The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 305

Reviewer: MapleCandiesDate: 2009-03-06
Reviewid: 151409Chapter: 15
Ooh, I love this story! I've read some of your other works (and I look forward to reading more!) and I love the sorts of stories you come up with! Keep up the great work!!

Reviewer: slytherinatheartDate: 2007-02-06
Reviewid: 147107Chapter: 15
I read this for the third time while listening to the White Stripes's "We Are Going To Be Friends" on repeat and it struck me as a inspired, beautiful story, with just enough hilarity. One of my favorite lines:

Ginny thought about a boy named John who couldn't fly and a girl named Martha who taught him how.

oh my...

Reviewer: luckylib14Date: 2006-09-04
Reviewid: 145173Chapter: 15
I can't remember if I reviewed this or not while I had a SQ username, but this was the first SQ fanfic I ever read and I just wanted to say you got me hooked into H/G and fanfic itself. Upon coming back to your page of stories I came across this one and felt a fond affectioin for it, and all the other H/G fanfics you've written, because I read them a WHILE back. I hardly remember them, but I will always remember the imagery you gave and the tenderness of your stories. I haven't read some of your more recent ones, but I plan to read and review now that I've come back to the SQ! :) Thank you for such beautiful stories of love and courage, and everything that classic literature is supposed to mean.

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-23
Reviewid: 144959Chapter: 15
wow, I'm done, with another one. That was fantastic, I loved it all the way through. It was nice to have all the Weasleys back for the last chapter... they make everthing seem so good and well-rounded, don't they?Like that AMAZING candel (almost had me in tears). I cant belive... well, i CAN belive how much I've enjoyed this. You've proven that you can probabley work with ANYTHING and turn it into a good story... I'd like to read your stuff on SIYE (I read The New Order by muggle_born on there) but there's so much stuff it's practically overwhelming!! Which do you suggest i start with? But I'll have to warn you, I cant comment on there for some reason, The review box stopped showing up for me a few monthes ago, since they redesigned. But I did read the little William Wood intro story! I liked it! And as I told moonette... he reminds me sooooo much of my father in-law (don't worry, he's good looking;)well for a 57 year old hehhee). I'm going to go and read Julu's Percy stuff now, thanks for recommending her! you gotta love Percy...much love
-Genne

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-23
Reviewid: 144958Chapter: 14
*sigh* Who thought that Brazil could now hold such a great meaning? The whole thing was very symbolic and beautiful. I cried at Harry's reactions to a lot of things, I could relate to Ginny with a lot of things. I just wish they WOULD let someone relax in the hospital bed with you for comfort (I've tried it once and a nurse came in and threw a hissyfit.... stupid woman). I wanted to mention, just how much i loved Harry trying not to distract her from getting to sleep, it was lovely.

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-22
Reviewid: 144933Chapter: 13
... I was hyperventaliting at the start. in absoulute and utter shock. When Harry found her i almost collapsed, it was just... oh boy. I really felt like crying with her. But now i'm worried about Harry, a lot. :( And i have to mention, i love how you've put Penelope in this, you know how much i adore Percy, so having her in this is a huge plus. but still... ooohhh gooosshhh!!

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-22
Reviewid: 144932Chapter: 12
HOOOO-MYGOSH!I feel totally breathless. that'll keep you on your toes, that will. jeez, I can't even begin to tell you how amazing that was. I think i have a head from the lack of air i was denying myself while reading...

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-22
Reviewid: 144931Chapter: 11
what the---?? The stupid cow is a cow? and LM is trying to do somthing to Ginny for the land? and Aunt Martha is DEAD?!?!?! *lip tremble* you were right... i wasn't suspecting that, ever. I'm just glad that I've started reading this early today becouse i'm probably not going to be able to stop reading now. gosh that was sad, Aunt Martha dying is bringing back some really sad memories right now.

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-20
Reviewid: 144902Chapter: 10
Roy the Unicorn!!! SQUEEE! lol! The list of gifts that Harry gave Ginny was funny. And the whole meteor part was beautiful, it's nice to see that they're getting along a little better now.;)

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-20
Reviewid: 144901Chapter: 9
You have to love Ron. No matter what, you-have-to-love-him. insectaside! ahhhh well, at least he tried! But i have to say; that part with Harry and Ginny on the garden was really well done. Aunt Martha is Brilliant! and Harry's "I like Girls" line just... idunno i liked it a lot. (is wierd) I'm just worried that I might have nightmares about that unicorn though...

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-20
Reviewid: 144897Chapter: 8
Ok, befor i review i just have to say... WE PAINTED A WHOLE ROOM YESTERDAY!!! lol! and it's all thanks to you! :D I've had the paint ready for a while now, but we got it done. and I'm telling you, after reading that fic of yours... the whole thing was a wholde lot more romantic. so... thanks. Anyways, i liked this chapter alot. The part with Aunt Martha in the garden was so nice, you cant help but like it. But the best laugh i got was with the cow showing up ;'Moo'. lmao!! and the twelve uses of Dragon Blood! rib cracker! and on a seprate note, I'm reading Air, I want the link to William Woods story. and if you're holding out on anything else!!! lol! pleeeaasee!!!

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-18
Reviewid: 144879Chapter: 7
awwwwwwwwww! (you really didnt think that i was going to go to bed without reading a chapter with a title like that now, did you?). That was just adorable though, and the figurines... I-FREAKIN'-LOVE-THEM!! nicley writen! srsly, they were really cute! as for the clock, i think i just might kill it.

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-18
Reviewid: 144877Chapter: 6
I'm really worried bout Aunt Martha. Molly is wonderful. Si Crackpot is gone?:'( but... Patronis kiss (grins) I'm looking forward to see how that works out. And all time best part in this.. "Malfoy is a 'small' Animagus" I broke a rib.

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-18
Reviewid: 144874Chapter: 5
...ok, the sunburn part was downright sexy. short but effective. *Throws naughty look over shoulder at the poor unsuspecting husband*
But thank you, THANK YOU for having Percy send the charm! I need for him to be good, i dont care in what way, just as long as he's good. and as for Ginny thinking about Harry's kissing in a 'purley acadamic' way... ROFL! too cute.

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-18
Reviewid: 144854Chapter: 4
*smiles* this one reminds me of 'Red is the Heart' a bit. mostley the stone circle part, dunno, just sort of took me back Harry while learning the charms diffirant phases... in a very good way i may add. And I loved the Sir Crackpot... now i want to have a daughter just so that i can hammer at her ceiling and go 'look it's Sir Crackpot'!! ... why do i also get the feeling that my nickname might change to 'Lady Crackpot' if i do that....?

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-17
Reviewid: 144853Chapter: 3
I finally got my lazy butt up and moved to an even lazier position to read this. I've been so bad with what i do with my fun (can't get any sleep) time! I acctually skimmed through 3 diffirant versions of Phantom of The Opera last night... but i started relativly early and took breaks (Baby [husband] feeding)so it's not that sad a thing, is it? But I'm glad that i'm back to reading this! I liked this Chapter, (I admit i had to g back and skim the last two chapters) the whole scene near the end was so sweet. and the acual end with Harry on the floor was a great smiley moment.

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-06-26
Reviewid: 143737Chapter: 2
OMYGOD!!Attack of the killer arm!!lol. isn't that just the way men sleep usually? and the cauldron scraping! that was good! I couldnt help but sympathies with Ginny as they were heading back 'hungry, cant say in front of guy, hungry!' lol. and the cow right after that water shoot! brilliance!...again

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-06-26
Reviewid: 143736Chapter: 1
I kept wimpering throughout the middle. and it's Aunt Martha!! oh please tell me that i'm going to hear an ankle comment soon!!I like her, she's a neat old lady so far. that 'little' conferntation in the kitchen was very well done, the battling between them was very... i cant find the right word (this coming fromt the biography writer). and i liked the sunflower shower, that was a cute idea. and as for the end, man do i know how she feels!

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2006-06-02
Reviewid: 143186Chapter: 15
This was a really beautiful story. Harry and Ginny's relationship was so beautiful as well. I was always more interested in Ron and Hermione stories, but you've made me truly love H/G. Not that I didn't before...I was always very adament in my arguments that Harry and Hermione would NOT date, ever. I had quite a few heated arguments about that, lol. And I guess I always paired Harry and Ginny together, but before this I would always have rather read a Ron/Hermione story. Now because of you I love both! Wonderful, wonderful work.

~Geena Waters

Reviewer: bishop7042Date: 2006-03-25
Reviewid: 141288Chapter: 15
Great work! I loved it. Keep em coming.

-Bishop

Reviewer: redherringDate: 2006-03-18
Reviewid: 141055Chapter: 15
I just read this story for the second time and loved it even more! at first I thought Harry was a little out of character then i realized that i am so used to reading from his perspecitve I just wasn't used to only reading his voice and not his thoughts also--so anyway the point is i thought all the characters were spot on! Reading this story made me feel like I was out in the country--so relaxing! Thanks for a great read!

Reviewer: Watermelon531Date: 2005-12-30
Reviewid: 137807Chapter: 15
This was an absolutely beautiful story, and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. It was unpredictable, there was never a dull moment, there were many original, creative ideas and characters, and most importantly, plenty of beautifully written H/G scences! Aunt Martha was a touching, well-developed character with very wise insight, and I especially loved the way you showed her life as a young woman. The ending was so sweet and did an excellent job of tying the story up. You did an absolutely wonderful job with this story!

Reviewer: Lloyd LoganDate: 2005-10-23
Reviewid: 135022Chapter: 8
HAHA "number twelve, oven cleaner" hahahaha that's hillarious:P.

Reviewer: June LuttrellDate: 2005-10-05
Reviewid: 133769Chapter: 14
I love your writing and hope that you will continue your stories. They are capable of touching hearts.

Reviewer: K.A. WeasleyDate: 2005-09-16
Reviewid: 132681Chapter: 15
........wow.........I am in awe at your awesome fic writing abilities. This is probably the best fan fic I have ever read and I think it captured Harry and Ginny better than any other story I have read.

Reviewer: Michael FeemsterDate: 2005-06-29
Reviewid: 125535Chapter: 1
Lovely story. One of the best FanFics I have read.

Reviewer: Jennifer IdeaneareDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123654Chapter: 15
This was such a great story!! Awesome job!!:) Is there a sequel because a few things seem unresolved?

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-05-12
Reviewid: 121974Chapter: 15
I think you ought to know that your fic is possesing me. I had a dream the other night (when I was ahlf way through this) about that jarvey yelling "the *cow* is an animagus. The bloody *cow*" I kept trying to tell Ginny and Harry who were walking ahead of me in the forest but I couldn't keep up. I knew, I just knew there was something wrong with the animal. Didn't realise it would be Harriet though, eep. That was pretty scary. Poor Ginny. And Harry too, I can only imagine how he must have felt finding her in that tree. There were some wonderful happy moments here too- I loved the dancing candles and the Patronus kiss (bad boy, Harry) and Aunt Martha was wonderful in general. I loved how you built her backstory into the story, along with all the old legends and everyithing. This was a wonderfully involving and beautifully written story, I hope you will keep writing H/G stuff beacuse you're good at it!

Reviewer: Maria M.Date: 2005-05-12
Reviewid: 121961Chapter: 15
Perfect ending! I loved that clock all through.
Actually for me you didn't tie up the loose end of: What was Ginny going to have the Jarvey say about Draco?

Reviewer: Maria M.Date: 2005-05-12
Reviewid: 121960Chapter: 13
Chapter 13--I really like your Penelope--not yours I guess, borrowed, but you did a fine job writing her in.
That would definitely be a shattering experience--a day like that, and to top it all off, someone cuts off your hair!

Reviewer: Maria M.Date: 2005-05-12
Reviewid: 121959Chapter: 11
Chapter 11--"Yes, I'm all right," Ginny whispered. It was a wish and a vow and a lie and the truth all rolled into one. "And you're all right too." Wonderful! No, I don't hate you for killing Aunt Martha. It was her time.

Reviewer: Maria M.Date: 2005-05-12
Reviewid: 121958Chapter: 9
"Shh . . . I'm having a wonderful dream - a beautiful redhead just kissed me."

"I really hate that word. I hate that, along with 'saving-people-thing.'"

I love fanfic Harrys because they don't have to be quite as angsty as the real kind.
The Hummingbird! That is a *perfect* name for a small light broom for small light Ginny! Tres bon!

Reviewer: Maria M.Date: 2005-05-12
Reviewid: 121957Chapter: 7
Chapter 7--"I feel good enough to conjure a Patronus when I'm around you. Do you feel good enough to conjure a Patronus when you're around me?" How cute! It's Harry-Potter-world style romance without being cheesy. Very nice chapter.

Reviewer: Maria M.Date: 2005-05-12
Reviewid: 121955Chapter: 6
Chapter Six--I love that last bit of the chapter! Harry when he's happy and flirting is definitely a new thing. Very nicely done.

Reviewer: Maria M.Date: 2005-05-12
Reviewid: 121951Chapter: 5
Chapter Five--I quite like the characterization of Aunt Martha. And the line "Whatever kind of kisses Cho and Harry had shared, she hoped their first one hadn't been like hers - with one person crying and the other not quite sure what to do."

Reviewer: Maria M.Date: 2005-05-12
Reviewid: 121949Chapter: 4
Ron tried it this summer - told me I shouldn't write to Dean. He didn't say that again - well, he didn't say anything again after I charmed his mouth shut for three hours!"

"You want to write to Dean?" His voice was sharp.

"No! Why would I want to write to Dean?"
--very nice. Good old contrary Ginny!

Reviewer: Maria M.Date: 2005-05-12
Reviewid: 121947Chapter: 1
Just read Chapter One. Nice chapter ending. A lot of H/G fics do that, Ginny trying to work out her Chamber issues. I think that's good--canon supported after all what with Ginny bringing up "Seeing as I'm the only person you know who's been possessed". I like your writing--this bit specially:

"Stain your soul," he murmured.

They sat in silence. The clock was still ticking, the milk in Ginny's mug had gone cold. It was such an ordinary scene for such an extraordinary talk. Surely there was a way to make it all come out right . . .

Reviewer: StetchnikDate: 2005-05-04
Reviewid: 121363Chapter: 15
YAY! That was fun. I'm glad I read it--it was a pleasure. :)

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-04-22
Reviewid: 120350Chapter: 15
*Hits himself* I meant unicorn head. I think I have the mental image of some kind of disney horse, vaguely remembered from childhood, whenever I visualise that particular present. :D

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-04-22
Reviewid: 120349Chapter: 15
Just finished this story! Its really good. There's a nice sense of balance achieved throughout. As I mentioned in a thread somewhere I loved the talking horse head! It was very amusing. And your characterisations are very good. I think its very hard to get Harry to talk convincingly about feelings/relationships but you manage it very well. And I love the way all the threads are tied together at the end - especially the risktaking Patronus Kiss. Its always good when a revelation at the end makes us reinterpret a scene (or scenes for that matter) from the begining of the story. Generally very, very enjoyable!

Reviewer: HollyDate: 2005-04-10
Reviewid: 119159Chapter: 15
wow, that is a really good story. I love to write, but i dont think i could do anything as good as that. i really like all of the harry and ginny romace-ie parts ; )

Reviewer: Dracis TranDate: 2005-04-09
Reviewid: 119077Chapter: 15
I like the Worry-clock, especially because I really believed it in the end.

I must say that I was very, very impressed with your portrayal of Aunt Martha. She quickly wormed her way into my heart, and yes, I was rather tiffed at you for killing her. But then again, there was a legitimate reason for her dying (as we all have to assume there is for Sirius) that you graciously let us in on later.

I find that whenever reading any fic that explores a relationship between Harry and Ginny, I find that I meet a new Ginny every time. Sometimes she's this cutie who is lovely to look at and the perfect catch, and she and Harry never get in a tiff because she's too perfect... and other times she's a rightous git in her own right, and it's hard to believe that Harry would truly fall for someone like that.

Thankfully, your portrayal was quite spiffing at striking a balance between the two. We know that she has quite the spunk from our more in-depth meeting of her in OotP, and that she has a rebellious streak and quite the temper to lay on top of all that. But there are glimpses of a gentler Ginny beneath, and it was nice to see her portrayed in a way that felt so real. On a similar note, portraying Harry is so easy, because we know his mind so intimately...

I try to bring a constructive criticism in here, but I have nothing for you. That's right, nothing. You know, this paragraph is extremely hard to craft without sounding extremely pompous? Oh well... I guess I should mention that there were moments, and they were short ones, in which I thought Harry was acting slightly odd, but it didn't seem to get too far away from himself, so I can't really say anything that might help you figure out what it is I saw, so that doesn't help much. Isn't it maddening?

Well, I hope I've been useful, because I think I agree with the worry clock.

*Chime* "How can I write a review when my heart is full?"

~Dracis

Reviewer: JennieDate: 2005-04-06
Reviewid: 118801Chapter: 15
I enjoyed your story, but though I should mention that you left Hermione out. She would probably be at St. Mungo's for Ginny, and at Percy's party.

Reviewer: LibbyDate: 2005-03-24
Reviewid: 117636Chapter: 15
this is THE BEST story I have EVER read on here! I ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT! I don't even know how you could write such a beautiful story! I loved Aunt Martha (I figured she would die sooner or later, although it was a good way for her to go. I love the comments she made- very wise and beautifully put.). I loved Ginny because she was just a really brave/beautiful soul who had that Irish fire in her. And Harry is something that makes everything make sense to Ginny and I love it. I can very much relate to this story, although I have not found my true love yet! I love the relations to folklore and everything! Bloody brilliant, mate! :)

Reviewer: K. Kay ByrnesDate: 2005-03-19
Reviewid: 117098Chapter: 5
What is a Jarvey?

Reviewer: DancesWithChopstickDate: 2005-03-07
Reviewid: 115743Chapter: 15
Excellent story--I enjoyed it a lot. I think this is the deftest treatment of Harry/Ginny I've seen yet. Thanks!

Reviewer: EricaDate: 2005-03-02
Reviewid: 115300Chapter: 15
When I started this fic, I was a bit hesitant. I'm not one who's much for fluff. :) But I started reading, and I loved it.

Things that I enjoyed most:
Aunt Martha, and her wit and wisdom.
The jarvey. It cracked me up every time.
A believable Ginny, who started out liking ice cream better than kisses, and who was strong without being strident.
Your imagery--especially for the scene on the hill watching the Persieds. You did a great job of building images and sustaining them.

And finally, my favorite quote:
"Ginny had the slightly hysterical thought that she had just spent the last of her pocket money on another Haircut Restoration kit."

Sometimes I laughed out loud, and sometimes I got teary while I was reading. Thank you!

Reviewer: readerDate: 2005-01-28
Reviewid: 112284Chapter: 15
A superb tale. I really enjoyed.

Reviewer: EmblaDate: 2005-01-27
Reviewid: 112223Chapter: 15
Oh, and I liked the emotional honesty too, like Julie said. And the scene where Ginny's aunt dies is both touching and convincing.

Reviewer: EmblaDate: 2005-01-27
Reviewid: 112222Chapter: 15
Thank you, I thought that was an excellent story. I liked the way H&G get to have time together independent of other family et al. The empathy between H&G was nice. I also liked the idea of Ginny speaking parseltongue because of her possession. I enjoyed your speculation about her other special abilites, something I wait for in book six and seven with breath bated. I liked the thematic linking between the feather portkey at the start and the 'Brazil' portkey at the end. I do wonder about their resolve to 'not take any more'--what was your intended implication or effect? And it's always nice to see Penelope and Percy expanded--the bank balance thing was most sympathetic. :) I LOVED 'The room went dark as the anxiety clock struck seven and asked, "How can I possibly eat cake when my heart is full?"' at the end, a wonderful last line. I liked the quote "The brave soul and the pure spirit shall with a merry and loving heart inherit the kingdom together." That SEEMS to be somewhat JKR's approach too.

Reviewer: krisDate: 2005-01-26
Reviewid: 112195Chapter: 1
i just finished reading the whole story and i thought it was incredible. i love the way you bring things or parts from past chapters into the present/ future ones. it was jsut amazing. kudos for writing a wonderful story. :D

k.

Reviewer: SpringrynDate: 2005-01-26
Reviewid: 112127Chapter: 15
I really enjoyed this story. I like the 'mishmash' of mythology, symbolish, healing motifs, and the land ethic in the care of the estates. Plus all the H/G, of course.

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2005-01-24
Reviewid: 111942Chapter: 15
I truly love all your stories, and I am so glad you have continued to write and kept it up on such a consistant basis. I hope to find a new story by you soon, and congratulations on completing such a wonderful and elaborate story!

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2005-01-24
Reviewid: 111941Chapter: 15
Well, darling...well done. You have done such a beautiful job with this one. So many emotions covered with such depth and intelligence and honesty. I love the complexity of this story and as I've told you before, I think you shine brightest in creating your own world. What comes out of your imagination is so vivid.

This is really a beautiful little jewel and you should be really proud.
Love and congratulations!
Julie

Reviewer: AlisonDate: 2005-01-22
Reviewid: 111769Chapter: 15
Yay, the last chapter! Well, yay and boo. Yay because I love happy endings (especially when they happen to be well-written happy endings), but boo because now I don't have your updates to look forward to.

I have to say, I love the anxiety clock. Giving it to Molly was a stroke of genius indeed. Not that I expected any less.

And now I'm going to have to exercise great willpower and refrain from buying The Little White Horse.

Reviewer: OrangeDate: 2005-01-22
Reviewid: 111758Chapter: 15
Lovely, lovely, utterly lovely story. Ginny and Harry are both so incharacter, and your original characters are so real. I love Aunt Martha. I cried when she died...you've written her so well. All the right ingredients of a wonderful fanfiction, and one of the best I've read. Perfect length, good balance of new and old characters, great interaction, great extrapolation for story line and spells and places. Lovely fluffy bits. A masterful way to end the story, that last chapter and especially the last line. And way to set it up for the inevitable sequel, which I'm sure you've got on its way to the beta...there is a sequel, right?
Thank you!
Julia

Reviewer: MiaDate: 2005-01-22
Reviewid: 111715Chapter: 15
Thank you. Thank you for this awesome story. Thank you for writing something good with a plot. Thank you for the fluff and the laughter.. and thank you for the tears. This story is great and I've loved every bit of it.

Reviewer: SilvestriaDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111685Chapter: 15
A very nice final chapter, though I am hoping for a sequel. :P I LOVE 'The Little White Horse' though strangely enough I didn't connect it with your story. But I do see it now. Beautiful! :D

Reviewer: LDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111672Chapter: 15
Brilliant chapter, you legal-minded savvy. You have an excellent manor for depicting characters' bravados. Thumbs up.

Reviewer: LDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111669Chapter: 11
Ooooooooh, Harriet killed Aunt Martha! Interesting twists, but I will miss Aunt Martha. You fully integrated her into the story. Conceivable and real.

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111597Chapter: 15
A very nice ending. The conversation in chapter fourteen was quite good. I can see why it would have taken so long to get it right, because there was a lot to cover and the transition of the characters from damaged to happy could not be done quickly, in order to be believable. I thought that Ginny's quick mood swings were very believable and realistic, if surprising at first. It seemed to take some effort on Harry's part not to walk out on her early on--I could definitely see the conflict in him as well. He went to great lengths to be able to see her, being obviously very driven to do so, but didn't really know how to handle her at first. His discomfort with their physical proximity was a nice touch. He isn't used to that sort of intimacy, having only been her a few days, really, and outside a normal teenage romantic context, with her injured and desperate, he just doesn't know what to do. I have to say, Ginny's attempt to "seduce" him was one of the stranger things I've read lately. I was torn between sympathy for Harry and laughter at the absurdity of it all, and yet felt really bad for Ginny because she was so needy and upset. That whole thing was so bizarre I couldn't help but laugh, but quickly felt bad for doing so. Ah well, they seem to have got through things pretty well by the end! By the end fo the chapter I was just praying Harry wouldn't be caught--good thing he didn't. How did he get all the way to St. Mungo's without the Order knowing about it, anyway? Well, good for him. I suppose "We'll always have Brazil" will be a new romantic phrase--though it doesn't have quite the same ring to it as "We'll always have Paris", does it? lol.

The last chapter is also good. Ginny gets all the land! Those crazy Malfoys--I can just imagine the scenes with Draco at Hogwarts when they get back. Er, "Portkey kiss"? Where do you think of these things? *snort* I do think you did well in portraying what teenage sexual feelings can be like, without going needlessly overboard. A lot of people, I think, in talking or writing about such things, underestimate the respect of young people who are serious about each other, and their potential for responsibility in they have in not pushing things too far or too fast. Fred and George were funny as usual. Ron, king of the manure pile! And was that a Monty Python reference--"She's got huge . . . tracts of land!" Hehe. A nice touch with the Weasley candles at the end, though I suspect the twins included Percy primarily for their mother's sake.

Nicely done! Looking forward to your next fic.

Reviewer: ArumbarDate: 2005-01-20
Reviewid: 111546Chapter: 15
Great story, but I'd just like to point out that the English census book was called the "Domesday Book", not the "Doomsday Book".

Reviewer: Purple Eyed WeasleyDate: 2005-01-20
Reviewid: 111545Chapter: 15
I can't believe it's finished. Great job. And while I know you already did a sixth year fic, I can't help but ask: sequel? Please? Well, anyway, I hope you write something soon. Amazing job, on this whole story.

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111516Chapter: 15
There really isn't much to say. Although...I have put together a list of reviews for you...

'St. Margarets has absolutely overdone herself this time. This fan-fic is the king of all fan-fics of all time in the 'Harry Potter Decade'. Different and Charming, St. Margarets has done it again!'
-Kirkus Reviews

'Extravagant and astounding. St. Margarets writing style is the twin of J.K. Rowling herself!'
-Time Magazine

'I've finally decided to read this one. It doesn't sound half as fluffy as most of the other fics St. Margarets has written...it wins my vote.'
-A Sugar Quill Member

'No words can describe this amazing piece of work. It happens as a story, any story that is worth reading.'

And so, St. Margarets, we...as the readers, members, guests, and other Sugar Quill authors, and Beta Readers...would like to thank you for entertaining us with this wonderfully un-explainable short novel!

*Katie*

Reviewer: ReynaDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111515Chapter: 15
I loved the ending! The candles and the clock were crazy touching. This has been a wonderful series. You write so easily. Everything flows and fits just so. It seems so natural. The only thing I missed in this story was Hermione but I know she couldn't be there. What in the world is Ginny going to do with all that land? And I'm going to go read that children's book now. I love children's books. Anyway. Thank you so much for this story and I'll be looking forward to anything you write in the future.

Reviewer: July 31Date: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111505Chapter: 15
This was absolutely positively AMAZING!!!! I really can't say much for lack of time, but I enjoyed every minute of this story! I would normally write a page for such a great fic like this, but I'll just leave you with an "YOU ROX!" This was beautiful-- really really beautiful. Also, you captured the Weasley's perfectly! Especially Fred and George! Brilliant!

Reviewer: StephDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111503Chapter: 15
Wow! That was a really GREAT ending. I loved every bit of this story and how you tied everything up so well at the end! Out of all of the H/G fics I've read the Harry and Ginny in this one are my favourite. They seem to fit very well with the original books and yet they are your own creation. I love this story and would love it even more if there was a sequel! Great story!

Steph

Reviewer: bethDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111498Chapter: 15
Oh, I don't know what to say.

This story has been something to look forward to from week to week. It's been such a pleasure to read.

Now we'll just have to have a sequel, won't we?

Reviewer: CootiePatootieDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111495Chapter: 15
The room went dark as the anxiety clock struck seven and asked, "How can I possibly eat cake when my heart is full?"

This is the best summary of this fic for me...I love it. I have loved every chapter, even though I haven't reviewed each one (blushing furiously). This one is one of the better ones, however...

you said you wanted this story to cover the end of summer. Will we be seeing more of our intrepid duo as they are off the Hoggy Hogwarts again? (PLEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)

anyway, great story.

Reviewer: lyddDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111493Chapter: 15
AWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW..................ur the best. that was such a good story!! im so sad that its over!!!! :0(

Reviewer: NadyaDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111485Chapter: 15
You outdid yourself. This story was wonderful! I'm very thankful to hairy_hen!

Reviewer: beckDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111484Chapter: 15
loved the story

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111482Chapter: 15
Wow! This story was really good. It was just an awesome H/G fic- one of my favorites. It was a great ending, too! I like all the symbolism and mythology- it makes it more interesting. :D :)

Reviewer: chacotaDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111477Chapter: 15
I just finished it, and it's been beautiful spending all of these months to reach such a wonderful ending like this.
It was perfect, and moving, just amazing, really!
Hope Harry&Ginny will truly end up together like in here, it would be so nice^.^

Reviewer: emilyDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111473Chapter: 15
Wow.
Score Ginny!
All at once.
The worry clock is right.
"How can I possibly eat cake when my heart is full?"

Reviewer: TeenaDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111450Chapter: 15
Hi, St. M! Are you surprised to see my name in the reviewer section? LOL I actually read your story. It took me awhile, and a bit of gumption, but I did it...and...I liked it! Now, don't get me wrong. I think that you (as the excellent writer that you are) could write the phone book and make it wonderful. :) It's just that I don't often read H/G (unless there is R/Hr, too) and, when I do, it's even more rare for me to actually come away enjoying the story as much as I did this one. Excellent work--I can't wait to see more from you. :)

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111447Chapter: 15
St Margarets, you have a very exceptional talent.

You are a wonderful writer. Great, but we have quite a few wonderful writers here.

No, your true talent lies in balance. You balance fluff against plot, symbolism against real events, romance against action, sadness against happiness, humour against seriousness, and character against character. Even perched on the tip of a needle, this balance would hold. The end result is a story that flows like a river through diverse countryside, sometimes rushing us along, sometimes carrying us in peace, but it is clearly one river, and always you have this wonderful feeling of just floating along.

Reviewer: JuliaDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111443Chapter: 15
*sighs happily* I love this story. I think it's the only fic I've ever started reading on the first chapter, and gona all the way through as it was posted. I just....LOVE it!


SequalSequalSequalSequal!!!!

Reviewer: joleneDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111439Chapter: 15
awesome H/G story! words can't describe my admiration of your writing and i'll be waiting for more future H/G stories from you!
<3

Reviewer: phoenix_tearsDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111436Chapter: 15
I'm searching for words that convey my gratitude that you wrote this story, but I can't find any that are good enough! Throughout this story I've come to understand Ginny and Harry a lot better. As Harry and Ginny mature with each other, you have matured as a writer and I've enjoyed reading this soooo much! I'm sad that this is the end, because the characters of the Weasleys and Harry came alive in this story and I doubt that I'm going to find another fic (unless it's yours!) that captures the Weasleys so well until Half-blood Prince is published in 6 months!!!

I'm generally a very skeptical fan fiction reader, especially when the authors are willing to jepordise the charcaters' personalities for the sake of fluffy romance, but you have achieved the near possible - you've written a superb fic that does justice to the wonderful characters of Harry Potter AND is a beautiful story of love.

St Margarets, you've officially become my favourite HP Fan Fiction author and I'm really looking forward to being enchanted by your works in the future. Thank you!

Reviewer: Kala PhoenixDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111433Chapter: 15
I find it hard review individual chapters, so now I will give you a big review for the entire story:
First things first, I loved all of it! The characterizations of Ginny and Harry, and the whole new world of the Hathaway estate. All those new additions (Aunt Martha, white woman of the well, Ginny's Patronus) were perfectly believable and applicable to canon, and everything was so well described. I felt like I was right there watching it happen. I of course lurved the fluff, and you had a very well-thought out story. I have no suggestions to make, because your story was great! The right amount of fluff contrasting intrigue and action and sadness. But I wonder what happened to the Jarvey?

Reviewer: Olivia BriteDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111429Chapter: 15
Hey, I first found your story on PhoenixSong. I finished it here because the text is bigger and easier on my eyes lol. I loved it...your ending was perfect. I'm glad the Malfoys got it stuck to them...they deserve it! I really wish this wasn't the end, now all you've left me with is my own writing. Which reminds me, I should try and get back to that. Writer's block is hellish. Your story was beautiful and it inspires me, hopefully, to write but all the same it inspires me. I hope you write more, because I'm willing to read more of your stuff! Good luck!

Olivia

Reviewer: IsabelA113Date: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111428Chapter: 15
What a wonderful ending, to such a wonderful story! As corny as it sounds, I understand what the clock was saying about a full heart. Such wonderful character details; Percy worrying over the summons, Fred teasing about spiders and George distracting him, Ron's well-meaning cluelessness. You've created such a fully realized family. The ending tied up the loose threads of the plot, without seeming too neat, or simple. (And, dare I say, there is room for continuation.)As always, I will be keeping an eye out for more of your work.

Reviewer: Pumpkin JuiceDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111424Chapter: 15
AWWWWW!

Oh where to begin.
This is DEFINETLY on of the best Quill stories I've ever read. You are one of the nicest, most gifted individuals that I've ever had the privelige to (sort of) meet. You have inspired me through and through and helped me complete my quest for Harry and Ginny love.
I can't wait for more of your work.
Write again SOON!!!

^PJ^

Reviewer: MichelleDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111421Chapter: 15
I've been a silent reader through this story, but I've been reading since the beginning. I've read all of your other stories.. but I think this one is my favorite. I loved the character of Aunt Martha and how she developed through the story. And you have a real talent for describing the scenery and the emotions of characters, it was very easy to visualize. In short, this fic was awesome. Please let me know if you have plans to write another one!

~Michelle

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111418Chapter: 15
St. Margarets--

You should know first off that I very rarely leave reviews (I need to be better about it) and that I've read verrrry little fanfic in the last couple months -- this is one story that I have followed, though.

I'm generally pretty skeptical when it comes to 'fluff' -- I'm not a terribly romantic person, truth be told. The things you write are never just 'fluff', though, so I knew I'd enjoy this anyways. And I did.

Beyond liking the H/G in this story (which I often don't), I like Harry and Ginny on their own, as well. It's as if you found the parts of those characters that I like best and let them develop naturally.

Harry was a total teenage boy; I especially liked it when he told Ginny that ultimately, he had to kiss her. That's how so much gets accomplished during those years, I think; things build and build and finally -someone- has to make a move before the tension drives everyone crazy. I liked that about all of their interaction, actually -- it was appropriately fumbling and spontaneous and not-too-polished, which is what ruins a lot of H/G (and a lot of fluff in general) for me when it isn't accomplished well.

My favorite part of the whole story, though, was the end. It was H/G, yes, but ultimately this story seemed to be about family, and love, watching over the people you care about, and savoring the time you have with them. I loved the Ron/Fred/George interaction at the end; I love that they all know that Ginny's afraid of spiders; I love Percy being at home. The Brazil analogy was wonderful, in both chapters -- that's a feeling that's so precious, and I know that from now on when I have it, I'll be thinking, 'this is my Brazil.'

I'm sure that there are things that I'd do a little differently, but I can't think of any of them at the moment -- I love this ending too much. I may go back sometime soon for a complete re-read, and if I do I'll be sure to leave some comments after each chapter with a more technical critique than this is. For now, I just want to thank you for sharing this story with us.

Katie

Reviewer: GinDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111417Chapter: 15
WOW, this story certainly got better with time! What a beautiful conclusion! You did an excellent job at tying up the loose ends. However I have one issue...in the previous chapter it sure seemed that you were implying that Voldemort killed off Lucius...and yet in this chapter you're still refering to Malfoy...is that Draco, Or maybe I've misunderstood something.

I really like how you put little snips of the important and funny from the story into this chapter. The jarvy, the dragon's blood (which never ceases to make me laugh whenever I think of it), and the figurines. I love the Brazil idea, its a really beautiful parallel, I don't know HOW you thought of it, but its simply lovely. The weasley candles at the end sum up so nicely the reunion of the weasleys. I would have liked it if Harry had been added to the circle, though.

Thank you for writing a strong yet feminine Ginevra. It seems that either she's a total tom boy or she's a shy girly girl...but your Ginny has got POWER and yet she still worries about her hair. She is so human and believable, and its her strenths, love, along with her insecurities that make her that way. I really enjoyed the white woman of the well parts, it was so fitting.

Thank you for a terrific read, I've been following this story with definite interest since the very first chapter was posted! I thought it had potential and I was not dissapointed! You created a gem of a character with Aunt Martha.

"It's not like anyone died or anything!"
*toooo morbidly funny!!!*

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111414Chapter: 15
>>>"She told me - " Ginny put her hand over his heart as if she could will her faith right into his very being. "She told me that you have everything you need to fulfill the prophecy - and I believe it."

His hand covered hers. "I'm starting to believe that too," he said, looking into her eyes.<<<

***sobbing...out-of-control sobbing***

This is your best work yet, St. M. You have really grown as a writer. You are putting a lot of thought into what you write, and how you write it, and it completely shows. Thank you for another bit of "fluff"!

Reviewer: NarumiDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111412Chapter: 15
I love this story! It's absolutely wonderful!

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111410Chapter: 14
>>But he put her back together - slowly, carefully, tenderly.<<

Oh.My.Goodness. This is just the most wonderful turn of phrase. Beautiful.I couldn't help but think of the inverse- someone (Ginny!) putting Harry back together at the end of Book Seven. Here's to hoping it happens, much in the way you describe.

Bravo, St. M!

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111404Chapter: 15
Oh, Bravo, St. Margarets! What a great wrapup, what with another trip to Brazil, and funny brother moments. I loved the scene with the figurines, and I do think you tied up all the loose ends, even the jarvey! But the cake, the cake and the candles, was the best. I have so enjoyed the story, and appreciate all your hard work.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111403Chapter: 15
This has been a wonderful story. I have followed it for a couple of months now, waiting anxiously for updates. Thank you for a well written, wonderfully researched and plotted tale!

Reviewer: harryp123Date: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111399Chapter: 15
Good chapter. Can't wait for the next chapter.

Reviewer: Mrs_Norris's_mouseDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111387Chapter: 15
Thank you. I have enjoyed reading this.

Reviewer: HayleyDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111385Chapter: 15
I've really enjoyed this whole fic,I hope to read more of your fics in the future....
Love the ending it was a really moving ending and it finished perfectly. I'm really sad it's finished but a story can't go on forever...
Overall...BRILLIANT!!!!

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111384Chapter: 15
*sigh* Perfect. You're amazing, and I can't wait for your next story.

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111382Chapter: 15
What a beautiful chapter - and the anxiety clock's last line made my eyes sting even as I was grinning. It figures that it would get the last word.

Yes, this is lovely and I'm both relieved and upset that it's over - now I can stop hanging on the edge of my seat waiting for more - but now there won't be any more! Mixed emotions are so much fun.

It's been a great ride, and you've ended it well. I look forward to reading more from you!

Reviewer: LeslieDate: 2005-01-18
Reviewid: 111380Chapter: 15
A great fic. I am saddened to see it end and hope to see more from you in the future. A 5/6th year fic perhaps!

Reviewer: AngharadDate: 2005-01-18
Reviewid: 111379Chapter: 15
Yay! Just what I needed after my math exam! What will you be writing next? Something R/H? I would have like to have seen Hermione in this story, maybe at the very end. But no matter, the story was perfect anyway!

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-01-18
Reviewid: 111336Chapter: 14
OK, I know you're the queen of symbolism and everything, so this is a redundant comment, but I just *love* your Brazil. It's brilliant and wonderful and warm. It's obvious how much work you have put into researching and writing.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --