The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 24

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-28
Reviewid: 140377Chapter: 1
Are you capable of work that isnít excellent? I usually forget, but not today. Thank you for sharing.

Reviewer: MagicDustDate: 2005-12-08
Reviewid: 136882Chapter: 1
YARGGG!I wANT A SQEUL! THAT WAS AWESOME!*hands a butterbeer*
Cheers!-
MagicDust

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2005-11-16
Reviewid: 135926Chapter: 1
Waaaaahhh! I read this ages ago... well, not ages, but perhaps a year ago? Before HBP, and before I'd ever heard the song. Now I've heard the song, and now I can just imagine that... that after HBP and whatever happens in the 7th book they never get back together, and... *cries* Well, anyway, it's so sad. I really liked this line : "Every receipt, every pen seemed funny, until they were both laughing so hard that tears were running down their cheeks." But... that's not from teh song, right?

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-02-11
Reviewid: 113618Chapter: 1
Oh no. How could that happen? Harry- go after her. Ginny go back. This is so sad. You really get the sense of two thoroughly disillusioned people here. This really made my heart ache.

Reviewer: Krypa DakayDate: 2005-02-03
Reviewid: 112765Chapter: 1
I read this a few weeks ago, and now every time I hear that old song I think of this story. I used to hate the song, but now I really enjoy hearing it! Thanks for a wonderful twist on an old piece of music - I like your interpretation much better!

Reviewer: crazedDate: 2004-12-29
Reviewid: 109195Chapter: 1
well i want to say this is a great story and im sorry for not reviwing sooner.
I enjoy the change this story brings with what some would call a bittersweet version. I also enjoy the way the story was inspired by a song without being a ''song fic''.
When i first had read this story I had not heard the song but days later when we were in the car i had tuned the radio out to hear the last part the snow turned into rain.. but i was appreciative when i heard it again the next day.
It really is a good story and great for harry and ginny fluff, or lack therfore of. I appreciate how well written it is and to answer your question a sequel is not necessary. It might ruin the meaning of the story. but know that i am behind you for it if you write one or more harry ginny stuff that we all like.
I hope you had a very merry christmas. Continue to write, well done.

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108982Chapter: 1
*sobs* That was so sad, yet written so beautifully. You know, I was expecting a lovely, fluffy, happy ending. Well, at least I got the next best thing, a lovely, bittersweet, depressing ending :P. I really enjoyed this story. I hope you had a Merry Christmas!

Reviewer: SueDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108334Chapter: 1
So very sad, and so well written. I don't know the song but the story didn't need it to be effective. Nice job.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-12-21
Reviewid: 108242Chapter: 1
what a great story line i do hope you write more on it very nicley done =)

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2004-12-20
Reviewid: 108153Chapter: 1
I've always loved this song. It's so bittersweet. This story fit perfectly with it. I think it's totally plausible. Even though it's a sad scenario for G/H, this is often the way real life is. Realistic and touching. Great job.

Reviewer: Shina LarisDate: 2004-12-20
Reviewid: 108151Chapter: 1
This story is so beautiful, yet at the same time so sad for a Christmas fic. Of course, Christmas isn't always the happiest time of the year, especially since you're lonely. I really, really do hope you write a sequel for this fic, but it's perfect just as it is.

Poor Harry....

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIIDate: 2004-12-18
Reviewid: 108028Chapter: 1
Well written and rather depressing. Hope you right more.

That was quite some save.Ē
-Keeper Harry?

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2004-12-18
Reviewid: 108018Chapter: 1
Oooh! This was very good... this could make a very interesting chaptered story!

Quinton. Poor Harry... but has Ginny given up on being a witch? It sounded like it. I really hope you continue this! Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-12-18
Reviewid: 108015Chapter: 1
How very heartbreaking! *sniff*

Wonderful writing, as per usual.

-PQ

Reviewer: StuDate: 2004-12-17
Reviewid: 107969Chapter: 1
Gee, thanks for depressing me! I don't normally read H/G, but I didn't hit the back button because I knew I could trust you not to write anything that would really bug me. Nooo, you have to make me nearly cry instead.

It makes me wonder if you have anything else planned out in this future--where Ron and Hermione are, any of that. I probably don't want to know, do I?

Reviewer: SJSDate: 2004-12-16
Reviewid: 107909Chapter: 1
Oooh, the last line is so sad. Like a winter wonderland turning to misery.

Reviewer: Muggle MollyDate: 2004-12-16
Reviewid: 107903Chapter: 1
You did a great job writing this story. That is one of my favorite songs and always brings up bittersweet memories of a past love and what could have been. You captured that sentiment very well. I think I need a hankie!

Reviewer: chell_e_beanDate: 2004-12-16
Reviewid: 107901Chapter: 1
Oh, I love this song. Any time I hear it , it makes me cry. You did a great job translating it into HP. Great story.

Reviewer: LucyDate: 2004-12-15
Reviewid: 107847Chapter: 1
Heart-wrenching!!! *Sob, sob, sob* Beautiful and sad ... brilliant.

Reviewer: HexnutDate: 2004-12-15
Reviewid: 107846Chapter: 1
I've been complaining recently on the Pet Peeves forum here about songfics, but this is a good one. Not including the lyrics was a good choice, if I hadn't seen the other comments I wouldn't even know that this follows a song closely. I don't think it should be continued, though -- it's possible to write good stories of wrong choices fixed up later, but it's a theme that's been overdone. Anyway, I'd rather think of this as like A Christmas Carol's ghost of Christmas future, or It's a Wonderful Life, a cautionary note about a potential future that we hope can be avoided.

To end on a lighter note, are you trying to get into trouble or what? Posting an anti-S.P.E.W.-ship futurefic on the same day as you make a posting that uses one of the forbidden words, doublespaced in all caps?

Reviewer: LauraHDate: 2004-12-15
Reviewid: 107833Chapter: 1
Lovely! Same Auld Lang Syne is one of my favorite songs. Sad, but it works for Harry and Ginny. It all comes down to our choices, doesn't it?

Reviewer: Susan LynnDate: 2004-12-15
Reviewid: 107832Chapter: 1
This is a wonderful tale that could be easily understood and appreciated without ever having heard the song that inspired it. I've come across very few other songfics that have made the integration of the lyrics with the world of Harry Potter so seemlessly.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-12-15
Reviewid: 107818Chapter: 1
We love this song, so we had to read the story: We think this is one of the sweetest things we've ever read! Of course, we knew how the song ends, so there was this awful feeling of inevitability the whole time we were reading--"Oh no, she's going to be married! Oh no, the bar's going to be closed! Oh no, they're not going to get back together! Oh no, the snow's going to turn into rain!:)"

When we read the part about him being a Quidditch player, and hating the travelling, we almost heard the audience cheering as Dan Fogelberg sang....

Nundu, we will never be able to listen to that song again without thinking of Harry and Ginny. And being sad. Darn, why don't you write one that starts where this leaves off, and give it a happy ending?

A lovely new year's present, thank you!

Reviewer: CaseyDate: 2004-12-15
Reviewid: 107808Chapter: 1
I know the song and I liked the story. It was wonderfully sad and sweet. I like how you made the lyrics and the story your own and then brought them into the Harry Potter universe. This is the best fanfic I've read in quite a while. Wonderful job.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --