The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Dreams
Review(s): 9

Reviewer: JoyDate: 2005-04-24
Reviewid: 120440Chapter: 1
I've always thought that that incident, mentioned almost filpantly in the books would have had long lasting ramifications. and the intensity of that dream is just scary.

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-02
Reviewid: 115285Chapter: 1
Short n fine

Reviewer: AbigailDate: 2004-12-31
Reviewid: 109352Chapter: 1
That was really nice and touching... I loved when you mentioned Sirius looking like a twelve year old by the fire... it made my stomach lurch, like it does pretty much every time someone describes Sirius so accurately.
And the part where Sirius is talking about his dream made my heart broke... it sounded very real.
Thanks for sharing!

Reviewer: CanopusDate: 2004-12-25
Reviewid: 108565Chapter: 1
Wow.
I usually have great big long things to say about posts, but this...just wow. That dream bowled me over.
You're amazing as usual, Mincot!
~Canopus

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108455Chapter: 1
Oooh. This was really good. I would hope that Sirius, after maturing a bit, would have seen the utter tragedy that could have resulted from such a foolhardy act. This vignette completes it quite nicely, with wonderful writing and in-character dialogue. I agree with After the Rain's quotation in that review - this does characterize very well, how I view Remus.

Reviewer: After the RainDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108423Chapter: 1
Oh wow, that is a lovely little postlude to "Knight." And this bit, I think, captures Remus perfectly:

"A dozen flippant replies came to mind to diffuse the emotions, a dozen sympathetic remarks to ease the sting of the dreams. He was practiced at those, after all, all the polite remarks that deftly turned his awareness of his own feelings aside into managing someone else’s."

Thanks for sharing.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108417Chapter: 1
*sniff*

The scab imagery is rather icky, but then, isn't that the point? These sorts of "bone-deep" hurts are never pretty, which makes the comparison perfectly apropos. Your characterization of Remus is spot-on as well, especially his self-control, which has become such a defense mechanism over the years that he scarcely knows how to let himself emotionally connect to those closest to him.

Well done!

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108395Chapter: 1
I love the way your writing just flows on and on, you almost draw pictures with your words. I thought the first few lines of dialogue were a bit stilted, but that actually fits in with the hesitation I can feel between the characters. Both Remus and Sirius seem very much in character. Good job!!

Reviewer: Barbara the Wallpaper-erDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108368Chapter: 1
Oh. I can see Sirius doing just this, stumbling into grace, finally seeing consequences. You have a deft, light touch and an excellent understanding of Remus.

Lovely.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --