The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Unusual
Review(s): 17

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-12
Reviewid: 137057Chapter: 1
Very Cute

Reviewer: YlimeDate: 2005-04-20
Reviewid: 120179Chapter: 1
"“That’s Professor Ghost of Christmas Past,” growled Snape"

LOL!

Loved this. Made me feel Christmas-y even though it won't be for another 8 months. Really gorgeous.

Reviewer: FrazilDate: 2005-04-13
Reviewid: 119461Chapter: 1
This fic has received only 14 reviews?? Dear me. Well, things should pick up next Christmas, otherwise you'll just be getting approbations from unseasonal readers like me.

I was going to request that you write other ghosts, but I s'pose it would be tricky to do the Ghost of Christmas Future when, well, we don't yet know the future. And they'd have an effort to outdo Snape (who was plainly all fuzzy and bubbly in this due to the Christmas spirit -- why else would he be so polite as to refer to Ron as *Mr* Weasley? ;) ).

As I'm now mentally agonising over whether or not Hermione would prefer otter dung to any other species' deposits, I think I should stop reviewing now.

Reviewer: NARDate: 2005-02-11
Reviewid: 113583Chapter: 1
My favourite line was "Surely this incident would be the root of many nightmares to come". I've really enjoyed the story.

Reviewer: story645Date: 2005-01-24
Reviewid: 111976Chapter: 1
Snape as the ghost of Christmas past RoX. So funny, and great, and I love the way you have them play off of each other. Snape's snarkyness was totally in character, so was Ron's cluelessness. I thought that Ron talking to Crookshanks at the end was just about the cutest thing ever. I thoght you did a good job with Ron's pov, the beginning was a tad fluffier then I would have liked, but it fits with a boy who has a bad crush, same with all the stomach twisting moments. I liked Hermione's surprise at him finishing his homework and her nudging him to read the book, and his own surprise at agreeing and the little dialogue they have before he falls asleep. It's cute and in character, and I want more.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2005-01-12
Reviewid: 110657Chapter: 1
This was wonderful!

"“That’s <i>Professor</i> Ghost of Christmas Past,” growled Snape. “And we are here to investigate your Christmas purchases.”"

I nearly snorted Coke out my nose. That was SO funny. And when he took him to that scene, just to show him that he was right about the book...so funny.

-PQ

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2005-01-12
Reviewid: 110628Chapter: 1
Congrats on becoming a Sugar Quill author! I remember you from that fluff thread, when you invented that four-point fluff scale. (BTW, I still use that scale when evaluating other writers' fics.)

Nice Dickens parody. The only problem is that it's already mid-January. Maybe you'll write sequels with other professors as the Ghosts of Christmas Present and Yet to Come?

At any rate, keep up the good work!

Reviewer: ZvjezzDate: 2005-01-11
Reviewid: 110562Chapter: 1
Wonderful! I really enjoyed it. Please, please say you'll write more soon! Thank you!

Reviewer: OrangeDate: 2005-01-11
Reviewid: 110527Chapter: 1
Sadly, I have no legitimate criticism of your story. Not even any illegitimate criticism. Just wanted to say that I thoroughly enjoyed it; nice combination of humour and fluff. Favorite line: "That’s *Professor* Ghost of Christmas Past". The other ghosts are coming up too, right? right? please?!

Reviewer: Muggle MollyDate: 2005-01-11
Reviewid: 110500Chapter: 1
Very entertaining take on this classic tale. I laughed so hard at "Professor Ghost of Christmas Past" that my cat got up from my lap and left the room! Ron was perfect. How can Hermione NOT love that boy. I hope to read more from you and welcome to the Quill.

Reviewer: AngharadDate: 2005-01-11
Reviewid: 110496Chapter: 1
Oh, I love this one, so perfect! I read this on checkmated, I accioed it believe it or not, (just for the record, I love the SQ way more than checkmated) I thought it was brilliant then and I think it brilliant now!

Reviewer: ArtemisaDate: 2005-01-10
Reviewid: 110461Chapter: 1
Wonderful take on this incident. Hermione's "unusual" comment has always bothered me and this version of event was very gratifying to read.

And a perfume called Insufferable was a riot. ;-)

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2005-01-10
Reviewid: 110443Chapter: 1
Yay, you're on the Quill! Could I *be* any more excited?! You know what I think of this story...but like KO, I thought it would be cool to say so here!

Two things I *may* not have mentioned before:

I like that Snape (excuse me, Professor Ghost of Christmas Past) knows everyone's personalities so well. That's very true to canon, despite his insanely biased view of Harry. Snape is one of those quiet types that is always watching and listening to others.

Also, I love that Ron talks to Crookshanks, because it shows that he really trusts Hermione's cat (to you know not eat his own pet and obviously to keep his secrets :-P), and it's just so cute of him.

:wub:,
Jules

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-01-10
Reviewid: 110440Chapter: 1
Oh, I read this at Checkmated; congratulations for making it to the Quill! This is a really cute piece— I laugh every time at Professor Ghost of Christmas Past’s various comments to Ron.

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: KODate: 2005-01-10
Reviewid: 110420Chapter: 1
You know how much I love this one, but I wanted to tell you "officially". Nice work, and I'm so excited for you. :)

-KO

Reviewer: PatriciaDate: 2005-01-10
Reviewid: 110411Chapter: 1
Ok, this was great! Professor Ghost of Christmas Past made me laugh out loud. Good thing I wasn't drinking anything. Normally I do not read Christmas stuff, but I'm glad I did this.

Reviewer: StefanieDate: 2005-01-10
Reviewid: 110407Chapter: 1
very creative and very cute. hopefully in the next book we will find out what "unusual" really means. haha.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --