The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Unexpected Contact
Review(s): 25

Reviewer: TardisIsTheOnlyWayToTravelDate: 2007-06-01
Reviewid: 148163Chapter: 1
*screams and does the dance of the joyful fan*
Whoo! An update! I love you guys!
*calms slightly*
Seriously, I'm delighted. This is one of my favorite series ever.

Reviewer: MercuryBlueDate: 2006-12-26
Reviewid: 146617Chapter: 3
My God, they live!

Nothing else is written? Nothing at all? Wah.

No more SQ posts? Pity, that, but I do see your reasoning--and I've got you on author alert on fanfiction.net, so all is well. And I can see that bit about Tom's personality being thanks to Harry working out, and working very well. Who We Are kinda needed a rewrite anyway. It isn't fair to introduce something as big as Voldemort's daughter and then proceed to completely forget she exists.

Oh, you might want to know that I recommended this series to a friend, who blasted through it and proceeded to throw a minor temper tantrum at me because she loved the story and wanted more, but it didn't look like there'd be any. I'd forgotten she prefers her WIP stories not abandoned.

Reviewer: BarbDate: 2006-06-23
Reviewid: 143653Chapter: 4
Hey there! I just finished reading the series... (I had started before but never finished) I really like your writing style. As Alan said in one the his comments, it showed a bit that Who we are was a first, but the style improved dramatically since then. Pity your strories aren't longer and that this one is probably the last as you said. I was really enjoying it! Anyway, I'm really looking forward to the last chapter! Hope it's going to be posted soon! Enjoy editing it (I'm guessing it's already written since you said you posted earlier on the other sites)!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-06-23
Reviewid: 143626Chapter: 4
Got tired of waiting here. Found it, read, reviewed at FF Alley.
But thanks for finally posting here so others can have some enjoyment reading your work.

Reviewer: Pangalactic_WhamDate: 2006-06-14
Reviewid: 143429Chapter: 4
I went back and read this story all the way from the first. Amazing. i love the boa. Your representations of characters are brilliant!

Reviewer: RowDate: 2006-06-13
Reviewid: 143405Chapter: 1
Hey I never really review normally as I'm far too lazy but i just wanted to say that I really loved this series- I only discovered it when you updated and I was procrastinating about studying for uni exams- so thank you for the excuse!!!! Here's hoping you keep going- it's a really original idea and I've really enjoyed it so far

Reviewer: TarsieSDate: 2006-06-11
Reviewid: 143353Chapter: 3
Well, I just spent my evening reading this whole series from the beginning - and I love it! Great inclusion of certain cannon bits to keep it real ( although having the boa capture Sirius was priceless!). There is enough stuff on this site that is great that is so AU...personally, I don't think anyone cares, as long as it is creative with good writing and is advertised as AU.

Besides, Anything and everything outside of the 7 books is AU if you want to get particular.

Your concept behind the stories is fantastic and your treatment is first-rate. Please, keep going and post all that you have. I'll be keeping an eye on you.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-13
Reviewid: 141872Chapter: 2
That was an excellent finish to a WONDERFUL story. Thanks.
It would have been nice if the last three chapters had been posted on the Quill though.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-10
Reviewid: 141807Chapter: 2
TRS 7 - Unexpected Contact - 2of5S
Is there any way I can read the missing chapters?
Are they on a different site?

Reviewer: MercuryBlueDate: 2005-12-15
Reviewid: 137197Chapter: 2
Did HBP kill this story, or is it coming back? Seeing as it was AU to start with, not to mention excellent, I think killing it is a very bad idea.

Reviewer: MercuryBlueDate: 2005-09-12
Reviewid: 132386Chapter: 2
Wondering if you're ever planning on bringing this story back...it's too good to forget.

Reviewer: Three Sickles ShortDate: 2005-01-13
Reviewid: 110810Chapter: 2
I am officially in love with this series. I'd somehow missed it (shame on me) until last night, and now I've read the whole thing in basically two sittings. Wonderful, wonderful stuff. Tom is such a sweetie. I particularly like the idea that Slytherin didn't always have such dismal relations with the other Houses; watching Tom try to change the dynamic back to the way it used to be is loads of fun. Thanks for a wonderful series, and good luck with the next chapter.

TSS

Reviewer: Evelyn SingerDate: 2005-01-03
Reviewid: 109603Chapter: 2
I read all these stories at one sitting. It took me a while, but I didn;t even notice it was half past one in the morning until I got to the end of this chapter. (And then I sneaked over to fictionalley to finish it off, heh)

This is fabulous. The ideas are so original, the characters and OCs' well fleshed out and realistic and the writing crisp, non-waffly and descriptive without being flowery. Your Snape, Ginny, Colin and Peony are joys to read. I have slight reservations about how quickly Tom acclimatized, but the sheer joy of reading the alternate Sirius timeline has mostly washed that away.

Bravo. Well done. Please write more. Lots more?

Reviewer: Myster WebDate: 2004-12-30
Reviewid: 109261Chapter: 2
"There is nothing sensible about climbing aboard a giant man-eating sentient spider with poisonous hair.

Oog. I'd forgotten about that. Good chapter. I can't wait to find out what happens when Rita gets caught.

Reviewer: the silent speakerDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108361Chapter: 2
Silver salts for a photographic potion is a nice touch.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108346Chapter: 2
Poor Ginny... I couldn't help but admire her composure after Tom put out her flaming hair! The friendship between Tom and Ginny continues to delight me, their banter about house points was especially fun. Another highlight of this chapter is your Colin. He handles Snape most deftly, you show his intelligence and insight so well! I also liked the way Snape was written... snarky and sarcastic, but not unfair.

Reviewer: RobertDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108339Chapter: 2
Excellent work as always... I continue to enjoy and EAGERLY look forward to each chapter in this, and the "Step Brother" stories... Very good capture of the tone of the characters... and it's nice to see Snape being at least REASONABLE for once. :-)

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2004-12-18
Reviewid: 108049Chapter: 1
"Tom waited until Malfoy's wheezing began to sound as if he might be about to speak, then remarked blandly, "I'm still a little disturbed that Potions and Care of Magical Creatures bring romance to mind for you, but I suppose the state of your love life really isn't any of my business."

Wonderful!! That line made me laugh and nearly spit coffee all over my keyboard! I love Tom's wry, funny sense of humor. (The wry, dry humor is a trait he retains even in his 'other' life as Lord Voldemort. It's a joy to see how beautifully you write this aspect of Tom.)

Poor Ginny. I hope Molly and Arthur's reactions won't be as bad as she worries they'll be.

Peony is a treasure. It's always wonderful to see more of her.

I'm delighted to see this chapter up! The mix-up in chapters gave me the opportunity to start reading your "Stepbrothers" series, which I think is absolutely brilliant!

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-12-07
Reviewid: 107132Chapter: 1
*shivers* No! Not Hagrid!

-PQ

Reviewer: MercuryBlueDate: 2004-12-07
Reviewid: 107095Chapter: 1
This is a good story, but I think you posted it with the wrong title.

Reviewer: Persephone_KoreDate: 2004-12-02
Reviewid: 106654Chapter: 1
Sorry, everyone -- I uploaded the wrong file, as you all seem to have noticed. I can't fix it for about another week and hope you'll come back and comment on the real chapter when it's up.

Reviewer: ErisDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106561Chapter: 1
Um, I don't know if you noticed, but this was posted as part of the Time's Riddle, when it doesn't seem to be. Not that I -mind- reading more Stepbrothers, but...I've been hoping you'd update TR for quite awhile. Is this the wrong chapter, or the wrong label? *looks hopeful*

Reviewer: mirldaDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106482Chapter: 1
I think you uploaded the wrong chapter. This is from your Tom and Rubeus story, not your Tom and Ginny story. And I got my hopes up... :]

Reviewer: martDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106459Chapter: 1
err....wrong series?
damn...just wanted to know what ginny wasn't planning to procastinate about.

Reviewer: ElshaDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106458Chapter: 1
Er...I was looking forward to reading another Time's Riddle chapter, but there seems to have been a slight mix-up. This is the first chapter of Called to Account.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --