The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 28

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-23
Reviewid: 144960Chapter: 1
I wanted a Percy stroy, I LOVE Percy stories! And Percy of course... so St.Margarets suggested you, I was about to start reading Hidden, but this caught my eye, I almost cried. I actually have tears in my eyes now, why cant other people see just how importanat Percy is? you did a fantastic job with this. And i cant wait to read more of your work.

Reviewer: CrisDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129825Chapter: 1
I loved both the idea and the actuality of this (if that makes sense). Especially the part about Penelope.

Reviewer: KataractDate: 2005-03-09
Reviewid: 115933Chapter: 1
o, julu! I fell in love with you on ff.net, and this hidden jem on sq was a wonderful surprise. love, love, love all your fics - I rarely say that - so as long as you keep feeding the fire, I'll keep reading.

Reviewer: SharonDate: 2005-02-02
Reviewid: 112697Chapter: 1
I somehow missed this story in all the holiday hubbub. I just read it. It's brilliant, Julie. I loved it.

--Sharon

Reviewer: Krypa DakayDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111431Chapter: 1
I'm half way through your longer story, and took a break to read your other two shorter ones. I just wanted to say that you're wonderful! I love the way you write, the beautiful words you use. And I think you've got Percy down to a "T" - I love what you've done with him and Penny so far.

I just read the instructions about "provide comments that will be useful to the author." Hmmm, useful comment. . . um, how about keep up the excellent work!?!

Reviewer: HossDate: 2005-01-16
Reviewid: 111067Chapter: 1
Thanks

Reviewer: crzyspaceystraceyDate: 2005-01-12
Reviewid: 110704Chapter: 1
This was really really really good. I enjoyed it. Ms. Rowling as the big HER. It was great. It helped prove that Percy does put some balance in his family.

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2005-01-02
Reviewid: 109502Chapter: 1
*sobs* That was so sweet! I love that movie so much (partly because my senior class did that for their play last year). I absolutely loved that story. You've just strengthend(spl?) my belief that Percy is NOT a complete git. Beautiful story!

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2004-12-31
Reviewid: 109332Chapter: 1
That WAS a wonderful story! Lots of warm feelings and I especially like the beginning (priceless) and the end (so sweet). The middle went by too quickly, mainly because Percy was too sensible! But that's the way it is, and it was wonderful all the same. Man, I must watch that movie now. It was not on in honor of Christmas this year, and I condemn the TV networks for it!

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2004-12-30
Reviewid: 109290Chapter: 1
Oh, that was so sweet. You made it fit perfectly. There was a slight typo when you used accept instead of except, but other people have probably caught it.

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2004-12-30
Reviewid: 109277Chapter: 1
This is really good. I've read several versions of It's A Wonderful Life, in books, but this is the first HP fanfic I've read. I love how you capture all of Percy's importance to those around him, and how JKR is "God." Good work!

Reviewer: Susan LynnDate: 2004-12-30
Reviewid: 109257Chapter: 1
"it's a Wonderful Story" is indeed a wonderful story. Your choice of Daedalus as Clarence and Percy as Baily is inspired. I really like the reference to J.K. as the Great Creator of this universe and that Daedalus and Percy realize that they are characters in a fictional work. Some of my favorite lines are:

“It’s funny how characters are connected. You’re (sic) story touches other stories. Brilliant, really, how it’s all interwoven. Only the mind of a great creator could do it.”

“Because She loves you, of course. She loves everything she has created. Part of Her is inside you.”

"You just have to have some sort of faith that perhaps it’s all part of some sort of bigger plan. Something we can’t fully see, yet. So maybe, even if your little part doesn’t work out exactly the way you want it to, maybe it can still have meaning.”

And, finally,

“You think She has a plan, Daedalus?” “Ooh yes, I do! And I think it’s a good one too!”

Reviewer: trinirooDate: 2004-12-30
Reviewid: 109216Chapter: 1
this is the only percy story i've read and i must admit that it is quite good.

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2004-12-29
Reviewid: 109161Chapter: 1
Once again Percy's great defender. You always make him so humane and not so git-like. He truly means well and did I mention that I love *It's a Wonderful Life*! It is one of my holiday favorite, and I love when people have the characters *step* outside the story and reflect on their plights and sagas. Truly well done, once again!

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-12-29
Reviewid: 109104Chapter: 1
Dear little Daedelus... of course, he seems like Flitwick's clone, which is really too bad for him, 'cos he doesn't even get gags about standing on a pile of books and squealing and falling off. And it seems like a "A Christmas Carol." I've never seen "It's A Wonderful Life," but at any rate, this story reminds me of "A Christmas Carol." And Percy would not be happy if Jo had sent Sirius instead. A dead ruffian? That would not work.

Reviewer: InFabulaDate: 2004-12-29
Reviewid: 109047Chapter: 1
Lovely story! I was trying to guess who "George Bailey" was going to be - an excellent choice in Percy.

One of my favourite parts is:

“Don’t you think it would be better to send a larger character? Maybe Sirius or Remus?”

“No, of course not! I have confidence in you. Sometimes being small has its advantages, doesn’t it?...”

A great choice of "Clarence" too!

Reviewer: jemDate: 2004-12-29
Reviewid: 109025Chapter: 1
Thank you for that, Julu. The bit about the creator loving everything she has created... and the fact that every character has a place in the woven web of a story... a timely reminder to all of us -- or perhaps just what I needed to hear at this moment. Wonderful!

Reviewer: mirldaDate: 2004-12-29
Reviewid: 109014Chapter: 1
Oh, how wonderful. I have to say, I've only thought about Percy's role in the stories a little but, and have never analyzed it like this at all. I really would be sad if Percy died or turned bad or something. Great incorporation of "It's a Wonderful Life." Very touching. Keep writing!

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108980Chapter: 1
Oh Julie,
This is better than ever! I truly love this - every word counts. I love Percy's wit and bitterness and then his softening. I love the "she" creator - what a great allegory for all of us on one level - and what a gift for all the Percy lovers!

Reviewer: JuliaDate: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108969Chapter: 1
Wow.Oh that was lovely. I also love It's a Wonderful Life. This story made me smile as soon as I began to read it. I espically like the similarities you've drawn between JKR and God, not to sound sacreligious or anything.

Reviewer: Kit the BraveDate: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108961Chapter: 1
This is so good...this is so good...this is so good...

I actually got teary at the part about “Because She loves you, of course. She loves everything she has created. Part of Her is inside you.” Isn't that how we *do* feel about our characters?

(And I'm a Miracle on 34th Street person myself...I don't suppose you'd consider doing *that* next... :-)

Kit

Reviewer: Frankie BDate: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108952Chapter: 1
How absolutely sweet, Julu! I love the way you have shown how every character impacts every aspect of the story. It is amazing how She weaves the story together, and you've shown it with great warmth. Very, very nicely done!

Reviewer: SueDate: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108948Chapter: 1
This is AWESOME! What a great idea! You've woven the theme of the movie so perfectly through your story. There's more here than meets the eye. Very, very well done. I loved it. Thank you so much.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108946Chapter: 1
How perfectly sweet! Only you, Julu, could do such a wonderful thing for Percy. We applaud you.

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108939Chapter: 1
Funny! I wonder whether you'll have Daedalus show Percy what the HP series would be like without him.

Of course, I hope that you'll update "Hiding" soon. I assume that you want to finish it by July 16th!

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108937Chapter: 1
Great idea, both funny and interesting!

Reviewer: Gabriella Du SultDate: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108930Chapter: 1
Great story. Percy as George Baily is a good choice and Daedalus as Clarence the Angel is completely inspired. Thank you for reminding us all to have faith in J. K. Rowling's great plan.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108923Chapter: 1
EEEEEEEEEEEK! I love this! You caught it all well. I love that movie, too...and I love how you fit it in to Percy's life. It's just wonderful, really. (Now you should do Frank Capra's Mr. Smith Goes to Washington!) Wonderful, just wonderful!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --