The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 19

Reviewer: discordant_harmonyDate: 2007-06-14
Reviewid: 148259Chapter: 1
Very cute.

You just write both Hermione and Ron so well - both their recklessness and their caution.

And the ending! I can just see Harry with that smirk!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-20
Reviewid: 141130Chapter: 1
Quite Excellent

Reviewer: Manda06Date: 2006-02-24
Reviewid: 140240Chapter: 1
This was a lovely story. I love how Ron was so polite with Hermione, never pushing her, and always making sure that she was ready for anything he had to say. And I love how there was always someone waiting by the steps when the fliers came back. Very cute ;) Nice job!

Reviewer: Kim'blyDate: 2005-06-07
Reviewid: 123457Chapter: 1
Oh! Your writing is so poetic, AND you keep Ron in character while doing so. Impressive! When's the next chapter?

Reviewer: finite_incantatemDate: 2005-05-14
Reviewid: 122063Chapter: 1
I really liked the last bit (Harry's line). Really, it was the perfect ending to this brilliant one-shot.

Reviewer: Fresh_AngelBabeDate: 2005-04-17
Reviewid: 119788Chapter: 1
That was really sweet! You've got talent.

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2005-04-04
Reviewid: 118625Chapter: 1
That was adorable, I love your r/h fics. They're always so cute but not overly fluffy - excellent work.

And good going, distracting me, with me giggling over fluff in the high school library. Heehee!

Reviewer: TeresaDate: 2005-03-01
Reviewid: 115197Chapter: 1
Wow! that was really excellent. I love your Ron, he's so vulnerable and rowlingish, so perfect. And Harry showing up at the end! so priceless. Thanks for writing this-- brought a smile to my face after a really not good day. You Rule!

Reviewer: story645Date: 2005-01-25
Reviewid: 112101Chapter: 1
I like it, you manage to convey all of Ron's anger at Krum and his jealousy and his uncertainty and his insecurity. You show a world wind of emotions with just a few words, and a dark, grim atmosphere to match. I love all the thoughts running through his head, and you have a great spin on a well worn scene. I loved Hermione's lines at the end about not kissing and being all proper, and how you showed that Hermione's personality isn't going to do a 180 just cause she has a boyfriend. The only thing that jarred me a little was that Ron seemed to be on the verge of tears over her rejection. It felt a bit off because he doesn't seem the type to cry, like it would take a major melt down for him to cry, or a whole bunch of things. I mean, you do set the stage for it, with him feeling hurt and rejected, but I felt like that final straw missing, the one to get those feelings to the surface. Shrug, I love how you shift the emotions though, starting with that all encompassing anger, then shifting into the scene on the broom, and the sadness and resignation and worry, wrapping up with humor and fluffyness. I liked the touch of Harry at the end, it add's a nice touch. Especially following her trying to tell Ron that they have to let Harry know. (At least that's what I think she was about to say.) I had a little confusion with the pronouns, though I'll assume Harry had the smirk in his voice.

Reviewer: Jessica R VanceDate: 2005-01-24
Reviewid: 111980Chapter: 1
Aw. Just... aw.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111640Chapter: 1
How awkwardly sweet and so true to teenage life! Great characterization, too.

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111512Chapter: 1
I must have sort of been in the mood for fluff, because I found myself quite enjoying this ficlet! :o)

<<“Nah. Broom is pretty safe. I reckon when I was small I started out flying low with my brothers. Then as I got comfortable, I just flew higher and got used to that. And then I flew higher and got used to that. Takes time to get used to it, I reckon,” he said in the quiet.>>

That is a perfect analogy for moving from friendship to 'something more.' Very nice!

Thanks for this well-written, and very cute bit o' fluff.

Jules

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2005-01-18
Reviewid: 111342Chapter: 1
Another lovely romance! I like that you have made Harry's reaction so 'normal'. I get tired of writers that harp on about Harry feeling left out and throwing a tantrum. I think Harry will be just fine about Ron and Hermione falling in love. His feelings for Hermione are platonic, but it doesn't mean he expects Ron to be the same. He's a bit dense but not inpenetrable!

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2005-01-17
Reviewid: 111221Chapter: 1
Cute! You are quickly becoming a favorite of mine when it comes to R/H fluff - which, Merlin knows, we can never get enough of.

Poor Ron.

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2005-01-17
Reviewid: 111159Chapter: 1
Heh. I think my favorite part about this is Harry at the end. That kid ROX my SOX.

Nice characterization, not overly sappy, and very cute. Awesome job!

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-01-17
Reviewid: 111136Chapter: 1
Feeling a bit more angsty this time, are you? The unrequited feelings type of angst? Fortunately Ron didn't have to wallow too long. I prefer it when Hermione doesn't torture him too much. This one had a very nice atmosphere. The backround descriptions fit well with Ron's mood and really enhanced the feeling of it. It involved all of he senses. Nice job!

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-01-16
Reviewid: 111125Chapter: 1
Very nice. I'm actually a bit jealous of your dialog-writing abilities.

Reviewer: Sharon LambertonDate: 2005-01-16
Reviewid: 111074Chapter: 1
Very, very nice story! Have been waiting for a R/H story this believable. Favorite parts: How you work with the sense imagery, Ron's sense of physicality, the cold air, the smell of the wet earth, etc. Makes it very tangible. Favorite sentence: "He wondered if the cold air could scrub him clean." Not that he's dirty, but to scrub him clean of his anguish. Who hasn't taken an anguished walk on a cold night and hoped for something similar? Well, probably someone out there, but I think a lot of people can relate not only to Ron's feelings but to how they play out in these scenes. I did wonder why Ron's legs were aching...sore from Quidditch practice earlier or something? And why Victor was at Hogwarts. Maybe I missed something, but even if unexplained those are relatively minor things in a snapshot of one evening. Hermione also was very believable, and as they are riding together the Head Girl pin pricking Ron's back was a really nice touch. When they finally kiss their feelings are well suggested but the writing doesn't get overly gushy, and Hermione stays Hermione throughout. I like it that she's happy they've turned this corner, but is believably uncertain about how to handle PDAs now that they've turned this corner...) There's a real sense of finally them coming together. And Harry's dry voice and smirk at the end--very nice way to tie it all up. Wish I could write this well.

Reviewer: AngharadDate: 2005-01-16
Reviewid: 111033Chapter: 1
Hmmmm, this was beautiful and made me feel all warm inside!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --