The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Nothing
Review(s): 25

Reviewer: Lumos_NoxDate: 2006-07-05
Reviewid: 143963Chapter: 1
I love this! You captured Harry's frustration really well.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-06-23
Reviewid: 124902Chapter: 1
Cute

Reviewer: toastDate: 2005-01-30
Reviewid: 112512Chapter: 1
whoah....that was cool...whoah...

Reviewer: JamesDate: 2005-01-06
Reviewid: 109961Chapter: 1
This is a really cool song... ( I sung it aloud till my mother interrupted me)

Reviewer: PetrovaDate: 2004-12-08
Reviewid: 107187Chapter: 1
Entertaining and captivating. Rather reminiscent of "Nothing" from A Chorus Line, mainly because of the feel of the refrain. It flows well, surprisingly, for lyrics without a known tune.

I don't think Harry could ever be anything but a tenor. I do suppose Lockhart would make a fine soprano and fit into the stereotype well.

Reviewer: Cannonsgurl90Date: 2004-11-24
Reviewid: 105749Chapter: 1
Wonderful! I love your work! Keep writing!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-11-10
Reviewid: 104147Chapter: 1
Great stuff!

You really capture Harry's frustration here. I always wondered why people were so shocked at Harry losing his temper, given that he'd been stuck in Privet Drive for weeks, not knowing anything.

I especially liked the last chorus:

"Nothing
I'm so tired of just nothing
Nothing
But waiting
Without any news at all."

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2004-11-10
Reviewid: 104077Chapter: 1
He He. But...what tune does it go to? Love it anyways...

Katie

Reviewer: GillianDate: 2004-11-09
Reviewid: 104033Chapter: 1
Excellent songs! As always! You write such good ones! Great job!!!

Reviewer: ErikaDate: 2004-11-09
Reviewid: 104027Chapter: 1
Another excellent addition. I like this one very much. All of your songs are so good, I can hear them, even if there isn't any music written for them.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-11-09
Reviewid: 104026Chapter: 1
Oh wouldn't I love to hear and see this on stage? As it is, your verses - esp. the chorus are so well written, I can "hear" them as I read.

I also like how the lines are short and the tone is spare - just like the drought of the opening chapter of OotP.

Another wonderful scene for your musical.

Reviewer: RebeccaDate: 2004-11-09
Reviewid: 103965Chapter: 1
Wow! I have to say I'm not a big fan of song fics, but this one is just great. I have to say the first four lines are my absolute favorites... very nice!

Reviewer: BrianaDate: 2004-11-08
Reviewid: 103928Chapter: 1
interesting.... kinda.... different.... but good.... in an interesting way....

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2004-11-08
Reviewid: 103916Chapter: 1
Perfectly poignant...I love that Harry is a tenor. I can almost hear his voice. My 10 year old daughter is now a big fan of Hogwarts the Musical. She squeals every time you update!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-11-07
Reviewid: 103836Chapter: 1
Once again, a very cool song.

Reviewer: JeneeDate: 2004-11-07
Reviewid: 103829Chapter: 1
btw, congrats on the Professor's Bookshelf :-D

Reviewer: JeneeDate: 2004-11-07
Reviewid: 103828Chapter: 1
Awesomeness, yet again! :-D I thought the line "I nick the papers from the bins/ Iíve got no pride to lose" was especially poignant.

You siad Harry was a tenor, right? And in "Wealsey's Wizarding Wheezes," you wrote the musical-types (forgot the name atm) of a couple of other characters. Just out of curiousity (yes, another one of THOSE questions :-P), what are the other chracters that you have singing (ex: Snape, Dumbledore, Remus, Ginny, Neville, McGonagall)?

Again, loved the new song :-D

Reviewer: EchoDate: 2004-11-07
Reviewid: 103822Chapter: 1
It seems that every song I read turns into a sort of sailor song in my head.

-Echo

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-11-07
Reviewid: 103806Chapter: 1
Yay! Another one from Barbara! I was very excited to see it. Though it's not my favorite (I Just Can't Understand and Afterwards cannot be beaten! Yet, anyway.) I liked these lines:

Iím taking out the garbage
To read up on the news.
I nick the papers from the bins
Iíve got no pride to lose.
I want to know whatís going on
Where to leave my mark
But my friends all have their orders
To keep me in the dark.

I don't know why...I just really liked that bit.

-PQ

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-11-07
Reviewid: 103800Chapter: 1
Brilliant, as usual! We are huge fans of musicals, and your work always makes us smile. **sigh** if only there were an actual musical score for your pieces, available online...

**ivy & Gracie polka off the stage together**

Reviewer: MaartjeDate: 2004-11-07
Reviewid: 103753Chapter: 1
And you were *surprised* when you got on the Professor's bookshelf?
Yet again, this is excellent. It's sad, in a way, and funny in another (bloody Muggle newsmen have / No bloody news today). I'd say it all again, but you probably know. You ROX, Barbara!

Reviewer: CymbelineDate: 2004-11-07
Reviewid: 103739Chapter: 1
Very cool. I've been following all of these, and I love you so much for making Harry a tenor. *dies*.
I think the rhyming on this one wasn't as good as the other ones. "The chamber, all alone," seemed a bit forced, and I couldn't decide if the "Has he tipped his hand?" was literal or figurative. If it was literal, I think this was a bit forced, but if it was figurative, it's a nice image because all Voldy has to do is tip his hand to cause death and destruction.
I can definately see this made into a do-able musical, which is really cool! I love all of these that you've done, and I really think you should try to make the tune available, however crudely, because then it's much easier to make sense of the rhythm.
Yay for your songs!

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-11-07
Reviewid: 103733Chapter: 1
You sum up poor Harry rather succinctly. Bravo! Keep the snippets coming!

Reviewer: ZaraDate: 2004-11-07
Reviewid: 103718Chapter: 1
wow.. wonderuil.. nice rythn and good inrtacut.. live the corus

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-11-07
Reviewid: 103675Chapter: 1
Brilliant, as always! We're so intrigued: You claim not to be musical, yet there's such a musical "sense" to your pieces. Will CornedBee publish the scores when he's finished?...(**ivy & Gracie wander off, scratching their heads and humming....*)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --