The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 185

Reviewer: ppaelkosDate: 2008-09-12
Reviewid: 151106Chapter: 1
<a href=http://propeciapill.hi5.com>buy propecia online</a>
<a href=http://www.tetongravity.com/forums/member.php?u=21400>buy levitra online</a>
<a href=https://cialispill.pbwiki.com>buy cialis online</a>

Reviewer: jncarlinDate: 2006-04-01
Reviewid: 141537Chapter: 10
I just found your story, and I've been reading it all week. It is delightful. Eris is such a well-developed and wonderfully human character. Good job. I'm glad to hear that you're working on a sequel. Thanks for sharing this with us all!

Reviewer: shinelikestarsDate: 2006-03-13
Reviewid: 140874Chapter: 1
"Nana says Mum used to be one... but then again, she said that after she told us all she could have been a famous dancer"

Billy Elliot! HAHA! Love that movie

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-10
Reviewid: 139596Chapter: 1
Looking forward too the next diary

Reviewer: StetchnikDate: 2006-01-26
Reviewid: 138886Chapter: 10
Wow. I don't think anything I write could possibly do justice to your story. I truly enjoyed it. You are extremely talented. I felt like I really was reading the journal of a little girl. I loved watching her somehow managing to keep a positive attitude as she went through an extremely tough year at school. Your interactions between Eris and her brother, father, and schoolmates were fantastic. It was realistic how Brianne and others were so very afraid to be her friend, and fascinating to watch Brianne come to the very right decision to be Eris' friend _openly_.

Altogether a wonderful story. The only problem I had at all with it is that I didn't understand the note writing and the bit about her mother's diary--are these all written IN the journal? (i.e. were she and her friend writing right in the journal, or did she attach the notes in the journal, or what?; also, did she really transcribe large portions of her mother's journal, or are we supposed to be reading right from that journal?) Not a big deal either way...but if you could somehow clarify that just a little it would help. :)

Reviewer: pythonblossomDate: 2006-01-19
Reviewid: 138713Chapter: 10
You did such an awesome job of getting into a young girl's head. I loved this story. The sweet moments and the very simple yet deep worldview of Eris were lovely to read.

I am looking forward to the sequel.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2006-01-17
Reviewid: 138642Chapter: 10
AH! So much love! Gregory is too cute. =)

(and re: the previous chapter: yay for the stick joke!)

-PQ

Reviewer: MysticBluesideDate: 2006-01-15
Reviewid: 138560Chapter: 6
I want to give Eris a hug.

I love how Eris spells February 'Febrary' again when she's nervous. I love how Teddy acted like an older brother again. I love that Eris told McGonagall about what she knew. I love Brianne for trying to set things right (even if things are difficult for her now). I love how Cheese is so weird. I love how excited Eris gets over Gobstones.

This story is love. :P

Reviewer: MysticBluesideDate: 2006-01-11
Reviewid: 138365Chapter: 5
Briiiiiib! I decided to read another chapter as a treat. ;) I love being able to step back into this fic when I can give it the detention it deserves.

So, The Room scares the bejesus out of me. I mean, it's not really scary as a place to be, but the IDEA of it...! Leigh must be going a bit psycho. Not like I blame him. Is it sad that when I read about his long, red hair I thought of Bill? It's almost a bit like The Secret Garden, only more evil and not really like The Secret Garden at all. Wow, I fail.

And poor Nana! I'm hoping that she can get better, because I'm thinking that Eris needs SOME sane adult. I'm always amazed how cheery Eris is through all this. I'd be a wreck. Then again, it's Eris. Heh, Eris spelled backwards is 'Sire'. ;)

Oh, Cheese...this is possibly the only fic I can review and say that. I shall write an Ode to Cheese some day. :P

Well, I would put some of my favorite quotes in, but since they're too many and they're all in the fic anyway, I hope saying that you're a comiic genius will suffice.

You're a comic genius.

And I love you and am glad we get to write together! You're so talented.

Reviewer: CharleyDate: 2006-01-11
Reviewid: 138350Chapter: 9
November? Did I miss something?

Reviewer: witchy-witchDate: 2006-01-10
Reviewid: 138319Chapter: 10
oh yay! I really need to say that that was the best peice of writing I've read on the Quill! I'm very happy indeedy with the way things turned out, and that your writing a sequel. It is just so Georgia Nicholson, but in a 12 year olds point of view!

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2006-01-10
Reviewid: 138313Chapter: 10
Excellent ending. I never guessed Priscilla was reading her diary--now I'm really intrigued to learn more about her. I loved reading about Eris, and her perspective on things. She's so funny! You've developed such a good voice from her, and the plot keeps on moving but there are still many diary-like digressions. And it was really good to get Susan Bones' sort of outside perspective on Eris. I'm glad you're doing a sequel; there are so many things I want to know, like what happened to Leigh and about Priscilla and so on. Good luck!

Reviewer: citysnidgetDate: 2006-01-10
Reviewid: 138291Chapter: 10
yay! i love this ficcie! it's amazing what Eris has to go through. That's why I especially like the beginning of this chapter, where you talk about the reasons between sadness and happiness.

yay sequels!

Always look on the Bright Side of life *whistles*

Reviewer: Hpgirl42095Date: 2006-01-10
Reviewid: 138273Chapter: 10
Oohh !!! IT ROCKS !!! This goes up in my favorite lists, along with the Lessons For Life series. Can't wait till "Eris Nott,13, Hufflepuff Extraordinaire" !!!!! Please Hurry !

Reader 4ever,
Nicole :P

Reviewer: MiaDate: 2006-01-09
Reviewid: 138266Chapter: 10
Done? Wow! Well done, Brib! I'm very proud! And I can't wait for the sequel! Way to go, hon!!

Reviewer: HexnutDate: 2006-01-09
Reviewid: 138249Chapter: 10
Re: "I can only say, thank you so much for actually caring about Eris enough to want to read about her," I can only respond, thank you for caring about Eris enough to write all this. I enjoyed reading it, and I look forward to the sequel. And thanks as well for pulling her as far as you did back from the hell you made for her; it sounded truly miserable, though she found her ways to cope, and learned enough from it to help Susan in this part.

Reviewer: Hpgirl42095Date: 2006-01-07
Reviewid: 138106Chapter: 1
Wow...it's good..but when is the last chapter going to come out ? I've been waiting for 6 days...

Reviewer: revolvingstaircaseDate: 2006-01-05
Reviewid: 138055Chapter: 9
This is funny! I like Eris! A lot of people do really bad when they write kids, but Eris sounds like a real kid. And I like the way you wrote her brother. It's sad and funny at the same time. Please keep writing this and I'll keep reading it.

Reviewer: Hpgirl42095Date: 2006-01-02
Reviewid: 137890Chapter: 9
Oo...I love it ! ~ Plz submit the last chapter !

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-22
Reviewid: 136156Chapter: 8
"This fic is, obviously, no longer canon since the sixth book, but I'm going to continue posting chapters anyway."

I believe what you wrote above. You did, however, neglect to indicate a time frame for postings. --- Please.

Reviewer: Eris_fan_heck_yesDate: 2005-11-09
Reviewid: 135757Chapter: 1
Hey,
I LOVE Eris, she reminds me and my family so much of myself in so many ways! I simply can't wait until may and so forth come out. It will be good to read another chapter about her. She is by far my favorite story on here! I hope you keep posting until her seventh year. Yes, i really like it that much. I hope you like writing about her cause i'd be simply sad if you stopped. This is a teriffic story so far, keep up the good work!!

Reviewer: JK AshavahDate: 2005-11-06
Reviewid: 135726Chapter: 2
Britt,

I love this. Eris' bitterness abouther family is just perfect, and I love how you've captured the voice of an 11-year-old. Plus, the reactions of her classmates and their cruel tricks are so true to the pettiness and nastiness of pre-teen cliques. Great work!

Yours,

JK

Reviewer: SongbirdDate: 2005-11-01
Reviewid: 135611Chapter: 8
Hey-
I'm laughing my head off and grinning like a stupid idiot because I'm enjoying this fic so much. REALLY nice job. I love how all this sirius stuff happens in your fic, and you still manage to keep it super-lighthearted.

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-10-27
Reviewid: 135243Chapter: 8
I just want to let you know that I'm still reading, (and enjoying it too)! :)

Oh well, it's too bad that it looks like Eris will never be a F&G, although at least she tried her hand at a prank.

I enjoy your Brinkerhoff character, well it's more like it's enjoying to read about how crazy she is. And of course I like the 87 refrences you always stick in, but by far the reason why I enjoy the story so much, is because of the innocence you portray Eris in the beggining, with spelling that needs major help. And through the course of the year besides for the fact her writing gets better, the innocence slowly goes away, and she starts to feel what goes with being an actual 'daughter of a DE'.

I can't wait to find out what happened to Teddy.

This chapter was great!

Reviewer: FluffyDate: 2005-10-25
Reviewid: 135137Chapter: 8
Oh, please continue! I love it so muchies!

Reviewer: FluffyDate: 2005-10-25
Reviewid: 135134Chapter: 5
Um... apparently, "Bent u gek" means "Are you crazy?"... XD

Reviewer: katrina guthreyDate: 2005-10-22
Reviewid: 134959Chapter: 1
cheer up,hufflepuff(if you read the books)is the house for everyone."I'll take the lot and treat them just the same" the value fair play above all else.I have a feeling this story is based upon you.took a sorting hat and didnt like the results huh?

Reviewer: dinojDate: 2005-10-22
Reviewid: 134948Chapter: 4
Leigh is a very good creation.

Nice reference to Pigwidgeon.

Reviewer: dinojDate: 2005-10-22
Reviewid: 134946Chapter: 3
You know, this is good. Very good. I like the alternative view - I have often wondered what normal kids thought of hp and why quidditch seemed to be the only sport at hogwarts. I really liked the reference to hermione's knitting, even if I can't believe dobby would wear all the woolly caps at once - what if hermione came down to the kitchen herself? He wouldn't want her to know he'd been taking all the clothes, would he?

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-10-17
Reviewid: 134647Chapter: 8
I think this may have been my favorite chapter. Eris's mind is sort of shifting around more in this chapter, and isn't being so much her happy go lucky self, which is kind of sad, but I'm a sucker for character developement. *sighs* Sorry this isn't more helpful. It was an awesome chapter.

Reviewer: Suzanne CantyDate: 2005-10-15
Reviewid: 134545Chapter: 8
Wow! I'm new to Sugar Quill and I've just read this wonderful story; So you're the daughter of a death eater, chapters 1-8. Omg! when i stopped reading it to eat or get something to drink, i couldn't wait to get back to the story and find out what happened next. I can't wait for the next chapter. There is going to be another chapter isnt there?
If so i cant wait! Please say it comes out soon, I don't think I will be able to wait for long. I'm too impatient!
Keep on writing :)

Reviewer: JessDate: 2005-10-15
Reviewid: 134534Chapter: 7
This story is well interesting and captive. I love the title and chapters-its so realistic for a 12 year old girl!:)
I'd say that your suspense is good:D
Well Done!
:b

Reviewer: BethDate: 2005-10-12
Reviewid: 134365Chapter: 8
Okay, you got me! I'm hooked now....fine, i'll admit it - i was hooked from the start :).
Very clever stuff in here...one thing i thought of was that the argument between Teddy and his father could've been developed further...there is lots of room for great, spine-tingling lines in there!
I really like that you picked the Notts as your main characters, gave some credit to the most overlooked House in the books, and strayed away from the usual house characteristics. All very well done.
I was wondering why you chose the name Grindelwa for the house elf...sounds very close to that Dark Wizard, and I was curious if there was any connection -- did Adolf have a house elf? ;)
Keep updating, I'm very interested!
-- Beth

Reviewer: Aura Black ChanDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134137Chapter: 8
I love this fic! Having Teddy as the hero is a wonderful touch, but I hope he's okay! Leigh Webber is very funny, even if he is a bit mad from being a prisoner for two years. Seem's to be high on life right now though (and seeing Eris Nott again!)! Speaking of Eris, she needs to pick up a Bible and read up on "Joseph". Probably there weren't too many in her house growing up. Please update this soon!

Reviewer: perpetuallyconfusedDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134112Chapter: 8
[i] You are a good listener, Eris. You are of the race that knows Joseph.[/i]

*does a little dance* It's an Anne reference! Yay! (I hope I'm not the only one who catches this...)

Great story, btw. You really catch the voice of a young girl in her diary!

Reviewer: JessDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133861Chapter: 7
<3 your fic. Update and let me know!

Reviewer: AnaDate: 2005-09-30
Reviewid: 133499Chapter: 7
y dont ya write sum more chpters? This story was really kl. Looks like Eris fancies Harry or sumfink.Plz write sum more chpters!!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-09-28
Reviewid: 133425Chapter: 5
[“Brianne!”
“Eris!”
“Meow?” said Cheese. He had just come in with a mouse and put it on my bed. Ew.]

*snert* You write the best pets! Cheese already cracks me up!

[Then they'll check it and recheck it, I suppose (hey, people reading this! How are you all?)]

Hahaha! Leah sounds like the perfect match for Eris!

[Brianne and I both knew that Cheese isn't allowed outside of Hufflepuff Hidey-hole (the name I've given it) during day time (it was around four when all this happened) ever since he interrupted Flitwick's class and ate one of the mice the Gryffindor second years were practicing on.]

*snert* Cheese is really one psycho. cat. You know, I've always wondered what all the pets did during the day at Hogwarts. They must get very bored. Poor Kennedy.

[Merlin’s pure white knickers, I live in a nuthouse.]

Hahahaha! You really make Hufflepuff House sound like a lot of fun! Way more interesting than Gryffindor!

[Boy, is Theodore really freaking me out.
In other news, woohoo! Gobstones tonight!]

Oh my Bob! I love how Eris prioritizes and I love how she just shifts her attention from one thing to another. She's like a hyperactive butterfly. She truly is an original character and a breath of fresh air as a narrator.

[fifth-year Gryffindor took for me]

Aw, so sweet of Colin! I really miss hearing about Colin Creevy in the books; I bet he and Eris would get along splendidly.

Reviewer: BrianneDate: 2005-09-26
Reviewid: 133235Chapter: 7
I really like this story. It's funny and serious at the same time. Plus it has my name in it (and the character is described like me. I got a little creeped out then).

Cheers,
Brianne

Reviewer: LilldrakenDate: 2005-09-13
Reviewid: 132476Chapter: 7
Keep going!!

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-09-12
Reviewid: 132348Chapter: 7
This is as good as always, and I really enjoyed reading this chapter. Reading about Eris is as enjoyable as ever even post HBP. Thanks for writing it.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2005-09-12
Reviewid: 132341Chapter: 7
Oh, no! Poor Eris. *Hugs*

Is it disturbing that I've seen LJ entries a bit like that, though? (Well, minus knowing who murdered their cats, but I have seen things like... yeah).

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2005-09-03
Reviewid: 131570Chapter: 7
*sniffs for Nana* Oh, no! And Teddy! It's great to see an update, by the way. =)

And yay for P&P mentions!

-PQ

Reviewer: Aura Black ChanDate: 2005-08-31
Reviewid: 131372Chapter: 7
Thanks for the update! I love this story, and would be sad to see it end too soon. That was really low what they did to her cat (even if she didn't like him, much). It would be great to see her take a bold step and tell McGonagal, or Dumbledor about what happened to him, but that would probably only cause more trouble. That's really sad about her grandma too. Iris needs something good to happen to her soon!

Reviewer: graceDate: 2005-08-29
Reviewid: 131150Chapter: 4
Your plot line dosn't seem plasable, Eris should of been more scared of the DE's. Also no gryffindor would ever join Voldormort! I didn't like chapter 4 at all, sorry.

Reviewer: MonicaDate: 2005-08-28
Reviewid: 131084Chapter: 7
V. nice!!! So glad you updated!!!!!!!!!!!! Continue.....PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2005-08-27
Reviewid: 130986Chapter: 4
So, long time no review. How did this happen? Once again, you must chase me down and force me to read, because I love Eris but am also quite lazy.

~~Professor Snape must be having a bad time. He's given us about seven hundred pages of homework to do. And he accidentally-on-purpose dropped Mark Huntington-the-know-it-all-Ravenclaw's flask after he turned it in.~~

Parallels= Love!

~~And so shall I go to the Quidditch match today. To rid myself of Mr. Boredom. Although Mrs. I've-Got-Nothing-Better-To-Do-Anyways is sort of amusing. She bakes cookies, too. Shut up, brain, shut up! ~~

Mrs. I've-Got-Nothing-Better-To-Do-Anyways better send me some gingerbread men for Christmas, Britt...;) *shuts up and actually tries to write something constructive*

~~Hufflepuff! Hufflepuff! We'll huff and we'll puff and we'll blow your House down! We're the badgers and we're better than you lions! Better than you snakes! Better than you eagles, even, even when we make mistakes! Goooo Hufflepuff!

So I have incomparable House spirit. It must have been my sitting next to Professor Sprout again. ~~

You know, there are times like this when I see so much of you in Eris...or Eris in you...whichever. ;) Because if you were at Hogwarts, undoubtedly you would be dancing, cheering, and making references to Little Red Ridinghood. Oh, right, CONSTRUCTIVE. Sorry!

~~I miss Nana. She always makes me laugh--and right before I left for Hogwarts, she was teaching me to knit.~~

*constructive-ish mode* Grandmothers are always the best to go to if you want to learn to knit. It's one of those bonding things that should never be ignored.

That's not constructive at all, is it?

Oh, now I see your Madam Pince and giggle. And your Filch! How delightful.

The Hamlet bit was genius.

All right, I no longer have time to finish this chapter. I promise the rest of my review will be up later...you know, the part where I actually talk about structure, meanings, emotions that I felt, and politics of the English people who secretly live in Belgium. Aka we'll see what I can say. ;)

Reviewer: AllisonDate: 2005-08-26
Reviewid: 130976Chapter: 7
I think you have created a likable believable (love the spelling mistakes) and a captivtivating plot. Keep up the good work. Oh, and tell'Lunabelle' that I think the title is very catchy. :)

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-08-25
Reviewid: 130873Chapter: 4
[We'll huff and we'll puff and we'll blow your House down!]

Oh, that's a really cute cheer! I haven't seen that one before.

[For the love of all that is magical, Emmy, quit going behind the sink if you don't want to get stuck! Do you have no brain in that kitty head of yours? Are the kittens taking up all of your intelligence? And stop yowling at me to help you out, because I'm NOT going to help you. I'm NOT.]

Hehehehe! I don't know why I love that exchange, but I do. I guess anyone who've ever owned a pet know that they do dtupid things over and over again and you just want to ask them, "why do you keep doing that if I have to keep rescuing you?"

I love Eris's chattyness and the twist at the end, with Eris being locked up in that room with poor Leigh Webber, was absolutely terrifying and sad. Glad Emmy had her kittens, that was really cute. Can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: Sagacious CDate: 2005-08-25
Reviewid: 130843Chapter: 3
This line CRAXED ME UP:
"I knew it. I KNEW I would be paired with Professor Brinkerhoff. She's only said "Bent u gek" about NINE MILLION TIMES in ONE BLOODY HOUR."

Eris is such a naive little sweetie pie -- you're doing a great job with her as an unreliable, and yet hilarious, narrator. I'm going to keep on reading now, but I just had to pause and review because I seriously started laughing out loud. Great job! (And great inclusion of 87 in Chapters 1 and 2!)

Reviewer: emmy the catDate: 2005-08-25
Reviewid: 130836Chapter: 7
exelentay!!!!!! love how the thoughts are just like a 12 year old's, hurry up with next chapter!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: SerendipityDate: 2005-08-24
Reviewid: 130820Chapter: 7
I really really really really really really really really really really really really really really liked it! Its cool how some of the stuff went with HBP even before it came out! I just have one thing....wheres the rest?!

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-08-24
Reviewid: 130802Chapter: 7
That was a great chapter, Brit. Eris has developed wonderfully, as well as her ways of watching other people. I'm still amazed that for the most part she tries to see the best in everyone.

Reviewer: Findarto_SirfalasDate: 2005-08-21
Reviewid: 130521Chapter: 6
This has to be one of the...
Best stories I've read so far.

It makes me sad, happy, and intrigued.

I can't wait to find out what's going to happen with Eris!

When's the next chapter ?"

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-08-19
Reviewid: 130399Chapter: 3
[Why in the name of Baldwin the Bedazzled would Daddy have a giant in our house?]

Hahahaha! I love Eris's humor.

[To successfully defeat a kappa, one must…
Hit it on the head with a frying pan?]

LOL! I suppose that would work!

[before they graduated from Hogwarts]

Er, sorry to get all Brit. picky on you, but the British use the term "left" instead of "graduate."

[Thankfully, nobody was hurt--well, except for the people that were there because they were hurt, but then they had been hurt before they could have been hurt, hadn't they?]

I love Eris's logic, it makes so much sense! I love how she just speaks her mind and how she's so unselfconscious.

[I wonder what "Bent u gek!" really means. It's probably something like "Watch out for my pointy fingernails of doom, you lousy, stupid person!" Except... more condensed.]

Too funny! I love how you balance the serious (Theodore's warning) with the everyday humor to be found in life.

Oh, Eris is such a charming, original OC. You know, this could be an original book, just make Eris's dad something equally hissable so that everyone at school doesn't like her. I'm really enjoying this story and I hope you update soon!

Reviewer: monicaDate: 2005-07-31
Reviewid: 128340Chapter: 2
have you read "and then he ate my boy entrancers'? Beacuse I just finished "and that's when it fell off my hand" and there are so many ver ver funny refrences. I love cheese!!! As well as gordy and Angus. Hehehe kennedy was eaten! Was that a refrence to the bat ears?

Reviewer: KewiiDate: 2005-07-04
Reviewid: 126047Chapter: 1
Need.Update.Now.Or.I.Will.Die...save me :D

Seriously, I read this story after someone posted the quote about the ponies in the quote thread in the forums.

Thank god they posted that quote.

Normally, I avoid journal entry stories. They're not my cup of tea. So again, I must thank something that I didn't know this was a journal entry story before I started to read it.

I love the story.

Eris is so cute and funny and heartwrenching at the same time. She doesn't deserve all the crap that you--as a nasty, mean author--are making her go through. ;)

I also think she needs to kick Briana in the face. I know Briana comes around, but still I think Eris deserves better than a friend who can't make up her mind.

The only thing I didn't like was the Quidditch part where Briana made the team. I guess it's true Jo never said First Years couldn't play, she just said they couldn't have brooms.

But I just felt like it took away from Harry's being 'the youngest player in a century'.

I can't wait for the next chapter.

Kewii

Reviewer: monicaDate: 2005-07-02
Reviewid: 125906Chapter: 1
this is the best sugarquill story yet but you are not updating!!! Please update because this is killing me!!!

Reviewer: LynnDate: 2005-06-30
Reviewid: 125673Chapter: 6
Four more chapters, you say? I can't wait. I need to know:

WHO keeps stealing her journal?
What's up with Cheese? Is she really just a strange cat or is she up to something?
Why does Snape look at her like a child molestor?
What IS the deal with Teddy?

I love this story. I can't get over how in the midst of all this turmoil and sadness and strangeness she can still get so excited over normal things. I sure hope there's a happy ending in store for her. Poor kid. I want to Mary Sue myself into the story and be nice to her. She needs a friend!

Reviewer: LynnDate: 2005-06-30
Reviewid: 125668Chapter: 4
I've been away from the story for awhile and just caught up. I continue to love Eris' voice and humor and the way she survives all this rejection and mistreatment with her humor intact. I do have to point out something that was jarring to me, though. I understand that Leigh would be unsure about how long he's been in the Room, but IMO it's handled a little awkwardly. Sometimes it's stated as a specific amount of time, then it goes back to being ambiguous, then it goes back to being a definite amount... maybe I'm just slow today but the time reference was a little "clunky" for lack of a better word. Here are the statements I'm referring to:

It's him all right. I asked him how long he had been here, and he said three years.

"I'm fourteen. I think. I'm not sure how long I've been here, so I can't really keep track."

"You've been missing for two years!

I haven't made a true prophesy for three years."

"So how long have you been here?" I asked when he peeped from his side of the room again and looked at the wall behind me, calculating.

"According to my more-or-less correct calendar--797 days, which is roughly two years, two months and five days. I think. I could be wrong."

I don't expect an exact accounting but if it's ambiguous, IMO, it should be ambiguous in each reference.

So- take it or leave it, just wanted to give you my impression because otherwise this is such an enjoyable read but that section really bothered me!

Now on to read the later chapters. I've missed Eris!

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2005-06-29
Reviewid: 125635Chapter: 3
I know, I'm a horrible reviewer. I start reading a fic, love it, then promptly end up reading too mnay things to finish it and review properly. Sorry about that. So, here's my Chapter 3 review.

~~I wonder if anybody at out school is an Occlumens or Legilimens. I suppose Dumbledore is one; what isn't he? I like to think that Professor Snape is one… I think that he's very clever, if he is very mean and doesn't seem to like me very much. Except for the child-molester-like staring. But that's not liking, that's weird.

Even Later

But he did like my potion.~~

Oh, goodness, adorable Eris...

~~Perhaps he just thinks I'm really clever. Or maybe not, because yesterday a Ravenclaw (we Hufflepuffs share Double Potions with them) answered a question and Snape sneered at her and said, "Did I tell you to answer the question, Miss. Huntington? No, I did not. Next time, I suggest you wait until I call on you. Ten points from Ravenclaw," which I thought was sort of harsh, especially since when I looked it up and her answer was right.~~

I like how you illustrate Snape as treating other students the way he will treat Gryffindors. It makes an interesting point.

~~Not okay. But I'll get over it. I just nodded and looked away.

But I will NOT cry. I WON'T.

Okay, so perhaps I might.~~

Oh...I'm going through the same though process. It just seems to me that Maria should be a bit doubtful of those feelings- like maybe she's just too afraid to say what she really means. That's just me hoping, though.

The bit with Brianne was quite touching. And 'Hogwarts Remembers'? A very interesting idea.

~~"Because now Bumblebore knows that the Dark Lord will have more followers soon." ~~

I'm sure it's just a typo. But...Bumbledore? Teehee. Priceless.

~~It must be easy for you, you've had at least a month to get used to it, but I can't. ~~

Wow. Burn.

~~I think pets should have nice, sensible names like Emmy. Or Cheese.~~

Wow. I know what to name my next hamster now, I guess. Yogurt, perhaps? ;)

Anyway, another wonderful chapter. The plot thickens thicker, what with Eris's re-established 'relationship' with Theodore, her dependance on herself, Brianne's own insecurities, and Emmy's pregnancy. Oh, and Bent U Gek. That's priceless. ;) Keep it up, dahling!

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2005-06-27
Reviewid: 125375Chapter: 6
Another great chapter. I think I literally breathed a sigh of relief after her talk with Teddy, but I don't know...I'm really worried about him. He's put himself into a really dangerous position and I don't think he has Eris's coping skills.

I have to say again how much I love Eris as a character - her voice is so genuine, I can practically hear it as I read.

Reviewer: Kit the BraveDate: 2005-06-26
Reviewid: 125234Chapter: 5
"Opposite of ja?" is my new Favorite Fanfic Quote Ever!

And I loved this chapter. The tension is building, and the Death Eaters are getting more serious, but there are still hilarious parts. Eris is one of my favorite all-time OCs!

Reviewer: monicaDate: 2005-06-25
Reviewid: 125204Chapter: 6
i love ypur story! i can totaly sence georgia(luv that grl) and mia in your writing! Plz continue writing! It's a really good story although a bit odd. Keep up the good work!!!

Reviewer: DustyDate: 2005-06-25
Reviewid: 125197Chapter: 6
Don't have a lot of time to review now (have finally read the latest chapter) but I just wanted to say that I want to give Eris a big hug. And I also really, really love your descriptions of Gobstones - it's one of those little things from canon that you've developed wonderfully.

Reviewer: BellaDate: 2005-06-22
Reviewid: 124861Chapter: 3
[Party tonight in the common room, that's what Beth Rekin (of dung)'s boyfriend, Timothy Vale, just said. As they and the rest of what she calls her "ace gang" clambered down the stands,]
Ace gang! Three cheers for Louise Rennison! Also, kudos for the nod to Fat Louie. :D
On to read more!
Bella

Reviewer: BellaDate: 2005-06-22
Reviewid: 124860Chapter: 2
[Actually, I was sort of thinking of the Keeper, Ron Weasley.

He's fit, too, I suppose. Everyone can tell he likes their other friend, the bookish one with bushy hair, though, so it's not like you've got much of a chance.

You say that like you've got more of a chance with Harry Potter.]

Ahahaha, this is awesome! Wow! I didn't think I would like it, but I'm really enjoying it! Off to read more. I really, really hope things get better for Eris.
I can definitely see Meg Cabot (one of my all-time favs) in your writing, by the way! Off to read more!
Bella

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-06-20
Reviewid: 124566Chapter: 6
I loved the gobstone matches and all the talk about it. You wrote them excellent. I also enjoyed the fact that Teddy finally came through, and I hope he stay's okay.

Great Chapter. (And Possibly Congrats! :P )

Reviewer: There Goes My GunDate: 2005-06-19
Reviewid: 124505Chapter: 5
Greetings from the review exchange threads, and apologies for the delay!

This is quite an interesting fic, and Eris is certainly an original and empathetic character: you've done a very good job at realistically writing an eleven year old girl (along with the misspellings, the tantrums, the note passing, the fickle tweenage friendships and the unthinking accusations of calling someone a 'child molester' - an insult I know that too many kids that age throw out without thinking of the consequences). Her relationship with Theodore is understandable and quite nice, and the scene with Leigh Webber in that room was quite chilling: I like your foreshadowing and your execution!

I think some of the dialogue, and the absolute abruptness of the ending of relationships in this fic (with little time spent for the character to dwell on them, mind: I seem to remember doing a lot more stewing when I was that age!) was a little jarring, and it would've been nice to see a bit more of an emotional reaction after the events. If that made any sense.

That said, this is quite an enjoyable fic, and you've written in the Hogwarts world very well and introduced us to some nice original characters. Well done.

Reviewer: sunsethillDate: 2005-06-17
Reviewid: 124284Chapter: 6
Eris has such a unique voice. I smile through each chapter, even when I want to cry. I'm so glad her Theodore didn't become a death eater.

Reviewer: Cannonsgurl90Date: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124247Chapter: 6
I love this story! It's like reading about me when I was eleven. Only my dad isn't a Death Eater. Luckily. :-)

Reviewer: BrielleDate: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124191Chapter: 6
I should have learnt by now - never drink when reading this fic. My screen does not like you, even though I do.

I like Teddy more and more, and the same with Brianne. I do not, however, like Priscilla. It's just the name...Priscilla...

And we all love Eris! GOOOOOO ERIS!!!

Reviewer: Aura Black ChanDate: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124119Chapter: 6
I loved this chapter! Eris's enthusiasm for Gobstones is contagious (I wanna learn how to play!), and seeing Brianne do the right thing by her friend was great to read. Sisters, even when they're twins, aren't meant to always do what the other does. I like Brianne alot better now that she's grown a spine. Please update soon!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-06-13
Reviewid: 123870Chapter: 2
[Why would anyone take a test just to know where to buy magical make-up? I've got enough tests already, thanks.] Ha!

[Toad choir try-outs today.]

OMG!!! Too funny! I love all your little inside jokes!

[nail polish] Just a little Brit pick: they call it nail varnish instead of nail polish.

Oh, I loved the idea of the YDES. Poor Eris, she really has a lot to put up with, but she never loses her spirit or her sense of humor.

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2005-06-11
Reviewid: 123782Chapter: 2
Just a few other things I wanted to say before I was rudely forced to go sing (or something):
YWS? Oh, goodness, I REALLY wish they had one of those in the actual books. Another thing for Hermione to sniff at and all- it would be very jolly.

Hot in Hogsmeade: Reminds me of a fic I read while researching 87 that I thought HAD to be the answer. Then I realized that Nasnoona had already asked about it, and that it really had nothing to do with 87 at all...although it was THE BIGGEST coincidence. Ever.

I also enjoyed how Prissy *scratch that* Priscilla ended up being the one that could relate to Eris. Hehe...I smell character devolopment!

Hem hem. Now to the actual chapter I'm to be reviewing...

~

<I told him that didn't really make sense, and then I told him to shut up and let me play with Kevin.>
*giggling evilly* Er, right, GOBSTONES. Sorry, took the wrong lane there...carrying on...

<Toad choir try-outs today.>
Wait a minute...hold up...did I just read what I think I- oh man, I think my spleen burst. I just need a minute, honestly...
<I think we need more sports at this school. We've got Quidditch, yes, but Durmstrang's got Swivenhodge, too, and Beauxbatons has got even more. Perhaps I'll start a rebellion against the sportless tyranny of Hogwarts. I'll call it WRESH-- We Require Every Sport Here! I'll make badges! The penguin will be our mascot! It will be a school revolution!
"Or you could just shut your mouth and do your homework." Oh, shut up yourself, brain. You thought of it first. >
I think the reason I find all of this so funny is because we’re so used to reading Harry Potter through Harry’s POV, and he’s not very witty. Not that I don’t love him. But wit just doesn’t ever go hand in hand with an angsting Prophecy boy. But this just shows some innocent humour that is taking place in the same setting as where Harry and Co. are, and it’s just…well, something to think about, really. That and I’m getting a bit fussy having to beta read unoriginal angst fic after unoriginal fic anymore, and this is just a happy little retreat to make me re-love Hogwarts and characters.
Hey, do you know that when you Google-search ‘Bent u Gek mean’ you get a link to your story? Yeah. (And it never does tell you what it means, so poo.) Ah, nevermind, Free Translation tells me that it means, ‘You are Joke?’. Hehe. I’m sure I’m out of the loop on that one, but all the same…
~
Wow. All right, I just finished the chapter, and I feel so horrible for the poor girl. Is it wrong that I picture her as you? Anyway, the pranks, the note, the curse, her brother…I don’t know how she handles it. I would have gone insane. However, the balance of chilling events and humor really equals out quite nicely. I would continue to write, but this is getting quite long and soon I fear I’ll begin to ramble so much that I sound like a sloth…all right, that’s it, I’m done.

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2005-06-11
Reviewid: 123698Chapter: 1
I've been meaning to read this for ages, Brittney, and finally decided to. I'm a bit angry that I have no time now, however, becasue it's so hilarious and well written that I fear I won't be able to perform well tonight due to random fits of laughter. ;) Thanks a lot!

Anyway, even though I've never been a huge fan of diary format written stories, your style just seems to MAKE SENSE like this. So, major judos on that. You also relay the message that it's an 11-year-old writing this, and her innocence and views on things just make me love her. Dang it, why didn't you force me to read this earlier when I could have written a decent review!

~

Priscilla Winston
klsdkladlalkl;ak! All right, I just think it's a funny name...I love how you included her as the snobby yet beautiful character- and a half blood nonetheless!

'Kind of freaky, actually. I wonder if he goes around like that. What people must think! "Look, there goes Snape, the potential child molester." He'd better watch out, really.'

Brittney, have I ever said how much I love you?

'Teddy hates him, but Harry seems so nice. And very fit'

Oh, goodness...;) That made me quite happy, although I'm not quite sure why...

'P.S. Why are you in Gobstones? Good God.'

jkhdksahdhakjdhkhakjda!

...Oh, and the eighty-seven sugarquills? Brilliant, hon. Brilliant. *steals one*

Reviewer: EloiseDate: 2005-06-08
Reviewid: 123470Chapter: 5
Bent u gek? You are SO AWESOME!!! How the heck can you come up with such awesome stories?!?! I would NEVER be able to come up with such good stuff. One question: is Nana under a memory charm or imperious curse, because it seems like it with her talking about the qiant and forgeting it and remembering it again. It is an AWESOME book. You are great. I hope you will keep writing this story.

Reviewer: heatherDate: 2005-06-07
Reviewid: 123448Chapter: 5
ooohhhh. carry on writing it! I finished this chapter just in time. =P i have to go. hehe. goooood storyyyy! I've only just discovered this site you see + its very cool! espeshally yoor story. =P

Reviewer: heatherDate: 2005-06-07
Reviewid: 123438Chapter: 3
Oooh. Did i 4get 2 say in my last review that this story makes me laff out loud? =] good job that my parents are out shopping cuz they would think im crazy ... not that they don't already think that ...

Reviewer: heatherDate: 2005-06-07
Reviewid: 123436Chapter: 2
wow! I really like this story. I'm just sitting here shivering in the cold in my dad's boxers(don't ask) + i can't even be bothered 2 go get something 2 warm me up. =]

Reviewer: MiaDate: 2005-06-03
Reviewid: 123279Chapter: 5
Oooh! I finally got around to reading this. Very good work, Brit!! You're doing a great job. And in the chapter before this with the dead Kennedy. That made me giggle. Great work! - Mia

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-06-03
Reviewid: 123275Chapter: 1
[One day, when He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named is gone, some former Society lady will rise, and the YWS will be her minions. We should really be preparing.]

Hahaha! That's hilarious!

I'm really impressed by your story. The title didn't do much for me, but when I read the summary, I was intrigued (BTW-*great* summary. Writing good summaries is an art form). I love the character you've created in Eris. She's just so refreshing and so normal. I love her observations about everything, like how she couldn't wait to go to Hogwarts and then writing about how boring her classes are. I'm really liking the fact that she's in the Gobstones club. It's so nice to see OC's who are into activities besides Quidditch. Her relationship with her brother is really great. I like how you show us so much about the characters instead of telling us, like how Theo likes jelly slugs and Eris makes up words. There's something so pure and simple about Eris. Your writing is very honest and that's a rare thing. Looking forward to more!

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2005-06-02
Reviewid: 123234Chapter: 5
Finally got a chance to catch back up with Eris today and read the last few chapters that I've missed. She's such a great character - you do a great job of writing in her voice. She really comes right off the page as I read about her.

Wow, the story's really taken a compelling turn...there are so many questions in my head about Eris and her family! I am looking forward to more chapters! Keep up the great work!

Reviewer: LunabelleDate: 2005-06-02
Reviewid: 123206Chapter: 5
FINALLY, some recognition...
Haha, everytime I read "Bent u Gek?!" I think of Mrs. Drown and her yellow tooth...the lair of the buck-toothed witch...HAHA, witch! Get it?! (<--is very pleased with herself) Anywhoo, Teddy makes me wanna chop in half with a machete. And Brianne. And Mallory. When's Leigh coming back? My fishies say HI, DOBBY! What should I name my next fishie? I've been thinking about it, but I can't decide...maybe I'll name one after someone in your story. Brinkerhoff is always a nice character...haha, my poor fishie. Oh, to have a name like Brinkerhoff...just about as bad as some of those Elementary names, eh? Wow. Getting very random. Will go now. Signing off.

Reviewer: LunabelleDate: 2005-06-02
Reviewid: 123200Chapter: 3
About in the middle of this I began to get a strange urge to eat icecream. I tried to ignore it because if my mom found out she'd be mad, but Alas! I could not. So ate it I did (as quiet as a mouse I was. Speak like Yoda I do. Okay, getting off topic here). And when I came back upstairs, I read the part about Eris wanting icecream.

Odd. Bye Dobbykins! ^_~

Reviewer: JenDate: 2005-06-02
Reviewid: 123197Chapter: 1
It's absolutely wonderful! I can't wait to read the next chapter. I wish i could read it all right now. You're doing a wonderful job. Keep it up! Am anticipating the next of Eris's entries

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2005-06-01
Reviewid: 123179Chapter: 5
Ok so where was the detention?

Reviewer: Deborah PetersDate: 2005-06-01
Reviewid: 123139Chapter: 1
I'm reviewing this just on the first chapter, because for some reason I've only just begun to read this story--and it's wonderful! What have I been missing? Eris is a lovely editor, and you've done her well; she's both funny and young, and you manage not to overdo either. I'll be reading the rest of this, you can be sure!

Reviewer: YlimeDate: 2005-05-31
Reviewid: 123116Chapter: 5
I just found out that Eris was the Goddess of Strife. (I kid you not!)

Another cracking chapter, as always - Eris has got to be one of my favourite OCs ever!

Reviewer: EntiDate: 2005-05-30
Reviewid: 123068Chapter: 5
Hey this is just because I thought I should add my email in case you need any more Dutch - I checked the review of the other crazy Dutch person around here but no email there, so if you need anything..

Reviewer: EntiDate: 2005-05-30
Reviewid: 123067Chapter: 5
I love Eris :) so keep writing :)

Oh and it would be 'U spreekt Nederlands' without the 'het'. But 'U' is the formal version of you, it's a bit strange for a teacher to use it to a student, but as she's been saying it all the time with 'bent u gek' I guess it's best to keep it that way.. the informal version would be 'je', 'ben je gek' and 'je spreekt nederlands!'. My, she is rather a very weird person, what did we Dutch do to deserve that? :P I'd like to see more of her though :)

Reviewer: Aura Black ChanDate: 2005-05-30
Reviewid: 123023Chapter: 5
Yikes! Her mad teacher hugged her in front of everyone!!!!! How embarrasing!!! Good chapter! Letting Brianne have a taste of what it's like to have someone not want to be your friend is a good idea. Good for Eris not wanting to settle for being a 'secret friend' like she was a dirty secret. What kind of friendship is that?

Reviewer: zoegirlDate: 2005-05-29
Reviewid: 123004Chapter: 1
i really liked this story, how you made it about someone els than HP.

Reviewer: IssyDate: 2005-05-29
Reviewid: 122988Chapter: 5
'And Hufflepuffs aren’t wimpy, thank you very much'

Hurrah for the Hufflepuff solidarity! I (and Sylvia Fawcett) approve mightily.

I loved the section about Professor Brinkerhoff and 'ja, ben ik!' - very funny.

Poor Eris. I hope things begin to look up for her soon - no one seems to be too fond of her at the moment! I suppose that's the flipside of Hufflepuff loyalty - absolute obstinacy. Anyway, I look forward to the next installment - here's hoping that the YDES don't catch up with her!

Reviewer: Morgan-ElizabethDate: 2005-05-29
Reviewid: 122965Chapter: 5
I came accross your fic quite by accident, and i'm rather glad I did. It reminds me of the 'Angus, Thongs and Full Frontal Snogging' series by some author whose name I can't recall, but with a Hogwarts twist. To be honest, I'd all but forgotten that this was a HP fic until you mentioned Harry earlier on! An OC fic that is well enough written to distract me from Harry.... well done :)
I can't wait for the next chapter :)

Morgan-Elizabeth

Reviewer: BrielleDate: 2005-05-28
Reviewid: 122926Chapter: 5
Teehee. I like Eris

<Merlin’s pure white knickers, I live in a nuthouse>

I love it when Eris comes out with things like this...Merlin's knickers?

Just a quick thing though: it seems odd that the cheerleader-type idea has occured to Eris. Those things are only really recognisable in England through American teen films and I can't see a Death Eater's daughter being allowed access to those.

I predict that Cheese will turn out to be Voldemort in disguise. He seems to have channeled a similar spirit, anyhow.

<Opposit of ja?>

*falls over*

Reviewer: MaartjeDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122880Chapter: 5
I so do not tell you enough how marvellous this story is. I'll probably tell you three times before Monday, watch me.

P.S. Silly you! You've got a native Dutch speaker on your flist (i.e. me!), you can ask her anything about Dutch!

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122805Chapter: 5
Brit, we all love little Eris, you continue to catch the voice of the ten year old.

Brianne must be a bit more than a little stupid, if she listens to whatever her sister sais. *g*

It's really too bad that Nana is now in St. Mungos, I hope Eris gets a chance to visit her sooner.

And Teddy is really a piece, "your a hufflepuff be nice", somebody has to get something through his thick head.

And I still kind of wonder what's going to happen with Leigh...


Great Chapter, As always were all looking forward to more,

Gryfny

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122771Chapter: 5
I always laugh out loud more than once when I read this story. Your pacing and Eris' nonchalance and the turns of phrase and thoughts bouncing all over the place; then the poignant things like Nana and Theodore- it's such a good read. I'll be happy to see what Eris is up to next.

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122766Chapter: 5
This fic always makes me smile. Eris is written perfectly. She always makes me laugh, and is a true Huff, always plugging away at what's bothering her, but gets confused when people can't do the same. She's a great OC, and I love reading about her.

<<Merlin’s pure white knickers, I live in a nuthouse.>> May I steal that, if I ever write a fic where it fits? Because that is such a great line. If I can't that's okay, but I love that line.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --