The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Homework
Review(s): 24

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2007-08-23
Reviewid: 148994Chapter: 1
I was just going through some old review threads when I found a link to this. Very glad I did. This was adorable. I've always wanted to read a story about the twins and how they worked out the Maurader's Map. This was perfect.

Reviewer: PrettyPixieDate: 2005-12-14
Reviewid: 137156Chapter: 1
I LOVE IT! It's possibly the best Fred and GEorge fic i have read.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-02-11
Reviewid: 113612Chapter: 1
I loved this. I’ve always wondered how the twins worked out how to use the map. The messages from MWPP were hilarious, as was Charlie’s timely interruption. You draw all the characters perfectly and Fred and George were very much a younger version of themselves. Keep writing!

Reviewer: I"M ELEVEN 11 SO I"M GETTING MY LETTER FDate: 2005-01-29
Reviewid: 112375Chapter: 1
LOVE IT!!!!!!I LOVE A GRED AND FORGE STORY!!!! ESPECIALLY A FRED AND GEORGE STORY!! LOVE THE WORD"S YOU USED AND THE CHARACTER PERSONALITY OF CHARLEY ( ESPECIALLY SINCE WE DON"T KNOW ALOT ABOUT HIM)!!!!

~I"M ELEVEN 11 SO I"M GETTING MY HOGWARTS LETTER!!

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2005-01-26
Reviewid: 112192Chapter: 1
What fun and what a great concept! Beautifully done!

Reviewer: caitlinDate: 2005-01-25
Reviewid: 112075Chapter: 1
That was great! I really enjoyed the story. Good alternating Gred-and-Forge, and it was fun to hear from Charlie too. He's one of the least well-known Weasleys, and it's nice that you expanded a bit on him. Way to go on your first fic!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2005-01-23
Reviewid: 111909Chapter: 1
Very good! Very realistic! Very funny!

Reviewer: MariaroseDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111419Chapter: 1
You wrote the spirit of the "11 year old boy" very well!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2005-01-18
Reviewid: 111299Chapter: 1
What a cute story! I think you wrote the twins very well, and it was great to see them interact with Charlie in a Hogwarts setting. I was also wondering how they would figure out the password, and I thought your method was very nice.

Congratulations on your first story!

Reviewer: Darker_RageDate: 2005-01-17
Reviewid: 111241Chapter: 1
Nice one-shot. Well written and concice (if i've spelled that right!). You've encapsulated the essence of the Twins nicely, and it's a good MM to have filled in, I had always wondered how the twins got into the map in the first place - now I know. Sort of.

Well done! Write more!

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2005-01-17
Reviewid: 111204Chapter: 1
Talk about an excellent first-fic! You really managed to capture Fred and George, and the way they "break" the Map's password was ingenius. I'll be looking forward to more fic from you!

Reviewer: readerDate: 2005-01-17
Reviewid: 111178Chapter: 1
please forgive the spelling error
It is just a funny looking e, not really an a

Reviewer: readerDate: 2005-01-17
Reviewid: 111177Chapter: 1
An excellant start - please keep going

Reviewer: Kit the BraveDate: 2005-01-17
Reviewid: 111155Chapter: 1
Genesse sent me to your story, and I'm so glad she did! I especially loved the Marauders' comments and the idea that they would be happy for Fred and George to have their map. Their "skillful pranking abilities.." :-).

Welcome to the Quill!

Reviewer: Three Sickles ShortDate: 2005-01-17
Reviewid: 111147Chapter: 1
Cute, cute, cute! The best "finding the password" scene I've read. Love the big brother interaction with Charlie. I especially liked his insight that, once the "twin-double-speak" started, he might as well abandon hope. Knows his brothers, that one does. I also like the map's helpful commentary.

A minor quibble: I had the strong impression that the "Gred and Forge" bit was a spur-of-the-moment comment inspired by the lettered jumpers, not a running gag. And, since they don't get those jumpers until their, what, fourth year, the Gred-and-Forge-ing feels a little anachronistic. Of course, I suppose they could have gotten alphabeth jumpers in the past, but, since Harry's jumper is different every year....

Anyway, love the twins, and Charlie, and the Map. And I particularly like that Charlie is giving the chocolate frog to Percy "Just in case." (Poor Percy; he doesn't even appear in the story, but his role in the family dynamic is still totally clear.) Nice work, and welcome to the Quill!

TSS

Reviewer: belitaDate: 2005-01-17
Reviewid: 111133Chapter: 1
Fantastic!!
Genesse directed me here, and I'm so happy I clicked that link! This is simply superb!
I always wondered how they figured out that map...

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-01-16
Reviewid: 111128Chapter: 1
I *HEART* this story! I loved seeing ickle Gred and Forge and I loved the Charlie interaction! I loved the messages that the Marauders were sending. And I loved the Fred-and-George twin-ness. I am recommending this to everyone! Well done!

Reviewer: Mystic (Claire)Date: 2005-01-16
Reviewid: 111108Chapter: 1
Of course I was overjoyed...the twins shall always have the most special corner of my heart. I absolutely loved the idea you came up with for Gred and Forge to find out the password; I've been trying to figure it out myslef for ages. It was incorporated brilliantly, and it made the story very believable. Although I'm not sure that they call each other by the 'Gred and Forge' names any other times then the one, I'll let this time pass. All in all, this was an excellent one shot- I can't wait to see more from you in the future!

Reviewer: Angel StreetDate: 2005-01-16
Reviewid: 111103Chapter: 1
Actually much funnier than i'd anticipated. Loved it.
*ANGEL*

Reviewer: LoriDate: 2005-01-16
Reviewid: 111085Chapter: 1
Loved it! The twins were perfectly in character and therefore hilarious. (I actually have the map's password as my screen saver at work. Nobody's recognized the quote yet, though.)
Good job.

Reviewer: MinuialDate: 2005-01-16
Reviewid: 111072Chapter: 1
This is fantastic! I've briefly wondered how Fred and George had found the passwords when they explained the map to Harry in PoA. I love your explanation, especially the accidental discovery of 'I solemnly swear that I am up to no good'. Maybe JKR will give us the official version, but I doubt it, it's too late now.
My favorite part is the 'dialogue' between the twins and the Marauders. I especially liked the fact that Remus was the one to give them a clue.
If you ever feel like writing a story set during the Marauders's time, please do it. I think that you would be good at writing them. But stories with Fred and George would be great too :-)

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2005-01-16
Reviewid: 111066Chapter: 1
Abso-bloody-brilliant! I always wondered how they found out that password! Maybe a bit overdone with the Gred & Forge, but other than that, fabulous!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-01-16
Reviewid: 111042Chapter: 1
Cute and quick. Thanks!

Reviewer: Pumpkin JuiceDate: 2005-01-16
Reviewid: 111034Chapter: 1
Hah!!! I loved it! You are an excellent writer. Thank your friend for inviting you into our strange world and for supplying us with an excellent new author.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --