The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Skin Deep
Review(s): 53

Reviewer: NannyOgg1970Date: 2007-02-08
Reviewid: 147147Chapter: 1
I really laughed at this one (got quite a few funny looks from work colleagues). I had also always imagined Sirius in his youth before Azkaban to be quite pretty for a boy, just from the statements people made about him being tired and worning looking to how he had looked before.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-28
Reviewid: 140361Chapter: 1
I’m glad your ego doesn’t need it. Now I don’t have to say how wonderful I thought it was. Whew.

Reviewer: 1SadFoolDate: 2006-01-13
Reviewid: 138474Chapter: 1
I will agree with Tori. They always make Sirius look girlie. In my mind's eye, Sirius continues to bear resemblance to Hugh Jackman who is NOT GIRLIE! Also... Brilliance.
hey... I just realized it's Friday the 13th. And that its 6:30am. I'll be off to bed now...
DAMN YOU JACK FOR BEING SO AWESOME THAT I WILL BE NOW FALLING ASLEEP AT MY ANNOYING JOB OF BEING A TELEMARKTER! I WILL BE UNABLE TO PROPERLY ANNOY!

Reviewer: KateDate: 2005-10-17
Reviewid: 134641Chapter: 1
Where do you come up with all the ideas to these storys? Whatever the reason, I love them. They are so funny... And, I love all your disclaimers.

Reviewer: blahDate: 2005-10-02
Reviewid: 133579Chapter: 1
that was effing awesome!!
cheers ^_^

Reviewer: TraceyDate: 2005-10-01
Reviewid: 133514Chapter: 1
Honestly, this whole story was great, but the 'use of incredulous' comment had me in stitches. Such honesty!

It's refreshing to read a story about/from the perspective of guys and know it's going to be spot on. I'm definitely putting your name on my mental list of authors to check up on.

Again, thanks!

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131759Chapter: 1
*Roars with laughter* My husband thought that he had the same problem for a while! Now THAT was funny! you on the other hand sound like a friend of mine... same overgrown ego... Always make the best writers!

Reviewer: greenDate: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125848Chapter: 1
nuh uh,
yeah huh,
nuh hu,
yeah huh!

Reviewer: mother gooseDate: 2005-05-04
Reviewid: 121357Chapter: 1
The most terrific thing about your writing is the fantasticly quotable sentences."What?" Sirius looked down. For example,"Dammit! Now I’m pretty and I
don’t wear pants. The transformation has begun." I can see that one being quoted for years...

Reviewer: Solarius ScorchDate: 2005-04-12
Reviewid: 119418Chapter: 1
Oh, so now I have to write another review. Damn. It is not very comfortable to swear to oneself to review every story that is worth of that - and be honest about it.
But how many reviews can one person write one day, without repeating oneself? Maybe it will be better if I just list my three favourite lines. (Well it's not my idea, but anyway.)


"Remus, who only followed Quidditch as closely as to know that James played it on occasion, tried to think of something to add to the conversation. 'But what if the Wasps win? They’re certainly… um… waspish.'"


"James, who knew Sirius better than anyone, suggested that they just let him alone until he either came to his senses or got distracted by something shiny or dangerous."


“'Let’s go to Hogsmeade next weekend,' said Sirius. The girl nodded. 'Thank you. See you later.'"

That's about it. I hope You understand that I really like Your work, no?

Reviewer: SlugabedDate: 2005-04-12
Reviewid: 119364Chapter: 1
Very cute and very funny!:D

Reviewer: miss_me_lovelyDate: 2005-03-17
Reviewid: 116841Chapter: 1
lol. i love this story. it is a perfect portrail of the marauders.

Reviewer: ButterfliesDate: 2005-01-05
Reviewid: 109844Chapter: 1
I love you, I love you, I love you

Reviewer: HekateDate: 2005-01-05
Reviewid: 109813Chapter: 1
I saw a quote from you on the 'Quick Quotes Quill' thread and found it so good I just had to read one of your stories. I have never loved a Sirius fic so much and believe me, I love Sirius. What a great, fun read! Your portrayal of the Marauders was perfect. I loved many lines, so I won't quote them all here. But excellent story, I'm going to have to read more of your stories.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106794Chapter: 1
that they just let him alone until he either came to his senses or got distracted by something shiny or dangerous
-made me laugh the most

Your tongue was in so many foreign mouths that it had a passport.

They both turned toward the Slytherin table, where Bellatrix was correcting her sister’s posture by force.
-nicely in character

-second place winner.

Reviewer: Eliza M.Date: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106731Chapter: 1
You are a breath of fresh air in a world of angst ridden Sirius fan fiction."Sirius slid morosely into a seat next to Remus. “What’s wrong with you?” asked Remus.

“I’m beautiful,” Sirius replied glumly."

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-12-02
Reviewid: 106673Chapter: 1
Holy Hippogriffs, Jack...every time I think your stories can't get more insanely funny...

>>“SWEET MERLIN’S ARSE! I’M BLOODY GORGEOUS!”

Someone has a problem with modesty, thought James. Now, back to my brilliant plan.<<

as;dlfja;sldkfja;slkdf One of the best fanfic lines EVER.

>>They both turned toward the Slytherin table, where Bellatrix was correcting her sister’s posture by force.<<

Well, Bella's certainly in character, isn't she? ;)

>>Your tongue was in so many foreign mouths that it had a passport. <<

*dies* Okay, maybe that's the best fanfic line ever. At least we know the origins of HogwartsLothario!Sirius.

Hilarious, as always!

~Katinka

Reviewer: SailoranimeDate: 2004-11-23
Reviewid: 105647Chapter: 1
As much as I hate to ruin the fact that you have 35 reviews, I'm afraid I must add mine to the list.

I'm not sure what I expected from the summary, but it definitely wasn't this. Though, I assure you, it was a pleasant surprise. The whole thing was very funny, and it had some great lines (I'd quote them, but then that'd be a boring review, because I'm sure you know what you wrote).

I think you got Sirius down perfectly. I always imagined him as looking like a very pretty boy, or a rather plain girl (Like my little cousin who keeps getting mistaken for a girl because my aunt refuses to cut his hair). The interaction between the boys seemed great, and I'm glad you didn't really elbow Peter out of the picture as many writers tend to do.

I love this not only because it was so good, but because it was so short. It's like drinking wine: instant happiness without having to do all that soul-searching stuff! ^_~ Great job.

Reviewer: Mr Flying FingersDate: 2004-11-23
Reviewid: 105575Chapter: 1
Fun story, I enjoyed your characterizations. Snape in a goatee is something I'd like to see.

Reviewer: EresseaDate: 2004-11-22
Reviewid: 105514Chapter: 1
Another great story. I love
"I didn’t see where you had any right telling me to develop muscle tone.”
“What do you mean?” asked James.
“Well, you’re all skinny, and the other day Lily beat you up—”
“I mean,” said James, blushing, “what advice?”
Write some more!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-11-21
Reviewid: 105470Chapter: 1
Ah... great humour from you as always. I especially like Sirius's exclamation as he looks in the mirror; Remus's complete lack of interest in Quidditch still managing to triumph over Peter's dedication; and Victoria Ficus... I knew so many girls like her in secondary school. XD

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2004-11-21
Reviewid: 105405Chapter: 1
Another cracking short, how do you keep it up? Can we have some more of this maruaders banter, please?

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-11-20
Reviewid: 105387Chapter: 1
You are truly the Master of the Riddikulus! Favorite lines:


>>James, who knew Sirius better than anyone, suggested that they just let him alone until he either came to his senses or got distracted by something shiny or dangerous. Sirius being Sirius, the three assumed that it would end up being the latter option, sense not factoring into their experiences with him<<


>>The look that Sirius gave Remus could be called doubtful, but it’d be wasting a perfect opportunity to use the word ‘incredulous’. “What?”<<


>>Sirius’ eye twitched. “I’ll show you.” He marched into the Great Hall and grabbed the arm of the first girl he saw—in this case, a Slytherin named Victoria Ficus. “Do I turn you on?” he asked.

“Buh?” she asked eloquently.

“I’m going to kiss you now. And when I kiss someone, they stay kissed for some time.” He then proceeded to do just that.<<

As always, you've entertained us mightily. Many thanks!!

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105302Chapter: 1
Once again, well done!!! Your grasp of the interation between the marauders, be it tongue-in-cheek or otherwise is astounding. I was lmao all the way through. Way to go Jack!!!

Reviewer: jazzypomDate: 2004-11-18
Reviewid: 105206Chapter: 1
Okay - the tongue being in so many foreign mouths that it needed a passport?

Priceless.

You are a funny man, Jack. A funny, funny man.

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2004-11-18
Reviewid: 105174Chapter: 1
jack. u will marry me.

Reviewer: IncognitoDate: 2004-11-18
Reviewid: 105152Chapter: 1
You can't just leave it like that. I want to know what happens. You never followed up on the James/Lily thing. I think you should write a sequel!

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2004-11-17
Reviewid: 105138Chapter: 1
Oh, dear. I'm afraid that you'll never write something that I won't very ungracefully snort through while I read it.

Not that that's a bad thing.

Reviewer: CharlotteDate: 2004-11-17
Reviewid: 105120Chapter: 1
you're good :D

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-11-17
Reviewid: 105090Chapter: 1
>>Someone has a problem with modesty, thought James. Now, back to my brilliant plan.<<

This is perhaps one of the funniest lines I've ever read. To show you how much I like it, I am telling you now that I am going to steal it for future use. What makes it even better, is that it fits canon as well!

Great work!

Reviewer: !!!Date: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 105069Chapter: 1
Wow that was so funny...

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 105048Chapter: 1
Fantabulous! As usual.
I expected nothing less than your usual wit and charm.

Cheers! ^_^
Sarah

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 105042Chapter: 1
There you go again, blowing me completely away. Tremendulously funny.

Reviewer: StephDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 105039Chapter: 1
I loved it! Poor Remus, he was right, erm wasn't he?
*Quickly goes back to check*
Anyways I loved it.

Reviewer: BethDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 105032Chapter: 1
Your ego will be boosted as much as possible so long as you KEEP ON WRITING! I hope I'm making myself clear here :-)

Reviewer: BAGDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 105021Chapter: 1
a really good, funny, and very Sirius story. i hope you keep your writing up. and as long as it's good i don't care how big yor ego is. but it can't be as big as mine! (:

Reviewer: BlankDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 105000Chapter: 1
LoL, I like it. Very good.

Reviewer: KatDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 104994Chapter: 1
Great story. :) I like this line the most:

"James, who knew Sirius better than anyone, suggested that they just let him alone until he either came to his senses or got distracted by something shiny or dangerous."

Hehe, sounds like me. ;)

Reviewer: KarriDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 104993Chapter: 1
Again Jack, I am amazed. I love ur work and this was so flippin' hilarious!!!!!! I love it!!! And he scary part is, Sirius probably did that when he was in school...although Snape's Goatee is a little scary.

Reviewer: PoocaDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 104988Chapter: 1
Your ego will never need help, I'm afraid.

Reviewer: ArtemisaDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 104986Chapter: 1
Th funniest bit I have read in a while. Thanks for sharing!

Reviewer: ChristaDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 104977Chapter: 1
Ah, I'm laughing so hard right now.

Great story~

Reviewer: Eir de ScaniaDate: 2004-11-15
Reviewid: 104972Chapter: 1
And, as always, your disclaimer is even better than your fic :-P

Reviewer: Red MonsterDate: 2004-11-15
Reviewid: 104969Chapter: 1
I'd just like to take this opportunity to say that this is immensely funny and it cheered me up after an otherwise emotionally empty day. I appreciate that.

Reviewer: Miss E BennettDate: 2004-11-15
Reviewid: 104953Chapter: 1
Here's a review that's good for your ego, whether it needs it or not.
*blink*
*blinkblink*
Marry me, please?
You are just too funny! I always look forward to your posts in the forum, and your stories here in the archives. Don't ever stop.

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2004-11-15
Reviewid: 104949Chapter: 1
'“SWEET MERLIN’S ARSE! I’M BLOODY GORGEOUS!”


Someone has a problem with modesty, thought James. Now, back to my brilliant plan.'
I spent a good five minutes laughing about that. Seriously laughing, as in tears rolling down my face. Five minutes. Five bloody minutes. Usually its just "Bwhahahaha! That freakin' funny. Haha!" Then I go all straight faved until the next appropriate joke.

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2004-11-15
Reviewid: 104947Chapter: 1
Okay, that gave my stomach muscles a sirius (in this case) work out. Very funny.

Reviewer: ellaDate: 2004-11-15
Reviewid: 104929Chapter: 1
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAH!

Was that saying something? :D

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2004-11-15
Reviewid: 104927Chapter: 1
Have I ever told you that I LOVE your writing style?

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2004-11-15
Reviewid: 104913Chapter: 1
This is brilliant. And once I have stopped laughing so hard I can barely type, I will leave a real review.

....okay, so maybe this will have to suffice.

Reviewer: Shina LarisDate: 2004-11-15
Reviewid: 104903Chapter: 1
Hahahahahaha.... I was laughing so hard, and still do, actually. You have the uncanny ability to write humour fics.

>>“This!” He pointed at his own chin proudly. Remus dabbed at it uncertainly with a napkin. “No! The whiskers!”

James leaned in and squinted. “Ah, I see one. Or else it’s a blackhead.”

“Ah, you’re just jealous of my manly… machismo.” Just then, Peter took his seat across from Sirius. “Wormtail!” Sirius stuck out his chin again. “What do you think?”

Peter glanced at Sirius. “I’ve got a lotion back in the tower that’ll clear that right up,” he said uncertainly.<<


That was really hillarious!

Reviewer: BetsyDate: 2004-11-15
Reviewid: 104900Chapter: 1
I'm not sure what to say besides I love you. Seriously, five minutes ago I was so stressed out over school work (damn junior year!) and now I am content. : )

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2004-11-15
Reviewid: 104898Chapter: 1
I am still laughing. Coffee is coming out of my nose and other members of the household are looking at me strangely. And I am still laughing. Everything about this is great, but my favorite line is the passport. Thanks!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --