The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: A String of Xs
Review(s): 43

Reviewer: bluerain22Date: 2006-12-28
Reviewid: 146652Chapter: 1
More please :) You have Ron and Hermione down. Thanks again for writing such sweet R/H stories.

Reviewer: mariah_gooseDate: 2006-01-09
Reviewid: 138263Chapter: 1
i love it can there PPPPLLLEEEAAASSSEEE be more?

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-12
Reviewid: 137060Chapter: 1
Excellent.

Reviewer: lisaDate: 2005-11-01
Reviewid: 135575Chapter: 1
I adored this. A very in-character view at Ron in particular... it had me smiling and blushing and getting nervous for him. lol Thanks for writing! :)

Reviewer: XedraDate: 2005-08-31
Reviewid: 131386Chapter: 1
I've got red cheeks and a big cheeky grin on my face after reading this. How adorable... and I love the kiss on the cheek at the end!

Reviewer: TashDate: 2005-08-23
Reviewid: 130699Chapter: 1
I started giggling like a schoolgirl when I read the kiss on the cheek part!

I am so lame.

But I LOVED your fic! absolutely wondeful!

Reviewer: AngelesDate: 2005-08-16
Reviewid: 130072Chapter: 1
Aww! This is just so sweet. It had a nice plot, and was really captivating in its own little way. You have a talent, here. I smell- err not quite- I see it. Yes, I see talent. Yours, of course. *giggle* ^_~

Reviewer: HopeDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128594Chapter: 1
How wonderful. I loved it. Brave!Ron is the best. You're a wonderful writer. Everyone was in-character. xo, H

Reviewer: Frankie BDate: 2005-03-31
Reviewid: 118326Chapter: 1
What a sweet story! I think you did a wonderful job portraying the nervousness of both parties, and I truly enjoyed the situations both of them went through to find out the meaning behind X. Great characterization throughout and I expecially liked Arthur's reaction to being asked. Great job!

Reviewer: AlesiaDate: 2005-03-28
Reviewid: 117876Chapter: 1
YOU MUST MUST MUST sequelize!!! not to be demanding or anything...>>;;;;;;; :)

Alesia

Reviewer: KateDate: 2005-03-17
Reviewid: 116781Chapter: 1
OMG!!!!!
I totally luv ur story, best i've ever read, go you1!!! *huggles*

Reviewer: bingbangDate: 2005-02-24
Reviewid: 114801Chapter: 1
awwwwwww that was so cute

Reviewer: toastDate: 2005-01-02
Reviewid: 109515Chapter: 1
aawwwwww!! that was long but im glad it was!! i absolutly loved it!!!! great job!

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2005-01-02
Reviewid: 109508Chapter: 1
My resolution this year is to read more fics, and so I begin with yours.

That was very funny! Who'd think that those four little symbols would cause Ron such problems? Glad to see that everything worked out in the end.

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2004-12-30
Reviewid: 109281Chapter: 1
This is so sweet!

Reviewer: PlancksDate: 2004-12-29
Reviewid: 109171Chapter: 1
aaah!!! continue!!!!!!!! (great story by the way ;D)

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-11-29
Reviewid: 106341Chapter: 1
Aw. That made me all warm and fuzzy inside. With just a dash of gwee. Well done!

Reviewer: NicDate: 2004-11-26
Reviewid: 106012Chapter: 1
Awwww!!! That was brilliant. I am so pleased that it. I feel like there is a real lack of decent R/Hr fics thesedays but you captured them both superbly. I especially loved Ron's tone throughout the piece and you had some fantastic dialogue from him and the Twins :)

I have read your posts on the forums but for some reason, I seem to have completely missed your fics so I'm really looking forward to reading the rest of your stuff.

If it wasn't so late (it's past midnight here) I'd gush some more about how much I enjoyed this, but I must get to bed so I'll be quiet for now.

I really hope you have more R/Hr fics planned though - you really do them justice.

Nic xx

Reviewer: AlexandraDate: 2004-11-25
Reviewid: 105992Chapter: 1
That was a really good story, you answered the question with another question, that leaves you with the answer, and that is one of my favorite types of endings.

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2004-11-24
Reviewid: 105789Chapter: 1
I'm just going to echo Deborah Peters' comments and kudos. You do write teenage romance wonderfully well, balancing realism and fluff in a winning R/H combination. I'd also like to add that I love the way you portray the Weasley family as a close-knit, happily functioning family unit. There's a lot of humour in the mix (an example being the good-natured ribbing poor Ron has to endure), and you've captured it brilliantly.

Three cheers for Shina Laris!

Reviewer: RinoaDate: 2004-11-24
Reviewid: 105776Chapter: 1
That was GENIUS. I loved it! Your writing style is absolutely wonderful.

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2004-11-21
Reviewid: 105409Chapter: 1
Cute cute cute! Ahhh, I'm feeling all warm inside. there were one or two gramatical errors you might want to take a look at, but a good story.

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105298Chapter: 1
OMG - this is the sweetest story ever...I just absolutely love it. Your characterization of Ron and Hermione was spot on!!! Fred & George's harrasment was typical and expected but still enjoyed. Molly & Arthur's reactions were wonderful, reminiscent of their love affair that has lasted so many years through several children. I read about this on the forums when you were asking about...something..and I couldn't wait to read it...it was well worth the wait. Great Job!!!

Reviewer: PalméDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105237Chapter: 1
Usually I don't appreciate stories that Ron and Hermione hadn't give their FIRST
kiss, but this one was really one of the mostbrillant that I read!!! I love the past part at King Cross!!!! I could feel what feel... Really good, and I like your others!!!

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2004-11-18
Reviewid: 105173Chapter: 1
wonderful. shite. wonderful. i loved it. makes me feel all happy =)

Reviewer: p0tterfanDate: 2004-11-18
Reviewid: 105157Chapter: 1
So that's what an X means ... hmm ... you learn something every day :)

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-11-17
Reviewid: 105136Chapter: 1
XXXs and OOOs for this nice bit of R/Hr fluff. I enjoyed it.

Reviewer: !!!Date: 2004-11-17
Reviewid: 105127Chapter: 1
DEFAULT!!!!!!!!!!! NOooooooooooooooooooo. U have 2 write more.
u have 2.
That just leaves u in suspense.....
I love it though.....

Reviewer: Deborah PetersDate: 2004-11-17
Reviewid: 105116Chapter: 1
Thanks for writing young teenage romance realistically--and oh-so-adorably! Lovely.

Reviewer: Snippet BlytheDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 105076Chapter: 1
I've never written a review before, but this healthy and long-awaited dose of R/H goodness drew me out! I enjoyed your story very much. I'm normally not a fan of flashbacks, but the flashback in this story was well-placed and well-written. The characterization was good, and it's impressive that you managed to portray so many characters so faithfully. I did notice a few grammar and usage errors, but overall I enjoyed your tone and word choice (e.g., "gossamer kiss"). Moreover, considering that you're not a native speaker of English, your grammar and usage was very clean.

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 105034Chapter: 1
“XXX” illustrates R/H beautifully- I really enjoyed it, especially this bit:

“There were a lot of things the twins could do, but it seemed that knowing when to keep their mouths shut wasn’t one of them. “Care to reveal who’s sending the ‘X’s?”
Out of patience, Ron opened his mouth to throw a particularly nasty retort at them when his dad spoke up. “Leave him alone, you two. After all, you don’t really need him to answer, do you? It can’t be that hard to figure out.”
His dad definitely was not helping the situation.
“But dad –” George protested.
“You heard your dad,” his mum cut in for the first time, for which Ron was eternally grateful of. “Leave your brother alone. Poor boy – if you two tease him any longer, he’ll not be able to sleep tonight due to thinking to much about the author of the letter. And we don’t want that, especially since tomorrow’s going to be a busy day.” There was definite laughter in his mum’s voice.”

Great work!

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: MaryannDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 105022Chapter: 1
Very, very sweet. I loved it, although I have to admit that the title suggests a rather different sort of R/H fic...

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 105011Chapter: 1
That was simply adorable! What a clever concept, and a sweet ending. Everyone seemed very in-character. Thanks for writing this. :)

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 105002Chapter: 1
Cute! And I wouldn't worry about the double-meaning of XXX because in this story, its plain that it was only intended as something quite innocent.

Very well done!

Reviewer: GinnyDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 104989Chapter: 1
OMG!!!!!!! PLZ MAKE A SEQUELLLL!!!!!!!!!!! PLZZZZZZZZ!!!!!!!

Reviewer: NikkiDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 104976Chapter: 1
w0w, I loved this Shina Laris!! Keep writing and keep using your own unique style....I love the way you use ACTUAL incidences from the books, like the perfume reaction? PURE GENIUS :) Anyways, please update me with newbie's!


NiKkI*pAiGe

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-11-15
Reviewid: 104938Chapter: 1
Ah, First Love! Your story brings it all back again...Love this part:

<<“But you do. Say, Ron, does the reason you asked Dad about the letter ‘X’ has something to do with a certain bossy, brown-haired know-it-all?” Fred asked slyly. <snip>
Pressing his lips into a firm line, Ron replied through his gritted teeth, “No.”
“Bzzz. Wrong answer.”>>

And Ron taking charge at the end, and kissing Hermione, right in front of the family: No wonder he's a Gryffindor!

Your story is pure, fluffy fun.

Reviewer: ChaoticKDate: 2004-11-15
Reviewid: 104917Chapter: 1
Simply wonderful. The tone is so soft and understated - you feel the angst of Ron and Hermione - and their secret hopes and joys of what will perhaps come of it. Bravo!

Reviewer: Shina LarisDate: 2004-11-15
Reviewid: 104914Chapter: 1
I want to thank everybody who has reviewed so far. HAHAHA and Katie, I never knew that's what XXX implied, not being a native English speaker. In my language, it meant literally: kiss, kiss, kiss. I really appreciate your cautions, and will try to avoid it in the future because it really isn't intended to have the meaning in the adult sense. =)

Reviewer: katieDate: 2004-11-15
Reviewid: 104912Chapter: 1
That was cute- a good prompt for a story. There are some editing issues grammatically you might want to fix... And I agree with the earlier comment that XXX is usually used in reference to adult material- you may want to change that. It's implying something I'm sure you don't want to imply with this nice, innocent fic. Good grasp of the characters for a one-shot.

Reviewer: z2a_a2zDate: 2004-11-15
Reviewid: 104911Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this - I saw your question in the forums on whether or not Hermione might use XXX at the end of a letter, and I think you did a very nice job of explaining the reasoning behind it, and showing the story from both Hermione's & Ron's sides.

Reviewer: HAHAHAHDate: 2004-11-15
Reviewid: 104907Chapter: 1
A few things--I don't honestly understand how you could write something this long concerning something so incredibly trivial. And you may want to revise your usage of "xxx" to "xxxx" or "xx" or "xoxoxoxo"--anything BUT "xxx" because, as most of us know, xxx usually is used to refer to porn. Just thought I'd give you a tip.

Reviewer: StefanieDate: 2004-11-15
Reviewid: 104904Chapter: 1
very sweet and well written.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --