The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: A Gift At Christmas
Review(s): 23

Reviewer: HermnyDate: 2007-12-23
Reviewid: 150198Chapter: 4
is there going to be another chapter?

Reviewer: Amick_woodsDate: 2006-05-04
Reviewid: 142536Chapter: 4
Beautiful! A wonderfully-crafted and touching story. I just have one question: doesn't Lily Evans have red hair? Like Ginny? You have given her auburn hair, and I was just wondering if there was a reason...

Reviewer: AstronutDate: 2006-04-16
Reviewid: 141974Chapter: 4
This is a very delightful story. I was surprised with the inclusion of that song. My mother also sang me that song, which she learned from her mother. Our version is slightly different, changed by memmory lapses over the years. This is the first time I've ran across it written down. I also like your theory on Harry's eyes. Nicely done.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-01-16
Reviewid: 138589Chapter: 4
Quite delightful. Thank You.

Reviewer: EresseaDate: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115448Chapter: 4
Ooh, I really like your ideas about Harry's eyes. I don't think I've seen something like this before.

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115408Chapter: 4
interesting story

Reviewer: ellaDate: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115394Chapter: 4
I.. I.. well. This story made me cry.

(and stories that make me cry are the best stories, so yes, this is one of the best stories I've read)

Reviewer: GillianDate: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115378Chapter: 4
Brilliant job! I loved it! Too cute! Aww poor Harry! He has to go through so much! *sighs* Brilliant job!

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2005-02-18
Reviewid: 114220Chapter: 3
A version of Harry I've never seen before. Quite well done too.

Reviewer: BAGDate: 2005-02-16
Reviewid: 114032Chapter: 3
man! Harry's going mad!

Reviewer: R. RoudebushDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 113971Chapter: 3
I had a bad feeling at the end of chapter 2 that the locket was going to turn out to be something more sinister (not like it would be any secret to the baddies that Harry would crave mementoes of his parents...and the fact that the locket's "buzzing" prompted Harry to keep it close at all times), but I have to say, after reading Chapter 3, that you are doing an EXCELLENT job of combining magic issues with those faced by anyone who has suffered the loss of loved ones. Maybe that locket is a piece of Dark Magic, but then again, maybe Harry was naturally inclined to head down that path of dark thoughts anyway...
This story has me a little spooked, since I just lost my mother, and I'm currently wearing a necklace of hers around my neck. Really good writing!...and grief can do some bad stuff to a person's mind if they aren't careful...

Reviewer: ShantelleDate: 2005-01-30
Reviewid: 112453Chapter: 2
This is excellent. I love the way you capture Harry's feelings and emotions. Keep up the great work.

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2005-01-24
Reviewid: 111940Chapter: 2
Woo hoo!!
What a great chapter! This is wonderful. You have such a talent for writing lovely family scenes. I loved the food descriptions...just wonderful. Both Christmas and New Years were terrific.
I think this story is going to be a hit!!

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2005-01-03
Reviewid: 109586Chapter: 1
Oh my, how dear! This is lovely. Your descriptions are just wonderful. I loved Hedwig coming in from the cold.

I can't wait to read more.
Julu

Reviewer: CootiePatootieDate: 2005-01-02
Reviewid: 109512Chapter: 1
This is so great. I'd love to read more of it. Please do continue... (also, it's so very nice to see a Harry that is not an angsty brat!)

Reviewer: Kit the BraveDate: 2005-01-01
Reviewid: 109481Chapter: 1
This was touching and intriguing! I thought that Harry's reaction to seeing his mother's locket was very believable, as were Petunia's motives for sending it. (Because you know she would never do it just to be nice...:-).)

I thought your description of Hedwig was lovely, especially this line:"Hedwig sitting outside on the ledge, her wide eyes practically the only things visible against the background of falling snow. As if to reinforce the need for him to open the window, she raised her left leg to reveal a small parcel tied to it..." And I liked the touches of humor, like "Harry actually pitied his aunt for a moment that she had no clue how un-normal Dudley and his home really were."

Thanks for the story.
Kit

Reviewer: TashaDate: 2005-01-01
Reviewid: 109411Chapter: 1
Very interesting! You've made me curious as to why this locket has significance.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-12-31
Reviewid: 109376Chapter: 1
what a nice story cant wait to find out what happens =)

Reviewer: toastDate: 2004-12-31
Reviewid: 109375Chapter: 1
aaawwwwww!!! that was awesome!! cant wait for the next part!!

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2004-12-30
Reviewid: 109299Chapter: 1
Petunia is so mean! Well, I look forward to seeing the next chapter, "A Gift at New Years" :-). Seriously, though, this is a great job! I can't wait to see where you go with this.

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2004-12-29
Reviewid: 109159Chapter: 1
What a sweet sentiment for Harry. Even if from Petunia, any connection to his mother is much cherished. What a original idea to have Harry *inherit* something from crazy aunt petunia. Job well done!

Reviewer: BAGDate: 2004-12-29
Reviewid: 109078Chapter: 1
Wonderful begining, really can't wait for more.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-12-29
Reviewid: 109056Chapter: 1
I really like this chapter; it holds so many possibilities for future chapters that I hope you post chapter two soon. Your portrayal of Aunt Petunia's aloofness and haughtiness is spot-on; she comes across as the spiteful woman I've come to think she is. Her motives for sending Harry the locket may have been purely selfish, but I think she did the right thing, all the same. I also like how you had Hedwig interact with Harry. She provided a nice comic relief with her immitation of Erol and her deciding to come with Harry at the mention of Pigwidgeon. I look forward to the next chapter.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --