The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Squib's Tale
Review(s): 8

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-12
Reviewid: 137050Chapter: 1
Quite Enjoyable

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2005-09-16
Reviewid: 132624Chapter: 1
Great story! ;).

Reviewer: Gerald HowellDate: 2005-07-04
Reviewid: 126016Chapter: 1
I liked the story a lot very creative and a twist to put tonks as a reporter(if she's not ok but that's what it seemed to me because of what she said about it being her story. by the way, do you know anywhere that i can find an Arabella Figg Argus Filch Romance fic? because that seems natural two squibs in the world of wizard.

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-21
Reviewid: 114549Chapter: 1
Overall - good

Reviewer: wendelinDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 105038Chapter: 1
That was really nice, especially for a first story. Figgy's voice is very convincingly done. I have one minor quibble: potions require magical talent, too, it's not simply chemistry (remember the instruction to 'stir the potion 3 times anticlockwise with your wand'?) ... so I very much doubt a squib could do it; more so for extremely complex potions like veritaserum.

But otherwise, this was nice. Good job!

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 104992Chapter: 1
I think it was wonderful, and you know what, I think that it was a great background for Mrs. Figg. Loved it!

Reviewer: PakismithDate: 2004-11-13
Reviewid: 104700Chapter: 1
Your story suits perfectly with "my" Mrs Figgs's . Perfect the final "Goodbye Miss Tonks".
I'm ready for your next story.

Reviewer: SophieDate: 2004-11-13
Reviewid: 104666Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this story, a very interesting and plausible interpretation of Mrs Figg, and her life. The details about what it would be like to be a Squib in a wizarding family were heartbreaking, i liked your ideas about what families would put their children through to see if they were magical, even to the extent of torture! Your writing style is suits Mrs Figg's voice perfectly, I can imagine her telling her life story so bluntly and straight-fowardly, she seems like a very practical woman, which of course we know she is from canon.

Now, this is a bit of a nit pick for me, nothing to do with the story itself, but consider formatting your fic in a different font next time, such as Times New Roman or some type of a nice, clean serif font. Comic Sans can be hard to read, and a bit informal, which doesn't really suit the fic, and can be a bit off-putting for readers. Just a suggestion.

Hope to read more things from you!

~ Sophie

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --