The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: A Knock at the Door
Review(s): 34

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2005-08-11
Reviewid: 129644Chapter: 1
You manipulative SQ PR agent. (Meehee) You *claim* that you're not trying to guilt-trip me into reading your fics. Pfft! As soon as you oh so sneakily told me that there were a few more S/A AUs that I hadn't read, do you think I could pass on catching up on HP SQ reading? Kat SQ PR Agent #1! Moo ha ha! :)

But, er, on a more review-y note: you are indeed the Queen of All That is Short, Sweet, Light-hearted, and Fluffy. Queen ATSSLF for short! (Woo!) This fic had me smiling the whole way through. I loved the entire interaction between Abby, Mr. Loomis, and Snuffles. It's all so light-hearted and humorous. I also liked how you characterized Mr. Loomis. Another OC, eh? Precisely which OC now is it being tormented? Abby, or the confounded Mr. Loomis? (LOL.) Mr. Loomis is loveable as a sort of jovial, witty character. Almost reminds me of Lockhart. (God forbid!) I'm surprised, actually, by how much levity he has, considering he's been away for so long.

I love Sirius-Abby interactions. They are so cute.

*mwah*

Reviewer: Frankie bDate: 2005-04-27
Reviewid: 120811Chapter: 1
And it's the fact that you write this silly fluff so well that we keep coming back and reading it. :-D Wonderful stuff, as always Katinka. The subtlety of this story, the complexity of the characters and their motivations and how you hid them, the double entendres, everything is just wonderful.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-03-11
Reviewid: 116188Chapter: 1
*Sigh* Don't ever, ever, stop writing Abby/Sirius stories. This was such a delightful pick me up. Poor Abby though; her romantic evening ruined! Parents do have a way of doing that, don't they? I loved how you captured Abby's impatience in the beginning. I could feel my own heart pounding! At first I thought this was going to be their wedding reception but then there was this:

[Standing with Sirius in the Forbidden Forest, surrounded by the hush of a late summer evening, an enchanted parchment held between them…his voice, brimming with emotion, speaking words of love, of promise…the ink on the parchment beginning to glow, signifying a pact sealed, lives bound together…
And then soon after, facing a small cottage in Cornwall…feeling Sirius close behind her, one hand curving possessively around her hip, the other moving aside the hair at the base of her neck…a husky whisper in her ear, inviting her to open the door…his mouth on her skin…]

I got goosebumps and the hair on the back of my neck stood up. Perfect proof that less is more, a little mystery is good and just a glimpse or a hint is enough to leave an audience begging for more! Sigh. Keep on writing in AU!

Reviewer: OSUSprinksDate: 2005-01-12
Reviewid: 110681Chapter: 1
Interwoven and all the stories that have come from it's universe are wonderful. Not that you haven't heard that a million times, but truly they are. Abby is my favorite fanfic character. She and Sirius are perfect. And I can't wait for more! From time to time I go back and read Interwoven just to remind myself what good fanfic looks like. Thank you.

Reviewer: Dulcis caelumDate: 2004-12-27
Reviewid: 108727Chapter: 1
Please write the story. I live for Abby Loomis. It's not often that original characters are done right. Abby is my favorite oc, ever, in the history of fanfiction. hehe. Happy christmas.

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2004-12-15
Reviewid: 107878Chapter: 1
No need to apologize for fluff. I adore your stories, and I'm sure I'm not the only one who appreciates a beam of fuzzy yellow light in the midst of all the HP angst.

Reviewer: EurydiceDate: 2004-12-14
Reviewid: 107739Chapter: 1
Gosh! I pick a story at random, and it's a really good one! I heartily enjoyed this; you're an excellent writer. Keep it up. Abby is adorable, and her father is fun and boisterous. As for Snuffles... hee. Perfect.

Reviewer: HalcyonDate: 2004-12-12
Reviewid: 107608Chapter: 1
Oooh, lovely. I'm so glad you've decided to keep on writing in AU. Can't wait for the next story!

Reviewer: TapestryDate: 2004-12-08
Reviewid: 107154Chapter: 1
Ah! You put up an Abby piece and didn't tell us! Shame on you. I'm just glad I stumbled across it :) I loved this. I really do love your Sirius better than any I've read and Abby remains one of my favorite OCs ever. She has such personality! This was a wonderful treat - thanks for sharing it! And I don't care if it is AU - you keep writing Abby and Sirius and I'll keep reading!

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-12-07
Reviewid: 107133Chapter: 1
Highly amusing bit of fluff!

*awwws*

-PQ

Reviewer: katemaryDate: 2004-12-07
Reviewid: 107123Chapter: 1
Ah, gorgeous. I love it. Wish it was a bit longer with more Anna/Sirius fluff, but oh well. I love Abby and Sirius together. You must write more! It's fantastic.

Reviewer: JenDate: 2004-12-07
Reviewid: 107084Chapter: 1
"...which is why you get this silly fluff instead."

Well, we LOVE the fluff! It's so nice to hear more about Abby and Sirius. I'd love to read more about the actual ceremony, so let me know when you've got it ready. Great job!

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2004-12-07
Reviewid: 107077Chapter: 1
LOL!!! This is too great ... I hope there's a continuation to this! That's my only criticism -- it ends in an odd place for a one-shot, sort of a cliffhanger.

As always though, great work. I still cheer when I see your name on the update list. May the Interwoven AU never die! :-D

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2004-12-05
Reviewid: 106974Chapter: 1
I love your romantic trips to the interwoven a u, I promise to read and review them all if you promise to write more ;) Hooray for snuffles!

Reviewer: Miss E BennettDate: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106797Chapter: 1
Yes, but somehow your silly fluff is as entertaining as the depressing stuff (but in a completely different way). Don't ever change.

I wish you were canon, instead of Jo, sometimes.

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106762Chapter: 1
Even after reading this for the third time, I still love it. You ROX!

Reviewer: Grace has VictoryDate: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106743Chapter: 1
I laughed all through this. I think you hit off Sirius exactly right, and I hope you produce the other stories soon.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-12-02
Reviewid: 106650Chapter: 1
hey didcha read book five al teh way throw???? doncha kno taht serius iz ded????? u r sooo in de nile!!!!!

Hee hee...

Loved it. Please keep writing in this wonderful Loomisverse that you've created, if you feel so inclined. See how many people want this wonderful writing?

Thanks again for giving me a preview. I feel so speshul! :D

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2004-12-02
Reviewid: 106634Chapter: 1
Don't you worry about all of that serious-Sirius stuff. We like this little diversion from canon, fluff and all!

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2004-12-02
Reviewid: 106623Chapter: 1
It was nice and charming. And I don't think you're in denial at all, just having fun.

Catherine

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106566Chapter: 1
"I just prefer not to write that depressing stuff, which is why you get this silly fluff instead."

But it is such wonderful, happy, beautifully written fluff!! WE know that there is an AU where Sirius has a Life and a love !!!

Well done as usual, and I hope to see that scene in the cottage some day ... (hint!)

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106557Chapter: 1
*HOORA* for the silly fluff stuff =) I love it all of it and all your stories i hope you write more cause i love to read it and i dont really want to accept that sirius died in the 5th book so i love stories that have him still alive and well i was almost scared to read this story because i thought you might have the knock at the door be remus or someone from the order telling her that sirius died but then i read it and was so happy to find out that he is alive and well stil in your stories *WOOT* =)

Reviewer: KaretDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106535Chapter: 1
*sigh* I come looking for introspection and real depth, and instead I am bombarded with _fluff_ and _jokes_. Don't you know the world is an evil evil place?

Also, I really, really love Abby, and this is a great story (: You're so talented.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106517Chapter: 1
It's always a pleasure to see Abby and Sirius! And this is wonderful fluff! Poor Abby... nothing seems to work out in quite the way that she expects. But I think that Hollister and Sirius got along very well and seemed to understand one another perfectly.

Please write the story of how Abby got her hands on the enchanged marriage parchment!

Reviewer: trina-kDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106516Chapter: 1
oh damn. now i miss him more than ever.

Reviewer: shiningstarDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106491Chapter: 1
Hey, keep coming with the silly fluff. I love it! This was a great piece. I love the AU you've created.

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106473Chapter: 1
Oh boy, I have a feeling that most of us would rather our dads have met our boyfriends this way!! This is a delight. The silent understanding between Abby and Sirius/Snuffles put a real smile on my face. You have a knack for making less into more with respect to romance. I loved it!

Reviewer: ZenDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106467Chapter: 1
Ah, another lovely fic. How I adore the Interwoven universe...*sighs wistfully*

Nice job, once again. Keep 'em coming!

~Zen

Reviewer: KelleyDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106465Chapter: 1
magnifique! When is the parchment story due?

Reviewer: ElshaDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106455Chapter: 1
I don't care if Sirius is more depressed in the "real" HP universe. I like your Sirius better. I like fluff. And I definitely like the fact that you're not letting little problems like being AU stand in your way. :D

I always wondered if Abby's father was going to show up at an inconvenient time one day. It seemed like one of those disasters waiting to happen, although obviously it was just averted here, with your usual ironic humour. As always, this was wonderful. I should say more, but, really, that's all there is to it.

Reviewer: Plum BlossomsDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106426Chapter: 1
Yeah!!! ^__^ I love your fics, especially the one about Sirius/Abigail, I read over at Fiction Alley, and was searching through Sugar quill when I stumbled upon this. Awesome job!

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106423Chapter: 1
Sigh...keep writing the silly fluff, Katinka...we'll keep reading it, I promise you. :)

This is another wonderful glimpse at Abby's life. I love your descriptions in the opening paragraphs, including the bit about the horrible timer (Don’t let the git forget! - BWAH HA HA!!!) and Abby's frustration with her lack of cooking skill.

As usual, the interaction between Abby & 'Snuffles' was just fabulous - their relationship is so playful that you can't help falling in love with the two of them every time you read something new.

Thanks for giving us another great story!

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106418Chapter: 1
Heheheheh., This amused me to beta, and it amuses me still. Yay!

Reviewer: PelirrojaDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106405Chapter: 1
" just prefer not to write that depressing stuff, which is why you get this silly fluff instead."

True, but your "silly fluff" is so much more readable than any other story written from a corner of denialville. It's always nice to imagine Sirius cuddling by a fire with Abby than what happened in book 5.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --