to put it into words would just make it seem cheap. Then I realized you did it all with words. How did you do that?

I must sound insane right now. But that was incredible.

Reviewer: SparkleygemDate: 2005-06-23
Reviewid: 124952Chapter: 22
Tell me there's going to be at least one more chapter! I'll die if there isn't! I hope you're proud of yourself - I have A Level exams in four days' time and I was doing really well with revision until I happened to glance at Sugarquill to see if a story I've been reading for months had been updated. I don't know what prompted me to have a look at what 'Disavowals' was about, but I ended up reading every single Theo/Anne story before I even got to it. So much for revision...
Anyway, enough of complaining - I loved all the stories so much! Theo is a fantastic character, and reading about both him and Anne was like opening up a window into people's souls. Nice writing! I loved the way you didn't even try to gloss over the brutal reality of the war, though it did make me cry several times. My jaw hit the floor when Gabby and Lee were killed! I was also strangely upset when Rose Zeller was killed at Hogsmeade - her older sister is Head Girl in a story I'm writing! (By the way, thank you for making Ron Head Boy, and for all the subtle Ron/Hermione moments :) I especially liked the part when Theo warned Hermione about her parents and Terry told Anne that she ran to Ron and hugged him for ages. Awwww.) I hope I'm not confusing you by reviewing all the Theo/Anne stories at once - I was too caught up in what would happen next to review before! Anyway...
Speaking of Terry - what a character! She always made me laugh, especially the Christmas Card she sent to Theo. And Nicola was so sweet, and poor Eddie! I can't blame him - I know I'd feel that way if my sister went off to be a witch. It makes you wonder whether Petunia started off that way, doesn't it?
There are a hundred other moments and characters that I could mention, but I'd be here all day, and I do feel quite guilty about not sitting in my garden to enjoy probably the only sunshine we Londoners will ever see this summer. Oh yeah, and the revision too... bleugh.
I know reviews should also be about constructive criticism, but quite honestly there were only two things that bugged me. The random symbols -
don't worry, I can't format to save my life - and Theo's age. You said he turned seventeen in September. If this was true, he'd be in the year below.
In the grand scheme of things, though, it doesn't matter, so back to the gushing about how great the stories were. This review is shaping up like one of Theo and Anne's letters, so I'll stop now.
Hoping for another chapter ::insert puppy dog eyes here:: please?????
luv sparkley

Reviewer: SparkleygemDate: 2005-06-23
Reviewid: 124948Chapter: 20
Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!

Reviewer: JessDate: 2005-06-23
Reviewid: 124925Chapter: 22
Oh gosh, that ending made me want to cry, it was sad, but necessary for Theo to be able to move on. Still, it's a sad situation either way.

Reviewer: KeridwenDate: 2005-06-22
Reviewid: 124856Chapter: 22
Wow. What a powerful ending to this chapter. I admire the way that you've written Theodore's struggle, through this fic, and the previous ones. You've done an excellent job of keeping Theo's (and the various other characters') emotions believable and powerful, without going over the top. I'm glad that Theo finally has a resolution, of a sort, however painful.

I can't wait to read the rest!

Reviewer: PinkyiolisDate: 2005-06-22
Reviewid: 124853Chapter: 22
Ohhhhh Theo. Ohhhhh. Beautifully written...loved it as usual.

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-06-22
Reviewid: 124835Chapter: 22
This was a beautifully emotional chapter, Elsha — I was blinking back tears throughout it, especially that heartbreaking scene between Theo and his father.

This line struck me as being particularly good: “…striding towards the castle, and the future, while the past called through the rain behind him.”

The ending to this chapter just felt right. I’ll be sad to see the end of this fic. Maybe you’ll write more on them at some point?

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2005-06-22
Reviewid: 124822Chapter: 22
Oh, I'm going to miss your stories. Some of the most dependable out there.
I wondered how you would end it. Eric Nott is both contemtible and sad.

Reviewer: After the RainDate: 2005-06-22
Reviewid: 124810Chapter: 22
Oh damn, that was so sad. It had to happen, of course, but that doesn't make Theo's final encounter with his father any less wrenching.

I do hope Harry's all right. And poor Hannah!

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2005-06-22
Reviewid: 124809Chapter: 22
I don't know what to say, but I didn't want to not review, since you *are* a friend, so... wow. Deep chapter. Moving..

Reviewer: jkDate: 2005-06-22
Reviewid: 124808Chapter: 22
oh... *sobs*
that *sniff* was SO sad...
you are the most AMAZING writer-- rowling would be proud.
your not done yet are you?
you better not be... *growls & sharpens knife*
anywayz... gotta go.
-jk

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2005-06-21
Reviewid: 124794Chapter: 22
I've read all your fics and I adore them, so thank you. And thanks for finishing before next month! And please, please, can we have just a little epilogue?

Reviewer: GorrableDate: 2005-06-21
Reviewid: 124793Chapter: 22
Is that it? Pleeeeease don't let that be it... at least write a epoluge... you know you want to.

Anyway, I've followed these fics from the very first one, and loved every single moment of them. I haven't reviewed any chapters (partially because I don't normally review fics but largely because I'm just plain lazy) but I started to feel guilty about enjoying your marvelous series without any feedback.

This is some of the best fanfiction I've ever read, largely because the charecters seem so *real* - typical of each of their houses, but still with rich personalities. I probably know the charecters of Anne and Theo much better than I know the majority of JKR's charecters. I really can't imagine how you can write both of them, and Terry on top of that, without your head exploding from the multiple personalities knocking around in there...

Reviewer: person with eyesDate: 2005-06-21
Reviewid: 124738Chapter: 22
Another brilliant chapter as usual. I'm just so glad they're all alive! I often find that I rarely like fanfictions that give the final end of the battle but I just love how you show Voldemort's end, it seems believable (spelling?). Ah... and of course Theo and his Dad, very nice.
I'm sick right now and reading this story with some soup works way better than Tylenol.
Thank you!

Reviewer: MargeryDate: 2005-06-21
Reviewid: 124720Chapter: 22
Poignant. Very beautiful,very striking. One of the last lines struck me especially:

"I've said my farewells," Theo told him harshly, striding towards the castle, and the future, while the past called through the rain behind him.

And I love how Theo met Liam after breaking the last ties with his father, to complete the new picture of family after destroying the old.

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-06-21
Reviewid: 124714Chapter: 21
Well, I suppose cliffhangers are fun if you’re the author…
Great chapter! The argument between Anne and her parents was particularly well done and very realistic — I’m off to read Chapter Twenty-Two. Keep updating!

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: enemy00Date: 2005-06-21
Reviewid: 124706Chapter: 22
i cried in your battle scene....it was very touching.
Loved the scene between Theo and his dad.
and i am so sad that this is ending soon!!!

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-06-21
Reviewid: 124681Chapter: 22
I was so scared to read this chapter. I don't know why, as it's absolutely wonderful. And heartbreaking. I'll be very sad indeed to see this story end.

Reviewer: David WolfskillDate: 2005-06-21
Reviewid: 124658Chapter: 22
This story has always been very well-written and quite remarkable. This chapter is certainly no exception: Theo's dialogue with Terry (bu the lake) was ... amazing. His dialogue with his father is even more so.

Reviewer: CaseyDate: 2005-06-21
Reviewid: 124651Chapter: 22
The final scene between Theo and his father was great. Powerful stuff. When Eric Nott says that killing muggleborns isn't murder, your heart just breaks for Theo and everything that he's lost. When Theo walks away through the rain leaving his father and everything he represented behind it's moving. Brilliant job.

I liked Liam O'Neill appearing at the end. Even as Theo completely cuts ties to one part of his family, another part appears out of the rain. Very fitting.

Terry's disappearance because "it was boring and I didn't know what was happening" is perfect.

Great chapter. Great fic.

Reviewer: jkDate: 2005-06-19
Reviewid: 124475Chapter: 21
SQEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAALLLLLLLLL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
omigod, omigod, omigod, OMIGOD!!!!!!!!!!!!
eeeeeeeeeekkkkkk!!!!!!!
i haven't reviewed in sssoooooooo long, but this is just too awsomely exciting!!
anywayz, i hope you'll have one more story after you finish this one-- AND i HOPE you don't kill off anne or theo or my favorite gryffindors (sp?)--or terry!
yeeeaaaaaaahhhhh.... well i love this chapter.
update again soon!
VERY soon!
-jk
p.s. PLEASE don't kill my fav characters! please?

Reviewer: person with eyesDate: 2005-06-18
Reviewid: 124462Chapter: 21
I yelped with joy when I saw you updated, especially after chapter 20's (what i like to call) "cliff-hangover". Very fast paced and exciting chapter. Love how Anne finally shows everyone who she is!
Can't wait for an update!

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2005-06-18
Reviewid: 124395Chapter: 21
Loved this chapter! I'm fascinated with this story mainly because it's from two other House perspectives. You're doing a marvelous job creating both the Slytherin and Hufflepuff mentalities and I think it's refreshing to see what's happening elsewhere in the battle for Hogwarts other than on the front lines, i.e., with Harry. Also, thanks to your story, I have become rather sympathetic toward various Slytherin students and have a new respect for how their minds work. This is a marvelous chapter and I look forward to finding out what happens next. Please post again soon.

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2005-06-17
Reviewid: 124298Chapter: 21
AWESOME STUFF!! WOOOHOOOO! had me at the EDGE of my seat n holding my breath like anything!!! keep going Elsha. cheers! finally all Hogwart's little hidey holes are coming in handy. its really cool.. and you. mixing the traditions of hogwarts with the story is awesome. awesome!!

kayjal

Reviewer: enemy00Date: 2005-06-17
Reviewid: 124265Chapter: 21
oh my god! This is indeed the most gripping storyline ever! Its really scaring me to read it, and you've left us on a terrible terrible cliffhanger!!! its making me nervous thinking about the next part....!

Reviewer: MargeryDate: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124259Chapter: 21
Wow, two cliff hangers in a row, you really are vindictive! I really--this chapter is killer. I really liked Anne's talk with her parents, but I just want to know the ending! This story is so addictive, it's so reminiscent of canon, but so original in the writing style.

Reviewer: JessDate: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124250Chapter: 21
Wow, action after action after action. Hope they make it out of Hogwarts alright. And where's Theo in all this mess? Update soon, can't wait for the next chapter! =)

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124238Chapter: 21
Oh my God...

Reviewer: spriteDate: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124221Chapter: 21
Cripes! This chapter is incredible. I love Anne's conversation with her family, especially this pargraph:

>>"Oh, I'm sick of this!" Anne exclaimed. "I'm who I always was. Everyone insists that I've "changed", or I'm "different", or that "you weren't like this". It's just an excuse because you were all wrong, and you thought just because I was quiet I was meek. That wasn't ever true."<<

It's very satisfying hearing this from Anne.

I also like Theo's reaction - not wanting to go out there, but knowing he has to because the others expect it of him. It's honest. Although I wonder if Theo expects it of himself, and just doesn't realize it.

Now I can't wait for chapter 22!

Reviewer: AdelaideDate: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124202Chapter: 21
NOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Curse you!!

Reviewer: StephDate: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124181Chapter: 21
So the fun begins :).

Reviewer: David WolfskillDate: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124147Chapter: 21
Good. Saw a couple of small typos; other than that, it's very well done.

Reviewer: Sarah M.Date: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124136Chapter: 21
I had to go to fanfiction to finish this story--I won't give it away, of course, but it was wonderful. I was an emotional mess. Thank you for making the Theodore Nott of my (and Anne's) dreams. I love him, and I think JK Rowling would, too.

Reviewer: MallaryDate: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124134Chapter: 21
Well, thanks for a quick update, but another cliff? You're killing me!

Anyway, another great chapter. You really are good at writing action, which is something I didn't expect because you're so good at writing eveything else, it didn't seem likely. But you've really proved me wrong.

You manage to make my heart race, and my whole body tremble with fear as I'm reading the chapter, but, in all the chaos, it's still highly understandable. Bravo!

Terry is truly a Gryffindor. I hope no one finds here.

Anne is lovely, and it's so sad to read about her getting hurt. She must have an amazing tolerance for pain.

And Theo was slipping there a little by trying to avoid the battle, proving he's still Slytherin, deep down. But he still made the right choice, which is why I love him.

You have no idea what a treat it is to read your writing. I don't want this story to end. Are you thinking of maybe making a short follow up? Like, one chapter or so, maybe post-Hogwarts? Just curious...

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124104Chapter: 21
You? Amazing. *Doesn't know what to think, except to hope that canon Theo turns out like this one*

Reviewer: Lady NaginiDate: 2005-06-13
Reviewid: 123922Chapter: 20
Ahh! That's not allowed! Cliffhangers are the DEVIL.

That said, this chapter was extremely powerful. Not many people are willing to explore death and carnage to this degree in fanfic...it's HARD to show death after death after death. And unfortunately, that's what a post-fifth year story must entail -- and you do it extremely well. I think that this chapter shows the true extent of the damage that will be done, as well as a taste of what the First War must have been like. Very, very well done.

Update soon!

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-06-13
Reviewid: 123899Chapter: 20
What a cliff-hanger — Hogwarts being attacked and Dumbledore dead!

I really loved Callum’s summarisation of the Iliad: "it's all about people being excessively brave and stupid and killing each other over points of honour. Very Gryffindor, in fact.” That description made me grin.

I’m glad that Anne and Sarah are getting along better again — for now, at least.
Update soon, please!

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: AdelaideDate: 2005-06-13
Reviewid: 123881Chapter: 20
WHY? WHY MUST YOU TORTURE US SO?

Absolutely stunning, as usual. Though, as you can see by my above comment, I am very upset about the death of Dumbledore. :(

I love the referance to the Illiad, and the way you've handled to reactions to the war has been perfect. Though, I'm waiting on pins and needles for the next chapter. *hint hink, nudge nudge, wink wink*

Reviewer: July31Date: 2005-06-12
Reviewid: 123864Chapter: 20
OMG! Hurry and update! Dumbledore! Oh no!
This story is amazing.
And sad, awful cliffhanger!
Gah, to distressed to put sentences straight!

Reviewer: AmberDate: 2005-06-12
Reviewid: 123837Chapter: 20
Ooohhh....come on, you can;t o this to us!? Uch...

Anyway, nicely tied in, especially the idea that even in such terrible times, tradition does not budge [with the hogwarts Houses]. I also loved the following line: Anne hadn't believed it, and had not believed her own eyes when she'd seen her too-tall brother rise laconically from the Hufflepuff table - Eddie, at Hogwarts, it was unbelievable - and say "Well, took me a while, but I got here in the end."

Very nice. Keep it up!

Reviewer: Sarah M.Date: 2005-06-12
Reviewid: 123807Chapter: 20
What? WHAT!? Dumbledore can't die...I mean, he can...but what?????????? NO! This chapter practically had me in tears, Elsha...I need to know what happens next!

Reviewer: JessDate: 2005-06-12
Reviewid: 123794Chapter: 20
Whoa, nice cliffie, things just keep going downhill, don't they? I can't wait for the next chapter, when is all this craziness going to end?

Reviewer: RainbowDate: 2005-06-11
Reviewid: 123771Chapter: 20
Oh. My. Gosh.

You are killing me! AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2005-06-11
Reviewid: 123735Chapter: 20
Oh my goodness! How are we to bear the wait until the next chapter? This story is incredible. I always read your story last everytime there's an update, because it's my favorite and nothing else can quite compare. You do a good job of telling Anne and Theo's story while not excluding what's happening in the rest of the world, and giving them interesting plot points while not taking over Harry's role. Good work.

Reviewer: MargeryDate: 2005-06-11
Reviewid: 123734Chapter: 20
Well, this can't be good! God, of all places to leave us hanging! Wonderful chapter, as usual, though. Love how Anne wanted to lean against Theo, but couldn't...too public--I understand that feeling! I feel like I connect to the characters in this story...Anne's reactons to death, Theo's loathing of killing on honor and those silly Gryffindor ideals, Terry's willingness to try something new...these characters are very real!

Reviewer: meggsDate: 2005-06-11
Reviewid: 123723Chapter: 20
whoooooooooooooaaaaa nelly!!!!!!!!!!!!!11
next chapter please! cliff hangers are NOT friends!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --