The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Family History
Review(s): 8

Reviewer: aDate: 2005-09-16
Reviewid: 132631Chapter: 1
well i supose it could be better

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-06-27
Reviewid: 125368Chapter: 1
Oh dear. That's.... ominous. I hope Draco makes the right decision here, but I have a strong feeling he won't.

I really enjoyed this piece- you really made me feel sorry for Draco, bringing out his human side:

<His father had been proud of him. Luciusí rarely bestowed smiles had intoxicated the little boy, and he had been chasing them ever since.>

When I read this I wanted to cry. Poor Draco trying so hard to please, when his father is in fact such a nasty person. I especially liked the memory of Draco's first doing of magic, and the letter- you put forward up Lucius' warped ideals very well. I like the way you write, keep it up!

Reviewer: mattDate: 2005-01-09
Reviewid: 110379Chapter: 1
Great story, it really makes you almost understand why someone would become a death eater and that they don't just enjoy killing; they are fighting for something they believe in.

Reviewer: SDBDate: 2005-01-07
Reviewid: 110025Chapter: 1
You've portrayed all three of the Malfoys exactly as they are portrayed in canon, not an easy job. I can see Lucious doing something like that, and the blood to open the seal was a nice - if creepy - touch. Well done.

Reviewer: MedusaDate: 2005-01-06
Reviewid: 110017Chapter: 1
Brilliant. Your Draco is easily one of the best I've encoutered in fan fiction. You manage to make him wonderfully human and sympathetic, while remaining true to his often detestable nature as both a Slytherin and Malfoy.
I would LOVE to see you continue with a series of first person one shots, depecting noteable Malfoys through out history. Each story perhaps underlining one element of what it truely means to be a Malfoy.
You certainly seem to have the insight and ability to pull it off beautifully.

Reviewer: emma moonDate: 2005-01-05
Reviewid: 109824Chapter: 1
Bravo! This is a well written, thought provoking story. I think you have captured the Malfoys beautifully. On a scale of 1 to 10, I give it a 100!

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2005-01-04
Reviewid: 109695Chapter: 1
You know, when I first started reading I wasn't sure how this story was going to turn out, but you've pleasantly surprised me. There are so many differing concepts of what the domestic life of the average Malfoy is like, that I wasn't sure whether you were going to go one way or the other. Usually fanfic writers opt for one of the two extremes. Happily, you seem to tread the line somewhere in the middle in this story and I thank you for it. Even though the story revolves around Draco's recollection of a happier memory, you do not disregard the fact that his family life is less than blissful. Indeed, the fact that the one thing Draco remembers as making him happy is emulating his father and thereby earning Lucius' approval, is not so nice.

"He was a Slytherin after all, and a Malfoy."

This sums up perfectly the one thing to remember when writing about the Malfoys.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2005-01-04
Reviewid: 109694Chapter: 1
Marvelous! I don't usually say this about one-shots, but this one really needs to become a full novel! I would love to read the history of the Malfoys and Draco's take on it.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --