The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 62

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-01-04
Reviewid: 137997Chapter: 8
Very nicely done. Thank you.

Reviewer: pickledishkillerDate: 2006-01-03
Reviewid: 137960Chapter: 8
That was really well done. Having Robert and Mary as sort of cameos too, was brilliant. And Snape's visit.... It wasn't deep, like the others kind of were, but it held its own meaning. Snape got so screwed over, and his life sucked. James' life, for what there was of it, was pretty loverly. But Snape lived, and got to dance on his enemy's grave, which was sort of a nice contrast to the melancholy grieving of the others. And Mrs. Weasley's trip added depth to her caring for Harry. It was neat.... Yeah.

Reviewer: Dark PrincessDate: 2005-12-05
Reviewid: 136772Chapter: 8
Absolutely fabulous! I have NEVER, and I do indeed mean NEVER, read a story that good. Seriously, I read it all in one sitting, and by the end, I can honestly say that there were tears in my eyes. You are an excellent writer; I can just say "Wow".

Really hope you write some other things as well; your writing has a lot of talent in bringing out some great emotions. (I hope that sentence makes sense.) Again, exellent story.

Signed,

Dark Princess

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2005-12-02
Reviewid: 136662Chapter: 8
I just had to leave a few words to tell you how beautifully poignant this is. I hope JK gives us some sort of resolution, to make peace with Harry's parents memory. It would do my heart a great deal of good to see a scene like this at the end of Book Seven.

Wonderful, just wonderful!

Reviewer: Nikki, PoSDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129855Chapter: 1
Awww. So sad. It makes you understand the hatred of Sirius-I never read anything that managed that before.

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2005-06-30
Reviewid: 125727Chapter: 7
I have to say...reading this just makes Lily, James, and Sirius' deaths that much more sad. I cried at every chapter except Peter and Severus. Not wailing tears, by all means, but just those little tears that are even worse and cause you heart to ache unbearably and feel as if it's being wrenched from your body. Ok, so I'm being a bit dramatic, but it did make everything so much worse/better...Very well done. You made me ache for the death of people who aren't real, two of which we never really knew, but it's sad because we know their son. I just want to say well done, this was wonderful in it's own way.


~GW

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2005-06-18
Reviewid: 124467Chapter: 1
It's me Geena again...the song that's based on this poem is actually called 'In Remembrance'. Thought I'd clear that up!

Reviewer: SmokeyDate: 2005-06-17
Reviewid: 124331Chapter: 7
I absolutely love this! The change of Remus from chapter 1 to chapter 7 was brilliant, well done! I nearly cried at the end, the last chapter was beautiful :)

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124234Chapter: 1
I haven't even read your story yet....I have to read another one before I do, but I wanted to see how long it was and then I saw the poem 'Do Not Stand at my Grave and Weep'. The Chamber Choir I've been in for the past three years at school sang the song that uses this poem for words. It's so beautiful :D, I love it, even if it is a little sad. I think it's one of those melodies I'll always remember...I hope. I sing soprano, so luckily I always sing melody, lol, not that you care about that. I will be back to read your story, most definitely! Just wanted to tell you about the song.

~GW

Reviewer: merlynDate: 2005-03-22
Reviewid: 117378Chapter: 7
That was beautiful. I love how you captured each of the characters so well--that you didn't try to make Peter and Snape loveable, only understandible. And Snape dancing on the grave; that was a wonderful image.

It would be interesting to see Harry.

Reviewer: CharlotteDate: 2005-02-04
Reviewid: 112950Chapter: 7
Ahhwwww! *sigh* It's really REALLY good. The memories! I can pratically see James hanging over a cloud, looking all indignant, "Snivellus is bloody dancing on my grave! GET HIM OFF!" Tee-hee!

Reviewer: AprilDate: 2005-01-27
Reviewid: 112232Chapter: 1
Wow. That was lovely, very sad. Interesting Lupin's train of thought now ... before he finds out the truth later. It's also typical of him -- very stoic, but also blaming and belittling himself for his actions, or lack thereof. Spot-on characterization with Lupin.

Reviewer: HazelleDate: 2005-01-27
Reviewid: 112218Chapter: 7
Woo, so sad and so lovely! You've captured the different attitudes of all the characters and it's just fantastic. I love them all. *Tear*

Reviewer: NaazjuDate: 2005-01-26
Reviewid: 112197Chapter: 7
These chapters have been beautiful. To think of a common thread to all these characters and to have such a variety of story in the 'same setting' shows the skill of a fine storyteller. Thank you for sharing. I hope there are more chapters to follow. :)

Reviewer: Magnolia MamaDate: 2005-01-26
Reviewid: 112149Chapter: 7
The assumption that joint gift-giving "proves" Remus and Sirius are a couple has always irked me. You wrote a well-reasoned, thoughtful and faithful to canon alternative. The whole chapter was good, but that bit really stood out. Will there be more? The way this one ends almost seems like there won't be, but I hope that isn't the case. I'd especially love to see a chapter from Harry's POV, especially now that Sirius is buried there as well.

Reviewer: Carlie BlackDate: 2005-01-26
Reviewid: 112135Chapter: 7
This chapter was as enjoyable as all the others. again very well written. i really liked the flashback adn it seems entirely plausible that sirius wanted to help out Remus. I really hope in the Half Blood Prince we see more of Remus!

Reviewer: AurélieDate: 2005-01-25
Reviewid: 112082Chapter: 7
Your story is so beautiful, it made me both cry and laugh at the same time. I liked the strong, hopeful Remus in the end, and the bit about the Order adopting Harry and Remus.

Reviewer: starahDate: 2005-01-25
Reviewid: 112060Chapter: 7
Beautifully original, well cited and fitting to canon, and just really good writing in general. Carried me vividly through the memories, the graveyard and the character's inner thoughts - their anguish, sadness, determination and happiness were all projected so well. Great stuff. I hope you write more, though even if you didn't I wouldn't mind - the latest chapter has a strong sense of closure that works quite well.

Reviewer: DazedMarauderDate: 2005-01-25
Reviewid: 112036Chapter: 7
*wipes tears away, raises fist into the air* Yes, you will win Remus! You have to!

I love every single visit, every single experience. I've never thought of any story remotely like this - and that was a compliment, trust me. It's hard to find a genuinely meaningful story, amidst all of the fluff and carnage out there (not that I really mind...). Until your next visit...
Insquequo terminus,
amanda

Reviewer: KelleyDate: 2005-01-25
Reviewid: 112015Chapter: 7
I reread REmus one. THis was a nice counterpoint and completeness to that. Well done.

Reviewer: KelleyDate: 2005-01-25
Reviewid: 112014Chapter: 1
I'll hug Remus. This was very touching again.

Reviewer: ArtemisaDate: 2005-01-20
Reviewid: 111558Chapter: 6
Just wanted to let you know how much I've enjoyed reading all of these vignettes. Peter's and Severus' were especially surprising and rewarding (no real redemtion for either of these, very original take on them). Hope you keep it up. I'd love to see Dumbledore's, Minvera's or even Harry's POV.
Thanks for posting this.

Reviewer: KelleypenDate: 2005-01-18
Reviewid: 111354Chapter: 6
Ouch. this was sad and tragic and insightful. It gave me new understanding of Snape, but it also made me want to slap him. Well done. Who's next? When will it be Harry's turn?

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-01-18
Reviewid: 111333Chapter: 6
I think every chapter surpasses the one before it. You are quite the chameleon, getting into each character's head the way you do. Excellent job channeling Snape.

Reviewer: CalliopeDate: 2005-01-18
Reviewid: 111323Chapter: 6
This is the first I've seen of this story, and it is simply beautiful. It's obvious that you must have spent a lot of time thinking through the characters and their thoughts and feelings, and it's all tied together by the graves perfectly. The language also has a lovely flow, often difficult to achieve. I look forward to more (hopefully).

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2005-01-18
Reviewid: 111311Chapter: 6
Oooo, so James and Lily are buried in the cemetary in Little Hangleton?

I'm really enjoying this series. Well written!

PS a couple of your beta notes were left on

Reviewer: Carlie BlackDate: 2005-01-18
Reviewid: 111287Chapter: 6
ooo now you did Snape. I really enjoyed this one too. I think you got Snape's character down perfectly with the one thing that he could never forgive James for was savivng his life. great job

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2005-01-17
Reviewid: 111208Chapter: 5
You did a great job with Peter. Hopefully, you'll include Dumbledore, or even Harry! Very nice writing, and a good story.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-01-12
Reviewid: 110725Chapter: 5
Wow, you did Wormtail. I wondered how you'd pull that off, but I think this is one of the most interesting chapters so far. How he thinks he's indifferent, and then realises he's not, but keeps going anyway. It's scary how he manages to lie to himself. A chilling but very readable chapter.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: KelleyDate: 2005-01-12
Reviewid: 110709Chapter: 5
Wow, powerful chapter. I can see how this would be how Peter thinks. Well done. Who's next? Hagrid? Dumbledore? Harry?

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2005-01-12
Reviewid: 110693Chapter: 5
You know, the ironic thing is, my friend is obsessed with Remus - and her name's Linda!

Anyway - very moving, though it's still hard to feel bad for Peter.

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-01-12
Reviewid: 110678Chapter: 5
I'm always glad to see this updated. What a difficult choice of protagonist. The Peter you present twists and turns his logic and is finally chilling in his ability to harden his heart. I think many authors would have had him collapse and blubber; you have him resolutely justifying his behavior. Especially difficult after the beautiful flashback you have given us, but you do a fine job showing his mindset with lines that reveal his ability to be cruel. <"Peter felt a surge of pleasure at his handiwork."> Still, you've left the door open for ambiguity. That's a lot of work in one chapter. Nice job.

Reviewer: SJSDate: 2005-01-12
Reviewid: 110673Chapter: 2
I like this story a lot. You never see much of baby Harry & Dudley together. It's nice seeing the dynamic between young Lily and Petunia. And how Petunia's attitude towards her own kids, including Harry, developed. Lily seems to talk a bit below her age, and Petunia a bit above, but I'm not one to talk because I can never get voices right at all. Oh, and I love the sandwich magic bit!

Reviewer: Carlie BlackDate: 2005-01-12
Reviewid: 110665Chapter: 5
i'm really glad you took the time to write about Peter Pettigrew and the type of person he was. So many stories out there, they either completely leave peter out, or give him barely a part or make him such an idiot that its like he wasn't even there. Sure Peter wasn't as great as his three friends, but there had to have been something about him that would have made Sirius and James want him around - with knowing the type of people Sirius and James were. The Marauders would not be the marauders without peter, he was there, he is a VERY important part of the story as much as we hate him. I really like your take on peter's thoughts and betrayal, that flashback with the presents was awesome. keep up the great writing!!

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-01-12
Reviewid: 110605Chapter: 5
Oh, heartbreaking. This chapter was one of the better told and written Peter stories out there. Good job!

Reviewer: hermiaDate: 2004-12-22
Reviewid: 108267Chapter: 4
wow, what a graceful and heartbreaking story. you have a deft touch.

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2004-12-11
Reviewid: 107533Chapter: 4
Goose bumps. That's what happens to me when I read your story, I get goose bumps all over my arms. Beautiful and well done!

Reviewer: Magnolia MamaDate: 2004-12-10
Reviewid: 107392Chapter: 4
Guh. I'm having a very difficult time choosing which if these chapters is my favorite (I gather there are more to come? Double guh.) because they are all so, so good. The chapter with Remus had me bawling like a baby; this one was just as poignant and heart-wrenching in its own way. I love the idea of Molly updating Lily and James on their son's progress through Hogwarts as though they were all seated at a kitchen table drinking tea. The chapter on Petunia, though, really grabbed my attention. *OotP* offered all sorts of tantalizing hints about Petunia and you seem to have taken them and made them your own, making me want to know this woman more. She is not quite what she seems. :-) Thank you so much for pointing me here; I can't wait to read what you do with later chapters!

Reviewer: McGonagall's CatDate: 2004-12-09
Reviewid: 107355Chapter: 4
Excellent character studies! More soon, Please!

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2004-12-08
Reviewid: 107242Chapter: 4
Poor Sirius - you wrote his anguish very well. I cannot imagine how it must have felt, being in his place...

Reviewer: shaolaDate: 2004-12-08
Reviewid: 107237Chapter: 4
ohh, beautiful story! the remus and sirius parts were just heartbreaking. however, you did all of this fabulously, the petunia part was great although i can't stand her and am not too interested in her- but you made her point of view comprehensible even with her "reason" to be the way she is just being petty jealousy... and the Molly-part was very be believable as well, her taking over the mother role for Harry and thus also caring for the grave of his parents. I also liked how you used all the sorrow she must have felt during -almost every year, come to think of...- for her children. oh, and I love her last comment! In the whole, everything was written very lively and believable, I think because you put in the little realistic details- like the teens on the chuchyard etc. as was the idea of introducing Mary as one of Peter's victims we don't hear about in the series, was very good. Oh, and great poem at the beginning!

Reviewer: KelleyDate: 2004-12-08
Reviewid: 107149Chapter: 4
Well done again. I can see you have a few more chapters left--Hagrid, Harry one day, I hope. I'm enjoying this, even if it leaves me a bit melancholy.

Reviewer: unonumousDate: 2004-11-29
Reviewid: 106282Chapter: 1
AMAZING

Reviewer: AlexDate: 2004-11-20
Reviewid: 105399Chapter: 3
That was lovely, sweetie. I feel like crying now. Remus. Poor, poor Remus. All that pain and suffering, that was beautiful. I can really feel the emotions of the people you've written. They just flow off the page. The flashback was really well done. So sweet. So sad. Petunia - I loved that whole "how can I be jealous of someone who's dead?" thing. That part was the best. Not many people write about Petunia in that much detail. And how Harry stared up at her and she saw her sister's eyes. Aww. Molly. I never imagined her to visit their graves, but I guess it really is possible. And Mary's parts are really sad too. I just... I don't know, but this story makes me feel something different when I read it.

You truly have talent. Please continue soon.

Reviewer: KelleyDate: 2004-11-20
Reviewid: 105355Chapter: 3
Wonderful. I'm loving these touching scenes at the gravestone. Who's next? Harry? Or Dumbledore? Or Hagrid? Or escaped from Azkabah Sirius? I'm so seeing all the chapters in this. See you on LJ.

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105304Chapter: 3
Another wonderful chapter, Molly's characterization spot on...it's so heartbreaking knowing that these graves probably are out there somewhere and harry hasn't the frame of mind to ask or maybe doesn't want to know. But I truly believe Molly would do something like this, just to help Harry out. Great idea and great story!!

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105277Chapter: 1
Hm. Doesn't seem to have uploaded my review...
Anyway, all I wanted to say is that your writing is beautiful, and your choice of words makes it very quietly poignant, possibly because we know several things that Remus doesn't...
"We all misjudged Peter" - such a chilling line.

:-)

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105234Chapter: 3
Well, you caught me again with this one. I enjoyed your take on Molly, and could see her as I read, but was wondering where the lump-in-the-throat part was when wham! You blindsided me. In the end, your taking the roundabout way makes this chapter very satisfying.

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2004-11-11
Reviewid: 104346Chapter: 1
This is for both chapters, as it is not letting me review chapter 2. Both were most excellent. Chapter 2 was...stretched out. Literally. Probably a technical problem. So I cut and pasted it and read it on Notebook. But that was a more interesting chapter. Most "Petunia at the Graveyard" stories have Petunia secretely being regretful that Lily's dead. And that may well be the case. But I have trouble believing that she would treat Harry so badly if she was regretful. So I like your take on it. Very good.

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2004-11-11
Reviewid: 104302Chapter: 2
Sorry for the weird layout of the second chapter. I'll try and get it sorted, although I'm not sure what to do (If any of you know please tell me!). I've sent a message about it, anyway.

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2004-11-11
Reviewid: 104245Chapter: 1
This is very beautifully conceived and written. I love your start with Mary and Bob. Your Remus is very in character and well drawn. But the topper is his memory of Sirius and Harry. Very strong. And these lines, "Where had their life forces gone? What had happened to the amused sparkle that shone in Lily’s eyes? Could James’s exasperating habit of running his hand through his hair just vanish with him?" They are moving and painful and I imagine will ring true for many readers. Nice job.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-11-07
Reviewid: 103814Chapter: 1
Yay! You're posting on SQ, too! I read this at PS, and I still love it. =)

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-11-06
Reviewid: 103659Chapter: 1
Aw... poor Remus. The bit where he was trying to imagine Sirius as a Death Eater was so creepy. Partly because it IS creepy, and partly because Remus's trying to convince himself that Sirius could have done such a thing reminds me of me... trying to convince myself Sirius could do such a thing as die. Although Vernon provided some excellent, well-needed comic relief! Just the image of young Remus, getting the door SLAMMED in his face by an "irate walrus" half again his height and five times as wide! The whole story was very believable. Perhaps Mrs. Leighton was even more so, just because it's kind of... *shrug* I don't know.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2004-11-05
Reviewid: 103521Chapter: 1
Thank you so much for this lovely story. From the opening poem to the closing line it was evocative and moving. I especially loved the opener with the Muggle wife ~ perfect, and utterly unexpected. It made me feel almost guilty that I'd never thought about the betrayal from that point of view. I particularly liked the remembered moment of watching Lily and James sleep, which was made even better by adding the true-to-life detail that the adorable baby was snoring open-mouthed :) That's what real babies do, and it was just that break in the idyllic scene that leant it reality. Well done.

Reviewer: YlimeDate: 2004-11-04
Reviewid: 103496Chapter: 1
This was a beautiful piece of writing and I can't wait to read more. The best part was that little flashback of Remus's - seeing him and Sirius and James, Lily and Harry as a sort of family altogether. Thank you!

Reviewer: KelleyDate: 2004-11-03
Reviewid: 103404Chapter: 1
This was wonderfully angsty and touching. I can't wait to read more. Thank you for writing this. See you in person above you. Kelley

Reviewer: BlankDate: 2004-11-03
Reviewid: 103355Chapter: 1
That was a great fic. Very good portrayal of Lupin. Although you kind of feel bad that he feels so awful about things that aren't really the truth. Or at least I do...

Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: AngharadDate: 2004-11-02
Reviewid: 103323Chapter: 1
First of all, this was so lovely and poignant. Second, I am freaking out because I had never seen that poem before a little over a month ago and now it is showing up everywhere. I sang the song version in a chorus concert just recently, perhaps you did too? And, it was used in AgiVega's Fanfic "If the Fates Allow" I really love it too

Reviewer: MKCMDate: 2004-11-02
Reviewid: 103322Chapter: 1
I think this is beautifully written and really catches the emotion of Remus. I have always been a fan of Frye's poem and this chapter is perfect.

Reviewer: BrianaDate: 2004-11-02
Reviewid: 103320Chapter: 1
=::(very sad. cried in the middle of the computer lab. really powerful, and well written.... keep up the good work...*wah*

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2004-11-02
Reviewid: 103302Chapter: 1
Well written, beautiful characterization of our most angst filled character (well, next to Harry anyway). Remus is one of my faves - so any story with him is bound to be good for me. I enjoyed the beginning with the older woman - the telling of events and the interweaving of magic and muggle worlds. So big, and yet so small. Well done!

Reviewer: TrulyDate: 2004-11-02
Reviewid: 103247Chapter: 1
this made me cry. the poem at the beginning was a nice touch, as was the old woman and the ring. this was a really beautifully written story. i dont know how remus could possibly have kept on going through all that happened to him. poor remus. thank you for writing this Antonia, it really touched me.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --