The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Called to Account
Review(s): 21

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-06-22
Reviewid: 124890Chapter: 3
Stepbrothers Series - Great works. I really liked them

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2005-05-20
Reviewid: 122512Chapter: 3
Wonderful ending. Tom's emotions are very real, and I'm glad you didn't make his father be suddenly completely happy with wizards and witches. He felt real, and I'm glad it ended this way rather than the canon!way. I wonder what Harry's point in life will be, though. No Voldemort to kill, that's for sure! ;-)

Is this the end of the series? Or are you going to write more of it later? If you want to reply, please do so by PM rather than in the author's note of a different story -- I might not see it there!

Thanks for writing this wonderful AU. I've enjoyed it.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2005-05-20
Reviewid: 122510Chapter: 1
Oh, what a cliffhanger! I have to write a small review before I go on, though.

After the funny, fluffy previous part, this is something very different. But you can write that well, too. I thought that you repeated Tom's thoughts one time too often, but you wrote them well, and the talk with Sharessa was great to read about and even brought some closure to the topic.

I'm glad Tom is thinking about this topic. It's very interesting, especially since I'm continually thinking about what he's going to do and how that differs from canon. We know the result of Tom seeking his father out in canon...

Hagrid's part in this chapter is also thrilling. It's lovely to see how he still visits Aragog (who's now waist-high! Wow!) and how he's so completely ignorant about how dangerous it could have been. Dumbledore's right that he needs to see reason and be punished (although Tom would need to, too, because he knew about it!) but I hope he's not going to expel Hagrid. It would be nice if things turned out just a little better for Hagrid in this AU, wouldn't it?

Reviewer: BarbDate: 2005-01-18
Reviewid: 111363Chapter: 3
Hey! Sorry for the late reveiw... I didn't have internet over the holidays and still don't as a matter of fact, but at least I get to be able to go while at school. Well, anyway, another great chapter, as always! Good job! Frankly, I wouldn't have been satisfied if Tom senior would have been a jerk. It would have been just strange. I much prefer how you guys did it. Really good job! Well, gotta go to class, but I really hope there'll be more! Bye!

Barb

Reviewer: Three Sickles ShortDate: 2005-01-16
Reviewid: 111130Chapter: 3
PK, I seem to be playing catch-up on your co-written serieses this week. (Is "serieses" even a word? It looks odd.) Here's another gem that I'd managed to miss so far. I used to be lukewarm at best about AU, but "Times Riddle" and "Stepbrothers" have gone a long way toward making me a believer. I love, love, love Tom and Hagrid (and Mary and Tavish, for that matter), and it's really nice, in a bittersweet sort of way, to see how much better their lives could have been with a few small differences. A decent childhood for Tom, a complete educational career for Hagrid, and the world changes. I'm looking forward to the rest of the series [and I confess to having hopes of seeing Minister Riddle eventually :-) ], and thanks again for some wonderful stories.

TSS

Reviewer: Barbara the Wallpaper-erDate: 2004-12-19
Reviewid: 108112Chapter: 3
I enjoy good AU. And this series is one of them. The profound changes in Tom Jr., him becoming a decent man, this "if only" you've created, is a delight.

Thank you!

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-12-18
Reviewid: 108021Chapter: 3
Thought I'd let you know that I'm practically shrieking with happiness on the inside...I can't tell you how much I *heart* this story.

-PQ

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2004-12-17
Reviewid: 107964Chapter: 3
Alright! I'm relieved Tom didn't go nuts the way he did in the actual TL.

Question though: Are we going to hear about or (maybe see) Grindelwald? 'dunno if you read my stuff (pardon the shameless plug), but I've hinted that many of the "worst of our kind" that Tom meets in the actual TL were ex-Grindelwald followers. I hope he gets to meet instead the heroes of that particular war (besides the obvious one in Dumbledore).

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-12-15
Reviewid: 107826Chapter: 3
excellent chapter loved how you wrote it

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-12-15
Reviewid: 107817Chapter: 3
"But we never --" Another sudden stop. "I suppose it doesn't matter."
-so, in JKRland he really is an evil bastard

"It was still a surprise that when I looked for her again she was gone."

Tom was rigid with shock. "You--you looked for her?"
-Excellent point! Never thought of that.

"I thought not, later. It would have had to be a very good one," his father replied, "as long as it lasted."
-Poor guy. You did an great job with elder Riddle.

Reviewer: SueDate: 2004-12-02
Reviewid: 106647Chapter: 1
You have a great way with dialogue. It flows really easily and believably. This is a great story.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106568Chapter: 2
spectacular LOVED IT what a great chapter and i loved how you had dumbledore punish hagrid it was great and i loved how Sharessa & Aragog face off that was great i loved how hagrid had to carry him that was so great. Thank you for not expelling hagrid and i must agree that i love how you have tom be curiouse about his father i have a friend who was adopted and she didnt know anything about her birth mom and she had alot of the same conflicts not everything is the same but alot of it is realistic i love how you are writing this =)

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106537Chapter: 2
He would've died!"
-He, not it. Your Hagrid seems spot on to me.

It occurred to him that was the first time he'd ever visited Professor Dumbledore without being offered a sweet.
-Nice touch

I'm always glad to see another installment in this series. You have the characters in character and your twist on Tom is entirely believable. I'm sure RaisedRight! Tom won't kill his birth father and only indulge in a slight bit of retaliation. I'm looking forward to their meeting. (By the way, I don't think Tom's biological father would qualify as a Friend of Hagrid.)

Reviewer: BarbDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106449Chapter: 2
Wel well well... Poor Aragog! That must have been so scary! Facing down it's worst fear like that. And the fact that he couldn't walk any further was actually quite cute... I'm sorry I don't write much this, just wanted to let you know I really enjoyed the upgrade, and now back to studying... I hate end of terms they stress me out so much!! Anyway, very good job and keep up the upgrades! Big kisses!

-Barb-

Reviewer: the silent speakerDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106429Chapter: 2
The cat who walks through walls wouldn't be a Heinlein reference by any chance, would it?

Reviewer: AdiDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106424Chapter: 2
Yup, still happy with the wonderings... *grin*

Loved the chapter. It was an extremely nice break in a very stressful day.

*grin* So Aragog gets to stay in this universe. I'm really glad. I kind of liked him, in spite of the whole "yeah, my children are hungry, so they're gonna eat you now. Ta ta!"

Speaking of Aragog's children, how did /that/ happen? I hope you explain at some point. It would be really fun to know.

I keep wondering how this one change will effect future generations... How far are you planning on taking the series?

Hmmm... that's all the questions I have now. Looking forward to the next chapter!

TTFN!
Adi

Reviewer: JessDate: 2004-11-29
Reviewid: 106285Chapter: 1
Woohoo!! I wasn't going to read the stepbrothers series, Tom and Hagrid, living under the same roof harmoniously??!!! i never thought it could work. But i've loved this!!! keep it up, its great!!! you've captured all the characters brilliantly. i love dumbledore, he's kind of cheeky. keep writing!!!

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-11-26
Reviewid: 106052Chapter: 1
i loved how you wrote this chapter very well done, I do hope that hagrid does not get expelled that would be so sad if he did the dumboldore we all know and love doesnt look highly on expelling students and he doesnt have the ministry bearing down on him because noone died like in the JK Version maybe they will relocate him like in book 2 when hagrid has norbert and as for tom i hope it all works out cant wait to find out what happens =)

Reviewer: AdiDate: 2004-11-25
Reviewid: 105984Chapter: 1
*sigh* I actually /don't/ procrastinate for a while, and look what all I missed! But it's Thanksgiving now. HURRAH!

I really enjoy this series. It's interesting to see what might have happened had Tom Riddle not gone insane and tried to exterminate all muggles and muggleborns...

I like Moira, though I'm apparently in good company with that. She seems to be very nice and understanding, which will be good for Tom, I think.

Oh! I like how you added in the possibility of Reubus being expelled. I wasn't sure that would actually occur, since Tom isn't gonna frame him for opening the chamber... He's not actually gonna be expelled, though, is he? *hopes not*

And here we have the usual adopted-child-wonders-about-his-birth mother/father/parents. It's perfectly logical that the Tom in your universe would wonder, and I applaud you for writing it so realistically. Hopefully, his father won't be the /complete/ j*rk we've come to despise...

Looking forward to the next chapter.

TTFN!
Adi

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2004-11-25
Reviewid: 105938Chapter: 1
Oh, a cliffhanger- you are horrible! I really like this new addition to the "Stepbrothers series"; Tom's character is becoming more developed as the story goes on. I particularly like it when Moira quotes her uncle-by-marriage on how she couldn't be thinking seriously about Tom because "He's a Slytherin! Moira, he's THE Slytherin!" Really well written- I look forward to reading more.

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: BarbDate: 2004-11-25
Reviewid: 105894Chapter: 1
Oh come on!!! You can't finish a chapter like that!!! That is so wrong! I mean what were you thinking!!! Anyways, I'm really looking forward to see how Tom Riddle Senior looks and is like really. It makes for a very interesting tangent to explore! Oh and I'm so sure Hagrid is not in so much trouble. I bet Dumbledore wants to help him get the most of his talent or something. Anyway, you have to hurry up for the next chapter because this is torture! Good job! Post soon!

Barb

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --