The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Letting Go
Review(s): 17

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-01-31
Reviewid: 139112Chapter: 3
An enjoyable read.

Reviewer: CristinaDate: 2005-06-01
Reviewid: 123169Chapter: 3
This fic is wonderful! I have just dicovered it and I want to tell you that I really like it. Remus and Harry are my favorite two characters and I can't tell you how much Ilike seeing them bonding. I hope we will see them bonding in canon, too and I have my fingers crossed, so that Spinners End would turn out to be Remus' home.

I hope it is and the thought has crossed my mind several times.

What i like at your fic the most is that all the characters are so much in the character. Molly is Molly, and I liked seeing her interacting with Remus- she does seem to like Remus a lot in canon. Remus is just Remus. Everything he says is something that canon remus would say. There is nothing forced or out of place. as I've seen in other fics. Remus is in mourning exactly the way he should be and his interaction with Harry seems very natural, not forced at all. Remus remains; he only struggles to get closer to Harry.

As to harry, he is also like in canon. He is reluctant to get closer to anyone. He is reserved, he is in deep pain and most of all, he struggles with the image he has of his father.

It is really a wonderful fic and I hope to see it updated soon.

About Remus'companion, I don't know about that. On one hand I am glad that remus is not alone- I wish he ahd someone in canon, too- on the other hand I really want to believe that he was 100% present for Sirius during OOTP. I want to believe that Sirius was everything Remus had and Remus was everything Sirius had. Otherwise I get depressed puting myself in Sirius's shoes; after so many years in Azkaban he returns to a world where he no longer ha s aplace, a world that has moved forward without him. Moony has a life of his own, has someone to wait for him, whereas Sirius is all by himself.

Reviewer: AkeleDate: 2005-05-26
Reviewid: 122726Chapter: 3
oh WOW! I'm dying to read more!

I'm really impressed. It's as if this IS HBP!

Anyway, what I really love most about this story so far is how close to character Harry and Lupin are whilst diving further yet into more emotional sides of them. Sure we can all expect the two to be withdrawn, but you've written both of their stories in a way that is so...evoking in sadness and not just jumping straight into the next big thing after Sirius' death. I esp. enjoyed the exchange between Kingsley and Lupin at Knockturn Alley.

This is an amazing story. I look forward to your next update!!! (Oh and also, GREAT way to end the chapter! Frustrating for me as a reader, but oddly satisfying. lol)

Reviewer: ves heillDate: 2005-05-25
Reviewid: 122713Chapter: 3
Really enjoying it so far. I especially like the use of dialogue - though you may be writing with a *tad* bit to heavy of an adult-oriented hand (rather than a teen's angst filled haste in regards to Harry's speech, particularly), the story rational is sound and the characters tones are believable, given the circumstances. Will look forward to the next chapters. :)

Reviewer: ArtemisaDate: 2005-05-20
Reviewid: 122504Chapter: 3
Interesting take on Remus. Glad somebody's actually acting like a grownup around Harry for a change. I loved Sirus bur he was more like the fairy godfather, idolized brother, friend all rolled up un one. Not a father figure at all. Not even an adult model tpo follow.
Remus here has more of a chance for that. It will be interesting to follow.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2005-05-09
Reviewid: 121677Chapter: 2
well this is a interesting little story do hope you keep up with it i think it is going to be good =)

Reviewer: Steve CalabreseDate: 2005-05-07
Reviewid: 121576Chapter: 2
looking forward to the next chapter...

Reviewer: Jolene_xxDate: 2005-05-05
Reviewid: 121463Chapter: 2
Just read some of the other reviews and want to add something I forgot to mention. I agree with Minuial - Kingsley talking about wathching James' son dueling death eaters was very touching.

Reviewer: Jolene_xxDate: 2005-05-05
Reviewid: 121462Chapter: 2
I think this managed to capture Harry's and Remus' feelings quite well, the dialougue was particularly good. It did seem a little rushed but I loved the ending. It took a couple of seconds to work out why Spinner's End was familliar but when I realsied it made me smile. A good idea, could be true.

Reviewer: LNLisaDate: 2005-05-05
Reviewid: 121441Chapter: 1
Awesome! I love your Remus, spot on! More chapters please?

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2005-05-05
Reviewid: 121407Chapter: 2
Ooh, interesting update. I like the idea of Remus having his own house; I haven't really seen it in many other fics. I would maybe emphasize the emotions a little bit more, both Remus's and Harry's. Other than that, nice story! Can't wait for an update.

Reviewer: Ms MorlandDate: 2005-01-25
Reviewid: 112070Chapter: 1
That was excellent -- I can't wait to read more of this!

Reviewer: BlankDate: 2005-01-23
Reviewid: 111825Chapter: 1
That was very touching. I really liked Molly and Remus's conversation and how Remus said he would always be there for Harry. Harry definetly needs someone like that. Good job!

Reviewer: Cynthia StapletonDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111453Chapter: 1
I thought that was just fantastic..I wanted to read on!! Great stuff1

Reviewer: JoiceDate: 2005-01-18
Reviewid: 111328Chapter: 1
Cool! I really like it. Please update soon - this looks promising and I can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: HekateDate: 2005-01-16
Reviewid: 111126Chapter: 1
Great work! I love many of the details you put in, like Kingsley's mention of his working with James, and Remus comparing Gideon and Fabian to Fred and George.

This is very much what I hope to see happen with Remus in the coming books. Your characterization of him was also great, very realistic. I look forward to reading more of your work!

Reviewer: MinuialDate: 2005-01-16
Reviewid: 111065Chapter: 1
sigh. This is what I hope will happen in the books: Remus being there for Harry. They both need it.
"Kingsley nodded. "There are times that I think I've been doing my job for too long," he said quietly. "I remember James Potter - hell, I worked with him for a couple of years. To watch his son duelling Death Eaters." He shook his head. "No, it doesn't seem fair."
That line struck a cord for some reason. Porr Kingsley.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --