The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Merlin's Beard!
Review(s): 60

Reviewer: bookishDate: 2008-01-16
Reviewid: 150411Chapter: 6
Great story. I loved how Mrs. Longbottom realized how she'd misjudged Neville and seemed to vow to do better. I appreciated Ginny's previous attempt to muddle through with a wand that didn't suit her, since her family didn't have much in the way of Galleons. I didn't really enjoy the Malfoy section, but that was only because I hate reading anything involving the Malfoys much, NOT because you didn't do a good job with it. They are just so evil, I can't stand it. (Poor house-elf, to be stuck getting abused by them, day in, day out.) I know evil exists in the world, and it always will, but it still gets me down sometimes.

Excellent writing, and interesting plot points. Please write more.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-10-26
Reviewid: 135150Chapter: 6
An excellent tease. Thanks

Reviewer: MagicDustDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126510Chapter: 6
Well-written and suspeneful!

Reviewer: 252Date: 2005-06-24
Reviewid: 125056Chapter: 6

Reviewer: Emma W.Date: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115497Chapter: 6
Aww....I thought Gin-Gin would get it! Oh well...excellent fic! MORE!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115468Chapter: 6
Wonderfully written story- I was so glad Neville got the wand (I think we can expect great things from Mr Longbottom...) although I kinda wanted to know what Ginny and Draco's wands were made of too. I especially loved your description of Mr Ollivander's workroom at the beginning- it was so fascinating and so well written I wouldn't have minded the entire fic being about making wands. And one quote that amused me
<Second, most everything available from Weasleys’ Wizarding Wheezes is contraband,>
I'm sure they would be honoured to have their products so singled out! *salutes Fred and George, who in spite of their absence from Hogwarts, will I am sure still prove to be the bane of Filch's life*

Reviewer: HannahDate: 2005-01-15
Reviewid: 110971Chapter: 6
Excellent! I had figured the wand would go to Neville, but it's very nice to see it in print. The way you wrote this epilogue was very exciting, and leaves us still imagining Neville's future and the wand's abilities. Great job, and I hope you write more stories :)

Reviewer: LaurenDate: 2005-01-14
Reviewid: 110867Chapter: 1
Hi I love your story, but i have a problem my stupid computer isn't letting me read the epilogue...sooo i was wondering could you posibly e-mail it to me, preety please...with a cherry on top (no i'm not 6 just juvenile)

thanks
Lauren

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2005-01-13
Reviewid: 110775Chapter: 6
I feel clever now! There was no doubt in my mind that the recipient of the wand was to be Neville. That was a foregone conclusion in my mind!

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2005-01-13
Reviewid: 110746Chapter: 6
YES! NEVILLE! I was concerned while I was reading the other chapters that you wouldn't be able to pick someone to give the wand to and when I got to the open-ended chapter I was a bit cranky because I certainly couldn't decide. I'm so happy you gave it to Neville. I think that, according to the way the books are set up, there's the most evidence that he's right for it. YAY! *does the Neville-is-Awesome Dance*

Reviewer: beckDate: 2005-01-12
Reviewid: 110689Chapter: 6
im so glad you picked neville ginny would have been a acceptable chose also but im REALLY GLAD you chose Neville I kinda wish you told the scene of neville getting im sure is nan was just WOWED and i would have loved to see ginny's and malfoy's wand getting but hey we cant have everything i still loved the story and im once again really glad you chose neville you could do so much with this story line and i wish you would but if not that is understandable

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2005-01-12
Reviewid: 110614Chapter: 6
Thank you for the epilogue. Great job!

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-01-12
Reviewid: 110598Chapter: 6
YAY! I'm so glad that you gave this an epilogue! Well done!

Reviewer: Darker_RageDate: 2005-01-03
Reviewid: 109627Chapter: 5
I suppose there's no chance we get to find out who the wand went to? :-( Ahh well. Leaves space for a sequal I suppose :-)

Short, but a good read nonetheless. Some very nice descriptive work in there, especially in the 1st chapter.

Reviewer: JaniceDate: 2005-01-03
Reviewid: 109574Chapter: 5
OMIGOD! Thanx for the unecessary suspense. Who received the wand?? Please tell me t'was Ginny.

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2004-12-29
Reviewid: 108998Chapter: 5
Actually, Virginia is *not* Ginny's full name. JKR told us on her website that Ginny's full name is indeed Ginevra.

Reviewer: A. NuisanceDate: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108994Chapter: 2
VirGINia is Ginny's name. Not Ginerva.

Sorry this is an error I see repeated often and it bugs me quite a lot.

Otherwise great fic! You should write another Ollivander tale about what kind of wand Neville gets since his da's broke in the fight at the end of the Order of the Phoneix.

Reviewer: Susan LynnDate: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108964Chapter: 1
Rachel,

You have a wonderful hypothesis about which character might be the recipient of the wand. I agree with you that Neville would be a likely choice. A great follow-up to this story could center on Neville's newly found self-confidence and power.

I do, however, take issue with your rather snide put-down of the other reviewers. Many of the reviewers are very active SQ members and authors. I could see no flames or idiotic comments. Instead, I saw many generally positive reviews sprinkled with gentle criticism and recommendations for the possible further development of this piece.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108940Chapter: 5
I got it!

Fan fiction is entertainment, pure and simple. Some fics spoon feed the readers everything they want to know--even to the point of being omniscient. Good fiction makes the reader think and go "hmm...", which is why we all love JKR; there are a lot of "hmms" in her writing. I think a lot of these reviews are from the spoon-feds who want everything spelled out for them, but just to help them out, let's analyze the possibilities.

1. Does anyone REALLY think that Draco is powerful enough for such a wand? No? Well, then, on to #2.

2. Ginny is pretty powerful, especially using a hand-me-down wand. It could be her. But I doubt it.

3. Neville has grown the most as a character--especially in OOTP. His inner Gryffindor really came through at the ministry, standing by Harry's side even with no wand and his nose streaming blood. Up to then he'd been hampered only by his self-confidence and the fact that he was not using his "own" wand. If he had entered Ollivander's the summer before his first year, I wonder if Ollivander would have found The Wand sooner? It must belong to Neville as his need is the greatest and his powers developing stronger than ever.

Good job for making us think. I'd ignore the whinging.

Reviewer: Susan LynnDate: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108929Chapter: 5
BabyRuth,

The presence of so many reviews questioning the ending of your story shows that you do, indeed, have a great number of readers who feel invested in your story. Though I don't think that I've left any reviews until now, I've been following your story with anticipation. I especially enjoyed the first two chapters describing Ollivander's discovery of the ancient wand. Then you wrote some very good canon-based chapters explaining why various students might need a replacement wand. I liked how you remembered that Draco's mother could have purchased his first wand while he was trying on robes. Now, we get to the ending. First, the title of this chapter "Curiosity Satisfied" doesn't seem to quite fit. Ollivander seems satisfied, but obviously the rest of us are still scratching our heads in puzzlement. I really do want to know who receives the wand and why. Why not write an epilogue? One possible way of ending this piece would be to show the character at a later time using the wand in battle. I'd like to see what the wand could actually accomplish at a perilous moment. Please consider the plight of your poor, faithful readers who would appreciate an ending. After all, it will be at least a couple of years before J.K. reveals whether Harry will live past Book 7. We don't need another cliffhanger!

Reviewer: readerDate: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108919Chapter: 5
Thank you for a very nice story.

Reviewer: HannahDate: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108916Chapter: 5
I enjoyed this story a lot, but I was disappointed in the ending. I do enjoy 'The Lady and the Tiger' endings sometimes, but those sorts of endings need a lot of psychological detailing to make them work and be satisfying. If the 'Lady and the Tiger' had ended by showing us the choice, it would have been a less memorable story, but as it is, we're left with thinking about the thoughts and motivations that must be going on in the woman's head.

With this story, an inanimate object is making the choice, so we can't really get into psychology. We have no indications as to what the wand might be good for, just that it is very powerful and is unique. We know Lily's wand was good at charms, that James' was good for transfiguration, that that Harry's has a link to Voldemort's wand. If you want to keep the 'Lady and Tiger' ending, I think you should go more into what the Merlin's Beard core might do, maybe by describing what Merlin himself was best at, or even mentioning that Merlin is best known for the magical assistance he gave the Muggle king and the magic he worked for the good of all England, uniting the various tribes in England under one rule. Give us a bit more to ponder as to why the wand might choose any of the characters you described. The descriptions were excellent, by the way, though I do think Harry's letter very OOC. It might be easier to make Gran read of Neville's broken wand in a newspaper article...maybe Luna could do a write-up of the story or Harry could give Rita Skeeter another interview. So far, all we can really guess at is which of the characters is the most 'powerful,' and we don't have enough to go on to make that choice meaningful.

I actually think that it would be easier for you to write a short epilogue showing which wand the two main characters bought that isn't the Merlin's Beard wand...and then the character with the Wand giving a mysterious smile when asked what his or her new wand contains.

Alternatively, to keep us in the dark, you could write a short life follow up on the recipient of The Wand, maybe detailing his or her career. Is she or he a uniter like Merlin, and does she or he cross barriers between Muggles and Magical folk or between other groups to make the world a better place? Maybe give plenty of hints to the identity, or just leave the identity plausible for all three characters. But knowing more about the fate of the Wand-Bearer automatically makes the choice more interesting. Does Ginny follow her dad's interest in Muggles? Does Draco put his DE past behind him to become a good and great wizard? Does Neville rise to the top of the Wizarding world? Telling us more need not make the choice for us, but going into the details of the choice could make it more exciting and satisfying.

Reviewer: LauraDate: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108914Chapter: 5
Hey! That was completely unfair! Who got the wand? Who?

Anyway, besides the disappointing end, the story is one of my favourites. It has something, a certain spark in it that makes it extremely enjoyable to read. Your usage of adjectives is beautiful, I see the picture clearly in my head. I hope to read more from you as soon as possible. :)

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108902Chapter: 5
This story has a wonderful premise, and I think your characterizations have been just right throughout the while story. You have a knack for descriptions-making the most mundane things seem interesting and exciting.I have thoroughly enjoyed your story through the first four chapters. That's why it's so hard for me to write this- I am really disappointed with the way you have chosen to end your story. I feel like I have been cheated out of a satisfactory ending. I'm not sure I understand the point of having the story end where it did. I suppose we could make up our own minds about who received the wand. But for me, when I read fanfic, I want to know what *your* take on a story is.

I hope you will reconsider your idea of leaving the story to finish as it does. As I said before, I think you are a great author with lots of talent. But I would hesitate to read another one of your stories, for fear it would use a similar device.

Reviewer: martDate: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108892Chapter: 5
the worst sort of cop-out plotless ending; this way you don't have to think of any justifications for why the wand chooses as it does. There's is no plot. Like Forster said" The king died; the queen died" has no plot. "The king died and the Queen died of grief" is a plotted tale.

Hard to belive it took you this many weeks to come out with this.

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108877Chapter: 5
Intriguing tale and well told. Are you sure you didn't misname chapter 5? I want to know! BTW,I particularly like the way you describe the shops setting up for the day in Diagon Alley....but I'm not so sure the owls want to be out soaking up the sun....maybe dozing in the sun. Sorry for being picky, it just jumped out at me.

Reviewer: HossDate: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108872Chapter: 5
I don't think most people will like that Ending,But me I loved it. A bit Sinkey

Reviewer: emily etymDate: 2004-12-27
Reviewid: 108857Chapter: 5
How cruel! How could you do this to me?!!?!?!?!!

Reviewer: jenniferDate: 2004-12-27
Reviewid: 108854Chapter: 5
Curosity satisfied.. no

who got the wand.. who was it that walked in the store. It was a busy day indicating that not only were the candidates from the previous chapters viable but also any first year.

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2004-12-27
Reviewid: 108851Chapter: 5
Oh! So not fair! Who got it?!?!?!? I must know! But I will understand if the answer is "who ever you think should get it".

Reviewer: EricaDate: 2004-12-27
Reviewid: 108808Chapter: 5
Awesome story! I love your characterizations, they're so believeable. My only problem was with Harry's letter, it seemed a tad OOC, but nothing else other than that. And AHH!! Was that the last chapter? If so, I don't get it, and if not, please update!

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-12-27
Reviewid: 108787Chapter: 5
ack what a ending i hope you update soon cause im dyeing to find out who it is =)

Reviewer: GabrielDate: 2004-12-14
Reviewid: 107737Chapter: 4
Great story! And a great premise, too. I don’t think we see enough of the more minor characters in fanfiction. I have really enjoyed what I’ve read so far, and I’m very interested to see what comes of the special wand Ollivander found – and what it has to do with the many people who need new ones.

A few random comments… I think your characterization of Ollivander was spot-on. Ginny and Neville seemed much like themselves, too, and I liked your take on Neville’s Gran. Interesting how she’s not as severe as Neville thinks she is. I don’t think that Harry sounded very much like himself in his letter to Neville. I doubt he would thank Neville for “believing in me”, or for his support, at least not in those words. It was a little too formal, if you catch my drift; Harry is reluctant to talk about his feelings in general. He internalizes things. However, I do agree that he would feel closer to Neville after the Department of Mysteries, and I like that he’s showing it in your story. Another character who struck me as a bit off was Narcissa. She was very vehement in her criticism of Draco (and used slurs) when I thought she would be more icily disapproving. I also doubt that she would reveal so much about the Death Eaters’ activities with regard to Harry, but then again, we know almost nothing about either her personality or her level of involvement with the Death Eaters. So I suppose we just have a different take on her. Oh, and one more thing… I found the shifting POV in some of your chapters to be a bit confusing. Take Ginny’s chapter, for example. The whole thing is told from her point of view except for the tiny segment where her mother reads the letter. Mrs. Weasley doesn’t read it aloud; Ginny never knows the contents. All Mrs. Weasley does is ask Ginny if she’s had trouble with her wand, and Ginny doesn’t know why, although she can certainly assume that the question stems from whatever is in the letter. So why would the body of a letter Ginny never reads show up in a chapter from Ginny’s POV? I mean, I know *why* you did it, but it requires a shift in POV and it doesn’t work. Actually, I didn’t think you needed to include the contents of the letter at all. You could have conveyed plenty of information by simply having Ginny question her mother about it. And some information that Mrs. Weasley would not reveal, like the fact that Professor McGonagall is paying for Ginny’s new wand, isn’t needed at all. Ginny could ask how they’re going to pay for it (if she dares), and her mother could simply say, “Never you mind.” And you could state that her cheeks were flushed, which indicates embarrassment, or… whatever. Just a thought.

And just to repeat, lest you let all this constructive criticism get you down, I really like your story and your idea. I just thought it might be more useful to you to hear all kinds of comments and not just glowing praise. Great job – I’m looking forward to the next update!

Reviewer: chickymicaDate: 2004-12-14
Reviewid: 107718Chapter: 4
I am really enjoying this fic and can't wait for future chapters - please hurry!
I love the idea of Merlin's beard being the magical centre of a wand. Very cool.
Can't wait to see where you take this fic. Keep up the good work

Reviewer: Alice in WonderlandDate: 2004-12-08
Reviewid: 107161Chapter: 4
niice

Reviewer: SpringrynDate: 2004-12-07
Reviewid: 107087Chapter: 4
Dang, you're evil. First we think we have it all figured out, Ginny is going to get a new wand and it must be this special one, but then you have to had more people who also need a new wand. How long will this go on? Anyway, auspicious beginning.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-12-04
Reviewid: 106846Chapter: 4
AHHHHHHHHHH this is getting to be to much suspense and you just keep building it im dying to find out how this turns out please up date soon this is such a great story =)

Reviewer: hossDate: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106745Chapter: 3
You did so well wrighting the Malfoy. I hope to see Ginny kick his but.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106564Chapter: 3
ACK how can you leave it like that OH OH PLEASE OH PLEASE Update soon im dyeing to find out what happens oh i do hope that draco has these same problems in JK's version that would be a hoot anyhow please update soon i love this little story and im very curiouse to see how it plays out

Reviewer: LauraDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106532Chapter: 3
Wow. I've been reading the story since you posted the first vhapter but only now decided to review. It's really proving to be an intriguing story. I love the characterisations, especially Narcissa. You've written her very in character, yet definately not boring or two-dimensional. On the contrary, your Narcissa has her own personality and quite strong one. All the other characters are also very well written. I hope you update soon! :)

Reviewer: DrSmurfDate: 2004-11-14
Reviewid: 104871Chapter: 2
ooh, I like it so far. I like your letter from McGonnagal except the "impose on our friendship" bit, I can't see them being that good frineds, but I think the bit about spending the money on Harry would be just like her. Please update soon!

Reviewer: Gelangweilt ChocoboDate: 2004-11-13
Reviewid: 104695Chapter: 2
This story is really great sofar. I especially loved the whole exchange between Ron and Ginny about the socks. With 5 siblings myself, it really rang true.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-11-11
Reviewid: 104433Chapter: 2
OOOOOOOOH this is getting good i was hoping that neville will get that wand but if ginny does that would be really cool to =)

Reviewer: KatjaDate: 2004-11-11
Reviewid: 104414Chapter: 2
I'm most definitely more than most curious to find out what happens next!! It's an intriguing premise you've set up, and I hope you'll be continuing soon.

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2004-11-11
Reviewid: 104411Chapter: 2
Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. The plot thickens. This is so awesome, I can't wait to see what happens. I look forward to your next update!

Reviewer: imbolcDate: 2004-11-11
Reviewid: 104362Chapter: 1
Excellent writing. And props for your knowledge of Celtic design elements.. I never thought I'd read about triskeles in HP fics! I can't wait to read more :)

Reviewer: AnonymousDate: 2004-11-10
Reviewid: 104188Chapter: 1
It's a very great start, and I'm really looking forward to it. (Merlin's Beard, indeed) Just one nitpick - seeing that finding out what the core of that wand was the focal point of this chapter, more detail should have been devoted to the several days he spent trying to figure it out. The rest of the chapter got such nice detail, and let the reader get the impact of the time spent and the meticulous-ness (is that a word)of Ollivander, those several days should have to. Other than that, this is an siriusly pawsome story.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-11-10
Reviewid: 104161Chapter: 1
what a neat starting to a story i do hope you update soon cause this sounds like it will be good =)

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-11-10
Reviewid: 104088Chapter: 1
Good start! Looking forward to the next chapter.

Reviewer: BogglemindDate: 2004-11-09
Reviewid: 104058Chapter: 1
Wow! I love it! What a great idea for a story; I would never have thought of it. Update soon!

Reviewer: anya daggerDate: 2004-11-09
Reviewid: 103966Chapter: 1
very interesting.I hope you continue this story.Please update it soon.

Reviewer: Amalynne O'haraDate: 2004-11-08
Reviewid: 103942Chapter: 1
Very clever idea and concept. You have a lovely style. never would I have thought to enter into the life/background of wandmaking and Mr. Ollivander. Nice and I do hope you continue. Much love. -Ama

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2004-11-08
Reviewid: 103927Chapter: 1
Oooohhh! What a great first chapter! The premise is intriguing- I have a thing for Ollivander/how wands get made stories. I'm looking forward to your next update.

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2004-11-07
Reviewid: 103810Chapter: 1
Ooh- nice plot idea. I'm anxious to see where this goes!

Reviewer: ChristaDate: 2004-11-07
Reviewid: 103799Chapter: 1
Brilliant! I hope you continue soon. :]

Reviewer: MacarellaDate: 2004-11-07
Reviewid: 103792Chapter: 1
*Very* interesting! Is the ancient wand intended for Dumbledore? Oak wood with Merlin's beard's hair - I knew he'd have something special. I'm so glad it's the first chapter of a novel - I'd definitely want to know more about Mr. Ollivander and how he makes his wands.
I also loved the detail about the presence of bowtruckles announcing that the wood is of wand quality, and your writing style is marvellous.
Hope you update soon!

Reviewer: jolene_xxDate: 2004-11-07
Reviewid: 103777Chapter: 1
this is excellent, keep going!

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2004-11-07
Reviewid: 103756Chapter: 1
Intriguing...please update soon!

Reviewer: sergeant majoretteDate: 2004-11-07
Reviewid: 103729Chapter: 1
You know, this totally works on its own. "Merlin's Beard!" is a great punch line.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2004-11-07
Reviewid: 103687Chapter: 1
Absolutely delightful! I cannot wait for the next chapter!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --