The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Brown Penny
Review(s): 29

Reviewer: theleprachaun8mysoxDate: 2006-02-25
Reviewid: 140278Chapter: 1
That was great. I love their "inner voices"! Very sweet and funny fluff. I would totally go out with a guy who read a love poem for me.

Reviewer: kim kikimDate: 2006-01-07
Reviewid: 138129Chapter: 1
very good

Reviewer: Zia MontroseDate: 2005-12-21
Reviewid: 137535Chapter: 1
I really love this story. I've reread it several times. I like the way James gets nervous, because although he's often described as cocky, to me, he was clearly a bit unsure of himself around Lily in the pensieve scene. Will you be writing anything else in the near future? Some of my favorite lines from your story:
They had been at this moment too many times to count over the last few weeks. They had been right here. Just right here.

You were just playing with him, dearie. He does love a good game. After all, he is a Quidditch player

Lily, honey, you love the way he walks into a room and his eyes always seek you out first thing.

Yeah, that’ll fool her Potter.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-19
Reviewid: 137376Chapter: 1
Quite Good. Thanks

Reviewer: ttaDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134162Chapter: 1
Ooooh this was wonderful! You nailed both characters and the Marauders interaction perfectly!

Reviewer: Tash..Date: 2005-06-09
Reviewid: 123526Chapter: 1
I've heard that poem before and I've always liked it. You've mad eme positively LOVE it! Thanks for a beautiful fic.

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-06-01
Reviewid: 123188Chapter: 1
You really do write with an amazing amount of emotion! I love the 'perfectly imperfect' description of Lily that you captured. I also rather like Professor O'Connor, especially his red hair! The marauder dynamic was, unsurprisingly, pretty perfect. Sirius/Lupin banter is always fun! And, I love the inner dialogue. It is very well done and adds an extra level to the story at the same time as providing some good humour and an insight into Lily.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-05-26
Reviewid: 122744Chapter: 1
[Truly only one place left to look. Madam Pince’s disapproving glare was dismissed quickly as he arrived at the library.]

I liked that line. People always seem to forget that the boys were good students. In so many other fanfics you'd never know it because the boys never go to the library! I also liked the bit about Madam Pince's disapproving look. I'm sure those 4 gave her a hard time over the years!

[James checked the seat just in case. You never could tell what Padfoot would do for attention.] Haha!

[At the top was a perfect copper penny. The note read:]

Oh, I like that. Very sweet. Nice way of tying up the story. Some of the internal dialogue slows down the pacing near the end, but this was a clever way of explaining how James and Lily got together. Very cute.

Reviewer: redlightspecialDate: 2005-04-14
Reviewid: 119633Chapter: 1
The alternating POV works so well here, and you do such a wonderful job weaving in between the two.

Bringing up the image of Lily comparing James' eye to the brown penny was a smart bit of continuity, which strengthened James' selection of that poem.

Nice job!

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-04-14
Reviewid: 119628Chapter: 1
A delightful one-shot! I really liked how you did alternating point of view and that you were free with letting us know their thoughts! I liked how you developed the tension with the "almost" kiss and the growing awareness between them.

The first kiss was lovely - and I really like how you had James ask her for her permission. So sweet.

And of course, I love Yeats - so it was great to see his beautiful words connect with the HP world. Thanks for sharing with the fluff thread too, btw. Not everyone is that brave!

Reviewer: AlexDate: 2005-03-02
Reviewid: 115258Chapter: 1
*le sigh* The one thing I love as much as a good Remus romantic fic is a good L/J fic. Yeah, I'm definitely more of a romantic than I am willing to admit. May I swoon now? Okay? Good. *swoons* Very lovely story. And funny, too. I loved the inner voices. Just when I needed a good laugh, too.

Cheers!
Alex

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2005-02-26
Reviewid: 115043Chapter: 1
I've known you were and author here, and have been meaning to check you out. Unfortunately, I'm rather busy most of the time- but I'm glad I took the time to read this.

I adore well written Lily and James fics, but they are few and far between. I'd have to say this is possibly one of, if not my favorite one I've read in a very long time. The characters were so natural, and the writing flowed smoothly. I especially like your Remus- you could give Dorkorific and Lady Jaida over at The Shoebox Project a run for there money in the romance and characterization department. I can't really compare, however, because you both are in different categories. SBP is a wonderful, humorous, long running fanfiction. What you have is what should be the more romantic, real life dialogue. (Not that I don't like SPB, quite the contrary, but if I ever met someone as witty as their characterizations...so help me, I would faint!)

Since I can't express my love of this (and one of my favorite poems...Yeats...ah...LOVELY!), I'll end with a poem that seems to fit this piece of fiction quite well. I give you 'If There Be Sorrow', by Mari Evans:

If there be sorrow
let it be
for things undone
undreamed
unrealized
unattained
to these add one:
love withheld
restrained

Reviewer: PepperlandDate: 2005-02-26
Reviewid: 115007Chapter: 1
I didn't even know you wrote, prplhez! You need to self-promote more.

I adore that poem. The story is loverly, I think my favourite line is -[i] "How did you fare, James?" Remus questioned.

"Moony, you arse, look at him. Can’t you tell how he ‘fared’?" Sirius noted (...)

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-02-10
Reviewid: 113387Chapter: 1
Awesome story! Very cute and romantic- I loved the poem, it suits James very much. And I liked Lily's inner voice- for some reason I always imagined it talking in an irish accent. And some of Lily's responses to it.
<Well that just proves…completely missed the point…>
LOL! That seems to be a red- head thing doesn't it ;)
Very amusing, lovely story. Keep writing!

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2005-02-10
Reviewid: 113341Chapter: 1
Heather, what rock have we been hiding under, that we didn't even realize you had an author's page here??? **note to selves: start reading fanfiction again.**

This is just beautiful! There's such chemistry between J & L, and the Yeats poem...we always wondered where your sig line came from. ivy even bought a book of Yeats to try & find it. Now we know! And we have a new favorite poem.

Delicious story!

Reviewer: millyDate: 2005-02-10
Reviewid: 113306Chapter: 1
how romantic and sweet!
I must say I was really pleased at your choice of poetry. Yeah, I'm a big fan of yeats.
To sum it up in two words: Loved it!
A wonderful blend of humor and romance.
fav quote: "But, soft! What light through yonder window breaks? It is the east and Liliet is the sun? Then Lily says Jameseo oh, Jameseo where for art thou Jameseo?"

Reviewer: marmotte juteuseDate: 2005-01-30
Reviewid: 112498Chapter: 1
this is wierd cause I read this poem today just like that, and then, I find this story, its like...destiny

Reviewer: KatjaDate: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106802Chapter: 1
I was completely squee-ing the whole way through - but somehow it wasn't fake at all. It seemed like something James would do. Thank you for writing this!!

Reviewer: grover53Date: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106785Chapter: 1
Beautifully written! I love the very last line. Thanks for making me smile and swoon today. It's perfect.

Reviewer: TraceyDate: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106752Chapter: 1
Very cute and sweet. It's enough to brighten anyone's day, no matter what. :D

Reviewer: azure_eyezDate: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106749Chapter: 1
i LOVED this story!!! i'm normally not a James-Lily fan, but this one was really nice! and i loved the usage of Ron's line from GoF!!!

Reviewer: GinDate: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106725Chapter: 1
Wonderful!
Well that just proves…completely missed the point…
Heehehehe.
Excellent interaction between James and Lily. I enjoyed reading this =D

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-12-02
Reviewid: 106670Chapter: 1
Oh How Romantic =)

Reviewer: ellaDate: 2004-12-02
Reviewid: 106663Chapter: 1
This just made my day. *melts*

Reviewer: MaartjeDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106576Chapter: 1
Gaaaahhh... How perfect. I absolutely adore that poem, you know. I just keep wanting to quote from your story!

>"Yeats. Excellent selection, Potter. Makes women swoon." <
Just picture her saying that all 'Have a biscuit, Potter.' - so very funny!

I like how James picked out an Irish poet (as Shakespeare is too obvious and I'm convinced Lily has some Irish blood - but this isn't theory time). I've thought a lot about Lily and this really seems how she would be about James.
So, because all reviews must end, I'll finish with just telling you it was great.

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106492Chapter: 1
Hello, Sugar! I'm glad this is finally up! I've been wanting to read James/Lily fic and yours came 'round at just the right time! A lily for Lily on her birthday! James, that dog!

Reviewer: Purple Eyed WeasleyDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106477Chapter: 1
That was really sweet. Good job.

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106460Chapter: 1
Aah! Swoon and sigh! How lovely was that?? I loved Lily's inner voice and how you captured a youthful vulnerability in James. You were able to show the uncertainty of their young age but also a sense of something mature growing between them. The Yeats was perfect. Beautifully done.

Reviewer: ChristaDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106451Chapter: 1
So sweet...

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --