The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Insignis
Review(s): 19

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2006-01-26
Reviewid: 138916Chapter: 1
I loved this. It was so bleak and truthful. Your Peter is very convincing - his weakness, his regret.
“The Dark Lord cannot die.”
“He can.”
“You sound so certain.” There was a wistful note to his voice.
“I Saw it.”
His face opened and something old and familiar and long-lost appeared. Hope.

Beautifully written.

Reviewer: remyDate: 2005-08-01
Reviewid: 128382Chapter: 1
whoa that was awsome...totaly awsome

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2005-03-30
Reviewid: 118191Chapter: 1
This is really good. I think it's really neat how you built an entire fic around one sentence in canon. Your portrayal of Peter is good -- I especially like that he takes the time to mark her grave. I'd love to see more stories from this universe and more on Marlene McKinnon.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-02-10
Reviewid: 113384Chapter: 1
This is really good. I especially liked Marlene's wry humour, her bravery, her forgiveness of Peter... he's such a wretched worm! I almost feel sorry for him at times. Very well written, fresh and interesting. You should write prose more often ;)

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-01-14
Reviewid: 110927Chapter: 1
Wow. Most excellent. I had to go back and read it again after you gave the Moody quote. I actually thought, at the first bit, that Peter was hallucinating and talking to Lily's ghost, for some reason, even though Spartina said it took place around the time of Peter's turning. I also saw why Peter might have been sorted into Gryffindor(probably). He had courage, not for the right reasons, but it was there. It would take some sort of guts to talk to a friend/significant other about your betrayal. On the second read, this line:“Quite. Well, now, that was my round of Crucio.” was hard to read, after knowing what she Saw. Peter also stayed, and for some reason this shows why he could possibly still be loyal. But when he kills her, it shows just how much he fears death. I found it sort of odd, because earier on it said that she didn't have a wand, and after Crucio, she'd be rather weak. Maybe he fears pain, although cutting off a finger would be rather painful.

This line:“You’re a Hufflepuff! How can you be so brave?” Death Eaters probably look down on Hufflepuffs, as Draco did in Madam Malkins shop when he met Harry. I doubt Peter went over to LV for "ideological" reasons, so this sort of shows him absorbing and spouting out the Death Eaters' prejudices.

I could go through this story fifty times and still find a point to discuss, so I will drop it now.

Reviewer: CindieDate: 2004-11-29
Reviewid: 106278Chapter: 1
You made me feel almost sorry for Wormtail. Darn it. Very well done BtW.

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2004-11-24
Reviewid: 105822Chapter: 1
Wow. I'd say you nailed that dare to the wall.
"...the grotty details..." Authors who are able to put those.. details.. in effectively always impress me.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-11-24
Reviewid: 105794Chapter: 1
Oooh!

What a great story: you managed to convey her character so well, through only a few short lines and details. As for him - well, he was perfectly in character, so far as we know.

The little quote at the end was a nice touch. *nods*

I'd love to read more prose from you.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-11-24
Reviewid: 105783Chapter: 1
Your A/N at the end sheds a lot of light on this story, so we had to read this through twice to be absolutely sure of what was going on. It was just...beautiful. Throughout it, we had a sense of the dark room, the dirt floor, the shrouded faces....Marlene's unselfish love and forgiveness is such a lovely foil for Peter's cowardice and self-preserving instincts. In just a short page, you've developed her into a three-dimensional character. This line:

<<I couldn’t take all your choices away from you. That’s what Voldemort does – I couldn’t do that to you.”>>

Makes us think a little of the way God works--giving us choices, making us bear the consequences of them. A lot of good lessons in this story, without being preachy, and a pleasure to read as well.

Reviewer: Mary AnneDate: 2004-11-24
Reviewid: 105782Chapter: 1
Yow, Barb. What an elegant and compelling little story--clean, tight, and gripping. And based on such a small exchange in OotP! You have a gift for dialogue and tones of voice, too; I could *see* the whole thing as if I were watching a stage play. Who says you can't write prose?! Please do more!

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-11-24
Reviewid: 105760Chapter: 1
Oh, wow. That is sad...and wonderfully written. I love your view of Peter in this story. Good job. Wow.

Reviewer: AzaeliaDate: 2004-11-24
Reviewid: 105752Chapter: 1
Wow. That was amazing. I hope to see prose from you more often. Excellent work. I really am speechless.

Reviewer: WendelinDate: 2004-11-23
Reviewid: 105726Chapter: 1
*cheers loudly* Fiction! From the Queen of Songs! :D

I clicked on this, and when I saw prose instead of a song, I had double check the author name to make sure it was you. I don't know why I'm telling you this instead of writing a review. :)

Nice story. I suspected from the start that it was Peter, but I didn't know who the female character was. But these lines:

“What else do you See?”



“Death.”



“For who?”



“Everything.”

--- for some reason, these few words made me just *see* Marlene in my head. Don't know why.

I think what I like best about this story is what you uniquely bring to it: an economy of words - with no compromise in the richness of meaning and imagery - that is characteristic of a poet.

Good effort!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-11-23
Reviewid: 105700Chapter: 1
Very interesting story indeed. Very interesting...

I like the style you're writing it in. It is still influenced by your dramatical view - it's more of a stageplay than a story, somehow, but it reads very well. When I read it, I can imagine a stage, made to look like a basement room. The audience can watch it from above. And the play is divided into short views. The light is off initially, then the room gets dimly lit and a view is played. Then the light fades to darkness and back to light and the next view is played. A little like in films, when someone borders on consciousness.

As such, I think the last view break should be a paragraph later.

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2004-11-23
Reviewid: 105682Chapter: 1
This is absolutely wonderful! You can so write prose!! Exquisitely. I do hope there will be more. It's very intriguing, and I don't usually like stories set prior to PS/SS.

Reviewer: ElshaDate: 2004-11-23
Reviewid: 105640Chapter: 1
Wow. I don't normally read darkfic, preferring my fantasy in lighter shades, but I stumbled on this thinking it was another part of the Musical and...yeah. I liked it a lot. Peter was nicely balanced between sympathetic and treacherous. Mostly I want to know more about Marlene McKinnon, and that, I suppose, is the best part of this; in such a short space you created a character whom I now have a very good picture of in my head.

I wouldn't worry: you most certainly can write prose, and if you write more, I will most certainly read it. :)

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2004-11-23
Reviewid: 105638Chapter: 1
Ouch... I figured Peter never had the balls to do some of the things you say in this story. But WOW do you make it convincing. And thanks for bringing to life another background name in the Potterverse. (I don't suppose you take requests? I'd love to read a Prewett Brothers story!)

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2004-11-23
Reviewid: 105634Chapter: 1
Oh man...I loved it. I was hanging on every word. I loved how you left the background of their relationship vague - we just have our own imagination to fill in the details between Peter and Marlene. You do a beautiful job of creating a kind of quiet resolution...two people who are bound in multiple ways.

And who says you can't write prose??? I'd say you showed your stuff!!

Reviewer: AragogDate: 2004-11-23
Reviewid: 105588Chapter: 1
Well.

Barabara's first go at prose!

I enjoyed it.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --