The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 27

Reviewer: ksellersDate: 2006-05-05
Reviewid: 142549Chapter: 1
This was brilliant... I kept thinking it was Hagrid, until the McG came on the scene. Awesome.

Reviewer: Hpgirl42095Date: 2006-04-19
Reviewid: 142058Chapter: 1
Hahaha. I like the Voldemort part! He is SO much better this way!

Reviewer: RussaDate: 2005-09-14
Reviewid: 132512Chapter: 1
This is hilarious! I was thinking Lockhart, myself, but I much prefer Filch, if only because he's not a stuck-up git. Just a bitter old man. ...But I digress.
Your tone is perfect! I loved Voldy crying his burning red eyes out, and McGonagall is priceless!

"I could have borne his progeny. His marvelous genes are lost to us forever. I have failed the world at large!"

*goes off in gales of side-splitting guffaws*

Reviewer: graceDate: 2005-08-28
Reviewid: 131094Chapter: 1
That was great! I was debating wether it was Filch or Hagrid, the McGonagall bit was rather funny.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2005-08-25
Reviewid: 130859Chapter: 1
Absolutely brilliant. I didn't suspect in the least who it was until you revealed it.

Reviewer: NekoDate: 2005-07-22
Reviewid: 127573Chapter: 1
Absolutely hilarious. Very original, wonderfully wide vocabulary. Excellent, really spectacular. Great job!

.:Neko:.

Reviewer: PeachesDate: 2005-06-08
Reviewid: 123472Chapter: 1
hahahaHaHaHaHAHAHA *gasps for breath* HAHAHA...anyway that was awesomely funny. *snort* thanks for sharing it...*continuing racuous laughter*

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2005-05-30
Reviewid: 123098Chapter: 1
I so guessed it!!!! I was going through trying to think of who it could have been and I thought of Filch. But then I thought that couldn't be right 'cause he's a squib, lol. But I guess if he's day dreaming anything's possible right, lol.

~GW

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2005-05-21
Reviewid: 122544Chapter: 1
You write well, but for me, the delightful thing about Walter Mitty was that thurber had him imagine many different situations triggered by ordinary events and they were sketched out in short hilarious episodes (emphasis on 'short'). I would have liked this story much better if the eulogies had been held for the end and greatly shortened, and the end part, where Filch goes off in a daydream about playing Quidditch had been expanded and more episodes of that type were included. Of course the ending with McG screaming is priceless and out-Thurbers Thurber.

Reviewer: Anna BrownDate: 2005-05-11
Reviewid: 121855Chapter: 1
wow you did a good job of imatating the secret life of Walter Mitty it is what I thought of once I learned who the greatest wizard ever was suposed to be and it has been two years since I read that story.

Reviewer: djfkDate: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121821Chapter: 1
Wonderful job done! You took the work of two great authors- and you combined it into something unique and all yours.
In a sense I like this story more than James Thurber's!

Reviewer: suaDate: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121815Chapter: 1
ARGUS FILCH!
"There was always such a shine about his work, a clean-ness about his solutions to whatever life brought his way."
I should have guessed!
But then-I couldn't have-such is your marvelous skill and creativity.

Reviewer: childoftheseventhsinDate: 2005-04-24
Reviewid: 120479Chapter: 1
I love this! I was desperately trying to think who the 'Greatest Wizard of All Time' was the whole way through, you do this so well!!!!

Reviewer: Jack's Smirking RevengeDate: 2005-04-21
Reviewid: 120280Chapter: 1
Oh hey, I read this a while ago, but didn't review. I just wanted to say, it was hilarious, beautifully done! I, too, enjoyed The Secet Life of Walter Mitty, and your style is very spot-on with that. Nice!

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2005-03-07
Reviewid: 115786Chapter: 1
Hehe, excellent short story. I caught on that it might be Argus when Arthur was speaking, and then I began to wonder because Argus is a squib...

I am quite fond of the works of James Thurber, and I have indeed read "The Secret Life of Walter Mitty" on more than one occasion. I think that your work is indeed a tribute to his piece, and hopefully it will inspire some of your readers to seek out the works of James Thurber.

One nitpicky HP thing... Arthur says he remembers him from his younger days at school, but when Molly and Arthur were dating at Hogwarts Appollyon Pringle was the caretaker.

That doesn't take away from your story at all, but I had to mention it.

Wonderful job!

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115404Chapter: 1
This was great! Very funny. I kept trying to guess who it could be. I thought it might be Lockhart, because I knew it was supposed to be funny, but Filch caught me by surprise! Nice work.

Reviewer: Fab4MumDate: 2005-02-21
Reviewid: 114573Chapter: 1
This is GREAT! It fits that Filch would have "they'll-all-be-sorry-when-I'm-gone" daydreams. And Voldemort's tears sizzling his hot coal eyes is a terrific description. I love James Thurbur too - I remember Walter Mitty more as Danny Kaye tho' - a very fitting tribute. Excellent humorous one-shot!

Reviewer: EricaDate: 2005-02-04
Reviewid: 112988Chapter: 1
LOL! It took me awhile to guess, I didn't catch on until Voldy started talking. Awesome fic!

Reviewer: wee meeDate: 2005-01-20
Reviewid: 111566Chapter: 1
although i wish you hadn't put the image of mcgonagall and filch in my head, this is a really funny story.

Reviewer: seamusisevilDate: 2005-01-13
Reviewid: 110816Chapter: 1
dude good story but when will you update your other story also why is it not posted on phoenixsong.net i noticed that you are on the author list there as well as here

Reviewer: KelleyDate: 2005-01-10
Reviewid: 110452Chapter: 1
I noticed the Walter Mitty connection. Nice parody. And I had it figured as Filch from all the clean and orderly references. Well done.

Reviewer: Frankie B.Date: 2005-01-07
Reviewid: 110138Chapter: 1
Brilliant adaptation of one of my favorite short stories. I loved the subtle hints you gave as to the identity of the dreamer through the whole story, the great imagery you painted through this whole thing. The bit with Voldemort was especially amusing. . . and then McG's reaction? *lol*

Very, very well done.

Reviewer: PottyHeadBoyDate: 2005-01-07
Reviewid: 110042Chapter: 1
LOL!!!! HAHAHAHAHEHEHEHEHAHAHAHEHEHEAHAHA!!! OH-MY-GOSH!!!! This was HILARIOUS!!!! I can't stop laughing :D....

Reviewer: readerDate: 2005-01-06
Reviewid: 109917Chapter: 1
pathetic

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2005-01-05
Reviewid: 109836Chapter: 1
How absolutely wonderful! James Thurber is a favourite of mine, and 'The Secret Life of Walter Mitty' has always been at the top of my list. You have done a superb job!

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2005-01-05
Reviewid: 109787Chapter: 1
This was hysterical and very 'Thurberish'. Bravo, and the Filch part was rather unexpected. (As was Voldemort's remorse, how funny.)

Reviewer: joew111Date: 2005-01-04
Reviewid: 109734Chapter: 1
Funny, but sick, sick, sick.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --