The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Just Being You
Review(s): 27

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-12-18
Reviewid: 146487Chapter: 3
More Please.

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-04-13
Reviewid: 119482Chapter: 3
I don't comment on a story until I have finished it. (but so far, so good) This note is for swapping spit - Your dance teacher did not invent it. It was common slang in the '60s and is actually even older.

Reviewer: AlishaDate: 2005-04-11
Reviewid: 119200Chapter: 2
This was fabulous! I should have read and reviewed long ago. I'm sorry that I haven't, as I was really missing out.

I think you got Ginny's thoughts, or at least the thoughts I would have if I were Ginny, spot on. I wish I could be more critical or helpful, but all I have are wows!

Congratulations!

Reviewer: reenieDate: 2005-04-11
Reviewid: 119199Chapter: 2
I love it you've stuck close to what i imagine cannon would be for Ginny if we got more personal views from JK Rowling on the other charicters. Good luck with finals and such teaching during those as i've seen with a good friend of mine can be both hectic and a good time to write (during proctering the exams) please keep sharing your view of the potterverse

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2005-04-09
Reviewid: 119091Chapter: 3
Well, I'm glad to have stumbled across this. I haven't had a lot of time to read fanfiction lately (school, etc...), and was hoping to find a fun, somewhat quick, yet worth my time piece. What you have here is an excellent idea on how to show insight in to the minds of the students...believably. I love how you slip in some 'Muggle' literature, and how you perfectly describe the process writing such an essay requires. I can't count how many times I've waited till the last moment to write something personal because of the difficulty it takes to expose myself. I especially felt for Ginny. I can't wait for more essays! (I never thought I would be saying that...)

Reviewer: SacBeagleDate: 2005-04-06
Reviewid: 118878Chapter: 3
This story is brilliant. I am flabbergasted that I had not found it sooner. Ginny's chapter was quite good, but I really enjoyed Ernie's. His "discovery" of Hannah as a girl was just precious. Looking forward to more!

But I really had to identify with your prologue - I'm a teacher, too. And even after 15 years in the classroom, that "pit in your stomach" feeling that bubbles up when you look out onto the sea of new faces comes back at the beginning of every new school year! I'm going to print it out and pass it around the lunch table in the staff room tomorrow!

Reviewer: kateydidntDate: 2005-04-05
Reviewid: 118760Chapter: 3
You updates! *claps* Great chapter. I wonder though just what Harry will write. (Oh I *do* hope you write his eventually.) Draco's would be interesting too. I love this story.

Reviewer: Writer in DisguiseDate: 2005-01-02
Reviewid: 109536Chapter: 2
Wow, that's really good! Funny, i always thought that 'Ginny' was short for 'Virginia', but i guess it doesn't really matter. Please add more to this story-i want to read it.

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2004-12-26
Reviewid: 108613Chapter: 2
I can't wait to see other character's being done, namely Harry. You've done a great job with Ginny, as well!

Reviewer: DragonOfSongDate: 2004-12-24
Reviewid: 108543Chapter: 2
Ginevra?!?!?!

Reviewer: MirldaDate: 2004-12-24
Reviewid: 108512Chapter: 2
Great job! Are you really going to update Retrospection? Because that is one of my favorite stories and I'm eager to read more! Plus, I go to school at BYU, so I know all of the places in Salt Lake City and Provo that you mentioned. I enjoy reading something from Ginny's perspective. I can imagine that what you wrote is similar to what she actually feels--er--what J.K. thinks that she actually feels. Anyway, keep writing--both this story and Retrospection!

Reviewer: AbhyaDate: 2004-12-24
Reviewid: 108500Chapter: 2
I just found this story today, and I really enjoy the originality in it. I love how you add the cross-outs of Voldemort, and Ginny's true feeling. You truly bring out who she is, in showing that she truly hasn't escaped the events of her first year, even though she pretends that she has to everyone else.

I also am interested in interaction between Professor Blake and her students. I know this story is about the actual essays the students write for her, but I hope you could bring a classroom scene in later on. Just a suggestion!

Reviewer: MollieDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108480Chapter: 2
Your a teacher? I've wanted to be a teacher since I was about 3 and knew what a teacher *was*. This is a really interesting fic. Who are we going to read about other than Ginny? I mean, Ron, Harry, and Hermione aren't in Muggle Studies (I'm assuming that's what class it is, even though it was Remus, a former DADA teacher, who was writing to her)

Reviewer: KelleyDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108408Chapter: 2
This is touching. I hoped Harry might glance over Ginny's shoulder. So when are you going to give us the rest of Professor Blake's story?

Reviewer: emilyDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108399Chapter: 2
Awesome, loved it!

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108397Chapter: 2
This is the first piece I have ever read that actually captures what I consider to be the essence, personality and voice of Ginny.

Thank you.

Reviewer: kateydidntDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108394Chapter: 2
Ohh! I really like this so far! I look forward to more.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108390Chapter: 2
Cute! I love how you write Ginny. Of course, you're the real life Ginny, looks and all. It's a pleasure to know you. :D

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108384Chapter: 2
I really like Ginny's essay. I think you captured the true essence of Ginny.

Reviewer: HamsiniDate: 2004-12-06
Reviewid: 107024Chapter: 1
You're phenomenal. You're writting just totally mesmerised me. I'am always talking about changing the world too, and I think you can just gave me an entire new career option to ponder over!Youre amazing!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-12-05
Reviewid: 106901Chapter: 1
Yes! That's exactly how a first day teacher feels. You've hit it spot-on!

And I didn't think I could love Remus anymore, but that letter...*sighs dreamily*

Reviewer: AnnetteDate: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106786Chapter: 1
I enjoyed this. Though it was quite short, it sounds interesting and I am looking forward to more. It will be nice to see how her first day in class goes. And I hope we hear more from RJL.

Reviewer: tigermouseDate: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106750Chapter: 1
How spiffy! I want to see where this one goes! Excellent prologue, and in-character Remus - never a feat to be sneered at. Now I want to know what her first name (other than 'professor' :P) is!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-12-02
Reviewid: 106672Chapter: 1
I love the personal touch that this has -- I'm sure your own profession has given you many of these same feelings. :)

>>Given fifteen minutes, she probably would have completely emptied her office and quarters, and been on the road back to Hogsmeade.<<

LOL! Haven't we all felt that urge to flee from a daunting situation?

I spotted a few typos ("feel to the floor" instead of "fell", and "disciplinary" where I think you meant "disciplinarian"), but this is a fun beginning and I look forward to seeing just what the students' "assignment" will be. Remus' letter was another nice bit. Well done!

~Katinka :)

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2004-12-02
Reviewid: 106660Chapter: 1
Teaching getting to you dear? Been there, know that fealing. I got excited when I saw your name, but alas, it was not Retrospection.

Found a typo for you...Em to busy to check, eh? <i>A few would sigh and roll their eyes as the counted off the days until the summer holiday.</i> As <i>they?</i> counted off the days?

Also, wouldn't they fly the paper air plane? This is Hogwarts after all. Give everyone a hug and a hello for me. Hope to see you in Oct. in Salem.

Lou

Reviewer: Cheesy MonkeyDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106592Chapter: 1
I'm in a rush, so I'll keep this short.
More. *laugh* -Cheesy M.

Reviewer: Mrs's Norris's MouseDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106403Chapter: 1
Thank you, a good start I will enjoy reading the rest by the looks of it.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --