The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Shifts
Review(s): 604

Reviewer: crystalnovaDate: 2009-07-17
Reviewid: 151435Chapter: 8
"Did you see his face when you said he was as good as one of your sons?"
"I wasn't looking."
"Look, Molly. Look at him. He loves you."
I don't know what came over me, but I just started bawling at "Look, Molly." Gosh. I don't cry at fanfic often. So good job, I guess?

I'm really enjoying this, though. I love Remus, and finding a well-written fic about him seems tough sometimes. And I'm greatly relishing how you do Tonks/Remus! Very cute and very in-character. :)

Reviewer: Stella ThomasDate: 2008-01-25
Reviewid: 150448Chapter: 3
I wanted to read your Teddy story, but felt I had better start at the beginning. So far I am REALLY enjoying this, just bear with me though, it will take me a while to get through it all. But I do really like it.

Reviewer: TarayaniDate: 2007-12-09
Reviewid: 150114Chapter: 26
I love your story so far, very nice! Realistic Remus-based fics that don't deviate into mush are difficult to find, so thank you for the wonderful read so far.

About the incident with Bellatrix and Andromeda in this chapter - I don't see why Bella would decide to camouflage her wand as a knife. The way it's presented by Tonks makes it seem like Bella was only doing the sensible thing, but, in truth, pointing a wand at a Muggle would only make more trouble for the ministry and possible embarass the ministry officials by having to scramble with all the memory charms and such. Also, it seems in character that Death Eaters would like to terrorize Muggles with their magical powers as it would be incomprehensible to the Muggles and therefore ever more terrifying, and would be a demonstration of their amazing power, etc, instead pretending to threaten someone with a knife, which is a very Muggle-ish weapon of violence. The incident at the World Cup in the 4th book is a good example...

Moving with anticipation on to the next chapter now!

Reviewer: Michelle RavelDate: 2007-10-26
Reviewid: 149733Chapter: 40
You're writing up a storm like usual, Fern, and I can't keep up. I think it'll be months before I'm able to finish reading all of your stories! But I decided to start at the beginning and re-read Shifts.

A great story. It's also a lovely, original idea for a plot that came along at time when people weren't necessarily coming up with great ideas for novel-length fic. I think you wrote Dudley especially well as a flawed bully, capable of some growth but not too much, really terrified of magic.

I'm glad you had Lupin as a teacher--I think that is his true calling. I'll never forget how he was protrayed in PoA and what I thought to be his wonderful teaching. I thought he would be figured a bit more prominently in the books after that, and was disappointed not to see him. Really, we'd all seen Lupin much more than Sirius, and I couldn't understand why Lupin suddenly went down a notch in Harry's love, or why we were supposed to be so heartbroken when Sirius died. I like how you explained this away in your story, having Lupin back away so that Harry could form a relationship with Sirius (and because he was afraid of rejection.)

The one thing that bothered me in your story a bit was I never felt an adequate explanation for why they weren't getting very physical. Did I miss something? Perhaps I did. Is one or both of them religious? Do they feel uncomfortable with moving so fast? Or what? If their sexual choices weren't mentioned in the fic, I think it wouldn't bother me, but they are, because Remus and Dora stop kissing very deliberately several times, saying, "Maybe I should go." Do you know what I mean? Understand me: I'm not saying there needs to be porn, or even a mention of them getting physical at all. Sex doesn't need to be mentioned--you could just have them kissing, as you do. But you do mention sex a lot, by deliberately having them NOT have sex, and they are "frustrated" about it. And (from what I see) fail to give me adequate plot reasons for that. So it feels a bit like something is missing there.

I think this is a great fic that will last. It hasn't been cannon-balled too much--there are a few things here and there, but mainly this fic fits very nicely into the stories. I love how you re-wrote a few canon scenes that involved Lupin. Although I knew they happened in OotP, it never felt like you were just quoting from the book. You always added a new perspective.

I did nothing for more than a day finishing this fic, and it was delicious to do that. I'm a binge reader--I hate reading things a little at a time, but when I get another day relatively free, I'll try to make my way through Shades. I'm looking forward to that.

Reviewer: raquelleDate: 2007-10-11
Reviewid: 149589Chapter: 1
Hi there.
Just thought I'd drop you a line to let you know how much I enjoy your fanfiction. Loved Shifts and it's sequel Shades. You write the characters beautifully. I can't tell you how often you saved my brain from boredom on secretary nightshift duties with your fiction. Am currently re-reading Shifts, was in the mood for a bit of Sirius and you stay very true to his character in your writing. Love the way you write Tonks/Remus. You don't let Tonks come off as too stupid or Remus as too charming which a lot of NT/RL fics seem to fall into.
Keep up the great work!!

Reviewer: illudwinnepooh4Date: 2007-01-01
Reviewid: 146707Chapter: 40
Like the other commenters, I really loved this fic. One aspect of it that I particularly enjoyed was looking at Remus' role as a teacher. This story so adequately portrayed all the instincts, love, and knowledge that a master teacher would have, and, as someone who wants to be a teacher herself soon, I really loved reading that. Good work!

Reviewer: Magnolia_MamaDate: 2006-12-31
Reviewid: 146688Chapter: 40
I intend to say more about this excellent story on my LJ, but for now I wanted to take a minute or two to tell you what an outstanding piece of work it is. I was impressed in particular with the plot and how evenly paced it was, weaving in and out with the "official" OotP storyline, with the different subthreads you incorporated, and the nice balance you maintained between magical concerns and those of a more mundane nature. Your characterizations were equally superb; I especially enjoyed the insight you provided into Dudley Dursley and his unavoidable relationship with the wizarding world. Like I said at the outstanding, this was truly outstanding. Thank you for writing it.

Reviewer: recklessDate: 2006-11-23
Reviewid: 146258Chapter: 40
What a gem! This is quite an accomplishment. Your writing is complex, subtle, and attentive to the inner lives of the characters. The humor is perfectly in tune with JKR's and the fic is well-paced and effectively balanced between light and emotional moments.

There are two striking images and moments that continue to haunt me and affect my reading of the books, which is the highest compliment I can give. Sirius recounting his brother's death -- particularly the gruesome and Oedipal eyes in a box -- was riveting and heartwrenching. It is an epic, almost mythological moment that plays perfectly. The other is Lily's haunting "Do you want to kiss me?" and Remus' stumbling, completely in character response. The flame is put out as quickly as it was lit, but it is a profound moment. No matter what JKR explains in terms of these two plot strands, I will prefer to think of your version as canon.

I do, however, take considerable issue with your portrayal of Remus and Sirius' relationship. I think the extent of Remus' bitterness and anger towards Sirius is unfounded. I am sure there were still old wounds and certainly a few dark moments, but Remus had thirteen years to dwell in darkness, and as the opportunity for happiness with an old friend arose, I feel certain he would have been able to cast more of those hard feelings aside and enjoy his time with Sirius. It seems more in character for Remus to forgive, and I certainly don't think he considered Sirius a burden, as you suggest. I agree that Remus would see himself as Sirius' caretaker, I don't think he tends to Sirius out of mere sense of duty. I am sure Remus resented his depression and volatility at times, but I think you underestimate how much having Sirius back meant to him. "After all, Sirius was just a friend, just a part of his past, not a part of his future." Frankly, I find that offensive.

I certainly accept that a bitter Remus is a possible interpretation -- and more importantly your interpretation -- but canon suggests that it is after Sirius' death in book six where Remus really hardens. I appreciate the arc you gave Sirius' character, as well as the arc of Remus and Sirius' relationship. I understand that for your story, Remus' relationship with Tonks had to be the most profound. However, I am not sure that you gave enough credit to the depth of Remus' feelings towards Sirius.

Overall though, I found this a riveting, moving, and insightful retelling of my favorite book of the series. You have every reason to be proud of what you've done here, cheers.

Reviewer: MamaLisaDate: 2006-03-21
Reviewid: 141174Chapter: 35
Hello. I've spent the last week reading this wonderful story to this point (just finished chapter 34) and must tell you how much I love it. A story with realistic but likeable muggle characters! Do you know how rare that is? Alan and Anna, Miriam and Joe, Daniel and the students are all so real to me now--you even made me like Dudley somewhat which I would have thought impossible. It has always bothered me in the books that NONE of the muggle characters are sympathetic, (makes you wonder why the Order fights so hard to protect them) but you have managed to forge a genuine connection between the two worlds. For example, I love Remus's dislike of memory spells. It really speaks to his respect for muggles that he would be so hesitant to use one on Dudley, even when Dudley is so adamant about having it done.
I would write more but It's 1:45 am here and I must sleep. Amazing, fabulous, splendiferous story!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-13
Reviewid: 140870Chapter: 40
I don’t really know what to say. I read your brilliant parallel book ‘shifts’ over the last few evenings and have quite enjoyed it. I know that’s not much of a complement, so let me put it this way. Please keep my e-mail address and if you ever publish something for profit – please let me know.

Reviewer: krumfanDate: 2006-03-11
Reviewid: 140816Chapter: 40
Holy Hell.....wow.....I don't even think I can string words together coherently....WHAT A GREAT STORY....I've spent the better part of a week reading it between work and school. Someone mentioned it in a livejournal group...Your story is SO GOOD. I would suggest taking it to other sites like Mugglenet or FanFiction so that even more people could read it!

Did I cry over the despair and eventual death or Sirius? YES! Did I feel like I knew Dora Lewis intimately and sighed with contentment as I saw Dora and Remus slowly falling in love? YES! Do I wish your story went on and on? YES! I loved every single word! You are an incredible author....and the story line was just fabulous....absolutely...

I loved your story...I know I'm being repetitive, but I can't help it....wow....that's all I can say. Great, wonderful, fabulous fic....definetely a contender for my fav REMUS/TONKS fic EVER... you should read blood on the moon by portkey over at Checkmated....that's my other fav....once again...GREAT FIC

krumfan

Reviewer: AebhelDate: 2006-02-24
Reviewid: 140236Chapter: 40
You made me cry. I hope you're happy.

Seriously (Sirius-ly) though, great job. This dovetailed beautifully with canon; it's actually pretty amazing how few discrepencies there are even in light of the sixth book. I thoroughly enjoyed your characterization of Remus and Tonks, and I loved the fact that you gave us a look at the wizarding world outside of Harry. I loved it.

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2006-01-25
Reviewid: 138876Chapter: 40
I really love this story. Normally I only read Ron/Hermione or Harry/Ginny stories, but I've got a soft spot in my heart for Moony. He will alwasy be better looking in my mind then the guy they got to play him in the movie (I can't remember his name *looks ashamed*). If you like Marauders fanfiction, I suggest going to www.livejournal.com and reading Shoebox......it's very long, but VERY entertaining!!! Lol. All about the Marauders during school. Wonderful stuff...but more about your stories...this is really wonderful and I like how you tie it into book six and Shades. Very good work!

~Geena

Reviewer: pickledishkillerDate: 2005-12-17
Reviewid: 137304Chapter: 39
His mother crying... pathos, my friend.

Reviewer: Harriet WimseyDate: 2005-12-13
Reviewid: 137126Chapter: 38
Wow, the end of that is just heartbreaking. I've been rereading Shifts for the past week or so, and it's painful to think of what's going on with Remus right now in Shades, and that he won't let himself receive comfort from Dora like he gets here. All the things going on in that story, when it hasn't been many months since Sirius died, just makes it all more difficult and emotional. You really are an amazing writer, you know.

Reviewer: rhibreDate: 2005-12-02
Reviewid: 136661Chapter: 24
I am loving this story, I am amazed at how cannon it is considering it was written before HBP(are you a personal friend of Ms.Rowling? LOL). The characters are so on that it almost feels like some of the chapters could be in the book(OotP). I really hope you also write your own characters and will eventualy be published yourself.

Also, I am very impressed that you aparently have an excelent Beta reader, almost all fan-fics have spelling and grammer issues that are distracting, your story may have some(I have not been looking for them) but I have not noticed any that detract from you story, which I really appreiate!

Reviewer: SongbirdDate: 2005-11-15
Reviewid: 135907Chapter: 40
This is the first fan fiction I've read -ever- that had me cry. And yell and giggle and curse and chew my uper lip untill it bled. There really isn't more I could say, except for...Thank you so much for writing this.

Reviewer: KelsieDate: 2005-10-27
Reviewid: 135220Chapter: 12
I like this so far...I need to finish reading, but I thought that Remus was only 7 or 13 years her senior? Unless you made him older on purpose? Anyway nicely written! I love the detail

Reviewer: KimiDate: 2005-10-22
Reviewid: 134928Chapter: 40
Thank you so much for this, FernWithy. I am overwhelmed.

You write beautifully. You have your own voice, but the characters you borrow from Rowling are very much in character. And your own creations are utterly believable.

Moving and humourous. Insightful and thought-provoking. A rich addition to the world of Harry Potter.

Thank you for sharing your gift. And please keep writing!

Reviewer: Susan BDate: 2005-10-16
Reviewid: 134553Chapter: 40
Well, I just finished. Oddly enough, I had the same rwation to Sirius' death as I did in OotP. It didn't really hit til I read the reactions. THEN my tears came. Very, very well done!!! I look forward to the next story!!

Suse

Reviewer: LiDate: 2005-10-07
Reviewid: 133929Chapter: 40
THis was a brilliant,well-structured story...beginning to sound like my English teacher lol...maybe I'll morph into her for the day....Siriusly though- I loved this story.
P.S. Was the changing of some of J.K.R's text deliberate?

Reviewer: ttaDate: 2005-10-04
Reviewid: 133738Chapter: 40
Oh wow... I'm sort of speechless right now. This is such a beautiful story. It's heartbreaking and heartwarming and funny and romantic and just everything a story needs to be. This is my first Tonks/Remus fic and I'm so glad for that.
The writing is flawless, it really is. I'm always amazed at authors who can create such a powerful and believable plot.
Thank you, this has been an amazing read.

Reviewer: phoenix_tearsDate: 2005-09-28
Reviewid: 133391Chapter: 40
My God that was phenomenal!!!! Absolutely fantastic characterisation of all characters, especially Lupin.
The story flowed very well, with enough references to OOTP to keep the reader intrigued. I must say that I had an extra thrill with Alan's obsession with Star Trek, enjoying another Trekkie's 'technobabble'.
It was truly heartbreaking as the story approached the final chapters, knowing what the end would bring and (again) losing Sirius. You handled Sirius' death and also the effects it had on everyone exremely well.
Thanks for giving us an insight into many characters that we would not normally receive, such as Lupin, Tonks, Fred and Andromeda and Dudley, but especially Sirius, whom will always remain somewhat of a mystery...
I look forward to reading 'Shades'!

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2005-09-17
Reviewid: 132747Chapter: 40
It was wonderful. I was completely caught up in it for days, and cried like a baby. Thank you, and good luck with your writing!

Reviewer: jellybeanDate: 2005-09-01
Reviewid: 131482Chapter: 40
Wow! Just wow... and thank you.

Reviewer: AlyceJLDate: 2005-08-28
Reviewid: 131071Chapter: 40
Oh, wow. Just, wow. This fic was great from start to finish.

No one ever thought about Dudley before. Remus being assigned to look out for him was a brilliant idea - and it gave this fic a plot. The Smeltings characters, and the background you gave the school, brought a vague mention of Dudley's school to life. The eventual, torturous gaining of Dudley's trust - only to have it taken away again! - was lovely to read, rather than painful. A depth was given to Dudley that no one has ever considered before, and it made him real and gave openings for gentler feelings from the reader.

The Black family was perfect through and through. Bella's interfering with Andromeda, Narcissa's involvement with Dudley, the tension that ran underneath the whole family - including the horrible, guilty want to belong to some extent. Mrs Black's portrait was given a personality taken further than a few choice phrases - I had never considered before that it could say more, or think more. Sirius' recounting of Regulas' death was more moving than I can say, and I think I can honestly say that the thing I will remember most about this fic was Mrs Black's tears when both her sons were gone - family is family, and all the hurtful things were erased with that scene in the final interlude.

Remus and Tonks was gorgeous, the entire way throughout. The harmless flirting - partly unrealised by both. The acting of Raymond and Dora Lewis - and the photo Sirius took where they weren't, which was more real and together than anything they could have pretended. When Remus began to realise that he had feelings - heaven forbid - his struggle with them was apt, but not the overdone thing you see in most fanfics. Their growing relationship was real and awkward, but so right. Tonks was Tonks, and Remus was Remus - so in character, and so perfect.

Memories of James and Lily, Peter and Sirius and Remus, were as alive as they should be. I especially enjoyed your little inclusion of Lily/Remus, which was stomped on as quickly as it began. Harry seeing Snape's Worst Memory was horrifying from Remus' perspective. Sirius 'never forgetting when he ran away from home' was bittersweet, and the ending with the statue, and Remus' good-bye, made me cry.

The mirror held to Order of the Phoenix was spotless - and it was real. There was no leaving anything out, and you included it all - the brawl on the Quidditch pitch, the attack on Arthur, and the attack on Hagrid and Minerva, and the Death room... all were just as clear, just as emotive, as the novel itself, and while we knew exactly what to expect, it was fresh and as equally heart-wrenching as the initial (and following) readings as it was told from another perspective.

The inclusion of a bit of Weasley sub-plot was a treat, and I thank you for it. I'm a closet Weasley fan. The feelings of the boys were the best. The outrage, the disbelief - and the reluctant loyalty. Bill's drink with Percy over New Year's, Percy worrying over Ron, and the twins wanting Percy to go away but stay all at the same time. Molly/Arthur was, as always, beautiful and familiar - like watching the love between parents is. The inclusion of Fleur was naturally done, like she has always been a part of it.

There were quite a few errors throughout the fic - spelling, grammar, punctuaction - which tended to interrupt the flow. The errors were hardly typos, but rather felt like English is a second language to you. If this is so, it is beyond admirable that the quality of the rest of the fic is as it is. However, if this isn't the case it is really something you should look at closely.
The only plothole I stumbled across was when Remus was in his vault at Gringotts, and it was said that the only thing in there was a jewellery box, and a few Galleons - though earlier in the story Remus remembered a pocketwatch that had been handed down to him, and which was locked in his vault. As I said, this was the only plothole I could find. The rest was perfect.

I haven't read a near novel-length fic in a long time - not since D.M.P's "Sin of Lycaos" and "Wolf by Ears". I thank you from the bottom of my fangirly heart for a funny, touching, and true-to-the-heart story of life. I look forward to reading the sequel.

Reviewer: BrittanyDate: 2005-08-24
Reviewid: 130833Chapter: 34
I absolutely LOVED this fanfic!! I love how you fit it together with Order of the Pheniox. I thought that was positivly brilliant!! Keep at it!

Reviewer: KatrynianaDate: 2005-08-24
Reviewid: 130780Chapter: 40
How dare you right such a good story!? Not just a good story, but a LONG good story! I haven't done homework all week!
I don't yet know whether to like you or not because of this predicament...but rest assured that I think your writing is fantastic! You keep all the characters IN character, and keep an excellent structure to your stories! Sweet, but not hopelessly soppy(which I hate). Overall, one of the best fan fics I've read in a while. :)

Reviewer: AmeliaDate: 2005-08-19
Reviewid: 130424Chapter: 40
This fic was absolutely amazing. You have truly made me a Remus/Tonks shipper. You kept the story very in-canon as well. Do you have any thoughts about writng a sequel perhaps?

Reviewer: claudiastarDate: 2005-08-17
Reviewid: 130177Chapter: 40
Is this the best fic ever written? possibly. Do I love it? definately.
You have created a real, breathing world full of brilliant charachters. I particularly loved your creation of Andromeda Tonks. Remus and Dora's relationship was drawn beautifully,very believable, as was the relationship that both of them had with Sirius. Sirius in general was extremely accurate and well drawn, good job. I loved the picture of life at smeltings you created too. I've always loved the idea of Remus as a teacher first and foremost. This fic was well plotted and generally fabulous. It's the first I've read on the sugar quill, (still escaping the clutches of fanfiction.net). But if they're all as good as this, that will have to change.

Reviewer: zsenyaDate: 2005-08-02
Reviewid: 128513Chapter: 26
Great scene (end of Chapter Twenty-Five!). You know what has amazed me throughout the story so far? Is that it was written before HBP and yet, a lot of it would still fit. I'm reading this and thinking of HBP and it doesn't feel out of canon at all. I think it's because your characterizations (all of them - Tonks, Remus, Sirius) are really vivid and well fleshed-out. I have to force myself to stop reading to go to bed!

Reviewer: ZsenyaDate: 2005-07-31
Reviewid: 128361Chapter: 12
Just had to say that I loved the mother-daughter relationship between Tonks and Andromeda in this chapter. It felt very real.

Reviewer: ZsenyaDate: 2005-07-31
Reviewid: 128353Chapter: 10
I should never have started... now I can't put it down. But I think my favorite part so far was the trip down memory lane with Remus trying to learn Windows 3.1....

;)

Reviewer: glerfDate: 2005-07-30
Reviewid: 128247Chapter: 40
god, this story is absolutely amazing. you haven't left a character untouched. you've done an especially amazing job with the Lupin/Tonks relationship and the dialogue between Remus and Sirius. really well thought out.. even though some things changed after HBP.

Reviewer: mosyluDate: 2005-07-28
Reviewid: 128086Chapter: 40
I spent all day yesterday reading this fic, and I'm dead impressed. Many uberfics seem to just raaaaaaaaaamble, but this is structured very precisely, with one central character to hang all the interweaving storylines on. The effect is that it goes very fast and yet stays coherant.

The original characters, too, were drawn with as much consideration and clarity as the canon ones. Good points about Sirius. Sigh. Poor Sirius. Wish it could have been different.

And you did the impossible: let us into Dudley's mind without making it an angst fest!

All-around fabulous fic. Remus and Dora were a bit low-key for this incurable romantic, but I appreciate that their romance wasn't the A-plot. And it was nice not to have the high drama so many people utilize automatically.

Thanks for sharing.

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2005-07-28
Reviewid: 128045Chapter: 40
Oh my goodness, where do I begin. First off "Good Show!"

I love how you twisted your story with actual dialouge from OOTP. Very impressive that it came together that neatly. There wasn't even a change in flow or voice and for that you are to be applauded.

Love the idea of Lupin and Tonks together and now that it has been proven in canon I expect to read about their wedding some day :)

I had tears in my eyes while Lupin set up the memorial for Sirius. How I wish that had been done in OOTP. I will tell you only Dumbledore's funeral has brought me to tears before this - so well done.

~Amanada

Reviewer: AryaDate: 2005-07-26
Reviewid: 127937Chapter: 40
I love this fic. I simply love it. It made me start shipping Tonks and Lupin, with little hope it would happen. And now it's canon and this story is kind of almost canon...that's so cool. Anyway, I enjoyed reading this fic and I hope there are more to come!!

Reviewer: Dawn PatrickDate: 2005-07-24
Reviewid: 127707Chapter: 40
I've only just started reading the stories on here and I was lucky enough to stumble across one of yours fairly shortly. I can’t tell you how impressed I was, I immediately had to read more of your work and read this novel. I felt it was excellent and stayed up all that night to read more of it! I didn’t manage to finish it at the time but came back this morning to do so.

Your characterisation was superb, each person you wrote felt real with very human flaws. The Remus/Tonks relationship is now canon of course and felt right in book 6, and your novel fell right into that explaining and developing it how it began prior to the release of the book, as if you knew in advance that it would happen!

I wanted to know more when I finished your work – as one example I wanted Sirius’s state of mind to be explored in greater detail. This, to me, is the mark of a true author, one who can create a world view with such depth that people want it added to, just as JKR has done with the novels.

Have you written other non-HP things? I’d love to read them as I’m longing to see what you would create in a world of your own – you obviously have the skill and talent to do so. I'm looking forward to reading your published works, if they haven't already happened I know they will.

Reviewer: US HP FanDate: 2005-07-24
Reviewid: 127698Chapter: 40
Awwwwe, it's over. I have LOVED your story so much! (And I can't tell you how thrilled I was to see Tonks and Remus as a couple in HBP too). I sincereley hope that you continue your story as a sequel through HBP. Way to go!

Reviewer: IrisDate: 2005-07-23
Reviewid: 127687Chapter: 1
I love this. So very much. I'd never really read a Lupin fic before, but now he is one of my favorite characters! Remus and Tonks! It makes me so happy inside! And now it's canon!! your story fits in perfectly into the HP universe, even with the release of books six. i think you should do a sequel... Lupin going to the werewolves... splitting up with Tonks... I'd really like to read it anyway. You're an incredible writer. Can't wait to see more!

hmmm... that's a lot of exclamation marks. Sorry about that...

Reviewer: valerie gerardDate: 2005-07-20
Reviewid: 127516Chapter: 40
you were right, you were so right

Reviewer: childoftheseventhsinDate: 2005-07-18
Reviewid: 127385Chapter: 40
Aw, that's such a perfect ending, to what is probably a perfect fic!! I'm a bit disappointed that this has ended, but I knew it had to someday . . . *blows nose noisily* . . . keep writing!!!

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2005-07-18
Reviewid: 127357Chapter: 40
This is my favorite Lupin story on the net because you've crafted him to be quite flawed, yet quite lovable at the same time. The plot was very well-crafted, and the characters were all true to canon. I teared up during this chapter, at the part when Lupin said goodbye to Sirius; I think that was my favorite line. I am as much a fan of your work as I am of J.K. Rowling's. Well done! You've written another fabulous story.

:)
Senna

Reviewer: PinkDate: 2005-07-16
Reviewid: 127308Chapter: 40
R+T FOREVER!

Reviewer: beckDate: 2005-07-12
Reviewid: 126943Chapter: 40
what a great take on book 5 and what perfect timing i dont think it could have been better unless you updated on 7/15 with the last chapter

Reviewer: ZephyraDate: 2005-07-11
Reviewid: 126876Chapter: 40
Oh, I loved this fic. So, so much. I loved the look at Remus' assignment, I loved the Remus/Tonks, I loved the Interludes . . . just beautiful. It really was the thing to tide me over till this Saturday.

Reviewer: Susan LynnDate: 2005-07-11
Reviewid: 126821Chapter: 40
I just wrapped reading your wonderful retelling of Book 5. I really like how close you stayed to canon in regards to the major events of your story, I don't think that I will feel at all confused when I pick up Book 6 a week from now. (In contrast, I really had a hard time putting "After the End" out of mind when I read book 5.)

I will miss, of course, the romance between Remus and Dora, the wonderful new cast of Smeltings faculty (I'm a teacher myself), and even your more sympathetic portrayal of Dudley.

I hope that Book 6 will inspire you to write even more stories.

Reviewer: EllaDate: 2005-07-10
Reviewid: 126753Chapter: 40
I spent the last three days reading this fic and I can definely say that this is one of the best fics that I ever read. Like Top 5 material - and I read A LOT of fanfiction ;)
I loved the way you developed the Remus/Tonks relationship. It wasn't rushed, it felt natural and that's something rare. And your Lupin is so in character but he's still something...more, you know? Your Tonks is just beautiful, that goes without saying. I'm so in love with them right now that I'll feel cheated if we don't see a lot of both characters in book 6. I hope you continue this after HBP.
Thank you for a wonderful fic that made me tear up, laugh and root for a new ship :)

Reviewer: rinaDate: 2005-07-10
Reviewid: 126683Chapter: 40
Awww! Wonderful, Sad, but perfectly written and in sync with the original story.

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-07-09
Reviewid: 126662Chapter: 40
Although I’m sad to see ‘Shifts’ come to an end, the way you ended it was beautiful. Hopefully, after the release of HBP, we’ll see your name on the updates list with more Remus/Dora fanfiction.

You’ve done some excellent writing in this fic!

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-07-09
Reviewid: 126601Chapter: 40
Wow. I loved it. I know I haven't reviewed before, but that's just because I was waiting for the end of the story.
And here it is.
It's wonderful. And, even though I'm not a Remus/Tonx shipper, I can see why alot of people are.
Thank you.
-Angelina Weasley

Reviewer: BrittanyDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126589Chapter: 40
Wow...I'm trying really hard to find words to describe finally finishing a 2-day stint with this story...and failing miserably. Wow. Congratulations are in order, because this was most definitely one of the best stories I've read, particularly of Remus. I never really was on board with Tonks & Remus, but now I have to admit I'll be silently pulling for it in HBP, now...8? days away. This story was just amazing. You caught across all the emotions of Remus, with his lyncanthropy(sp?) and with Sirius, and towards Harry (which was REALLY something special, as I was kind of disappointed upon reading OoTP that Remus and Harry didn't have more interaction). I love that Andromeda, Ted, Bellatrix, and Narcissa were incorporated. I really love how you managed to explain so many missing moments in Book 5- Dudley's worst memory, the Order's search for the kids at the DoM, the backstory of the other werewolf at St. Mungo's...the list goes on and on. That was so well-thought out and completely showed. Seriously, were you channeling JKR? I was a bit wary at first with the whole Smeltings story, but you managed to win me over so quickly that I wanted MORE about Alan and Joe and I really wanted to see a book club meeting with Dora and the wives...maybe that could be a short ficlet? *looks hopefully* Dudley was captured SO well, his mistrust and stubborness and show of the "Evans' temper" and his emotions towards Harry...I really can't stop raving and I know I'll forget things...Oh! And showing that closing bit with the Smeltings folk in the last interlude, how the "Lewises" had left no return address, the confusion about the flat and all bothering Miriam, that was just SO brilliant. Even in allowing Dudley to read the Quibbler and understand (briefly) Harry's life, and then taking that away by obliviating Dudley reluctantly was so well done...I really wanted Dudley to remember Lupin, so the cousins could interact over that, but the way that didn't happen was HIGHLY Rowlingesque. I loved this story so much, and the closing scene in Godric's Hollow was extraordinarily touching. I sincerely hope you'll continue on and give us another fic on Remus Lupin's life once HBP is released and you've gotten to read, enjoy, interpret, analyze, and so on. I would love to return back to Remus and Dora for their lives during Harry's 6th year (and they both better survive the entire year, as Sirius' ending was devestating to me) and HOPEFULLY Ms. Rowling WILL show Harry and Remus a bit more in this novel. Thank you for such an enjoyable 2 days! Fantastic job on this story.

Reviewer: AprilDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126526Chapter: 40
I really hated to see this chapter, because that meant the end of a long, gripping, funny and ultimately enjoyable journey.Beautiful ending. The moment with Remus at Godric's Hollow was just beautiful, so poignant. Loved Remus' reaction to the twins' new threads, heh heh.

Reviewer: Aura Black ChanDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126480Chapter: 40
This was a spectacular fic, thank you for keeping up with it! You had me laughing, cheering, crying, and on the edge of my seat every moment! A thousand thank yous!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126441Chapter: 40
I'm going to miss this story. This was a nice epilogue, an appropriate degree of sadness- I liked the dog statue- and happier moments. Inspite of everything you've left me feeling positive about Remus' future. Thank you for this.

~ Seaspray

Reviewer: AutumnHeartDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126405Chapter: 40
A most neatly timed ending - a perfect complement to my reread of OotP before next week's canon-shift :)

This has been one of my favourite stories for a long time now, and I'm sort of sorry that it has ended. You've really made Remus and Dora come alive for me in a way that no one else has duplicated, and I'm going to miss them. I definitely won't be sorry if you should choose to do something similar for HBP (</v. unsubtle hint>)

Thanks for the hours of time I've been able to enjoy in your world - may HBP prove equally or more inspiring to you.

All the best,
AutumnHeart

Reviewer: HayleyDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126391Chapter: 40
omg!!!! I can't believe this story is finished I've been reading it from the beggining and have enjoyed every minute of it!!!

I love Dora and Remus in this story especially...

This is one of the best stories I've read!!!
Thanx for writing it!!!

Reviewer: JessDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126373Chapter: 40
Wow. That was a great story. Looking forward to seeing more of your work!

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126369Chapter: 40
*applauds and whistles loud approval* A simply amazing tale. I didn't want the end to come, but it was dealt with beautifully. Remus's memorial to Sirius was especially poignant; it'll be an image that will stay with me for a long time. I love how you ended the story where it started, as well. Thank you so much for taking as much time as you did to write this. It was absolutely enchanting and utterly enjoyable. As far as I'm concerned, this is canon, from Remus's point of view. I would love to see JKR's reaction if she ever reads this. I can't possibly thank you enough for creating this, nor can I properly express my feelings toward this. Well done, Fern :)

Reviewer: LanaDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126295Chapter: 40
Dear FernWithy, I just want to thank you for a wonderfully well written, believable story that very well could have been going on during OotP. (In fact I hope nothing that happens in the next, or last books really contradicts it too much, because I wouldn't mind cheerily adopting it as pretty-much-canon.)
I liked your expansion on the character of Tonks, and her parents, and I do hope you write a sequel after HBP comes out.
Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126287Chapter: 40
Excellent fic, so very glad you finished it. In my mind this will be how Remus spent the summer until JKR states otherwise.

Reviewer: EdinaBryaDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126285Chapter: 40
Just wanted to tell you how much I enjoyed this story. I cannot imagine how much work goes into something like this. It must be harder than your own, because you have to take into account what we know happened, too.

You are a wonderful writer! I looked forward to your updates and I look forward to more from you in the future!

Congratulations on a wonderful story!

Reviewer: someoneDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126280Chapter: 40
Aw, it's over. And I really liked it, too. Great job!

Reviewer: AragogDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126277Chapter: 40
Congratulations on completing a well considered, well written story (I'm not at all sure I'm going to be able to finish mine).

You've put out a lot of HP fan fic in the past couple year. You have the chops to try your hand at something uniquely your own.

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126262Chapter: 40
I don't know if I'm ready to react to this yet, but I can say that it is beautiful. My appetite is whetted and I am excited both for the sixth book, and for whatever you write next.

And . . . thank you. Thank you for sharing this with us. I know how much work such a long fic can be, and I appreciate the labor of love that goes into a creation like this one.

Reviewer: milietDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126254Chapter: 40
wow...
Reading a new chapter of Shifts has been the highlights of many of my days...
Your writing and characterisation and the way you incorporate your story into canon is impressive.
I'll be reading you again for sure!

Reviewer: jmaDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126250Chapter: 40
Thanks so much for this fic. I've been following it all the way through and I find myself hoping you write more.

Well done!

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126248Chapter: 40
What a huge achievement! The story behind the story! You've made the loss of Sirius much more meaningful and the relationship between Remus and Tonks practically canonical. The stresses and strains between Andromeda and her sisters have been a terribly convincing subplot, ading real flesh to the bare bones JKRs provided. Thank you for making the anticipaiton for the THBP that much sharper. Loking forward to whatever might happen next.

Reviewer: asherDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126236Chapter: 40
An amazing fic. And that is a big understatement.

Reviewer: DemetrisDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126229Chapter: 40
Such a beautiful story - shame it ended so soon. ;( But you can say it was perfect timing, just before the release of HBP.

One of the best fanfictions I've ever read. Well done!

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126220Chapter: 40
A great finish to a great fic. Thanks for writing this, it was a great experience reading and enjoying the complete fic. It's great to be able to read the planning of the confrontation with the Dursleys.

----"I expect what you're not aware of would fill several books, Dursley," Moody said dismissively."---- ----"Yes, I'd have to say you do, Dursley."----
I know these aren't your lines, but they still cracks me up every time I read them.

Great Final Chapter! And Amazing story!


Gryfny

Reviewer: LisaRosaDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126204Chapter: 40
FernWithy,

This is an absolute wonderful story. Everyday, I would check for updates and when one came, I was never disappointed. I just love Lupin in this story. You captured his character perfectly. The plot seemed to fit in with OotP. Even though I really doubt that JRK will put Lupin and Tonks together, I still very much liked how you brought them together without all the mush I normally see in shipper stories. When Sirius dies and Remus goes to Tonks at St. Mungos and also when he put the stone dog at Godric's Hollow, I just cried because it was so heartbreaking. Thank you for a wonderful read while waiting for the next book!

Lisa :o)

Reviewer: MirldaDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126184Chapter: 40
I actually let out a girlish "awww" noise at the end of this. I absolutely have loved reading this! Some stories fit so well into the actual books that you forget sometimes what is cannon and what isn't. This is one of those stories! Great job, and keep writing!

Reviewer: CootiePatootieDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126183Chapter: 40
Thank you, thank you for this heart-wrenching, yet sweet and satisfying story. It was a perfect use of Lupin as the main focus, with all the supporting cast. Just excellent.
The memorial to Padfoot made me cry. The image of him, standing before the Potter's house, seeing the lights and realizing they had a welcome for him - and Lupin using that image as his memorial. Just heartbreaking.
What a great, great story.
Thank you again
CP

Reviewer: WhitneyDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126175Chapter: 1
So wonderful. I really, really loved it.

Reviewer: Cheesy MonkeyDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126166Chapter: 40
Just wanted you to know how very much I enjoyed reading this.
-Cheesy

Reviewer: David WolfskillDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126157Chapter: 40
Amazing; wonderful! Thank you for sharing your story-telling gifts! This has been one of the best stires I've read -- the way yo've captured the personalities and re-told familiar events from a different perspective has been marvelous. Thanks again!

Reviewer: ArloDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126148Chapter: 40
Ahhhh:( So sad----------- Aand soo well done! thank You !
Thanks for a great story, thanks for finishing.....
Have fun reading HBP I'll be witing for the follow up ( and maybe I'll be writing a little something myself!)

Reviewer: TDUDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126135Chapter: 40
I haven't reviewed very often because you have left me pretty well bereft of words. Thank you for this story and I hope you can pull something out of the hat for sixth year. The most enduring image from this story, and there are many others that will last, is the idea of Mrs Black crying behind the curtains after finding out about Sirius. Congratulations on an interesting story and wonderful writing.

Reviewer: CarrDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126126Chapter: 40
FernWithy,

This has been possibly the most beautiful story I've ever read.

From beginning to end, you've kept me entertained, on the edge of my seat, in tears, in laughter, and in the same ups and downs as Remus and Tonks. It's been the perfect companion to OotP, and while I'm sad to see it end, I'm happy to know that at least next week, HBP comes out, and I hope that there will be another Remus/Tonks story somewhere in the future.

Congratulations on finishing such a wonderful story and thanks for the ride. *huggles*

~Carr

Reviewer: Falling DampsDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126122Chapter: 40
Thank you.

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2005-07-05
Reviewid: 126092Chapter: 39
That ending was great."The only sounds came from the master bedroom, where Buckbeak the hippogriff scratched at the door, waiting for a companion who had never left him alone for long, and the steady, endless weeping that came from behind the closed velvet curtains in the entrance hall." That line was the best. A tragic end to a magnificent story.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2005-07-05
Reviewid: 126090Chapter: 39
I do hope thats not the end you have done such a fabulouse job with this story

Reviewer: MegDate: 2005-07-04
Reviewid: 126049Chapter: 39
This story has been my break from reality for months... my friends don't understand my level of obsession with it because they haven't read it... but it's beautifully written, thank you so much for creating an escape for me!

Reviewer: Aura Black ChanDate: 2005-07-02
Reviewid: 125910Chapter: 39
Great chapter; but we all know Mrs. Black wouldn't shed one tear over Sirius, which is an even greater tragedy.

Reviewer: Julia PotterDate: 2005-07-02
Reviewid: 125863Chapter: 39
I'm going to really miss your stories -- even though
I hated to see Sirius die.
The ending was perfect, low key, focusing in on Remus and Dora
I hope this isn't the absolute end.
Remember Joe has grandchildren who could be magical

Reviewer: Julia PotterDate: 2005-07-02
Reviewid: 125862Chapter: 39
I

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125847Chapter: 39
"Blow, blow, thou winter wind,
Thou art not so unkind as man's ingratitude.
Thy tooth is not so keen
Because thou art not seen,
Although thy breath is rude."
~Shakespeare

I don't know why I thought of that, but for some reason Sirius falling through the veil always brings this verse to mind. That last paragraph has broken my heart, and my only consolation is that Remus has "a Dora" to hold close when the winter winds blow too hard.

Reviewer: AprilDate: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125773Chapter: 39
Wow, again. It's like people are waking up from a nightmare -- to find out the nightmare happened. I LOVED how McGonagall stayed with Remus, that was sooo sweet! Loved the talk between Andromeda and Tonks. The ending was sad, but fitting.

Reviewer: BestKeptSecretDate: 2005-06-30
Reviewid: 125725Chapter: 39
This fic managed to evoke the same reaction from me that Order of the Phoenix did upon Sirius' death--not an easy feat. :) Also, I'm not typically a Remus/Tonks shipper, but this fic made me okay with it, and I even liked it. Another not-so-easy task. Kudos all around.

Reviewer: AragogDate: 2005-06-30
Reviewid: 125716Chapter: 39
Normally the interlude chapters haven't been my favorite, but this one seems exactly right for the occasion, gathering up as it does the various fragments after the bomb has gone off.

I particularly liked McGonagall's reasons for going to the Shrieking Shack, Dean's parlay with Ginny (thus creating a plausible context for her to have "chosen Dean Thomas"), and last but not least, Buckbeak.

Reviewer: childoftheseventhsinDate: 2005-06-30
Reviewid: 125701Chapter: 39
Oh God! how sad is that? I loved the part where Professor McGonagall watched over Remus, that was such a wonderful idea! I wish this fic could go on for EVER!!

Reviewer: Ryan M. CaronDate: 2005-06-30
Reviewid: 125686Chapter: 39
Absolutly wonderful. I stayed up within 3 hours of the time I have to wake up to finnish this one! Dora's reaction to the news of Sirius' death, as well as McGonnagles, hit hardest (And of corse that last paragraph). You paint a wonderful visual image, the haunting emptyness of the house of Black, and you revisit some of the best scenes in the books in an entierly new perspective without missing a single beat of cannon or loosing that wonderful aura of the harry potter books. When I read book six I'll be fighting to differenciate your work from cannon in my memory. I expect that I'll never again be able to read the name "Tonks" without translating to "Dora", a passage about Dudly without imagining how he would react had his memory not been modifyed, or the names Sirius or Remus without a bit of your imagry popping to mind. You are in a class with Rowling herself (Except you write action much better)

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2005-06-30
Reviewid: 125682Chapter: 39
I've followed your story since the beginning, and it has made me laugh, cry, sigh, and, with the last three paragraphs, creep me out thoroughly. Congratulations!

Reviewer: RINADate: 2005-06-30
Reviewid: 125677Chapter: 39
Oh. How sad. When Sirius died, i cried. It was heartbreaking. Ive been reading the whole story, and it is one of the best ive read. It looks like your going to be ending pretty soon, so i suggest a sequil like after book #6 comes out. Your a very good author and ive enjoyed reading so far. Thanx -Re

Reviewer: EdinaBryaDate: 2005-06-29
Reviewid: 125619Chapter: 39
What a wonderful story. I love the alternative point of view and how you worked the original story into yours. My favorite parts are McGonagall coming to spend the night with Remus and Buckbeak waiting and the weeping from the curtains. You really got the emotion going.

Keep up the great writing, you're very talented!

Reviewer: David WolfskillDate: 2005-06-29
Reviewid: 125618Chapter: 39
The umm... "tabby cat" in the Shrieking Shack is a
very nice touch. :-)

Hmm... hadn't occurred to me that translation
might be a subset of Transfiguration, but I
suppose it works; cute -- and right handy.

"special older brother Seeing powers" -- why
wasn't *I* told about those??!? I've been a big
brother since 1956, after all... :-}

The Transformation Incident (during Sirius' 3rd
year) comes across as quite believable, somehow.

Andromeda & Dora's pain comes across well, too.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-06-29
Reviewid: 125612Chapter: 39
My dad is going to teach at a boys school soon- I thought of recomending this to him, as tips for teaching at boarding school, but he hates Harry Potter, so he probably wouldn't. I guess he'll have to figure it out for himself.

I really liked the way you brought in here McGonagall and her affection for Sirius- I loved how she sat with Remus through the terrible transformation. For me the saddest part was with Andromeda- to have lost Sirius so soon after she found him again is harsh- but I guess that's everyone's plight. I like how she said she wouldn't report Narcissa because of Draco- it's such a mother thought. Gosh I'm getting all choked up now. Why did Sirius have to die?

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2005-06-29
Reviewid: 125606Chapter: 39
I hope you are going to do something like this after HBP is released! I know I have thoroughly enjoyed it

Reviewer: HazelleDate: 2005-06-29
Reviewid: 125586Chapter: 39
What a beautiful conclusion. I don't even know what to say. I feel like I've only just realized Sirius is actually dead. Bravo and thank you.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --