The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Season
Review(s): 106

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2007-01-08
Reviewid: 146786Chapter: 16
I’m planning to leave the story here until after than little event coming up on 16 July.

Event Over. Get off the pot and get back at it! Please.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-22
Reviewid: 136164Chapter: 16
"And so you all know, I’m planning to leave the story here until after than little event coming up on 16 July."

It has come and gone. Ahem .... uh ... well .... GET BUSY. Please

Reviewer: Lloyd LoganDate: 2005-10-29
Reviewid: 135341Chapter: 16
SO GOOD! Mooooore please.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-10-13
Reviewid: 134407Chapter: 16
I need my paper.

It is time to come back.

Reviewer: AntonioDate: 2005-08-05
Reviewid: 128951Chapter: 16
As an avid reader of three newspapers a day, I should have reviewed this story a long time ago.

The idea to have a story in the form of Daily Prophet articles is ingenious! I love it.

Somewhere you mentioned that there were some portions that you wouldn't really find in a newspaper, but you needed here for the story (I think! not fully sure now!). I did notice this in a few of the earlier chapters - but I understand. This hasn't been a problem recently.

I found this last chapter particularly funny.

Reviewer: FableheartDate: 2005-08-04
Reviewid: 128771Chapter: 16
Yours one of the best stories I have come across in the SQ Archive thus far. I absolutely adore the point of view you take and am impressed very much by your journalistic skills. I believe you; you seem like an AP employee to me. I've always been very intrested in the magical media, especially since so many fanfics are so negative towards it; I feel like it doesn't get the credit it deserves. You do the wizarding media justice. I especially like the different nome de plumes you use for each separate article—thus far, Erato Steele has been my favorite, although Melpomene has a certain charm about her. Kudos for sticking H/H in there—that's *very* brave on such a militant H/G and R/H site as this one. (Not that H/H is even functional anymore. I certianly don't believe in it.) I am DELIGHTED that you think this fic may well be 70 chapters long—brilliant! I love this story! I'd love it even more if it went on for*ever*. What truly brings it to life is the realism of it. I would ask you to update ASAP, but if it will impair your quality, then go at a slug's pace if needed. You rock.

Reviewer: philomelDate: 2005-07-10
Reviewid: 126710Chapter: 16
I absolutely adore you for writing about Dumbledore and his non-declining following.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2005-07-09
Reviewid: 126605Chapter: 16
A very original way of telling a story. Very original indeed.
When does Ginny come in?

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126565Chapter: 16
*cracking up* Good grief, after the excitement of the training articles, this was just plain funny. I love that the "relationship" with Hermione was mentioned, that must have provided for a lot of laughs at knowing breakfast tables!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126548Chapter: 16
Most eligible bachelor... Right. Poor Harry. ;-) I was slightly disturbed by the interviews with girls who all think him "hot", but otherwise this is another funny, well-written, fascinating article.

I have no doubt in my mind about my favourite bit:
>>Only Hogwarts Headmaster Albus Dumbledore, a fixture in the poll for more than 90 years, did not see a major decline in support, drawing a majority of the centenarian vote and 7.6 percent of the total.<<

Reviewer: StefanieDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126421Chapter: 16
this is one of the most clever fics i have ever read. keep posting and i'll keep reading.

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126393Chapter: 16
I've been enjoying this DPR. Given that we now know that Fudge is going to get the push in HBP you're already into an AU but I have to say that doesn't particularly bother me - you're giving us some great story in an interesting way - the various 'voices' of your reporters each chiming in with their own notes in the HP symphony. Cool. I look forward to more after that *cough* 'little event' *cough*.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126386Chapter: 16
I loved it! How adorably Harry! I love how your article makes it seem Harry is more involved than he really was--I had to think about Parvati's "girlfriend" status for awhile. Too funny--I can't wait to read more! I wonder if more info on Harry and Fudge's (what's he still doing in office) spat will show up later? Hmmm...perhaps... :D

Thanks--I really enjoyed this chapter.

Reviewer: Miss E BennettDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126342Chapter: 16
That was the funniest chapter so far. My favorite!

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126341Chapter: 16
I just went through all editions of The Daily Prophet and have to say that it was quite entertaining reading. The style, detail and journalistic feel of this fic is addictive.

I look forward to the next article, and will be a loyal subscriber in future. ;o)

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126298Chapter: 16
Lots of fun, as always! Am enjoying the series very much.

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126222Chapter: 16
----"Only Hogwarts Headmaster Albus Dumbledore, a fixture in the poll for more than 90 years, did not see a major decline in support, drawing a majority of the centenarian vote and 7.6 percent of the total."----
LOL! This story is brilliant and most excellently written.

----"His first romantic relationship came in 1994 with Hermione Granger, then a Gryffindor in his year at Hogwarts and now the Wizengamot’s youngest member, who reportedly left him spurned and heartbroken."----
Yeh, Sure. :P

Great Article!

Reviewer: Erica VermetteDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126208Chapter: 16
"Only Hogwarts Headmaster Albus Dumbledore, a fixture in the poll for more than 90 years, did not see a major decline in support, drawing a majority of the centenarian vote and 7.6 percent of the total."

LOL! Brilliant! I love this story, and I always make a point of checking for it in the updates. I'm rather sad that you're post-poning it until after the release date, but after all, it's not that far away now!

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126205Chapter: 16
Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant!!

>>"Only Hogwarts Headmaster Albus Dumbledore, a fixture in the poll for more than 90 years, did not see a major decline in support, drawing a majority of the centenarian vote and 7.6 percent of the total."<<

>>"The Boy Who Lived’s charge into witches’ hearts was certainly aided by the engagement of Quidditch heartthrob David Adams, last year’s most-eligible bachelor, to singer Victoria Pepper. "<<<

I look forward to every update of "Daily Prophet Reporting". It's one of the most well-written stories on the Quill, ever. The format is unique, and your writing style is spectacular. Great job!

Reviewer: Beech TreeDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126161Chapter: 16
LOL!

It's been a long, long moment since I've laughed throughout an entire fic. There were no dull moments in this column.

Nice job!

Reviewer: claudiaDate: 2005-06-28
Reviewid: 125479Chapter: 1
Great journalism! It's always a pleasure to open the Sugar Quill site and find a new article. I hope you keep this up.

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-06-28
Reviewid: 125460Chapter: 15
Great Chapter looking forward to more...

I can't wait to see what position Harry makes on the team.

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-06-23
Reviewid: 124931Chapter: 14
While this isn't actually Quidditch game, it's still something. Although were really waiting for the big thing...

"I know everyone thinks I’m special. I’ve been hearing that since I was 11 years old,” the first-year professional Seeker, now 20, said. “But when you get on a broom, it’s only talent that matters. Well, talent along with teamwork and some luck."

A very IC thing for Harry to say.

Great Chapter.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2005-06-22
Reviewid: 124832Chapter: 14
Yay! Quidditch! Finally! I'm really glad Harry is flying so well, and I'm also glad you don't simply make him the best. Those first two days, it seems that Diop is slightly better. I like that very much, because it's realistic (Diop is experienced; Harry is not) no matter how much I'd like Harry to make the team. Of course, I hope that after a bit of training, Harry will get better than Diop. :D

Great writing again. You're right to decide to skip the rest of the training, because I'm sure it would get a bit boring to read about which drills they did and who was best every single day. It was very nice to read about the training these first two days, but there's no need to keep reporting about the daily sessions. I'm sure you'll be doing a great job at letting us know what's going on without making it even the slightest bit boring.

Looking forward very much to more!

(By the way, did you get my last email about your other story? I never heard back from you.)

Reviewer: DooflegnaDate: 2005-06-21
Reviewid: 124760Chapter: 14
This story may be be one of the most original and refreshingly well-written story that I've read in a while. It's got top-notch writing, an incredibly inventive literary device, and it's helmed by an author who isn't afraid to hold back on the plot. The author has promised 70 articles by the time we finish this bad rabbit, and I, for one, am thoroughly excited for it. Mark this one down, ladies and gentlemen, this one's gonna be a keeper.

(a tentative) 5*/5*

Notes to the author: This is a wonderful fic. I ask you from the bottom of my heart to keep on plucking away at these articles. I'm sure you've already run into the problem of holes and writer's block -- the usual signs of a new writer. But don't give this one up. For one, what I said holds -- this is insanely original, and I love it. And, you've instilled (by its very nature) a system of delayed gratification that I love. Keep it up. Write to seventy articles -- make sure it's well plotted, and when this fic is finished, it will become one of the giants of Harry Potter Fanfic -- at least in my book.

Reviewer: MargeryDate: 2005-06-21
Reviewid: 124728Chapter: 14
I just love this story, and for all you apologize for the slow pace, I think it's moving right along! There's something about the newspaper format that keeps me interested through the sports articles. Being in a family of sporting nuts, I get my fair share shoved under my nose in real life and never pay much attention, but these are really enjoyable!

Reviewer: Cannonsgurl90Date: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124248Chapter: 13
This is such a creative idea; I love it! And kudos to you for taking on a project with so many articles - it must be tough! Keep going!

Reviewer: childoftheseventhsinDate: 2005-06-14
Reviewid: 123982Chapter: 13
YAY, I've been looking forward to reading this chapter since I first discovered this fic! I love that Harry is so good, it gives such a sense of satisfaction!!!

Reviewer: MargeryDate: 2005-06-11
Reviewid: 123759Chapter: 13
I really liked this chapter, it seemed very close to how things really would go. I liked that Harry didn't outshine Diop or the other seekers, how he did well, but not phenomally. These are all written so well--I can imagine seeing them on the front page of the sports section!

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123594Chapter: 13
Yay! It's Quidditch!

I'm happy to see that he played well. I really can't wait for more, and to see what happens...

Thanks for this amazing article.

Reviewer: philomelDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123563Chapter: 13
Give that reporter a raise! Not a big sports fan, but oh, how I want to be out on that pitch, or rather, over it. That's the sort of writing that sells papers. And makes me want to read fanfic.

Reviewer: philomelDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123560Chapter: 7
I was sniffling back tears as Tonks was. Dude. I don't cry while reading the newspaper. This is good stuff. Realistic, funny, good reporting. And you've got the Weasley twins nailed...

Reviewer: July31Date: 2005-06-04
Reviewid: 123318Chapter: 12
I liked your latest chapter! (article?) Especially because my birthday's July 31 also, (hence the user name) and it's always kind of neat to hear your birthday talked about in stuff like this! This was a cute and unique idea! Keep writing!

Reviewer: MargeryDate: 2005-06-01
Reviewid: 123176Chapter: 12
I love these articles! The snip of Daedalus Diggle made me laugh, and the Bumblebee pub fits in with the atmosphere of Diagon Alley. Very nicely written, very clever.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2005-05-29
Reviewid: 122991Chapter: 12
I'm glad you decided against writing pages full of Harry's life story. This short, fresh, opiniated piece is delightful to read, and while I'm sure you would have made Harry's life story as viewed by the Daily Prophet interesting, too, no one really feels like reading a summary of Harry's life once again, especially if it takes pages. Aren't the most boring bits of the Harry Potter books the parts in the first chapters where the previous books are summarised?

So, you made the right choice, I'm sure of it. I enjoyed this chapter very much the way it is now. Fudge is doing the wrong thing as usual, and I always love the comments made by Mundungus Fletcher: blunt and highly biased in favour of Harry, but always funny and with a grain of truth.

I must admit that I got a huge grin on my face halfway through the story, not because of the story itself, but because I had found an error. An actual error. :-) That is, I sincerely doubt that Lee Jordan would have renamed "the Hog's Head" to "the Hogshead". And if you made him do it, it's not very smart, because everyone is going to think it's an error.

Anyway. The chapter is brilliant as usual, and I loved to see a bit of politics and Harry-honouring, although I'm yearning for the Quidditch season to finally start...

Reviewer: KevinDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122819Chapter: 12
Yay another great chapter! Good thing that Giulia motivated you, this story is too good to be put aside! Can't wait for more, as always :D Keep up the good work, and whatever you do, don't stop writing!

//Kev

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122795Chapter: 12
Happy Birthday Harry!!!

I love your Dung Fletcher. While from what we knew of him in canon he seemed like the last person to get onto the Wizengamot, he still manages to remind me of fletcher. His blunt outspokeness, is just typical him.

And the little mention of Diggle is priceless.
---Kent’s Dedalus Diggle said Sunday. “He’s the shooting star that guided us through the long night. He deserves to be celebrated and tomorrow night I’m going to pay him a tribute worthy of what he is to our world. So keep your eyes on the sky.”--- LoL.

And it's great to hear that Lee, is having the "Hog's Head" for himself.

----"He-Who-Need-Not-Be-Named-Anymore"---- *grin*, I love the way people play around with giving and adding names similar to this.

Awesome chapter, I love this article immensley.

Reviewer: srutiDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122792Chapter: 12
very nice--pls don't quit now--ur writing rocks

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2005-05-20
Reviewid: 122506Chapter: 11
This is maybe the first time I'm unhappy about the fact that the whole story consists of Daily Prophet articles. It's still a brilliant idea, highly original and very fascinating, but I'd love to read about Harry's experiences in his first ever professional training camp first-hand. I'm so anxious to know how he'll be doing!

Ah, you'd better write a very interesting article next and post it soon! (Not that this one wasn't interesting; it was! Too interesting! It makes me wish for the next one. Oh, and your writing is still excellent, and I also loved the bit with Draco Malfoy. Reserve! Hah!)

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-05-19
Reviewid: 122445Chapter: 11
I continue to squeal when I see this in the updates. What's most fun about reading it is the realism.I could slip it into the morning sports pages and no one would notice. (Besides, it is more positive than that articles I usually endure.) The way you are building up my expectations, soon I'll be thinking it really is a Quidditch training season, and be looking for news on the television sports reports.

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-05-19
Reviewid: 122429Chapter: 11
I always love reading your articles. There so much fun to read. While it's hard to tell what kind of position Draco has played in the end of the war, as Death Eater independant or whatever, it's only natural that he has only bad to say about Harry.

I can't wait to see how Harry does on the pitch against all the other seekers. Can't we see some Quidditch already? :)

I always look forward to reading one of your articles.


Gryfny

Reviewer: CargillDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122323Chapter: 11
This is such a great concept for a story and I love the style of writing which fits so well with the concept(although you don't have Rita Skeeter's poisoned quill!)

Reviewer: RoDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122307Chapter: 11
:) I always smile when I see this fic updated. Keep it up, I can't wait to meet more familiar faces!

Reviewer: AureliaDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122270Chapter: 11
This story is so adorable, I just love to read it! Very light hearted and fun!

Reviewer: Too_Many_SoxDate: 2005-04-30
Reviewid: 121084Chapter: 7
this is a great idea and you pull it off extremely well. congrats. i will definitely be coming back for more.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2005-04-26
Reviewid: 120740Chapter: 10
Wonderful chapter - I mean, article. So, Harry's going to ride a Firebolt broom. I like that. I also like that he didn't chose the deal with the most money, and that he gave everything to St Mungo's. It's very Harry-ish, and it shows a bit of what I was wondering about in my last review: how Harry is dealing with this all.

(You know, if you're going to publish the same story at various websites, it might be useful to adapt the author's notes; you have been regularly updating here...)

Reviewer: TrishaDate: 2005-04-26
Reviewid: 120700Chapter: 10
I really enjoy the style of this story and I keep checking for updates regularly. Thank you for not abandoning it. =)

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-04-26
Reviewid: 120698Chapter: 10
--When the Boy Who Lived was asked if that meant he was terminating his five-week-old advertising relationship with Weasley’s Wizard Wheezes, Fred Weasley loudly exclaimed, “No!” before he could answer.--

LOL

Another awesome chapter, so Harry's staying with the firebolt...

It's very IC for him to give it to charity. Great Job.

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-04-26
Reviewid: 120695Chapter: 10
I am so happy to see you updating again. This story is so much fun to follow. Please count me among those still reading.

Reviewer: LilysEyesDate: 2005-04-26
Reviewid: 120687Chapter: 10
Dear Mr/Mrs. Author,
This is a fantastic story, I would like to thankyou for writing it, It has been great fun to read it, thank you again
LilysEyes

Reviewer: Emma W.Date: 2005-04-25
Reviewid: 120620Chapter: 10
im still following! ;)

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2005-04-23
Reviewid: 120406Chapter: 9
I was right; it's another great chapter! Just as most of your chapters, this one is very realistic and engaging. I'm a bit disappointed that it's only July 11, as I can't wait to see Harry play. And I want to know what broom he will get.

The only drawback of writing a story in this way is that we won't see Harry's thoughts about this all. How is he coping with people buying tickets for Puddlemere just to see him play, I wonder? Well, I'll probably never find out, but at least it's usually a good sign if a story makes the readers think and wonder.

I can't wait to see more of this!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2005-04-23
Reviewid: 120405Chapter: 8
Intriguing! I didn't find this chapter as easy to read and as well-flowing as the previous ones, but you somehow managed to suck me into the story anyway. I'm just as curious about which broomstick Harry will choose as the whole wizarding world now. :-)

>>According to the source, his company received an owl from Potter on Monday formally invited it to participate in “an open test”<<
This sentence isn't really right, is it? Maybe I'm misreading it, but there's no way I can make the two direct verbs "received" and "invited" work together peacefully here. I think you might have made a mistake here. (Which is about the first one I've come across ever since I gave you that NEWT, so I'm not regretting it. ;-) )

I'm off to yet another great chapter (I hope)!

Reviewer: SpringrainDate: 2005-04-19
Reviewid: 119969Chapter: 9
I love the voice of these articles, and how they tell a story in an original way.

Reviewer: KellyBDate: 2005-04-18
Reviewid: 119895Chapter: 9
Brill, loved it. This was a lot of fun to read.
Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-04-13
Reviewid: 119494Chapter: 9
Another great chapter. I don't have much to say but I can't wait to see Potter in action. Great as usual.

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-04-05
Reviewid: 118771Chapter: 8
This has been great so far. It's a very realistic journalistic approach, which comes of no surprise (you said you really were a journalist, right?). Anyway, I look forward to the next chap- I mean, article. :-)

Reviewer: CarrDate: 2005-04-04
Reviewid: 118626Chapter: 8
I'm so glad to see this back! This is definitely one of my favorite stories, and I think it's awesome that you're writing it again. Great job!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-04-02
Reviewid: 118527Chapter: 8
I love the way you continue to come up with new ways to tell the story. It's wonderful and exciting, and I can't wait for the next report. ;-)

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-04-01
Reviewid: 118418Chapter: 8
I can't wait to find out who wins the bidding war. I hope for some little known company. Harry's turning into a little business man.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2005-03-30
Reviewid: 118184Chapter: 7
Yay, it's great to see another chapter so soon after the previous one! It's about time that Sirius was cleared and Fudge was 'defeated'. Hmmm... I'm wondering whether Harry will get his chance to play Quidditch before he becomes the new Minister for Magic...

I love it that you made Dung, Tonks and Rita Skeeter speak in this article. It's a nice way to pull us into the plot some more and to make things a little bit more familiar.

Looking forward to the next article!

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-03-29
Reviewid: 118050Chapter: 7
Another great chapter, it's amazing that finally Sirius Black is cleared, and Fudge is losing control of the goverment. I like the way you have how some of the old Order members became members on the Wizengamot. I guess Dung must have shaped up slightly.

Great Reporting.

Reviewer: Sana JonDate: 2005-03-29
Reviewid: 118048Chapter: 7
I love this... It was too late for me to read every word, I'm so sorry, so I just sorta skimmed... But you really, really convinced me that this was real! What a marvelous, creative, and beatiful way to tell this, you are great! :D :) Definitely worthy of comment, critic (if any at all), and compliment! I commend you on your wonderful style! ;)

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-03-28
Reviewid: 117968Chapter: 7
*sniff*

What a great chapter. This was very detailed about the political system of wizarding Britain while still being an interesting and exciting read. I'm wondering how Dung got on the Wizengamot though. :P Harry's letter and Tonks's statements were nice personal touches.

Really looking forward to the next chapter,

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: Itor66Date: 2005-03-28
Reviewid: 117951Chapter: 7
A good story line. Kudo's on clearing Sirus's name.

Reviewer: EdwinDate: 2005-03-28
Reviewid: 117949Chapter: 7
Nice Reporting

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-03-28
Reviewid: 117936Chapter: 6
Think I've read this chapter before. Posted somewhere else maybe?

Anyway - great fic. Only one with this premise I've read.

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-03-27
Reviewid: 117867Chapter: 6
I'm happy to see that you haven't forgotten about the SQ, I'm still reading.

I've really enjoyed this chapter and it's always great to read about F&G. The style is great as usual.

How did you decide on the 10% was it just a good number or what?

Reviewer: HarteDate: 2005-03-27
Reviewid: 117863Chapter: 6
There are many of us still out here who have missed your updates. Glad you are back!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-03-26
Reviewid: 117806Chapter: 6
I'm still reading. I really like this take on what might happen after the books are finished, especially since it's so inventive. You really capture how each part of the wizarding world is interested in Harry, be it the social, sports or financial pages - the way they all regard him as sort of public property. It was nice to see Fred and George make an appearance. I really would like to know what happened between Harry and Ron when he left Chudley Cannons though! ^^;;

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2005-03-26
Reviewid: 117757Chapter: 6
I'm glad to see a new chapter up! I was afraid you had forgotten about the existence of the Sugar Quill, but fortunately, you have not.

This is another marvellous chapter. Your writing is highly enjoyable -- I wish my newspaper would write that way. ;-) The story itself is also interesting. It's very funny and nice to read about the goblins closely guarding Harry's fortune, and about Fred and George doing so well with their shop. You do a wonderful job tying canon things in with possible future events, and you write it in a way that is fascinating to read.

I hope you won't take so long for the next chapter, but I'll read it whenever it arrives anyway.

Reviewer: magical meDate: 2005-03-26
Reviewid: 117714Chapter: 6
Yay! I'm glad to see you back!!!

Reviewer: sallyDate: 2005-03-14
Reviewid: 116514Chapter: 5
hey great story! will you continue? plz olz continue

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106792Chapter: 5
This is really good, far exceeding my expectations! (Of course, mentioning Daily Prophet and reportings in the description does keep a person's expectations pretty low.)

I enjoyed the small quotes from known characters and the tone of the articles is so very similiar to the Books. Looking forward to the day when the reporters turn on Harry as the Prophet must surely do.

Reviewer: WendelinDate: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106771Chapter: 5
And, I keep wondering which characters you've killed off. Is Dumbledore dead? I hope not... when they talked about Sirius, they called him 'late', and they didn't do that for Dumbledore.

If you've killed Ron or Hermione (or *gasp* both!)... or Lupin... I will stop reading this story!

Well, I don't mean that, OK, but can I just take a minute to fall down on my knees and beg you to give us a mention of these characters, just to show they aren't dead? Please?

Reviewer: WendelinDate: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106769Chapter: 5
Oh. WOW.

I read the first chapter of this fic, and I was struck by how well you handled the unusual format of it, but I wasn't totally bowled over. But this fic just keeps getting better and better!

1. You have PLOT, in capital letters. I can't tell you how thrilled I am about that! I mean, just because it's newspaper articles, doesn't mean it should be discontinuous bits of boring, business-like pages of words, does it?

2. You have characterization! One one level, you have the tone of a journalist just *so*, and I can actually hear the different voices of different journalists as they do their thang in these pieces. It's really hard to do that, and I truly applaud you. On the second level, you have canon characters behave and speak in a way that is completely natural. I can just see Harry being all solemn and determined about even something fun like quidditch - that's his attitude to quidditch even now!

3. Your sense of humour. It's fabulous and subtle and sly and dry-wit-like and exactly like JKR's! I was laughing out loud at the thought of Harry modeling tartan boxers... :D :D :D and there are little touches everywhere where humour shines through like an unexpected coin glinting on the street.

Well done!

Reviewer: EricaDate: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106714Chapter: 5
Another great chapter! I love the tone of it, how it actually reads like a newspaper article, where a lot of things don't seem entirely credible. Waiting for more!

Reviewer: ElshaDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106457Chapter: 5
I read this story over at PS.net, but I don't think I've ever reviewed it there, which is terribly remiss of me. This is a very original format for a HP story, and I enjoy every article. You've got the tone of slightly-trashy-but-striving-for-respectability newspapers down very well. It makes you wonder about stories you read in real life - here, the readers know the truth about the personalities of the people the Daily Prophet is reporting on. In real life, how much is true, and how much is speculation built on misinterpretation?

Always funny, and I especially enjoy the fact that Harry has to work to get on the team - being a natural is one thing, but that only gets you so far. I look forward to every update. :)

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106406Chapter: 5
I just continue to love this. I'll owl you to extend my subscription as far into the future as possible.

Reviewer: AsevDate: 2004-11-26
Reviewid: 106069Chapter: 1
Excellent so far! I've only read one chapter, but I definitely like how this is done. You also give me something very interesting to analyze for my report I was recently assigned--we have to write an article in this style, and I must say this is definitely more interesting than reading an article in an actual newspaper. *grin* Unfortunately, I may be too busy reading this to actually start on said project... ah, well. Good fanfiction is worth the time...

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2004-11-25
Reviewid: 105947Chapter: 4
I really like the format you've written this in. Thanks for a very good read.

Reviewer: zaraDate: 2004-11-24
Reviewid: 105781Chapter: 4
as nicely uinexacted chaper of a ealy grat story- been flowing ti closely- keep up the good work

Reviewer: EricaDate: 2004-11-24
Reviewid: 105754Chapter: 4
YAY! Awesome chapters, I just love this format. ^_^ Update again soon!

Reviewer: RogueDate: 2004-11-23
Reviewid: 105671Chapter: 4
Wonderful! I love how Fred and George are his agents, and I like how the story mirrors sports stories I see in the paper. Keep it up!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-11-23
Reviewid: 105667Chapter: 4
Hey, it's your beta here. :-) Great story so far! I'm really enjoying it. Your writing style is great and, with many chapters to go, I think and hope that your plot might just develop into something very good as well. I'm looking forward to more!

Reviewer: The PondererDate: 2004-11-23
Reviewid: 105652Chapter: 4
I was wondering...do you use any sort of model or set structure for you articles? I suppose I don't know enough about news articles, but it all just flows together so well--particularly the way you drop quotes. Is there a particular form you use? (I know I'd like to be able to write this way for my essays! My professors would like it better that way, too!) Thanks for your time!

Reviewer: FernWithyDate: 2004-11-22
Reviewid: 105503Chapter: 1
Excellent concept! I'll be watching with interest as you go.

Reviewer: shiningstarDate: 2004-11-21
Reviewid: 105418Chapter: 3
I am truly loving the writing style of this story. It is brilliant! My favorite line in this one is when Moody says, "We need constant vigilance in order to prevail, not to be getting rid of our most proven fighters.” That is so Moody. Great job capturing the characters just as JKR created them. Great job so far!

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-11-20
Reviewid: 105377Chapter: 1
I really like this - it's an original idea written in a very interesting and fun-to-read-style. I like the fact that we see events unfold through an "objective" point of view, and your writing is excellent. Good work, in other words!
:-)

Reviewer: ArtemisaDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105301Chapter: 3
Very interesting piece of work. We're not seeing the usual POV (Harry's or ont of the other characters) but as a news note.
Now, we all know that the Prophet lost some credibility at some point, how can we fully trust these articles? I hope we are now reading some reliable reporters this time around. ;-)

Reviewer: Evil WombatDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105247Chapter: 3
I am really impressed with this story. It's a brilliant and unique idea, first of all. You also write it very well. I'm...I'm at a loss for words... I think this is absolutley amazing. Please keep updating! I eagerly await the next installment!

Reviewer: Cail JolDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105220Chapter: 3
Excellent chapter.

Reviewer: GrassDate: 2004-11-18
Reviewid: 105193Chapter: 2
Oh, I never thought of that... What would Ron think if Harry joined the England team and played against the Chudley Cannons, and then won?

This is really interesting; keep writing!

Reviewer: Sarah M.Date: 2004-11-17
Reviewid: 105122Chapter: 2
This is awesome! What a good idea for a story, and how interesting! I can't wait to see more!

Reviewer: RogueDate: 2004-11-17
Reviewid: 105089Chapter: 2
This is wonderful! I'm enjoying this story so very much. It's a really entertaining form of storytelling. Great job!

Reviewer: EricaDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 105075Chapter: 2
I love it! Definitely original and thoroughly entertaining. There is more on the way, I hope?

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 105072Chapter: 2
I'm rather into this. I love how creative it is. Please keep up with it, it's better than reading the actual news.

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 105054Chapter: 2
Oh, dear... I can just imagine what Ron would have been saying that wasn't reported in the paper!

Reviewer: MiaDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 105052Chapter: 2
Yay! I like this! Very good, and a very interesting POV. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: srutiDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 105004Chapter: 2
nice and neat----keep rolling the presses

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --