The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Lonesome Love
Review(s): 222

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-10-20
Reviewid: 145832Chapter: 21
How sad, indeed ... And just because Snape ... oh, I'm really angry with him.
Of course, all the while I knew that their relationship had to end somehow to fit with the canon timeline. And I hoped you wouldn't bend the "facts" to reach a happy ending as many others would have probably done (you know, Catherine calling St. Mungo, learning about the necessary alterations to the recipe, badly swearing at Snape, happy end with Remus). But now, although I expected it, I'm very sad - you pictured Remus and Catherine so well ... what if?
Thanks for sharing this wonderfully written story,
Sara

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-08-22
Reviewid: 144939Chapter: 21
A very enjoyable read – quite excellent, in fact.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-08-22
Reviewid: 144938Chapter: 1
A very enjoyable read – quite excellent, in fact.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-08-21
Reviewid: 144923Chapter: 15
Why would someone with lycanthropy have anything made of silver? If you ever re-edit / revise this for publication elsewhere. This is something that needs attending.

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-07-27
Reviewid: 144486Chapter: 21
Ow! and Ooooooh!
No review for the last couple of chapters because I COULDN'T STOP READING! From that semi-vicious love-making to the final wrapped-around-canon conclusion, that was an awesome ride. When I re-read JKRs work, I usually wait until I've got clear space to read her climactic chapters all in one shot 'cause it's just too traumatic not to - same with yours.
You really did make Snape as evil as he could be didn't you? Deliberately turning away from the remnants of affection in him, deliberately crushing the remains of his guilt. You've left me with the image of a spider in the shadows, twitching the lines of his shrouds till they fall over his prey.
But both Remus and Catherine survived. Well done. I was reading two days ago that the signature of excellent writing is that the character can act in a way that is quite surprising to the reader but that is nevertheless completely consistent with who they have been portrayed to be (Micheal Polanyi in Personal Knowledge - quoting someone else) in other words they have the capacity to be realistically unpredictable. The final decisions, that final conversation between Remus and Catherine before they parted was so true to them both, yet so unexpected. Fantastic writing. Well done and thank you. And thank you too for maintaining a consistently Christian Catherine. Its rare to find faith in fan-fic - and even rarer to find it so skillfully expressed. Many, many thanks.

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-07-27
Reviewid: 144485Chapter: 19
Now THAT is unprofessional, Severus!

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-07-26
Reviewid: 144462Chapter: 18
Married love and an intriguing new character. And the plot keeps on moving.

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-07-26
Reviewid: 144460Chapter: 16
*stunned*
.
.
.
Well... That was something else. I have to say I never imagined that McReedy would be so totally unhinged, even though I had guessed his daughter was killed by a Werewolf. And another pulling together of various threads from throughout the story so as to make an escapr route at this climactic moment. Fantastic plotting.

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-07-26
Reviewid: 144459Chapter: 15
"What has happened to you? I learned my compassion from you. Was it all a lie?"
Are you published yet? If not, why not?

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-07-26
Reviewid: 144458Chapter: 14
"he heard his brain imploring his body to step back, away from her, and his arms to hold her at bay. They would not listen. Instead, he felt himself wrapping his arms around her and bringing her tightly to him."
Been there, done that and this is totally believable. Well done. And this...
"Catherine, you can't fix this."
You're putting such depth into this! And these pschological narrative currents are all not only 'deep' but they also have 'breadth' - there is real body in the emotional lives of your characters. And best of all you make it convincing.

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-07-26
Reviewid: 144457Chapter: 13
"His condition was insidious and it was the constant battle with the details that he found so wearing."
"Only a few minutes before he'd been bemoaning the void of excitement and anticipation he'd had in his life. And here he was at this very moment performing the routine task of walking to work, yet feeling them both acutely - and by God it was exquisite."
This is exactly the type of thing that makes your work so outstanding: You've expressed the experiential core of Remus condition and the change wrought by Catherine, you've contrasted them tightly, but, best of all, you've done it with completely relevant, convincing and simply-drawn detail. Absolutely fantastic!

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-07-26
Reviewid: 144456Chapter: 12
Aaaah. Snape unmasked. All we could ask for. But ...oh dear, poor Catherine. What a history! Catherine undressed - by quite the wrong man! But, Remus gets hero of the day award for doing the right thing - and quite unintentionally doing it where Catherine could see him.
And Moonette gets author of the day for weaving the whole thing together so wonderfully. Favourite snapshot: "She looked up into the same blue eyes she'd wanted so desperately to run towards at the dungeons."

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-07-26
Reviewid: 144455Chapter: 11
O poisonous potion!

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-07-25
Reviewid: 144428Chapter: 10
Now what is that Evil!Snape up to? I'm afraid I'm not about to find out - it's bedtime. Tomorrow!
Lovely, complex Cherry Pie imagery btw.

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-07-25
Reviewid: 144427Chapter: 9
You have a real strength in writing tender, sensuous touch. Was that Remus' oringinalbite scar she touched?

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-07-25
Reviewid: 144426Chapter: 8
"Why do you act this way? Why do you enjoy being cruel?" Oh what a good question! HOw I've longed for someone to actually ask that question and CONFRONT THE NASTY B WITH THE FACTS!!!
Some parts of Snape in this don'tring true for the Snape we know and loathe - his apology to Madam Pomfrey, and his attempt to write to Catherine to make-up - but I'm guessing that what we're getting here is a Snape not quite so hardened into bitterness. Maybe, even, we're getting the story of that hardening? How it must hurt, having the least aggressive of the marauders, whose lycanthropy he'd been forced to hide by Dumbledore, now doing him the greatest damage!
That flinging away of the half-written apology was wonderful pathos.

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-07-25
Reviewid: 144424Chapter: 7
Aaaargh! I couldn't stop at the end of ch 6 but had to rush onto 7 to make sure she got to Remus ok - and here you leave us at the end of 7 with a face-plant on Snape's sternum!??! Oh evil cliffie! Hurrying on now to ch 8....

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-07-25
Reviewid: 144423Chapter: 5
"Lupin's hand felt warm and strong to Catherine as she stood, and she didn't want to let go." Lovely link here between sensation and gentle desire.
Great to see a Lupin with a sense of humour still! Yes, life is tragic and hard, but he's still a marauder.
"She had been with a monster today, and it had been Severus, not this gentle man walking next to her." Oh, cutting contrast!

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-07-25
Reviewid: 144422Chapter: 4
Oh dear, emotional cliff-hanger here! What a lovely concatenation of circumstances - and so very feasible too.

"she had practically broadcast her infatuation with someone else." Hm. This caused me to pause. I'd say no way has she 'broadcast' anything. In fact, I was very impressed with dear Severus for correctly guessing the cause of her preoccupation. Is this a male/female thing? As merely male I'd say the clues were tenuous indeed, but Catherine (and you, dear author), as a female, may be far more sensitive to such indicators - and our Severus, by virtue of his abuse-heightened sensitivity?

"He'd been able more often than he'd expected, to actually relax and enjoy himself, although these times were short lived. But when things like this happened it changed everything." The echoes this sets up for me are those of the person living with a history of abuse - the shame and the emotional turmoil that go with having such a painful secret. Your description is deeply evocative and deceptively simple. You're packing a lot in there.

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-07-25
Reviewid: 144421Chapter: 3
Wow! Passionate!Snape. You've written him wonderfully well here, all his anxieties translating directly into venom.
And I loved this:
"It was rustic inside, with dark and long wooden tables and benches taking up most of the space. It smelled of meat roasting and Butterbeer and spicy fruit pies, and throughout was heard a constant low rumble of conversation and the clinking of mugs and glasses." You've really brought the pub to life! The smells especially are most evocative - even thought I don't know what butterbeer tastes like!

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2006-01-16
Reviewid: 138610Chapter: 21
Well, you've got me almost to tears - I hope your happy!

But seriously, this Chapter was beautifully written. I love the depth of physical and verbal descriptions that use to accompany the dialogue. It relects the wonderfully layered nature of your story and the relationship between Catherine and Remus.

I love the maturity of the story (and I can certainly understand your disquiet with the Remus/Tonks relationship in light of this). I also love the growth of character that's shown. Stories should be about self-discovery, something that we see in Remus and Catherine throughout.

I think that you set yourself a very difficult task with this conclusion. There can't be many stories on the Quill that show such a mature and, indeed, loving break-up. I think you can be very proud of this story, and I hope you can look to it for encouragement in future writing projects!

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2006-01-09
Reviewid: 138261Chapter: 21
You silly goose, putting silly old me in your author notes. *huggles*

Now, onto the good the bad and the ugly.

*dabs eyes*

I knew (stress knew) what a heartbreaking story this would be when it ended...but I had no idea how much. It physically hurt at times to read it...and I know that is what you were going for...*sigh*

I will miss looking forward to updates from you on this story...

You are so gifted and talented and I love the fact that you and I got accepted at the same time.

I guess this means I've got to finish Katie and George, eh?

*huggles*

~Hez

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2006-01-08
Reviewid: 138198Chapter: 21
This story has been a wonderful, heartbreaking ride. All along I was hoping for a happy ending. It goes to prove that happy endings are not always the best endings.

Well done.

Reviewer: HelenHDate: 2006-01-08
Reviewid: 138190Chapter: 21
Oh, moonette, this is so lovely and heartbreaking! And if you're worried about improving your writing skills, let me reassure you - the way you have handled the subtle plot twists over these last few chapters, slowly and steadily dissolving Remus and Catherine's love and trust for each other, demonstrates a mature and sensitive understanding of relationships, beautifully conveyed through your writing.

I loved how just as Remus seemed to be in the mood to try harder with Catherine, she pulled away from him as she could hardly bear to admit she had disobeyed him and possibly destroyed their safety.

And then she wrote to Snape. Snape's vision of Catherine, pregnant with his child, it made me genuinely pity him - his envy, his sadness, his loss, his refusal even to admit to himself how much he wanted that life. But then:
'If the hard work and the time outdoors was making things easier, he knew just what to do to "help" the Lupins. What better place for them to make a new start than in a dreary and crowded city? With a sedentary and boring job in the London branch of the European Wizard Library and Archives.'

Just when I want to feel sorry for Snape, he lets his vicious streak show again - and how!

But nothing prepared me for how brilliantly, how devastatingly, you would end Remus and Catherine:

Those words stopped her cold. She was hit with a wave of nausea as the realization hit her. She couldn't do this anymore either. She'd been banging her head against the wall. Remus had been right since the beginning. She couldn't fix this. But she'd kept trying to fix it, oblivious to what that had done to Remus... to the both of them. She was still trying to fix it now. And she always would...because she loved him so. She felt lightheaded and backed up to sit roughly on the bed. She couldn't look at Remus, she stared only at the floor. She knew he stood there watching her, silent. She could hear his breathing, ragged at first, then slowing and quieting.

She sat there for a minute, trying to comprehend it all. And then her words came out in a strangled whisper. "You're right."

And then to have him hold her as she sobbed, and to sleep beside her for one last time, holding her hand - it was beautiful, moonette, but so, so sad. Why wasn't their love for each other not enough to sustain them? Poor Catherine. Remus couldn't let her in, couldn't let her help him, but if he wants a future with Tonks he is going to need to let some of those walls down. As for Catherine, I am glad if she is enjoying a relationship where she doesn't feel she should be 'fixing' things for her husband, but it still makes me feel sad that her instinct to help Remus was so misplaced, and ultimately doomed. What a painful lesson she had to learn.

Loved the hand on the shoulder at the end. A promise of hope. Perfection. You always get your closing sentences so right!
Helen

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2006-01-08
Reviewid: 138164Chapter: 21
<Her voice quavered on the last part, barely above a whisper. "...they will let us in.">
I still really like this line - it just gets to the heart of her desire and pain.

The ending is so sad, but the epilogue seemlessly puts this story in the HP universe - oddly enough at the end of OotP, which was Harry's lowest ebb. I like how you have Remus and Catherine balanced now - they both have someone else - they both have challenges:



<She watched him walk into the room and sit in a chair in the corner, lean his head back against the wall with a sigh, and close his eyes. He was grieving, he was exhausted, and he was involved in dangerous work, but she knew his strength, and she felt strongly that Remus would be all right. She felt a hand on her shoulder. And so would she.>

Love the hand on her shoulder! *swoon*

Interesting how you saw Will with short hair as well. :) Such a contrast to Remus - not in a bad way - just a real contrast - just as Tonks is to Catherine!

You did such a good job with complex emotions and an original character! It's hard to believe that this is your first multi-chapter story! I can't wait to see what else you have up your sleeve. A tale of the Wood dynasty, perhaps? LOL. I want to see that wicked sense of humor of yours come shining through as well!

So - don't rest on your laurels (well you can rest for a little bit)the fan fic. community always wants more. Fluff is best, though. :)

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2006-01-08
Reviewid: 138154Chapter: 21
Well done, Moonette! I'm at a loss where to start. There's so much to comment on in this chapter.

First off, the bit with Snape gave me chills. The way he justified his actions and then the vision with pregnant Catherine... chilling.

The break-up scene was poignant. Actually had me in tears. I loved how you wove in elements from early in the story (her father's words, then Snape's, and Healer Bailey's) when Catherine finally realizes that it's over. And I liked that Remus took care of Catherine with the letter to St Mungos before he left.

Your epilogue left us on a hopeful note with William Wood and a future for Catherine. Nice! And I loved the reference to Sirius.

Wonderful job, Moonette. I've enjoyed every minute of this story and am looking forward to your next one.

Eudora

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-12-17
Reviewid: 137317Chapter: 20
She felt trapped.

Yes - here it is. See, you have been following Catherine in a very logical way.
I remember the hawt love scene from the fluff thread and all the tension between them. And it's so sad in this context since even though he is physically better - the psychic wounds haven't healed.

And of course, you have set up the ending with the woman now knowing about Remus.
I can see how you are going to break them up - how it really will be for the best in the long run for Catherine - but I'm wondering about the Snape thread and her parents at this point. Is she going to call Snape on his dirty work? Are her parents going to come around? Or will it be 'I told you so?' And how are the Healer and the minister going to play in Catherine's healing? Hmmm. Many questions for the final chapter.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-12-17
Reviewid: 137316Chapter: 19
That was such a sad chapter and now I'm puzzled about Snape's motives. What exactly he wants for Catherine. Yes, he doesn't want her married to Lupin and he wants Lupin to be as miserable as possible. But I'm still not sure what exactly he wants from her - since *he* doesn't seem to want her as a wife or even a girlfriend. I'm thinking some sort of twisted brotherly concern?

I loved the library scene and the school days sort of moment they had. I like how you keep Remus firmly in the Hogwarts sphere (and not St. Mungo's) since Hogwarts is his place of healing as far as we know in the series.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-12-17
Reviewid: 137314Chapter: 18
"The carriage ride back to Shinnoch had a distinctly different feel to it. The ride over had been dreamlike, and they had both been basking in the magic of their wedding. This time their thoughts were occupied by planning and concern over how to best get started."

Nice transition from the lovely carriage ride (a great idea - again underscring that old fashioned nature of their relationship)at the beginning and now their new life. It was a good way to mark the two events.

The fluff was lovely in this scene - pitch perfect. Not over the top happy but so *them* - from the images of the comfortable room to Catherine's nightgown to the bit of playfulness. And of course, all good things come to an end . . .

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-12-17
Reviewid: 137313Chapter: 17
Well that was sudden - sort of like a portkey from one stoy to another - but since you used a portkey, I'd say it's all right! :) Of course it was the minister's words which nudged Remus who is an old-fashioned fellow to the core. I forgot to mention in the chapter where they sleep together but don't have sex - that I had something similiar in a story of mine and one reader couldn't believe that such a thing could happen. LOL. Too many movies, I think.

Your descriptions in this chapter are breathtaking - love the grass like a blanket and of course the enchanted snowflakes. And a wedding all on their own would certainly be the appropriate ceremony for R and C. Honeymoon? She asks hopefully.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-12-17
Reviewid: 137311Chapter: 16
"She felt suddenly free. Like her life had just opened up to new challenges and possibilities where she needed to be an active participant. She was choosing to live life, not watch it pass her by."

This is an interesting insight on Cahterine's part and I want to know how she feels about that later on.

So it was't Snape! Nice set up with McReedy! I didn't see it coming - but it made perfect sense. I also like how you had the trials up your sleeve as Remus's out. That takes planning and it is a delight to read those sorts of scenes!

What was Snape doing there, btw? I think we'll find out in the next chapter.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-12-17
Reviewid: 137310Chapter: 15
Oh, that Snape! What a cool idea though - the Destructor letter!

I liked the wand symbolism - how Catherine fixed it - but it has diminished powers. A nice metaphor for their story. Interesting how Remus's photos were taken - I think it was Snape. I'll have to read on and find out for sure.

I'm glad Catherine spoke her mind to her parents - it will be interesting to see if they come around or if they end up being one more problem for our couple. I'm guessing - a problem. :)

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-12-17
Reviewid: 137308Chapter: 14
Lovely setting of the scene here and I like how you set up the contrast so easily in the narrative. You have been playing with opposites all along - but you've really brought them to the fore in this chapter:

"The golden light squeezing in through the breaks in the trees sparkled on the water and on the leaves and illuminated the swirls of smoke rising from the campfire. It was literally mesmerizing, and an incredible contrast to the dullness and confines of his workday. He thought of what he would normally be doing at this hour: eating a cold supper in his cramped, dull, brown room, alone."

This little statement seems to be what you are going for in your story. How for a few months time both of them chose this path:

"And I can try to see things differently - live differently - if I so choose. And now I have someone who inspires me to do this."

And this statement seems to be the ending you are working toward. This is really Catherine's story isn't it? And this seems to be your premise:

"Well, it can be a comfort sometimes, when the world seems against you. I do believe, and I'm grateful for Him bringing you into my life."

Love this example of desire and then how immediately shuts it down. A dance indeed:

"At least he still had tonight. His hand drifted to her side, and he set it to rest just above her hip. The gentle curve of it excited him as he imagined more evenings like this together. But then his arms tightened about her in a suddenly fiercely protective embrace. Tomorrow would come, and the next full moon would soon be here, and he still had no way of making it easier."

An ominous ending to a lovely fluffy chapter that also reveals your philosophy and takes this story to a different level than just another Lupin story.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-12-17
Reviewid: 137307Chapter: 13
So, I'm wondering when she's going to tell Remus about Paul and what exactly Snape thinks of her tendancies. I'm glad that she was able to tell him that she was frustrated - not angry after the picnic. If I remember a snippet you posted on your LJ - that frustration is going to be an on going problem - so it's good that you established it early and are bringing it up again.

The sandwich - esp. as a surprise - is a nice fluffy way to end the chapter. You have done a nice job with the physical discomfort throughout. So it's good to see also the boredom with hunger and pain. Because if that's all you can think about - it is boring! So true.

I also liked the cooking together - so diff. from Snape and Catherine preparing potions.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-12-17
Reviewid: 137306Chapter: 12
Ah ha! So he knew she was there. I wondered why she didn't make her prescence known either. Snape was very compelling in this scene. Because you have made Catherine so young and confused and trusting - his brand of meanace is especially affecting. Interesting that Catherine saw the dark mark. It makes me wonder what will be the ramifications of that.

I do like the idea of Apparation sickness. These two are really at their lowest physical point aren't they?

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-12-16
Reviewid: 137286Chapter: 11
Dear trusting Catherine! I'm glad you showed her with a bit of a temper. Although she was just as confused as he! Lovely kiss. I liked the rain and the laughter and the ominous thunder. Just right for a passionate, doomed kiss. Sigh.

What an horrible letter from SS - can you tell I'm no Snape fan? LOL. Thanks for feeding my prejudices!

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-12-16
Reviewid: 137285Chapter: 10
"The sun was bright and warm and the air danced and buzzed with winged insects - dragonflies, butterflies, and the occasional bee. Scattered through the grass were wildflowers of all types and colors."

Such a lovely setting of the scene - esp. the sounds. I remember the cherry pie snippet now, too. So close but yet so far! What a nervous little dance they are doing and you show it so well.

I like the more playful side of Remus - the side he must have shown in his school days.

I really like Dumbledore's touching faith in SS - but oh, what a chilling way to end the chapter!

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-12-16
Reviewid: 137284Chapter: 9
Of course he isn't going to miss this picnic! I liked the food descriptions and the clothing descriptions as well. It really helps set your scene.

"Catherine closed her eyes the moment his lips touched her, forgetting her surroundings for a moment, feeling only the soft caress of his lips and the whisper of his breath on her skin."

This is a great line - so tentative, yet sensual.

"Her skirt flowed nicely when she moved and that particular shade of yellow of her sweater brightened her skin and reminded him of the sun. He imagined how the sunlight would feel on his face, and how it would play in her hair as they talked and ate outside."

I liked this line as well - very romantic - but simple and not too flowery. Perfect for Remus.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-12-16
Reviewid: 137281Chapter: 8
"Catherine again thought of the lunar cycle. The fear she felt yesterday had left her and replacing it was an ease with him, as though they had emerged from a dark tunnel and into the light."

I really like this! And I think you have put some of that movement into this story as well, haven't you? Lovely.

"You're so wrong, Catherine, he said to himself." *giggle* Lovely fluffy moment to end the chapter.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-12-16
Reviewid: 137280Chapter: 7
What fun to bring in our fav. characters - Minerva and Poppy! I love female bonding and team work - a lovely chapter. And again - I'm struck by how *young* Catherine is! And SS at the end. Grr. Great way to cliff hanger us!

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-12-16
Reviewid: 137279Chapter: 6
That was just horrifying to read about his transformation!

"He felt as though his bones were being pulled apart - serially breaking and fusing, sinew shredding." Such a good description. And of course he has now broken his date with Catherine of the high hopes. Sigh.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-12-16
Reviewid: 137278Chapter: 5
So the first kiss! I remember it from the fluff thread. The impact is so much greater within the context of your story. Lovely - esp. the smells.

I loved the nod to James with the stag and then the ominous bat (SS) flying overhead. So fitting this forest setting.

And Catherine our idealist strikes again with her sacrifice talk - so ironic with the James symbol showing up. Poor Remus with his idealistic fire being kindled as well.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-12-16
Reviewid: 137277Chapter: 4
You know, I was so caught up in Catherine's plight, I forgot about the Knight Bus as well!:) Very good.

I also like how you structured this for the reader to anticipate their meeting. That's one advantage of omniscient narration. You also do a great job showing the prejudice toward Werewolves and continually show what Remus is up against. This way we can understand his longing for someone beautiful and kind in his life.

I'm also amazed at how young Catherine seems - thinking she needs to "make up" with a crazy jealous SS! That goes a long way to explain her idealism.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-12-16
Reviewid: 137276Chapter: 3
Oh, I'm glad she had her eyes opened to SS right away! And it's interesting how he knew right away that she was half in love with this werewolf - good old Legilimency! And how he rejected her because of it.

I like how you set up the danger of the potion to Remus and the danger of both Lupin and Severus to Catherine. She really is the innocent one in all of this. You really set that up well with SS at the end.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-12-16
Reviewid: 137271Chapter: 2
Oh the plot thickens! She's friends with Snape - shudder. Poor Catherine - now I can see why you had her at Beauxbatons - so she would be not only be ignorant of Remus but of Snape too. I like how you hinted at the Catherine's school days and at Remeus's - giving us a subtle comparison. I also like the subtle difference of Snape not noticing the sunset and Chatherine enjoying the scenery.

Nice forest imagery with Remus as well. Looking forward to seeing the old enemies interact.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-12-15
Reviewid: 137207Chapter: 1
Oh the chocolate! What a great getting to know you chapter! I loved all the info about potion ingredients and what they were for. I liked Catherine's backstory already. Two lonely souls. Happy sigh.

I don't have any more time right now, but I'll keep reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2005-11-16
Reviewid: 135941Chapter: 20
<<He turned to her, the glistening water still dripping off of him. "All right. What is it?"<<

*sigh*

How is it in a few words, I can visually see that moment? I really can. Wonderful, just wonderful.

I hate to see these next few chapters, even as I love reading them. I know it will soon be their undoing but...ugh.

You are doing such a wonderful job here, moonette. I adore the lush descriptions that accompany each and every chapter...no detail is left unturned.

And Remus' mania, for lack of a better word, is just perfect. You've got his state of mind so frenzied and so un-Remus-like and yet it is so intriguing to read about him like that. And their moments of their love making when it was wild and frantic...were perfect for his state of mind. I hate seeing Remus like this, especially with Catherine...

Well, well done...once again, dear friend!!!

~Hez

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-11-16
Reviewid: 135933Chapter: 20
Oh dear. I don't like where this is headed. Are you breaking them up because of canon? Oh dear.

The chapter was very well written, as well. I like your characterisation of Remus, and the way you captured the stifling feel of his frustration. The sex scene was necessary and portrayed well the forced and obliged intimacy, which so epitomised the situation the characters were in. Throughout your story I've always admired your use of italicized internal dialogue. It was once again used to good effect in this story.

A very good chapter, but a very sad one, too.

(Oh no! I hadn't noticed this new username requirement before. No more leaving positive feedback for myself under pseudonyms. :p)

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2005-11-14
Reviewid: 135848Chapter: 20
You're right, Moonette. The snippet you posted on the fluff thread has a very different feel in the full context of this chapter. Much more angsty and dark in this rendition. The reverse symbolism of the setting is interesting as well. It's ironic that Remus finds solace in being outdoors, but it's a false freedom, when the potion has made him more closed and paranoid. A heart-breaking chapter for both Remus (wanting to be free from the suffering so much that he turns a blind eye to the personality changes) and even more so for Catherine (who must face the consequences in isolation). Very suspenseful ending too.

I'm looking forward to the next installment...although I don't think it will go well for one of my favorite ships. *sniff*

Eudora

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-09-18
Reviewid: 132807Chapter: 17
Wow.

That's quite a chapter. It was beautiful. I really don't know what to say about the emotional and romantic aspects of this chapter - which are of course the most important. You really, really understand them, don't you? You see the vulnerabilities. And you highlighting of Remus asking of Catherine was very wise. That has been his problem throughout the story, and I didn't realise it until you wrote it. He doesn't ask of other people.

The wedding scene was wonderfully written. It was absolutely perfect.

Right... er... I liked the action scene at the beginning. Snape was wonderfully written. He was great! I liked the possibility of the friendship remaining. Yes, all in all, quite the chapter!

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-09-15
Reviewid: 132585Chapter: 16
I just realised that last review made no sense. For some reason I had read the last chapter and the first paragraph of this one. Anyway, excellent chapter. I loved the action and the drama. It was strong plotwork and tied together a nice number of plot strings. I do think it's a bit strange that McReedy let Lupin leave when it is so easy for a wizard to 'get out of town', but all the same, I think it was necessary for the story and provided very good effect.

You did leave some good clues about McReedy that an attentive reader could definitely pick up on. And I like the fact that we knew Snape was going to arrive and were anticipating it. I do appreciate the fact that we saw a little good!Snape. That is very consistent with what we would expect from pre-HBP Snape. And, of course, it adds to his complexity that he is not a 2D 'bad guy'. He does have a heart... of sorts. :p

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-09-15
Reviewid: 132584Chapter: 15
Well, you'll be pleased to know that I have absolutely no idea what's going on with this intruder business. That mystery has me completely bamboozled. It doesn't seem very Snape-esque. Maybe it's some kind of anti-werewolf vigilante, but even that doesn't seem to quite fit. Hmmm. I enjoy being intrigued!

I do have one small criticism of this chapter. I wasn't sure about the Snape interlude.

"But the destruction it would wreak would be not only upon itself. No - the flash and charring of that parchment into ashes would be the very least of its destructive power, for its specific intent was to destroy dreams and relationships and the beginnings of love. And the extra gold Severus Snape had to pay for this very rare and expensive service was none too large indeed. The Potions Master would sleep well tonight."

I don't know. The first time I read it I thought that it felt a little bit too dramatic. It doesn't sound so bad anymore, especially because I liked the 'sleeping well' link between Snape snippets. I think it's just that Snape is being very consciously evil here. He's revelling in it like an ultimately evil character, which I don't think he is. Of course, this effect is countered in the second bit from Snape's POV, which I really liked, so feel free to ignore the above.

I like the continual fear you have in this story. It's a very strong portrayal of this aspect of Lupin's life. He is continually being chased and it haunts him in his dreams and in his waking. It is often left subtly unsaid, and it is almost like another character in the story. It is almost ever-present, although Catherine does provide Lupin with respite from it.

The dialogue ending to this was very well done. I liked the fact that Lupin never actually lied. You wrote his lines well. And I thought you made Catherine's parents very likeable at the same time as showing them acting unfairly to the hero - which is a very tricky thing to do. Overall, a very strong chapter.

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-09-14
Reviewid: 132528Chapter: 14
Yay! I've finally got a small period of time together in which I can finish this story! I've been looking forward to it. :o)

Aww. I like this chapter. Remus is a very 'silly man', isn't he, for even thinking about pushing her away. But, as I have said before, it is very in character. I'm glad his efforts are being thwarted by the wonderful heroine that is Catherine. And what's better, you are letting Catherine keep her own flaws while still being the perfect woman for Remus (don't tell Gabriella I said that... or JKR for that matter :p).

I also like McReedy. I love it when authors take the care of adding some colour to minor characters, and this man is clearly very likeable. Is he based slightly on anyone you know in real life?

And wonderful plot movement again. This was a real heart-bouncer of a line:

"Catherine, it has been better, immeasurably better…since I've met you. It has been…wonderful. You must believe that."

I loved that. And a your ending provided a nice bit of intrigue to close on.

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-09-01
Reviewid: 131485Chapter: 13
Moonette! That was wonderful. It was a brilliant chapter of insightful storytelling. I love Remus' reactions. He offers to let her leave, which is a powerful gesture. It's very symbolic of the entire situation. And I love the way you capture the tension within him while Catherine tries to explain. His defiance is so true. I can't even explain why it's right that he should be looking defiant, but it is.

The progression of Catherine's thought-processes is well done, as well. In many ways, she's still reasoning through what she feels, while trying to explain it to Remus. This adds to the drama and the emotional intensity. The both of them are coming to a new understanding of themselves and of their relationship.

I also liked the shaving scene. I was trying to work out whether there's a reason why men throw razors around (it's quite a daft thing to do, really). I think it's the mirror thing. Staring into your own eyes and seeing truth can sometimes fill you with the need to throw things. Obviously that's what Remus is seeing here.

And a beautiful ending, of course. It left me with a real grin on my face!

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-08-25
Reviewid: 130882Chapter: 12
I feel rather inspired by how you deal with this fear bordering on terror that Catherine feels towards Snape. I've been struggling with this kind of person-inspired fear in my own writing. The devices you use are very clever. You use some good descriptions of her bodies reactions - 'heart pounding and mouth dry' - and couple it with this feeling of entrapment. She desires to escape, but can't (because of Remus), and there are few things more scary than that. I also like the inner voice, adding another element to this fear, the fact that she is alone against him. I'd better not get into everything you do here, but it is very effective overall.

I like the portrayal of Remus in this chapter. It provides a great deal of context and buildup to PoA and the relationship between them there. There doesn't seem to me to be too much sign of Remus being repentant to Snape in canon, which is why this apology offered and rejected fills in the story and explains canon in a satisfactory way.

The ripping of Snape's sleeve is a wonderfully physical and solid bit of storytelling. I love the way his ropes are almost alive in themselves as they suffocate Catherine, then she tears them and sees the signs of evil beneath. It provides a very powerful passage. Then, thankfully, Catherine escapes hurt and dazed to Remus - the one person that can help her.

By the way, I loved the additional tidbit about Remus' mother and father. That was lovely and rang very true!

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-08-25
Reviewid: 130881Chapter: 11
The plot thickens. I am greatly intrigued by this portrayal of Snape. I've always believed that canon!Snape has a code of honour (a twisted and very subjective one, admittedly), and there is something in me that thinks Snape is above petty, little lies like the one about the Wolfsbane Potion. Yet I fear that that is wishful thinking on my part. Hm... That letter is a horrible and callous manipulation of emotions.

I liked what you did at the start of this chapter, with the imagery of the storm clouds moving 'stealthily' in. Very symbolic. And I adored the laughter between Remus and Catherine. That was a wonderful moment. Poor Remus, I imagine laughter was a staple part of his life with Sirius and James around, and then to be deprived of it for so long. It is beautiful to see it given back like that.

And then the fight. Very true to these characters. Remus' own demons are trying to rob him of happiness. I really hope he doesn't listen.

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-08-23
Reviewid: 130735Chapter: 10
I like the contrast between the professional Catherine, who is very confident and her non-professional side, which is unsure about how to proceed with this intimacy. It's a nice little aspect of the strength and weakness dynamic which is developing between the two. It's very interesting that the picnic scene ends with Lupin's head on her thigh, being comforted.

Snape was at his creepy best. I love the way you capture his voice. The resentment and the reason. Perfect. I did think Dumbledore's leaving the Lunar Chart Orb was a bit cruel. Did he really think a Potions Master wouldn't be able to keep track of the moon all by himself? Or did Dumbledore believe that Snape needed the reminder?

Anyway, excellent plot and character development. Good chapter!

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-08-18
Reviewid: 130313Chapter: 9
This chapter really intrigued me. The dynamic was very much of Remus being cared for. I don't know quite why I find that strange. Maybe I'm just being sexist! But the woman is strong here, looking after the man in a very weak position. Somehow I think Remus feels the same way. Perhaps he has this fear of appearing weak, afraid that Catherine will be repulsed.

Anyway, your writing was again spot on. I love the way you sum up Remus' nobility.

--It was so hard to do this though, when it just felt so good to be with someone and talk, to touch her and feel her touch. This part of his life had lain shriveled and dying for so long - perhaps too long. He didn't know if he could change it. And it wasn't fair to her yet; it wouldn't be fair to anyone unless they knew the rest.--

Wonderful! And then I love the way your ending relates Catherine to the sun in Remus' eyes (especially her skin being 'brightened'). It's a clever association with this part of Remus that is shrivelled and dying, and hungering for sunlight.

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-08-16
Reviewid: 130099Chapter: 8
*shudder* You write Snape so well. You use so many different phrases to describe his voice and it is a tribute to your descriptive writing: 'smooth and controlled', 'velvet voice', 'cold and unflinching', 'tinted with an air of superiority'. These are brilliant, and those are only a few examples. I also liked the twisted compassion in Snape:

--"I see your eyes. He's already hurt you, hasn't he?"--

And then there's this raised hand of comfort, unfulfilled and the letter of apology, unsent. Wonderful work. You really get inside Snape's head and explain how everything makes sense for him. How everything is justified.

The Catherine/Remus dynamic is beautiful again. The ending was just wow! It was really very Remus as well, very in character. Brilliant!

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2005-08-15
Reviewid: 130026Chapter: 19
That was awesome! This is the second Lupin love story I have read and I am having trouble finding out which on is better. I am happy about the 'PG-13' warning above chapter 18. I don't like it(and I am sure others feel the same) when those just spring up on spring up. I found a few typos but other than that the whole story was great! I want more!
~Lizzybeth

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-08-14
Reviewid: 129967Chapter: 7
A very powerful chapter. I thought the opening paragraph was particularly strong and perfectly captured the atmosphere you were trying to create.

--It was the kind of night that seems to last forever. The kind that preys on frayed nerves and sanity, and where each desperate snatch of sleep seems to lead no closer to the dawn.--

I love the way these two lines pull the reader into emphasising with Catherine. We have all had those kinds of nights and, of course, shared experiences are a powerful means of creating bonds between reader and character. It works well.

The chapter also does an excellent job of highlighting the 'Remus Problem' using a variety of different voices.

"He's built quite a wall, that one. It must be a lonely way to live."

That was perfect. You also had McGonagall, Catherine and Remus voice various sides of the problem. Remus trying to push her away and Catherine's lament about him not wanting her there are both very powerful. Great chapter!

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-08-10
Reviewid: 129561Chapter: 6
Excellent chapter! Clever use of the potion to create this scenario with Lupin's transformation and the dramatic tension ensuing from it. You have the reader hooked.

The chapter has great descriptive work throughout, particularly during the transformation and in the aftermath. There is a genuine sense of horror and agony.

On a somewhat lighter note, you have once more provided good insight into the characters and their relationship dynamics in this chapter. I like the way that Catherine confided in her mother - it felt very genuine. But at the same time, I understood her reticience about Lupin, and admired the clever way she dealt with it.

As for Remus, I love how you show him daring to dream. It is a message of hope.

Reviewer: Helen HDate: 2005-08-09
Reviewid: 129423Chapter: 19
Oooooh! How cleverly you draw the plot back to the dastardly Snape, moonette! He really is such a fabulaous villain. Obviously, I kinda knew that things had to start to slide on the blissful happiness front very soon, in keeping with the Lupin-timeline, but I had anticipated some Werewolf-hunter battles and narrow(ish) escapes...perhaps even Catherine meeting an untimely end, and thereby proving that Snape's concerns were quite valid. I had not expected Snape to be so instrumental in the loss of Lupin's wife. Wow! And I love that Snape almost convinces as having putting aside much of his bitterness and jealousy with regards to Catherine and Lupin's relationship. Trust Snape to find such a devious and brilliant way to cause them strife and strain their marriage. And he covers his tracks so well - will either of them ever guess?

I love the way you described Lupin's brusque bahaviour towards Catherine and Snape after the transformation. It really teases us about how things will be for them during the coming month. I can't wait to see how you develop this idea - though I'm sure it will be heartbreaking.

Helen

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-08-07
Reviewid: 129186Chapter: 5
Excellent chapter, Moonette. It left me with a warm contented feeling of my own! You've dealt with a large number of issues here, and brought everything to a satisfying conclusion, while still allowing for a heck of a lot of continuation.

--She had been with a monster today, and it had been Severus, not this gentle man walking next to her.--

I loved this line! It was great. Maybe that's just because I don't like Snape now, but I do think that it's a brilliant point. As Dumbledore says, our choices define us, nothing else.

Your kiss was a marvelous combination pf so many things. Touch, smell, sound and the desire to protect and to warm. It was beautiful. A really, really good job.

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-08-06
Reviewid: 129112Chapter: 4
Good chapter! I thought the fast changes of POV as Catherin approaches the shop were interesting. I got kind of swept up in the question of whether they were going to meet or whether they were going to miss each other. Maybe I get too involved :p but it created a good tension.

I also liked Catherine's internal voice throughout.

--Wonderful! she said to herself, sarcastically.--

Nicely done!

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-08-05
Reviewid: 128979Chapter: 3
Poor Snape. I'm sorry, but I do feel sympathy for the poor chap. I do think it's a tribute to the way you understand Snape and portray both his pain and his denial. You have shown him as a very complex character with a heart (such as it is).

I also liked the reference to Catherine wanting to rescue the child. It's a very symbolic insight into her character. Somewhere in Snape is that same hurt, little boy which Catherine has tried to help (as a friend, of course) - and of course, the desire to rescue people is a crucial part of her character.

Remus' portrayal was also very symbolic. You showed him as figuratively and literally wounded and then juxtaposed two possible 'cures'. The Wolfsbane potion and Catherine. This was very clever (even if it was subconscious).

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2005-08-05
Reviewid: 128873Chapter: 8
"Why do you act this way? Why do you enjoy being cruel?"

It's about time someone asked him that!

Well, it's getting late, so I should probably stop before I can't even string a sentence together. But this chapter was very interesting- the different POVs were done very well, and helped with the mood. I especially like how Catherine uses her 'appearance' card. And, of course, Remus's thought about it...

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2005-08-05
Reviewid: 128871Chapter: 7
~She brushed her teeth, washed her face and combed her hair, wetting and fingering a few unruly tendrils into place.~

I'm a sucker for these kinds of details. Not only does it show something as normal as a morning routine, it also shows how Catherine doesn't have 'perfect features' just because she can use magic. Who hasn't had to do the old wet-and-style-again routine? ;)

I also wish I could have a breakfast like the one Catherine prepared. It sounds so lovely and delicious...! And 'Apparation Sickness' is just hysterical. It's interesting seeing how authors handled Apparition pre-HBP.

I like how you included Mme Pomfrey- how you made her care about Remus, and be a bit of a confidante to him. Now I'm curious about what's going to happen with Snape...

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2005-08-05
Reviewid: 128869Chapter: 6
I'm still reading! I just wanted to leave a quick review admiring the visuals your descriptions create. When it comes to Remus's transformations, I've seen many that are done in a way that it's agony just trying to slog through everything. Then again, I've seen some where the author won't even tackle that aspect of his life, because it's 'too difficult to write'. I think you portrayed the event spectacularly. Even the small things, such as word choice, can make all the difference- instead of the normal 'he wasn't quite a wolf yet', you said 'He was still recognizable as human at this point, still cognizant,' which is a lot more fun to read.

Reviewer: LumosDate: 2005-08-04
Reviewid: 128829Chapter: 19
Wow, that was wonderful!
Snape! I don't know if it's just the dislike from HBP, but you've got his character perfect in this story. All of his reactions were very canon and I loved the hints towards his ability to close off his mind and his feelings to others.
I know it can't work out in the end between Catherine and Remus but I'm so worried about their relationship right now. Why can't there be a "They lived happily ever after" for poor Remus?

I'm so glad you've decided to finish this fic, and I can't wait to read what happens next.

Lumos

Reviewer: PatriciaDate: 2005-08-04
Reviewid: 128773Chapter: 19
Good story, even though I don't generally read romances. Your Snape really needs to get a life! :)

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128682Chapter: 2
--He seemed unsure of what to say. He gave a half smile, and then just looked at her, almost as if he had a question. He saw the wind blowing her hair about her face. If Catherine could have read his mind at that moment, she would have known he had a sudden impulse to reach out and brush her hair away from her eyes.--

This is really an excellent little device. It deals nicely with the problems of your First Person POV (and the need or desire to also show what Lupin is thinking). I noticed that you did a similar think near the end of Chapter 1, when Catherine left the room. I actually wasn't perfectly sure about it there, although getting Catherine to leave was a clever way of not making it too jarring, but I liked the way you did it in this chapter better. The desire to switch POV mid-scene is something I definitely have issues with, so I'm enjoying watching how you deal with it.

Anyway, I really liked this chapter. You've established the key Snape thread very well, and I do think that you are handling a difficult character very well. I *do* feel sympathetic towards him. I like the way you provided an insight into his childhood, at the same time as building on Catherine's character - showing her compassion and her caring qualities.

The plot is so far very intriguing. It is just jarring enough from conventional Harry Potter, if that makes sense. It feels like HP from a different, more mature perspective. I feel very aware that POV is no longer that of a teenage boy, and that different issues will be explored, but just as competently. This makes the story very compelling.

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128679Chapter: 1
Wonderful first chapter with a very competent introduction of Catherine's character. There is plenty of what I'd call foreboding (I'm not sure whether that's the correct term), but basically you seem to have established or at least hinted at many of the threads you intend to take into the rest of your story.

Catherine's voice is compelling from the beginning and establishes a feeling of empathy and affection between her and the reader - which of course makes it a very enjoyable chapter. I also like the slow buildup. There was a wonderful sense of measured pace that seemed to match the characters. I hope that makes sense!

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128630Chapter: 19
Wonderful, moonette! Your Snape was snarky and acerbic. That nasty bit of meddling in the end was so in character. Bravo to Catherine for staying by her Remus!

Nice characterizations all around. Vivid description and action. Catherine's reactions to the baby and Remus' transformation in the dungeon were just heart-wrenching! You've done it again!

Looking forward more,
Eudora

Reviewer: GwenDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128596Chapter: 19
Catherine is a brave soul, insisting on staying the night like that! A strong, loving woman: just what Remus needs. Great job.

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2005-07-27
Reviewid: 128015Chapter: 5
I'd like to apologize again for how long it took me to keep going with this story and review. I assure you, it had nothing to do with disinterest! Even though the relationship isn't canon, this is still an excellent piece of writing (in my opinion), and I still find your depictions touching and real. Now, I had read this chapter earlier, and I can't say why I didn't review. I must've been short on time and didn't feel I could give a proper review, or something. Anyway, I'll do it now, because it's important to give ffedback. ;)

~*~

"He felt raw disappointment and suddenly felt like a monster. He wondered if he ever did really escape this feeling fully. He could push it back and try not to think of it, but each month it came roaring back and at times like now or at the office earlier, it threatened to overshadow him completely."

I think that's one of the best descriptions of Remus's inner 'termoil' when facing the werewolf I've seen. Your word choice, especially, recalls his condition; 'monster', 'roaring', 'overshadow'...it's all very sad, yet believable.

Also, this chapter shows how you're mastering fluff; so sweet, so melancholy, yet touching overall. Catherine is accepting, although she had to think things through, and Remus shows his insecure side. It's just lovely, and is inspiring to me as a new writer! Hanging around in the Fluff thread is helpful, too, but seeing it demonstrated during an actual story is great exposure. You seem to have captured the angst of the situation and balanced it with the tender moments; in a way, I would say it wasn't fluff, since that almost makes it sound understated.

I'm sorry I haven't really left any 'constructive criticism'- I'm soft like that. I thought it was an excellent chapter, so it's hard for me to tell you hw to 'improve' it- I like it the way it is! ;)

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126257Chapter: 18
Lovely! Loved the wedding night (both in preview and in the final version). Overall, this chapter had a nice contrast between the magic of the wedding night and the reality of their day to day life together. And I agree with Remus. Something's up with that Mr. Bailey. Can't wait to see what you have in store for us next.

Eudora

Reviewer: Helen HDate: 2005-07-04
Reviewid: 126044Chapter: 18
'...If this was what being married to a werewolf was going to be like then she had a strong feeling that she'd be kept quite busy with her wifely duties....'

And therein lies the bounteous appeal of the Shippable Mr Lupin! (said one Lupin fangirl to the other - I'm blushing now, oh dear!)

I wonder what you have in store for Remus and Catherine now, moonette. I love your Reverend - he is a gem of a character, and so beautifully original; it was time Remus and Catherine happened across a genuine 'good' soul, they have had such rotten luck so far. But I'm betting there are more unpleasant twists for them in the next chapters. I don't trust that Healer either. But perhaps Snape can come back and save the day? He needs a further chance to redeem himself.

Hey, and well done on transcribing the Scottish dialect, which is more than I would ever attempt. It reads beautifully though, and, far as I can tell, accurately.

Looking forward to the next instalment!

Helen

Reviewer: Grace has VictoryDate: 2005-07-04
Reviewid: 126035Chapter: 18
Dear moonette,

I have broken my resolve! After all that talk on the Fluff and Ratings threads about this fascinating chapter, I sneaked in ahead and read it anyway! And now I want to read the rest - but I'll restrain myself.

I agree that this is a PG-13 chapter. It was tastefully done, but I wouldn't encourage my daughter to read it. It was wonderfully atmospheric - the fire, the roses, the strawberries, the hot bath, the four-poster. The man is hungry, the woman wants to bathe ... I won't ask too many questions about the symbolism.

The part about the Healer was mysterious, given I haven't been following the plot ... but I can't wait to be free to read the rest. And it looks as if our main themes *haven't* overlapped too much, so I'll enjoy your story all the more.

Reviewer: KristineDate: 2005-07-03
Reviewid: 125944Chapter: 18
Nice Chapter! I've been waiting for it for a while. I'm liking where the story is going. There's something more to the healer....and I know the that trouble will soon find the newlyweds once again. It's only a matter of time. For now the peace and quiet is nice!

Reviewer: AccentDate: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125782Chapter: 18
Sweet...Well-written...keep up the excellent work!

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125749Chapter: 18
I've been enjoying the story immensely thus far, though I'm not sure if I've been keeping up with my reveiwing duties.

I thought with them getting married and consumating their marriage, that this story would be at an end. I am pleased to learn that this chapter seems to indicate that their story will continue.

I absolutely adored the image of Remus and Catherine riding a horse drawn carriage to the inn. That was just perfect, and fit in with the old fashionedness of the village and the surrounding area.

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2005-06-08
Reviewid: 123484Chapter: 4
Interesting how the 'werewol' instincts helped seek her out, when they were part of the reason she had ran in the first place! As much as I want to leave a good review right now, the desire to continue reading is stronger. So, a better one OUGHT to be coming...

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2005-06-08
Reviewid: 123483Chapter: 3
And here I got to see Severus's domineering personality. The contrast between him and Catherine was very good, and helped lead up to Severus kicking Catherine out. And his anger when learning that, not only was she 'in love', but involoved with a werewolf? Priceless!

However, your characterization still made me sympathise for Severus a bit. I was angry toward him as usual when his temper flaired, but then a soft spot was touched when it was told that he felt like he had lost her. Overall, another excellent chapter...

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2005-06-08
Reviewid: 123466Chapter: 2
I couldn't wait to read another chapter. I also wasn't let down. How interesting that you decided to include Severus- I can see how that alone can help spice things up. This is also one of the only times I've read a believable 'Snape's softer side' account. It makes sense to have the one person who seems to understand him be the person he grew up knowing. Other scenarios don't work very well, since it seems OOC for Severus to go pouring his heart out to someone he just barely met.

One particular thing that I really enjoy about Catherine's characterization is how, although she analyzes situations, she hasn't quite lost sleep over any yet. You've said that she could eventually no longer fight off sleep. I just seem to think that it makes her a truly original OC. It's great to have a changeup from the typical 'love at first sight- can't sleep a wink' scenario.

Sorry about the randomness of that. It seemed to make more sense before...well, either way, it was positive! ;)

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2005-06-08
Reviewid: 123464Chapter: 1
I've been saving this particular work for this summer, since I knew I would have more time to read it through. How could I not want to read it after all of the positive reviews from everyone about it? So, finally I read the fist chapter.

And I can tell it's going to be a favourite.

I normally shy away from OC fics, especially when it involves romance with one of my favourite characters. However, since I can already tell that Catherine is going to be very un-Mary Sue-ish, I feel safe and can't wait to see her character development.

Reviewer: PolkaDate: 2005-06-02
Reviewid: 123215Chapter: 17
Wow this was really good! I spent the entire night reading it, and it was worth it..you have a great talent for writing!

Reviewer: Mr Flying FingersDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122887Chapter: 17
What can I say that hasn't already been said? (thinly veiled reference to an earlier email...)

So, do we get to see them play house next? I'd think Remus would probably prefer more of a craftsman motif for the interior decoration whereas Catherine might be more French country...or Italian. Annnnddd...are they considering children? (*rolls eyes*)

Foolin' aside, nicely done!

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122866Chapter: 17
Oh, that's so sweet!

Reviewer: GwenDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122860Chapter: 17
Ahh... so lovely! If that was the ending - and I hope it wasn't - it was perfectly satisfying. Remus and Catherine deserve this happiness.

Reviewer: KristineDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122815Chapter: 17
Awesome chapter! I feel like I've been waiting forever for an update!! The chapel scene was very nice and special. I hope I have a beautiful wedding someday! I still have plenty of time for that though, lol. This chapter was a brighter one...keep up the good work!

Reviewer: OSUSprinksDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122785Chapter: 17
I love this story. My favorite line: "Don't let those eyes and those words muddle up your brain." I could feel her struggle. I love that they are ending happily. I hope this isn't the end. I feel so sad that her parents were tricked into acting the way they did, and I hope you work that out. Catherine sees good in Snape (and I'm trying), I hope he shows it by fixing this.

Reviewer: AlexDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122778Chapter: 17
Excuse me while I find my eyeballs...they popped out at that last line. Okay. WOW! I have to say that I was thrown for a loop on this chapter and was staring at the screen for a few minutes. I don't know what I was expecting, but it wasn't that. I should have seen it with the portkey putting them in a chapel. Brilliant bit of foreshadowing. <word that Cap'n Kathy hates>! Excellent job, once again!

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122759Chapter: 17
moonette ~

This was soooooooooooo worth the wait! Well, well done! I enjoyed every minute...and Snape...wow!

I can't believe they got married!!! Yeah!!!!

>>For it was then that they had looked into each other's eyes and she had seen the unabashed smile of her husband.<<

That was THE best line, evah!

~prplhez8

Reviewer: Sana JonDate: 2005-05-20
Reviewid: 122483Chapter: 16
Oooh, lovely, lovely stuff! I love how you portrayed Lupin.... So very IC (in character). :) Snape rocks after all! I knew it... He is also very true to book form.

Your stuff with McReedy is fascinating to me and very well-written, captivating... How he actually has some reason to feel the need to treat Remus that way. I feel terribly sorry for him then, but also McReedy... And grief will make you do irrepressibly crazy things (look at Harry in the fifth book...). I'm so glad he decided not to get rid of him! Yay!! :D

You're writing is continuously excellent/brilliant. Can't wait for more. ;) ;D

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2005-05-07
Reviewid: 121568Chapter: 16
Woohoo! Great drama and tension! Can't wait to hear the conversation among Catherine, Remus and Severus!

Reviewer: Chris OwensDate: 2005-05-01
Reviewid: 121153Chapter: 1
Hi I am planning on setting up a website, although i doubt I can make it as good as this one, I was wondering if you would be willing to put your story on it.(and any others you may have)

Reviewer: MrFlyingFingersDate: 2005-04-26
Reviewid: 120675Chapter: 16
As always, a thoughtful and longing look into Remus and Catherine's continuing love (not to be confused with her twin sister, _Christine_ *ahem*). Now they're on the run: her with her house against her, he with no friends. Where will they go?

I never trusted that McReedy (grumble newspaper reporters grumble) and now I know why.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2005-04-25
Reviewid: 120643Chapter: 16
well that was definatly a twist i didnt see coming good job and well written =)

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2005-04-25
Reviewid: 120625Chapter: 16
What a wonderful way to start the day!! (That would be a story from you...not Snape brooding..heehee)

What a suspenseful chapter! That Mr. McReedy...I'd like to give a swift kick to the hiney. And Snape...he makes it literally impossible to hate him alltogether. Of course, he helps rescue Remus...ARGH! His sense of wrong and right is so skewed at times and then he comes thru in a pinch!!!

Now Remus and Catherine...her devotion is wonderful! When she left home, I'm sure she was no sure of the consequences..but goodness knows I'd run away from home for Remus too...(heehee)

Another awesome chapter! Well, well done!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --