The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 53

Reviewer: Sagacious CDate: 2005-12-01
Reviewid: 136638Chapter: 5
This is great! You really got into Regulus' head -- I feel like I know him now. VERY compelling psychological piece. I love how you show the indoctrination the Black parents imposed on Sirius and Regulus -- the Jacinda / Cinderella story was very clever. I'm off to read the sequels...

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2005-03-21
Reviewid: 117352Chapter: 5
Aargh, I'm stupid. Of course, Regulus didn't know yet the name of this Ronnie. So he just sent those owls to the only family of which he knew they were blasted off the tapestry. But I still think it's rather odd to write "Ronnie's dead" instead of something like "Ronnie is in danger" or "Ronnie will be killed".

Anyway, I love this chapter. It's nice to know that it was Sirius who made Regulus back out, even if that meant he was killed. The brotherly love you describe throughout the story is very interesting and wonderful. And sad, but I think I've said that before. ;-)

Great story! I'm very glad that I've finally found time to read it!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2005-03-21
Reviewid: 117350Chapter: 4
Brilliant. You tie all these things up so nicely! So Regulus sent this owl to the Weasleys even before he killed Ronnie? But why? Why does he think it will save them?

It's sad that Sirius is convinced that his parents only like Regulus, while Regulus is mad at Sirius for getting all the attention (even though it's not positive attention). Poor boys.

It's clear from the next part of the chapter that Sirius still loves Regulus. He's really devastated that his brother chose to be a Death Eater. And Regulus is still devastated that Sirius left. *sniff* It's really sad.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2005-03-21
Reviewid: 117349Chapter: 3
Another great chapter! Less action and more characterisation and memories; I love the variation.

I love to read about Sirius being different after his first year and still spending time with Regulus. They must have loved each other so much, despite their different beliefs. It's sad, really. And I'm afraid this story is going to end with Regulus dying, so that's even more sad.

Yes, I think you're right that Mrs Black went mad because of losing her sons. It must have been a really hard blow to lose Sirius, and then Regulus did go the right way (from her point of view) and still died.

I'm off to the next chapter.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2005-03-21
Reviewid: 117348Chapter: 2
A very different chapter, but at least as interesting! Finally I find out a bit more about that odd "gift". (Of course, it's my fault that it's "finally"; the story was already there, waiting for me to read.)

You've provided an interesting insight in how Voldemort treats his Death Eaters. I especially like it that he wasn't exactly calm when he didn't get the information he wanted. Voldemort is insane, and he showed it clearly in this chapter.

I'm looking forward to seeing what Regulus and Bellatrix will do next!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2005-03-21
Reviewid: 117347Chapter: 1
I've finally got around to reading this, and I'm planning to read it entirely tonight. I definitely owe you something after all those reviews you left me lately.

I love this chapter. I love every bit of it, and I can't decide which one is the best. Maybe Sirius' characterisation at the beginning, or maybe the loving relationship of the two brothers. Maybe the story with which the young Black boys are led to believe that Muggles are bad. Or maybe the end.

Every part of this chapter is good. I'm off to the next one, but first here's my favourite line:

>>My parents told him that he was ‘powerful but lacked proper wizarding pride.’ He told them that he had had enough.<<

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2005-03-18
Reviewid: 116893Chapter: 5
Oh, man, this was great. I loved the rising tension swirling around this issue of killing a relative, and then getting that kind of input from Sirius. And again, even though we first met Regulus through Sirius, you gave the guy some dignity instead of making him out as some kind of spineless, sniveling coward.

I also loved the point at which you ended this story. I was half-dreading having to read about his death.

And now I'm off to read the accompanying stories!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2005-03-18
Reviewid: 116891Chapter: 3
Again, I'm appreciating Regulus more and more. I'm so glad I decided to read this story :)

One thing I really like is how he didn't become an out-and-out Death Eater like Bellatrix. He was hesitant and cowardly like Sirius said, but you managed to dignify that because those qualities of his have roots in his love for his brother and mother.

I like how Voldemort's goals are actually conflicting with what Regulus learned from Mrs. Black about placing family and blood purity first and foremost. I mean, on the surface they seem alike, but Voldemort is selfishly forgetting that because he wants something. Very clever.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2005-03-18
Reviewid: 116880Chapter: 1
I never thought I'd like Regulus, but thanks to you that has changed. I loved his memories of bedtime. Sirius was adorable, but what I liked most about that were the brothers' declarations that they loved each other and wanted to be together forever.

I can't wait to see what happens next.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-03-12
Reviewid: 116328Chapter: 1
Great opening chapter! I loved Regulus's flashback to his childhood relationship with Sirius. I especially liked the twist on the Cinderella story, very imaginitive. It reminded me a bit of those stories by the author of "Wicked" and "The Ugly Step-Sister". If you haven't read him, he's this author who turns fairy tales into historical novels and really twists them. Your take on Cinderella reminded me of it. I also liked how you made Mrs Black human, but still with prejudice. I'm looking forward to seeing how she turns from a prejudice, but normal witch, to the person we see in OotP. Great job!

Reviewer: redlightspecialDate: 2005-02-25
Reviewid: 114915Chapter: 2
Okay, finally had the opportunity to read the first two chapters. I loved Mrs. Black's story that she told her children. It was well thought out, and from what we know of Sirius' mum, the type of story (with that type of lesson) that she would tell. Of course, upon reading chapter two, that story got even better. *Of course* she would speak of the superiority of purebloods using her own family as an example. Brilliant!

Part of me wonders if Regulus retching in the bushes after torturing the Muggles comes from his relationship with Sirius. Sirius befriended Muggle-borns, perhaps they are not as bad as mother said.

Well done, G.

~rls

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114360Chapter: 5
Better and better. Please do not stop.

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2005-02-18
Reviewid: 114268Chapter: 5
I've often wondered how Regulus left the ranks...

This is just so well done!! And so extremely sad. I mean, we all know what happens...we just don't know how he got there. And now I know. Well done sweetie. Well done!!!

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2005-02-18
Reviewid: 114266Chapter: 1
Okay kiddo..here's the gig..I'm reading and writing at the same time...

No-one ever told Sirius something he did not want to hear.

-great foreshadowing!!!

Sirius did not remember. My parents told him that he was ‘powerful but lacked proper wizarding pride.’ He told them that he had had enough.

And then he left.

- You have a wonderful capacity to look at Regulus' age and work from that viewpoint! It is truly tremendous the way you can do that. I'm off to read the other chapters!!

-Me

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-02-06
Reviewid: 113108Chapter: 5
A powerful ending to the fic. Regalus's thoughts are very powerful. In the end Sirius's influence did have the desired effect. He had the courage to stand up to his family and decide to leave.

Thanks for the great story Genesse.

Gryfny

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-02-06
Reviewid: 113107Chapter: 4
I love the way you write. The conversation between Regulus and Sirius is very well written.

It seems finally Regulus shows courage in facind down Bellatrix. But it does seem kind of sad that he got the wrong family.

Reviewer: me!!Date: 2005-01-30
Reviewid: 112434Chapter: 5
Oh. Why didn't I finish reading this before? Genesse, you must keep writing, so people like me, who are extremely bored, have things to do on their weekends.
I like the realization that Regulus came to find, and the fact that he was courageous enough to actually do what he needed to do. Yay for courage, and yay for this fic. I like it.

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111692Chapter: 3
Another great two chapters, and well written. We get to see, Regalus, who while growing up with the pure-blood mania, still hates what the Death Eaters are doing. I'ts interesting the way we find out what caused the large hatred of muggles in the black family. I wonder what Sirius meant to say and if he had said it, would Regalus have turned out diffrent.

Reviewer: SpartinaDate: 2005-01-18
Reviewid: 111305Chapter: 5
I feel that you have really hit your stride, giving us such a surprising and sensitive exploration of the Black family dynamic. All those family moments, observed with such simplicity and directness--Mrs. Black tenderly tucking her sons into bed in a moment that's shadowed by the knowledge that she's seizing the opportunity to inculcate her prejudices...Mr. Black slipping a few extra Galleons into Sirius's pocket...Mrs. Black missing Regulus's first wave of his first wand because she's off pursuing her older son...those angry parental conversations, overheard at night, about the unsatisfactory child...Bellatrix Black, future monster, playing with her cousins among ruins in Greece. The Blacks may be a Dark family, but it's the sheer ordinariness of them that's moving, that gives such a sense of sadness when you remember what these people will become. Nobody at Grimmauld Place is bathing in the blood of unbaptized infants--it's just that a small boy is learning all the wrong lessons: that no matter how hard he tries to be the good son, his mother's regard is all for the son who has failed her...that the person he loves most can be counted on only to leave him...that he must sacrifice his integrity if he's to have the sense of belonging that he craves.

You do a wonderful job of standing our fanon-based expectations of the Blacks on their heads--except of course for Bella, who's thoroughly sinister in her simple purpose. Even Kreacher emerges with some dignity, ready to serve and comfort even after Regulus has unceremoniously told him "Get out." One thing that's brought home particularly well in "Witnessings and Warnings" is how Sirius--for all his loathing of his mother, his contempt for Regulus--had a part in making them what they were. Not only does Regulus's premonition at Sirius's first leavetaking--that nothing will ever be the same again--turn out to be absolutely true; there's a second moment when Regulus needs him, and here again you have Sirius fail his brother, leaving him only with those few words which struck me as unnecessarily cryptic, even though they're right.

Coming to the end of the final chapter, I felt a little cheated that you had not made more of Regulus's realization that his attempt to save his victim had failed--or of the final confrontation of Ronnie with Bellatrix and Regulus. (I was particularly anxious for this last chance to see a bit more of Ronnie, so this glossing-over of her final appearance was a sad disappointment.) But there's so much good stuff here. How effortlessly Bella humiliates Regulus, and how neatly that underscores the place that he had learned to accept--"a child, a soldier, a coward." How surprising and *right* that it's not a massive crisis of conscience that prompts his defection, but the realization that he's allowed himself to be someone else's creature, and the quiet resolve to be his own at last. He hasn't even the consolation of success in his attempt to save Ronnie--he's poorer even than Sirius was when Sirius left. Sirius at least had friends to go to; Regulus has only his death. There's so much sadness in the tentative sound of that last line--"Would it be to late...?" Well, no: it's not.

Bravo.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2005-01-14
Reviewid: 110836Chapter: 5
Wow, Genesse! This ending is so powerful! The whole voice of it is terse and filled with regret, yet poor Regulus is resigned to the inevitability of it all....We can't believe you eked such a three-dimensional character out of someone who, in canon, is mentioned only in passing. He has so much depth it's like he could jump right off the page at us.

Truly one of the best fanfics we've read.

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-01-09
Reviewid: 110326Chapter: 1
Genesse, I owe you another one, after having made you crazy with my PM's anyways here it is.

You've made it beleivable that Regulas can think of his mother as loving. While we get a picture in the books of an seemingly unloving mother, you've made me picture a scenario where his mother didn't just love him she also showed it to him.

Reviewer: Kit the BraveDate: 2005-01-07
Reviewid: 110121Chapter: 5
Wow...I too think this ties everything up beautifully. Even your title...I was thinking about all the various "Witnessings and Warnings" there are in this story, and how they all interact with each other. Somehow, the fact that Regulus warned the wrong person that the Death Eaters were going to attack is just emblematic of his whole situation: he really is trapped, and you make us understand what ultimately happens to him perfectly, just by ending the story here.

This line is beautiful: " And somehow, I knew it, too. I was just not seeing the solutions that flailed their arms and legs right before me, that flailed their arms and legs for me." At the end of the story it brings back their childhood so vividly in so few words.

Beautiful!

Kit

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2005-01-07
Reviewid: 110032Chapter: 5
Beautiful last chapter, Genesse. Regulus's internal conflict was so real, and his thoughts before the end of the story are moving, especially his reflections on Sirius and whether he left Sirius or Sirius left him. I'm sad to see this end! I hope you write some more stuff soon!

-PQ

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2005-01-05
Reviewid: 109883Chapter: 5
That was an AWESOME ending, and a very good story!

:)
Senna

Reviewer: KelleyDate: 2005-01-05
Reviewid: 109807Chapter: 5
Nice. So tell me how he finally tried to leave and got himself killed. Of course, it couldn't be his Point of View anymore, could it? Unless he gave it from the other side of the veil, after he and Sirius were finally reunited. Can you see the plot bunny?

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2005-01-04
Reviewid: 109727Chapter: 5
Bravo!! You ended the story just where it needed to- we know the rest. I really like how you have Regulus realize that he is a coward, and how he is scared, but he doesn't *act* scared. It's almost as if he has resigned himself to his fate- he knows he made a bad choice, and must live with the consequences.

Reviewer: LauraDate: 2005-01-04
Reviewid: 109697Chapter: 5
Oh, brilliant. I've immensely enjoyed the story.

I love how you have written Regulus. He's very believeable and IC but defintely not boring or two-dimensional. And his interaction with Sirius is superb.

I also like how you tie all the loose ends and everything make sence at the end, although it was quite obscure at the beginning.

Your use of words is marvelous, I can see the picture in my mind. This is one of those times when I really regret that I can't draw. ;)

All in all - congratulations for an exellent work!

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2004-12-30
Reviewid: 109304Chapter: 4
I just realized that I never left a review for this latest chapter. *is ashamed*

I can feel the tension between Regulus and Sirius, and it feels so horrible. I love this story!

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-12-24
Reviewid: 108511Chapter: 4
Ah, Genesee--this is turning into a masterpiece! The pain Regulus feels at his separation from Sirius is so sharp and real. It's bittersweet, the way he idolizes his brother:

<<Mother wanted to go to Madam Malkin’s first thing, but I insisted on Ollivanders. Sirius got his wand first when we came for his school supplies.>>

And you have a great bead on Sirius' character; the good and the bad. This line sums up so much of him:

<<Sirius was always doing that—taking away the little attention Mother paid me. He distracted her and she was always more concerned about him than about me.>> And this one:

<<Sirius scooped up the stuffed dog and the package at his feet. ‘You’re not killing me.’>>

You flip so flawlessly between time periods: There's nothing awkward about it; no holes left unfilled (except those we trust you to fill before the end!) The style of that lends greatly to the reflective, almost regretful tone of the story.

Last, but not least, the AHA! moment: So Regulus is the one who sent the notes about Ronnie. Very clever. We're enjoying this story very much.

Reviewer: Kit the BraveDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108441Chapter: 4
What a powerful chapter. It seems like every line is freighted with meaning. Like these:

"Mother wanted to go to Madam Malkin’s first thing, but I insisted on Ollivanders. Sirius got his wand first when we came for his school supplies."

"I couldn’t tell if he was relieved to recognise me or was apprehensive that it was me."

"We none of us are just people. You’ve never talked to a mere mortal." (OK, I know it's CS Lewis, but still.)

This is one of my pet perks -- dialogue that does more than one thing at once. You let the reader know Sirius' and Regulus' feelings, history, thoughts they're not even fully aware of themselves, all in this conversation. It's great!

Kit

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108381Chapter: 4
Wow. I may have to go back and read the Speciman again to make sure I've gotten it, but wow. I love the Sirius:Regulus interactions, too.

-Pineapple Queen

Reviewer: kelleyDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108364Chapter: 4
Really nice. I have much more sympathy for Regulus now--I wish Sirius had tried harder to save him.

Reviewer: Kit the BraveDate: 2004-12-21
Reviewid: 108207Chapter: 3
Wow, Genesse, this is so excellent! Chapter 1 actually made me feel sorry for Mrs. Screaming-Portrait Black, which I didn't think could possibly happen. And the Cinderella story that I assumed was Cinderella from the point of view of the evil stepsisters -- which was cool enough already, if that was all it was -- turns out to be *true*! All the thought that you've put into this really shows. Even the chapter titles are great.

"Mother is -- is -- is proud of her wizarding heritage" -- what a great line. It shows Regulus wanting to be loyal but still seeing what's going on around him.

I think the idea of a sane Kreacher is freaking me out more than the idea of a sane Mrs. Black... :-)

Kit

Reviewer: Barbara the Wallpaper-erDate: 2004-12-19
Reviewid: 108114Chapter: 3
*pang*

I actually feel sorry for Mrs. Black.... how did you do that?

Your Bellatrix is spot-on -- not quite sane to start with, was she?

Lovely.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-12-18
Reviewid: 108019Chapter: 3
As usual, lovely portrayal of the Black family! The progression of the relationships between Regulus, Sirius, and Mrs. Black are very realistic--you do an excellent job with characterizations.

-PQ

Reviewer: kelleyDate: 2004-12-16
Reviewid: 107883Chapter: 3
I'm really enjoying this. I guess the next chapter will show us when R and S were divided. It's sad, and sweet, and regretful.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-12-15
Reviewid: 107784Chapter: 3
Genesse--this is wonderful! There's such a tension to it: We can feel Regulus's unhappiness throughout, yet it's not maudlin or over-angsty. And yes, we see what you mean about Mrs. Black's progression--we should say regression.

We're starting to see the connection with Ronnie now...And nice bit of history there, with Phineas Nigellus.

Poor Reg, losing his brother bit by bit. Love the last line-- "He was leaving and he wasn't saying good-bye."

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2004-12-15
Reviewid: 107782Chapter: 3
Ahhh...it's all beginning to come together now.

It seems very fitting for Bellatrix, Andromeda and Narcissa's parents to be called "Aunt and Uncle Black". It has an air of formality about it.

And yes, I do think Mrs. Black is progressing. I agree with your premise, that she became the portrait we know after she lost both of her sons.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-12-11
Reviewid: 107544Chapter: 2
Yay! A Regulus fic! I'm looking forward to the next chapter.

-PQ

Reviewer: kelleyDate: 2004-12-10
Reviewid: 107485Chapter: 2
cliff hanger---quick, tell me who she is! I wouldn't be this frustrated if this weren't a great fic. May I expect more shortly?

Reviewer: alishaDate: 2004-12-10
Reviewid: 107424Chapter: 2
Why must you leave cliffhangers? Don't you know you're killing me with them? I am not smart enough to figure things out on my own...Gah! I love this story, and I like the view point of Regulus. I am ever amazed at your writing skills.

I also like that you've written Regulus as still somewhat innocent of the going-ons. He is doing the evil work, but I don't feel angry with him, like I do for Bellatrix or Malfoy. Again, I'm just astounded!

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-12-08
Reviewid: 107188Chapter: 1
Very cool fairy tale. As we read it, we couldn't help but think of our own sons, snuggling down to sleep at night, and wondering what the future might hold for their relationships...*chill* It's really sad to see Mrs. Black twist the moral of the story to fit her pure-blooded prejudices: And poor Regulus believes her. A very insightful look into how we come to believe the things we do. Nicely done!

Reviewer: Felina BlackDate: 2004-12-07
Reviewid: 107104Chapter: 1
What an interesting premise for a story - I'm assuming that the story will carry Regulus and Sirius into adulthood? This is the first story I've read from the POV of Regulus and I think you're doing a very convincing job of it so far. You successfully portray Sirius and Regulus as children different from their adult characters as JKR has shown us, but with enough hints at those characters to make their childhood innocence very believable. Oh dear... does that even make sense?? I hope you recognize that this is most definitely a compliment! I'll look forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: Felina BlackDate: 2004-12-07
Reviewid: 107102Chapter: 1
What an interesting premise for a story - I'm assuming that the story will carry Regulus and Sirius into adulthood? This is the first story I've read from the POV of Regulus and I think you're doing a very convincing job of it so far. You successfully portray Sirius and Regulus as children different from their adult characters as JKR has shown us, but with enough hints at those characters to make their childhood innocence very believable. Oh dear... does that even make sense?? I hope you recognize that this is most definitely a compliment! I'll look forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: AlishaDate: 2004-12-06
Reviewid: 107043Chapter: 1
Genesse, you've done it again. I never thought of Sirius as a normal little kid, who loved his brother, enjoyed it when his mother put him to bed, etc.
I love the part about believing in magic. We all have to do that, now don't we? I'm not very good at the review thing, but I really do appreciate your stories.

Reviewer: SpartinaDate: 2004-12-06
Reviewid: 107020Chapter: 1
Hee! I'm not sure I can wrap my brain around the idea of Mrs. Black tenderly tucking her "wee ones" into bed and telling them the wizard version of "Cinderella." But after all, she couldn't have started out as the shrieking harpy in the portrait...we can guess at so little of what we may become. This was unexpectedly sweet and funny--even though I suspect it's not going to stay that way for long--and I'll be waiting eagerly to see where you take "Witnessings and Warnings."

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2004-12-06
Reviewid: 107006Chapter: 1
Wow. Mrs. Black's story flows like many a fairy tale, with the twist that it is from the POV of the witch, usually the villainness in such tales. This is a very sad story, really, and reminscent of how bigotry and hatred is often passed down from generation to generation, how, for example, people still fight over events that happened hundreds of years ago, because the stories, and anger and hatred associated with them, are kept alive. Regulus's "soft" personality comes through in this story, but so does the love he had for his brother.

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2004-12-06
Reviewid: 106980Chapter: 1
ohhhhhh....I really like that you told this from Regulus' point of view!!!
It's interesting too, how you have Mrs. Black being loving and kind (if totaly predijuiced and feeding that to her children).
I'm looking forward to the rest.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2004-12-05
Reviewid: 106941Chapter: 1
Wow - its so sad, how he twisted his mother's horrible words to mean something almost good. :(

Reviewer: MiaDate: 2004-12-05
Reviewid: 106938Chapter: 1
I like this! It's angsty, and I like a good piece of angst. Good going! :wub:

Reviewer: KelleyDate: 2004-12-05
Reviewid: 106915Chapter: 1
Great. I loved your twist on the Cinderella story. I don't think that Mrs. Black could ever be that affectionate, but you may be right. Well done.

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2004-12-04
Reviewid: 106821Chapter: 1
The best installment yet!

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2004-12-04
Reviewid: 106815Chapter: 1
A most intriguing beginning, especially with the picture of the wealthy Black household and its governesses: after all, Mrs Black couldn't be expected to bring up her children herself, could she? Appropriately aristocratic! It is interesting to see things from Regulus' perspective, and I enjoyed the way you showed the indoctrination of the children via a childhood story.

Those last lines in the chapter have a superb feeling of mingled loss / hurt / disappointment on Regulus' behalf.

I am looking forward to the next instalments.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --