The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 29

Reviewer: Entitled to Ice CreamDate: 2004-12-17
Reviewid: 108007Chapter: 1
interesting.........

Reviewer: Big DaveDate: 2004-11-30
Reviewid: 106363Chapter: 1
lol that has to be one of the coolest storys ive ever read

Reviewer: SailoranimeDate: 2004-11-25
Reviewid: 105995Chapter: 1
Um... Right, then. I'm going to assume this is a parody, in which case any and all criticism I have of it is pointless.

It was very funny, and I love the last line. But, as other people have mentioned, it seems almost like you were writing a serious story, and then suddenly the idea of having Dudley kill Voldemort struck you, so you went along with it.

Very good, overall. And well written too.

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2004-11-22
Reviewid: 105546Chapter: 1
That's so funny. Imagine Dudley killing Lord Voldemort, lol.

Reviewer: EresseaDate: 2004-11-22
Reviewid: 105519Chapter: 1
Heh heh. "What a way to go" indeed.

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2004-11-21
Reviewid: 105476Chapter: 1
Ahh... weird...

Reviewer: DinadanDate: 2004-11-21
Reviewid: 105441Chapter: 1
Very funny, alough it probably shold have been labeled as a paradoy. The poem you were reading when you thought of this? "The Ballad or the Clamperdown"

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2004-11-21
Reviewid: 105430Chapter: 1
ha... haha.... hahahaaaaaa... HAHAHAAAHAHAAAAA.... :)

As amusing as that was, I sincerely doubt that it could be so simple. ^^ I can see Harry's letter to Dumbledore now...

==

Dear Professor Dumbledore,

Lord Voldemort found a way around the most powerful form of magical protection known to wizard kind. He arrived at #4 Privet Drive and, by threats directed at the Dursleys, got me to leave.

Shortly afterwards my cousin Dudley landed on him and killed him.

Perhaps this day will henceforward be known as "Dudley Dursley Day," in honor of the Boy-Who-Landed-On-Lord-Voldemort?

~Harry

==

Heh... sorry, but I had to amuse myself. Your story was a fun read, and I hope to see more from you in the future.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-11-21
Reviewid: 105425Chapter: 1
I'm cracking up. Love it!

-PQ

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2004-11-20
Reviewid: 105365Chapter: 1
This just made my day. It was extrememly funny, and I amused myself for a few minutes imagining what the headline on the Daily Prophet would be. Actually...that would be an excellent sequeal. The aftermath of Dudley killing the Dark Lord by jumping on him and then peeing on him.

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-11-20
Reviewid: 105339Chapter: 1
My husband and I laughed so hard, we could barely breathe. Way to go Dudley!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-11-20
Reviewid: 105323Chapter: 1
Bwahahahahahaha!!!! Funny! Great idea for a fic, too. :D

Reviewer: KarriDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105321Chapter: 1
HAHA!!!!!!!!! Brilliant!

Reviewer: Cail JolDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105307Chapter: 1
Oh thats cruel and unusual. Very unusual

Reviewer: Christina KeimigDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105295Chapter: 1
This was great fun! What a way to go, indeed! Couldn't have happened to a more deserving guy, that's for sure!!!

Reviewer: LindaDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105289Chapter: 1
Heh. I thought it was funny.

Reviewer: mistyDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105286Chapter: 1
Congratulations! You are the first person who has ever made me feel sorry for Voldemort. lol

Reviewer: DellaranDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105283Chapter: 1
That was very silly.

It was also well written and entertaining, but mostly, it was silly.

I approve. :)

Reviewer: ThrenDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105280Chapter: 1
I disliked this story immensely. At best, it was the sort of comedy I don't enjoy- though it wasn't labelled as comedy/parody. At worst, it was a pointless and infantile tale. The characters are flat and the canon errors are glaring. The whole thing seems very rushed- like the purpose is to get to the end as quickly as possible, and the scene/POV switches are jarring. I think this fic could benefit from a rewrite if it's meant in earnest, or a 'parody' label if it is one.

Reviewer: JenDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105279Chapter: 1
I like Ivy & Gracie will have to put my two cents in. :) If there were labeled a parody it would have been a very nicely done story. However, there are so many unbelievable things - Firstly, Voldemort could not just knock on Harry's door and be let in without Vernon screaming. Voldemort has a face only his mummy could love, remember? Red eyes would scare anyone. Secondly, someone could not kill Voldemort just by falling on him...he 'lived' through Avada Kedava for pete's sake! Thirdly, Voldemort would have sent one of his goons to get Harry. He's the mastermind remember? Why put himself at risk. The premise of Dudley saving the world is funny however, but as someone else mentioned, I would expect him to weight more than 220. :) But, to end on a good note, I'll be looking for more of your work. You're writing style IS very nice.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105276Chapter: 1
The end was funny, and it would have worked if this were a parody. We're guessing it's not, as it's not labelled that way, and the rest of it doesn't sound as though it's meant to be humourous.

Since it's [probably] not a parody, we think you need to check some of your canon facts. The Prophecy in the OotP states, "either must die at the hand of the other..." and that "the one born to those who have thrice defied him, born as the seventh month dies" will be the one to vanquish the Dark Lord. Dumbledore tells us that refers to either Neville or Harry--not Dudley.

There are other canon problems too, but they could have flown, had this been comedy. All in all, the writing is good and you have a clever way of stating things so they're amusing and fresh.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105275Chapter: 1
Killed by a falling pig. Nice, short, and funny!

I liked Voldemort's idea that Dumbledore hadn't told Harry everything once again.

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105270Chapter: 1
How cute! An adorable story!!

Reviewer: jolene_xxDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105269Chapter: 1
If only that had really happened, it would have been great.

Reviewer: DSDragonDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105265Chapter: 1
HILARIOUS!

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105259Chapter: 1
Good ol' Dudley...he's finally good for something! However, I'm guessing that he weighs twice as much as you say he does. But, no matter...squishing Voldemort to death really made me smile since your idea is so unique. I enjoyed this story a lot.

Reviewer: emma moonDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105245Chapter: 1
Hahahahahaha! Death by squashing! Perfect! I think this should be the ending to Book 7!

Reviewer: MallaryDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105243Chapter: 1
Wow. Very Clever. Impressive writing, too. I was scared for a moment, and then I was laughing. I love it!

Reviewer: KatDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105224Chapter: 1
Haha! What a great story!!! :)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --