The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Specimen
Review(s): 8

Reviewer: AlishaDate: 2005-04-15
Reviewid: 119672Chapter: 1
>>The Muggles in St. Ottery thought she was eccentric, which was true, as she sometimes—sometimes—talked to trees, but only when she needed to pour her heart out to someone.<<

I feel like this sometimes, when you have to *say* what it is that is going on in your head. Luckily, I don't have to turn to trees. I love that I can relate to your characters.

>>Alistair’s eyes narrowed. “Which mountain?”<<

Perhaps I shouldn't think this as funny as I do, but...Witch Mountain? What a great movie, and though this may not be intentional, I sure do love it. Thanks!

I love reading your writing...and I'm off to make sure I didn't forget more of it.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-03-17
Reviewid: 116863Chapter: 1
[Ronaldinette Fawcett had always been known to talk.] Great opening line.

[The Blacks, to whom the Diamonds were distantly related,] Who are the Diamonds? Are the Fawsetts related to the Diamonds?

[since all the news he seemed to care about was a Muggle musical group breaking up over a Japanese woman.] Hahahaha!

This wasn't quite what I was expecting, but I thought you had a really original take on Seers, especially this part: [You will probably never see Meredith as you know her again. The Ministry will take her essence and she will be driven mad, just like your mother, just like…” Ronnie’s voice caught. “Just like my Raymond.”] It certainly explains a lot about Prof. Trelawney and it gives those ghostly forms of the Seers described in OotP a more sinister nature. Having read this, Ch. 2 of Witnesses and Warnings makes a lot more sense.

Reviewer: redlightspecialDate: 2005-02-14
Reviewid: 113900Chapter: 1
After reading this prologue, I'd say I have a lot more reading to do. This is so well done. The exposition at the start is extremely well written and thought out. You took good care to show us Ronnie's upbringing and a hint of some of her personality traits in those first few paragraphs, including my favorite line: "The Muggles in St. Ottery thought she was eccentric, which was true, as she sometimes— sometimes— talked to trees, but only when she needed to pour her heart out to someone." Fantastic.

I look forward to reading the rest of the story, and finding out what this old family secret might be.

One last thing: "“Alistair dear, at least you won’t have to discuss The Cannons and other natural disasters.”" :-) Somewhere, Ron Weasley is feeling scandalized.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2005-01-10
Reviewid: 110449Chapter: 1
Great story! I don't understand everything, but I'm sure that will be resolved in "Witnessings and Warnings". Anyway, you write well. Especially the three opening paragraphs are quite brilliant. And the entire hysterical scene at dinner came alive in my mind; it's written so vividly.

Every now and then, though, you kind of lose track of the line in the story. For example, the paragraph "The Diamonds were a pure-blooded family ... proudly stated." seems to consists of a few random facts, thrown together for not much reason at all. And a bit later, in the middle of a paragraph about Nephele being more familiar with Muggles, you suddenly throw in another fact:
>>The Moxleys were also no longer invited to Black family functions.<<
I understand what you mean by it, but it doesn't fit in that paragraph.

Other than that, your writing is really good. And the plot is very interesting. You've made me curious about this gift of Ronnie's, and why that drives people mad. I'm going to read Witnesses and Warnings as soon as I can find the time.

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-01-07
Reviewid: 110109Chapter: 1
Genesse this is a review just for you (and your inner eye).:) So far I've just read this and it has interesting possibilities, it's very well written, and I really like the character linus that you've created. Anyways keep on writing.
(See, I'm really not very good at writing reviews)

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2004-11-11
Reviewid: 104394Chapter: 1
Oh Wow!! I can't wait for the next installment!

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2004-11-11
Reviewid: 104337Chapter: 1
Well written in-depth look at the wizarding world, can't wait to have more. Good Job!!!

Reviewer: groverDate: 2004-11-11
Reviewid: 104303Chapter: 1
Wow! This is incredible. I will review better after a second reading. Thanks for writing this. Wow.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --