The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Blind Date
Review(s): 18

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-10-11
Reviewid: 134256Chapter: 1
Really Quite Good.

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2005-06-24
Reviewid: 125058Chapter: 1
It's hard for many people (including me) to like Vernon/Petunia stories because they aren't 100% inside the Harry Potter world. But, the title and summary grabbed me, and I decided that, if nothing else read it.

But now, as I reflect, it was truly an excellent story. Just how Petunia and Vernon would have a first date. Petunia seems much like my sister, shy and polite, and lady-like.

So, thank you for supplying readers with this excellent story.

Katie

Reviewer: Deborah PetersDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122780Chapter: 1
How lovely! You've managed to make Vernon and Petunia likeable characters without straying in their characterization. In your story, I can see how two rather unlikeable people--as painted in the books--could be happy together. Quite enjoyable!

Reviewer: Frankie BDate: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108973Chapter: 1
Oh, wonderful, wonderful, wonderful stuff! You have captured both their personalities superbly! Vernon's vanity, Petunia's overwhelming desire to be normal, I can definitely see where they would have fallen for each other through this story. It was riddled withastonishingly sweet moments (I especially liked "Odd, thought Vernon, how could they not.")and the dual perspective on the story really added to the whole scene, rather than bogged it down which happen frequently. Very, very well done!

Reviewer: i'm anonymousDate: 2004-12-27
Reviewid: 108769Chapter: 1
Wow, i really liked it and even though i usually hate the dursleys for what they do to harry, i found myself really liking them in this story (you wrote them so in character but still totally originally). Would it be possible for this to actually continue into a longer story?

Reviewer: catakitDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108329Chapter: 1
Down right adorable, in a stiff, extremely proper, absolutely normal sort of way, of course.

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2004-12-22
Reviewid: 108304Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this fic; while reading this I found myself not exactly feeling sorry for Vernon and Petunia, but liking them!

I loved this description of Petunia:
“She had rather lovely hair though, and a shy, pleasant smile. No, Vernon thought she wasn’t as bad as all that. In fact he sort of rather liked her.
The girl met his eyes and blushed. Yes, a rather fetching thing that, he hated it with these modern women, bold as brass. And neat too, her appearance was spotless.”

Altogether, this is a very well-written piece, and I look forward to seeing more of your writing.

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-12-21
Reviewid: 108247Chapter: 1
I just want to state for the record that i am not a huge fan of the dursley family and because of that i was not going to read your story but i was bored at work so i read it and WOW i was impressed you made them seem well nice and enjoyable to read about. that was such a cute story i loved it so simple but cute and romantic in a modest "Normal" sort of way. =)

Reviewer: Kit the BraveDate: 2004-12-21
Reviewid: 108208Chapter: 1
Wow, I really enjoyed this (if it's OK to say I enjoyed reading about the Dursleys...). I loved the way you made them both self-centered and critical (just like they are in canon), yet you made it possible for them to fall in love with each other, and act like they're in love, while still being in character! (Like the way they're constantly comparing each other to other dates they've had, or to their roommates, and running the other ones down by comparison, and the way Vernon congratulates himself at the end of the evening, and Petunia immediately thinks that now Lily isn't the only one with a boyfriend.)

You do their voices so well, too. It's exactly the way both of them would sound, even down to being slightly critical of the other.

Kit

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-12-18
Reviewid: 108023Chapter: 1
Very good! Full points on originality - haven't run across this before.

I found myself liking both of them.

Reviewer: nonameDate: 2004-12-17
Reviewid: 108013Chapter: 1
Love, LOVE LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!! it is wonderful! you write well, i could see it perfectly in my head! excelent. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: PlancksDate: 2004-12-17
Reviewid: 108004Chapter: 1
hahahaha!!! so cute!!! XD great fic!

Reviewer: SueDate: 2004-12-17
Reviewid: 107974Chapter: 1
This is a wonderful fic! You've captured the characters so well. I really enjoyed reading it.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-12-16
Reviewid: 107895Chapter: 1
I never thought I would enjoy reading a Dursley-centric fic, but I really liked this one. I appreciated how you carefully introduced us to Vernon and Petunia and made it clear what each one was looking for in a partner. I have to admit that it gave me chills when they found these traits in each other! ^_^ (And I liked how it wasn't all perfect, though, i.e., the thing about Vernon liking dogs.) And I think the mad thrill they got from being with each other is something that anyone who has ever been in love can relate to.

I also really liked reading the bit of backstory on Vernon's family, and seeing James and Sirius through Petunia's eyes. I'm sure Sirius would have shown her a good time if she wasn't so prejudiced and uptight!

Very good work!

Reviewer: Christi NorrisDate: 2004-12-15
Reviewid: 107840Chapter: 1
I like the fact that you see Vernon and Petunia as human, and that they aren't caractures of the "evil step-mother". So now that they've met, how do they get on and how did they get that dreadful child?

Reviewer: HildeDate: 2004-12-15
Reviewid: 107815Chapter: 1
This is one of the best stories about Petunia and Vernon I have ever read! The way they thought and behaved were just like I have pictured them. Please continue to write about their relationship! You could maybe write something about when Petunia meets Vernon’s family for the first time, and when Vernon meets Petunia’s family, and James.

Reviewer: SJSDate: 2004-12-15
Reviewid: 107792Chapter: 1
I like how you made Petunia a teacher. It fits her so perfectly. And how she tries to get the magic out of her kids is just leading right up to how she treats Harry.

Reviewer: RichDate: 2004-12-15
Reviewid: 107783Chapter: 1
Oh my, Petunia and Vernon.....potrayed as almost human....what heresay is this????

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --