The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 26

Reviewer: FluffyFanaticDate: 2005-06-17
Reviewid: 124295Chapter: 1
Great Story... laughed alot...keep writing

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-15
Reviewid: 116615Chapter: 1
Quite enjoyable. Thank you.

Reviewer: NARDate: 2005-01-06
Reviewid: 110001Chapter: 1
Really cute story, I especially liked that they don't end up kissing at the end of the story, so it remained at the "it could happen" level. One of my favourite lines: “Time to be making a move,” Mr Weasley announced, folding his paper and rising from the table quickly. Ron guessed that it was a tactical move to prevent the argument that was brewing.

Reviewer: SukhadaDate: 2004-12-22
Reviewid: 108296Chapter: 1
Very, very, very nice story!! Please write more!!!!!

Reviewer: MorriganDate: 2004-12-09
Reviewid: 107346Chapter: 1
Honestly, you can't write a good story and then end it like that without writing more about it. I loved it. But you had to go and stop at the pea fight, darn you! Please write more...or I will be forced to write that something bad happens to Hermione in my stories...*grins*

Reviewer: LuWeasleyDate: 2004-12-09
Reviewid: 107341Chapter: 1
This was so adorable. The syntax was a bit shaky in spots, but the plot and content pulled it through in the end. Wonderful twist on their characterizations, and nice original plotline. I enjoyed this very much.

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2004-12-08
Reviewid: 107295Chapter: 1
Nice work. I like.

*Geena

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-12-08
Reviewid: 107220Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this. The marked contrast between Ron and Hermione's behavior in the morning was fun to observe, and I liked reading about how they spent the day together and sort of took on each other's characteristics as time passed. (The image of Hermione waving the Chudley flag was adorable!) They didn't completely turn into each other, of course, but I thought getting Hermione to unwind a little shows the reader that Ron *is* good for her :)

I also think you did a good job getting into Ron's head and telling the story from his point of view. Thank you for sharing your story!

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2004-12-07
Reviewid: 107071Chapter: 1
A nice slice of Ron and Hermione, complete with all the stops and starts and misunderstandings. The sweetness of your Ron is proven by this brilliant line:
<He supposed it was similar to the England shirt scenario - it was something that he wanted badly, but if he was honest with himself - it was far too precious for him and he’d only end up ruining it. >
Great line, great parallel. It says so much about him. I hope you're encouraged to write more!

Reviewer: AzyneDate: 2004-12-06
Reviewid: 107056Chapter: 1
"Not now that...” There was a pause as she shuddered. “Now that You-Know-Who’s back."

This was good fun to read, but I don't think Molly would say something like that, something that obvious. No one likes to even mention that kind of stuff, remember. She'd most likely just trail off.

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2004-12-06
Reviewid: 107032Chapter: 1
Snigger. Very Ron and Hermione. This made me laugh lots; it was especially nice to see the unbent side of Hermione, and I loved how they appeared to have swapped roles.

Reviewer: MeaganDate: 2004-12-06
Reviewid: 107015Chapter: 1
That was adorable. Sweet and perfect!

Reviewer: SimpkinDate: 2004-12-05
Reviewid: 106978Chapter: 1
Great fic! Both Hermione and Ron were perfectly in character. I especially liked it that they were able to find some common ground via Wilberforce Swift--kind of an intersection of Quidditch and S.P.E.W.

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-12-05
Reviewid: 106924Chapter: 1
I think this is really good. I don't read Ron and Hermione stuff that often but I took a shot with this, and I'm glad. I thought they were very well characterized, with the near-constant bickering over spew, Quidditch, and everything else. Interesting that Hermione would be as knowledgeable about Quidditch as she was; I suppose it makes sense that Ron would have rubbed off on her in that way. Good to see them being able to reconcile relatively quickly and without lingering hurt from their argument, since that's an essential skill for couples to learn. Harry's letter was good, about what I'd expect from him the summer after book five. Oh man, poor Ron, to sit willingly waiting for her for half an hour when she's shopping for clothes. Girls, honestly! Anyway . . .

A very enjoyable read, all around. I'm glad you started writing, and I would encourage you to keep going, as you're good at it.

hairy_hen

Reviewer: SJSDate: 2004-12-05
Reviewid: 106921Chapter: 1
I like how you kept this fic short and simple without bothering to bring Harry to the Burrow. The inclusion of pig made it feel more like the books. But the last line seems out of place, like it's stuck there just to reinforce the title. Other than that one line, it was a great read. Good job!

Reviewer: TeenaDate: 2004-12-05
Reviewid: 106910Chapter: 1
Awww...how sweet is this? I love how they don't start slobbering all over one another or announce their undying love...they're just being sweet, argumentative, and having fun together. This is a winning piece!

Reviewer: DSDragonDate: 2004-12-04
Reviewid: 106886Chapter: 1
I love it! Snarky, yet sweet. Humorous, yet serious. Perfect.

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2004-12-04
Reviewid: 106882Chapter: 1
This was cute! Nicely done - fluff without the whole big "I love you" and kissing at the end. The food flicking was cute too. Maybe a sequel?

Reviewer: KayjalDate: 2004-12-04
Reviewid: 106865Chapter: 1
bloody excellent. i think the pace you have set them at is perfect.. not like alot of other fic's which end up going too fast in the author's haste to see R/H kiss or get together. (even if it IS only in a fic). and ur writing style is very nice. very insightful and ... true to the character. Hermione is not the bore or over-sensitive girl she is alot of the time made out to be and Ron is not written like a well meaning buffoon. They are human. and that is very nice. Great Job !!

Reviewer: St MargaretsDate: 2004-12-04
Reviewid: 106839Chapter: 1
Ron supposed it was worth letting her think that she’d won this particular battle just to see the contented smile that adorned her face.
--
Just the right way to end this! You know how much I love this story! Your R/Hr are so in canon - alternating between flights of pique and delight - but always communicating.

I think what you really captured, though - is how they can't leave each other alone - not for a moment. Happy sigh.

Can't wait to see what else you come up with!

Reviewer: SueDate: 2004-12-04
Reviewid: 106830Chapter: 1
Very believable story! You have a talent for writing dialogue. "He had safely escaped having to handle a hug situation (LOL)" "Maybe there was a shortage of oxygen in Diagon Alley today" "Ron began tucking into his food, shovelling as much as could fit on his fork into his mouth (SO like a boy!)" Those were three of my favorite parts. I really enjoyed this one, hope you write more!

Reviewer: LotusSriDate: 2004-12-04
Reviewid: 106828Chapter: 1
"Will the bickering ever cease?"

Let's hope not ;*)

Thanks for the cute story!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-12-04
Reviewid: 106826Chapter: 1
Adorable! You've captured them perfectly! :D

Reviewer: CarmDate: 2004-12-04
Reviewid: 106820Chapter: 1
I think it's the best fanfic, I've read yet, it's short, well written, and it happens in the summer, when Harry is nowhere to be seen, so it has a "it could happen" feel to it. I like it!!!!

Reviewer: lydDate: 2004-12-04
Reviewid: 106812Chapter: 1
wonderful story! quite funny and just enough fluff.

Reviewer: MathildaDate: 2004-12-04
Reviewid: 106808Chapter: 1
Very nicely written! Sweet story. Keep them coming.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --