The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Thread of Gossamer
Review(s): 26

Reviewer: emjayDate: 2005-10-15
Reviewid: 134537Chapter: 1
That is beautiful. A truly rare story, very touching, I love it. I can't really say what it was like, it's beyond words.

Reviewer: queeniorekDate: 2005-10-09
Reviewid: 134027Chapter: 1
that was so beautiful. you have a very unique and wonderful writing style. i love dying!harry and ginny's point of view is so truthful and real and amazing.
"It was foolish of us to pin our hopes upon him—that we know now. To think a boy of seventeen could defeat the most evil wizard in the world was ludicrous, but he was exceptional, so we believed. If only we had listened to what he kept telling us; if only we had looked beyond ourselves into his burden and realized it was far too heavy for one person alone to bear. Yet, we failed to look past his innocent and loving face. We failed to give him a chance at life, the one chance we all clung to so selfishly. We failed him, and, by doing so, we failed ourselves as well for now there is no one willing to sacrifice any more, no one willing to bring back the light of dawn in this ever present darkness."
This is my favorite part of the whole story. it seems so tragicly true. i love this story. one of the best hp fanfiction ever. love it love it love it.

Reviewer: SinbinDate: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115450Chapter: 1
Wow, that was amazing. I kept looking for the twist (for some reason I convinced myself that this wasn't Harry), but of course I didn't get one. You've done a fantastic job here, I could feel the characters' pain through Ginny's narration. Love it!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-02-07
Reviewid: 113194Chapter: 1
That was heart- breaking. Truly. Very well written, poetic and tender, with not a word wasted. Just wonderful.

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2005-01-15
Reviewid: 110955Chapter: 1
Chillingly beautiful.

:)
Senna

Reviewer: ErinDate: 2005-01-11
Reviewid: 110524Chapter: 1
Absolutely beautiful. As sad as it is, it's completely genuine and not at all maudlin or sentimental, as in the grand tradition of Harry death fics. Well done.

Reviewer: FireflashDate: 2005-01-10
Reviewid: 110394Chapter: 1
Awwww... So sad and touching! This is a good little piece that slowly reveals facts about the speaker and Harry in a really nice way. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: readerDate: 2005-01-09
Reviewid: 110330Chapter: 1
well done

Reviewer: AugustaDate: 2005-01-09
Reviewid: 110329Chapter: 1
That's so sad u made me cry ;(

Reviewer: Darker_RageDate: 2005-01-09
Reviewid: 110298Chapter: 1
That was a good one! I confess to enjoying Dark fics, and this one is especially well written. It's also first-person, which is rare to see and hard to pull off, but you've managed it admirabally (sp?). I assume this was from Ginny's POV? Doesn't matter, it's still an incredabally powerful piece of work.

Please write more! Same style would be good, but I get the feeling that pretty much any style would be forged well against the mind that hammered this one out

Reviewer: NicoleDate: 2005-01-08
Reviewid: 110264Chapter: 1
wonderfully written. its exactly how I think it will end.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2005-01-08
Reviewid: 110258Chapter: 1
Wow, this was such a beautiful vignette. You painted the picture of the Weasleys, Hermione, and Lupin standing around Harry during his last moments so vividly. Wonderful story, and I hope to see more from you. :)

Reviewer: laurenDate: 2005-01-08
Reviewid: 110241Chapter: 1
wow! that's the only word for it. This story was tragically beautiful and beautifully tragic. simply amazing.

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2005-01-08
Reviewid: 110235Chapter: 1
Heartbreaking. Wonderfully written with a very creative title. Excellent - keep up the good work!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2005-01-08
Reviewid: 110190Chapter: 1
Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhh!!!

Beautiful, but so sad. *hugs Harry*. Wonderful writing!

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2005-01-08
Reviewid: 110187Chapter: 1
AWWW! How sad, but wonderfully written!

Reviewer: LizDate: 2005-01-08
Reviewid: 110163Chapter: 1
Wow- what a truly chilling story, and I mean that in the best way possible. Honestly, your writing is hauntingly beautiful, and so descriptive. Although you wrote about the hustle and bustle of the hospital room, you made it seem calm through Ginny's eyes. This made me cry, and the quote at the end seemed to perfectly sum everything up- great job, I hope you continue writing!

Reviewer: Ladybug99Date: 2005-01-07
Reviewid: 110161Chapter: 1
I can honestly say this was the first HP story that had me in tears. So well written and honest. Hopefully it won't end this way!!

Reviewer: xtalsphereDate: 2005-01-07
Reviewid: 110127Chapter: 1
OHHHHH. Nicely done. Very good at pulling the emotional strings.

Twenty points to CharredTwilight's house for a great story.

Reviewer: ArtemisaDate: 2005-01-07
Reviewid: 110106Chapter: 1
You had me bawling into the first paragraph and it got even worse as I read on. People are looking at me in a very funny way. This piece reflects the very worst fear I have for the end of book 7. Beautiful writing style.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2005-01-07
Reviewid: 110074Chapter: 1
I certainly hope that Book 7 will not end this way. The tone of this story is so bleak! You've done a remarkable job of conveying Ginny's despair and that of her family; the image of Molly clinging to Harry really got to me as did Ginny's last words to him. Thanks for sharing this wonderfully sad story.

Reviewer: AsevDate: 2005-01-07
Reviewid: 110072Chapter: 1
Oh yes, and I forgot to mention: I look forward to any future writings you may post on the Quill.

Reviewer: AsevDate: 2005-01-07
Reviewid: 110071Chapter: 1
Quite sad...I like how you focused on the last moments, letting the reader know from the moment they came to your profile that he would die. I also like the way you used first person, and though you could tell who the speaker is, they were never directly refered to. It's sad, and, in a way, it shows the fear in my mind that first reared its head after the fourth book. I'm not sure if all HP readers have this, but there's the uneasy sense that the series won't end happily. You captured this scen perfectly...you didn't need to go into the futile battle, directly into the thoughts of the other people, or even to the events that follow to give this fic the strong weight of sorrow it had. Another thing I notice now is that you didn't try to redeem it with anything. Sure there have been many stories with bad endings, but some good aspect that makes it all okay somehow. Though you did include the idea that Harry would no longer have to suffer, it's clear that everyone else is hopeless and that nothing good can happen... *ponders* Also, your little comments about Harry's character, feelings and life that you put in there fit and flowed well with the rest of the story.
"He never could understand his fame because he never thought he was worth it."
"Never again will he feel the pain of rejection or the aching hollowness that comes with being alone. He won't ever have to return to the Dursleys and listen to them bicker and complain about his existence, as if it was something he could control."

And, in a way, the whole tone of this fic brings out that particular quote. I think a lot of people read the books, but don't quite think that closely about what affect the Dursley's treatment had on him.

Anyway, I think I'll wrap this up now, lest I become repetitive. Well, let me be repetitive (and redundant) just one more time and say that this was a sad, but great fic. Well done.

-Asev

Reviewer: srutiDate: 2005-01-07
Reviewid: 110063Chapter: 1
sad

Reviewer: Stargirl_8887Date: 2005-01-07
Reviewid: 110054Chapter: 1
wow that was so sad and yet wonderfully written....I don't want that to be the end....I want him to wake up, but I think the point here is that he can't, just like real soldiers in war. It almost makes me want to cry.... Great job.

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2005-01-07
Reviewid: 110041Chapter: 1
Oh...sad. Harry doesn't win, and he dies in the end? Very well written, though!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --