The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 9

Reviewer: bingbangDate: 2005-03-19
Reviewid: 116997Chapter: 1
are you aware this is a fanfiction section.....most people here have read the books

Reviewer: BeeDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93610Chapter: 1
It's very long!!! Makes my eyes very sour!!

Reviewer: helloDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72579Chapter: 1
this is great1

Reviewer: pirateloverDate: 2004-02-17
Reviewid: 71099Chapter: 1
This is a very good report for someone to read if they haven't read the HP books about seven times each. But it's good anyways.

Reviewer: hydraspitDate: 2003-11-10
Reviewid: 59619Chapter: 1
Well I, unlike so many others who have reveiwed, have nothing but good things to say about this peice. I enjoy reading more scholarly works (as well as fluffy fanficiton... I admit it) and yours was one of the best I've read so far. Did you actually do this for school or just for your own enjoyment? In any case, good job, I really enjoyed reading this.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-05-29
Reviewid: 34267Chapter: 1
I just looked at my own review and realized that it's totally illegible. Sorry Im such a dork, I'll try again.....

A little constructive criticism. Not to be really, really, really picky, but your statement, "Voldemort…means 'theft by death,' implying that he stole the lives of many through his mass killings," is incorrect.

If his name meant "theft by death," then it would have to be "Volparmort," not "Voldemort." ("Par" is the French word for "by" in English.)

Translated literally from the French "vol" = theft, "de" = of, and "mort" = death. In other words, his name means "theft of death" and not "theft by death." The emphasis therefore is not on Voldemort’s murderous ways, but rather on the fact that Voldemort has gone "further than anybody along the path to immortality." Correcting the translation of "de" changes the meaning of the name in its entirety. Hope that makes sense.

An otherwise interesting read. Thanks.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-05-29
Reviewid: 34266Chapter: 1
A little constructive criticism. Not to be really, really, really picky, but your statement, “Voldemort…means ‘theft by death,’ implying that he stole the lives of many through his mass killings,” is incorrect.

If his name meant “theft by death,” then it would have to be “Volparmort,” not “Voldemort.” (“Par” is the French word for “by” in English.)

Translated literally from the French “vol” = theft, “de” = of, and “mort” = death. In other words, his name means “theft of death” and not “theft by death.” The emphasis therefore is not on Voldemort’s murderous ways, but rather on the fact that Voldemort has gone “further than anybody along the path to immortality.” Correcting the translation of “de” changes the meaning of the name in its entirety. Hope that makes sense.

An otherwise interesting read. Thanks.

Reviewer: *Ginny Starre*Date: 2003-05-06
Reviewid: 30924Chapter: 1
*Ouck, that's long. Is it Ur thesis? No, LOL! Nicey-nice!*

Reviewer: siraDate: 2003-02-09
Reviewid: 19651Chapter: 1
[no offence...but jen...you wrote this...why? i mean its nice...but we don't really like to read this...mebe i will when im not half asleep...so...]wow! OMG i loved it...i mean...it was the best history of hp i ever saw! wow...all i can say is wow![r u happy? no offence...ppl just don't like to read this...but it still cool...] wow...omg...wow...*fading*wow...omg...

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --