The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Herpetology
Review(s): 40

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-06-22
Reviewid: 124883Chapter: 5
Very good, of course.

Reviewer: lacyerice56Date: 2005-04-26
Reviewid: 120702Chapter: 2
I'm enjoying this story, but I think that there's a problem with the code. It seems to be about 100 times bigger than my screen.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2005-04-12
Reviewid: 119302Chapter: 5
Is this the end of Herpo? Oh, no!

Well, it was much fun reading about him. =) I really love him so much *huggles* and Molly is just wonderfulness personified.

-Pineapple Queen

Reviewer: BarbDate: 2005-04-02
Reviewid: 118533Chapter: 5
Hey there!
So this is it... I like your ending, with Molly "becoming" his mother. A similar comment I made in an earlier chapter, you should have included what Dumbledore had to say to Herpo. I know it's easier said than done, but it would've included well with the ending, showing us what could become of Herpo. I would've put that instead of the "fight" with Ginny, George and Fred, which we lready had and souned a bit repetitive at this point. But that's only my opinion and I'm not saying this chapter was bad... Just giving ideas on how you could have improved it. Otherwise, it was, as always, very well written! Good job! And I'm looking forward to a follow-up on this story!

-barb-

Reviewer: Lady NaginiDate: 2005-04-02
Reviewid: 118521Chapter: 5
Well, the Herpo/Ginny relationship seems to have obvious parallels to that of Helga and Salazar from "Moon and Stone," barring the whole marriage thing. The two characters (Herpo and Salazar) seem...extremely alike, actually. Outcasts, Parselmouths, not able to believe that there is good in people...the difference, of course, being that Salazar was dangerous and never able to reconcile the two aspects of his life: the werewolf and the teacher. Still, it's a lovely, well-written story, even if it does borrow heavily (intentionally or not) from "Moon and Stone." Keep up the good work. ;)

Reviewer: SisuitlDate: 2005-04-02
Reviewid: 118513Chapter: 1
Nooo! *sobs* no more Herpo! It's over! Would you pretty pretty please consider writing another story with Herpo in it? *bats eyes at the authors* 5 chapters is not enough! He's too awesome. I am really glad that he found a nice family though, he certainly deserves it. I'd love to see him create a less lethal version of a basilisk at some point. Thanks for writing such an awesome story.

Reviewer: After the RainDate: 2005-04-02
Reviewid: 118489Chapter: 5
Aww, that was a sweet ending to an enjoyable story -- not too fluffy, but a nice break from all the doom-and-gloom angst. I'd love to see more of Herpo, if you have any plans along those lines.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-04-01
Reviewid: 118406Chapter: 5
Ginny gritted her teeth. "Mum, you have plenty of sons. You won't miss two, will you?"
-made me laugh.


Herpo/Ginny - I can honestly say I've never come across that ship before. The twins were so very in character, poor Herpo. Hope you can find the time to do sequel, however brief.

The talk between Herpo and Molly at the end was a real tear jerker. (Not the best thing to read at work) Thanks for a great fic.

Reviewer: CootiePatootieDate: 2005-03-31
Reviewid: 118348Chapter: 5
This was an absolutely wonderful story! I enjoyed it so much! Your characterisations are spot-on, and I love the personality of Herpo. As I said, just wonderful!
I'm happy now. This story just gave me a happy feeling all over. Thanks!! I needed it!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-03-21
Reviewid: 117319Chapter: 4
If he found out, he didn't wish to be blamed for it.
-I think Dark Wizards have a bit more spine. Poor guy. Excellent chapter title.

Herpo seriously considered trying to flee inconspicuously
-had me laughing.

And you have got to meet Hagrid."
-Hagrid's assistant? Interesting creatures indeed.

My only complaint is that this fic will be finished soon. And I continue to wonder why your fics get so few reviews.

Reviewer: BarbDate: 2005-03-19
Reviewid: 117114Chapter: 4
Hey there! What? no comment for me! I am offended! ;p Good chapter! Dear old Herpo... always so concerned about others! I was wondering, how old is he during the story? And how Ginny was getting teased was very funny... Yup, very good chapter! I don't even have any negative comments! Good job! Looking forward to the next one!!

-Barb-

finding a cave to live in! In england!! He'd freeze to death before november!!!! tsh!

Reviewer: blakeDate: 2005-03-19
Reviewid: 117109Chapter: 4
when i read this chapter, i got an image of herpo (for some reason, i imagine him as being very short) flying around on a dragon. it would be cool if he was able to teach charlie a thing or two!

is there a job working with hagrid in herpo's future?

Reviewer: murkusDate: 2005-03-19
Reviewid: 117073Chapter: 4
How old is Herpo exactly? I was imagining him much older, like 30, but apparently he is young enough for the boys to tease Ginny about. Do you have a specific age in your head? Keep up the good work, can't wait for an update!

Reviewer: MallaryDate: 2005-03-19
Reviewid: 117025Chapter: 4
What a charming and unique story. Herpo is positively adorable.

Reviewer: After the RainDate: 2005-03-19
Reviewid: 116994Chapter: 4
Herpo's attempts to make sense of the Weasleys, as always, are priceless:

"...I did not think elbows belonged in the butter," Herpo said slowly, looking between George and Ginny. "But I am still growing accustomed to this place."

And the scene between Herpo and Ginny ... sigh. I hope he manages to find a place for himself in the twentieth century, poor guy could use a few breaks.

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2005-03-18
Reviewid: 116898Chapter: 4
Heh - I was thinking about Andrea's Sorting Stories, click on the Quill and here's a Herpo chapter to read. Excellent. This is really funny - I love Ginny's interaction with her brothers. Also I think you're doing very well with Harry, even though he's to the side of the story a bit. He's got good lines. And Herpo is a prankster. YEY! I think that 'goat gourds' will be the next big thing at Weasleys' Wizarding Wheezes.

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-02-23
Reviewid: 114682Chapter: 3
How interesting! This is a very charming story, and I look forward to reading more of it!

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2005-02-21
Reviewid: 114516Chapter: 3
Just thought I'd let you know that I wrote a lengthy review of your fanfic in my Soul of the Wizard LiveJournal community. I'm definitely loving this fic! (Andrea13, do you have a journal? I linked to Persephone Kore's)

http://www.livejournal.com/community/soulofthewizard/

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 113977Chapter: 3
Aw, poor Herpo. He does sound as though he's a prime candidate for Molly's mothering. I wonder where this story will go next?

I'm for setting Herpo up in partnership in 'Weasleys' Wizarding Wheezes' after thinking up a nice new experiment with the twins!

Reviewer: Steve CalabreseDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 113974Chapter: 2
"He lived in a cave," Harry said. "I don't think he did have much else to do. We're probably lucky I didn't stay with the Dursleys long enough to end up creating new cousins for the Acromantulas in the cupboard." -- that's hilarious.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 113960Chapter: 3
Great chapter as always. I see Herpo as what Harry might have become had he been born in that time.

Herpo the Foul in bunny slippers. Someone has to be able to draw that.

Such a sweet little fic. Hope you update soon.

Reviewer: SisuitlDate: 2005-02-13
Reviewid: 113808Chapter: 1
I love this story!! Please continue, Herpo is a wonderful character. I've always had a soft spot for the scaly types.

Reviewer: steve calabreseDate: 2005-02-08
Reviewid: 113228Chapter: 1
Well, this is off to an original and hilarious start.

-Steve

Reviewer: laurenDate: 2005-02-04
Reviewid: 112991Chapter: 2
this is a great plot (and one i can definitely say that i haven't seen before!). I liked seeing that there was another side to Herpo other than the one portrayed on the chocolate frog cards. I also like how you are portraying a wizard who was thought to be dark as a human being with some good in him (I'm not sure if you meant ot do that or not - maybe i'm just in literary analysis mode) :)

this is great and i can't wait to see more!! Please update soon!!

Reviewer: Edd WoodwardDate: 2005-02-03
Reviewid: 112856Chapter: 2
I really enjoy this story. I think you could possibly include that Herpo is the founder of the Slytherin line at some point. That would take this story in so many different ways...... Keep writing

Reviewer: BarbDate: 2005-02-03
Reviewid: 112846Chapter: 2
Hey hey hey! Good chapter! Hermione is well, hermione... And I love how he seems to find Molly, what did you say... oh there, forceful! And that Medusa was friendlier!! That was quite funny! Godd job! I'm really looking forward to more... Oh just one thing, why did Hermione get up that early? you either have to explain that or just say that it's too late for her to come, or that her parents wouldn't let her come, because otherwise, it seems as if you wanted to include a side story of what Hermione has been doing (which wouldn't be such a bad thing mind you). That's my only "negative" comment, otherwise it was really well written! Keep it coming!

-Barb

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2005-02-03
Reviewid: 112844Chapter: 2
This chapter did not disappoint! A delightful story. Thanks so much!

Reviewer: lazywitchDate: 2005-01-23
Reviewid: 111889Chapter: 1
This is great. Please update soon, so I can keep reading.

Reviewer: AmaryllisDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111491Chapter: 1
Oh man, I got quite a kick out of this! Especially Harry's comments about his own Chocolate Frog Card. Great!

Reviewer: AnnapurnaDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111481Chapter: 1
Great idea! The plot has some real potential. What's going to happen now?

Reviewer: BarbDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111471Chapter: 1
Hey there! Okay, this will have to be short because I have class in like 5 minutes... I finally caught up! Hey this is pretty good! I really like the idea! I'm looking forward to more! I'm really sorry I haven't reviewed or read for that matter in a while, but I'm back at reading so hooray! Ok gotta go to class, but good job and I'm really looking forward to more and to a better review!

-Barb

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111413Chapter: 1
I love it! Especially the idea of history making such a pitiful-looking man evil..


-PQ

Reviewer: Silver PhoenixDate: 2005-01-17
Reviewid: 111146Chapter: 1
Interesting start. It would be good if you were a bit more specific as to what happened with Voldemort, or at least the repercussions of his fall (ie. specifics about the setting of this story). You might be getting around to it in later chapters though, so I don't know. ^_^ It would be cool if you kept revealing little details about it, actually.

Keep writing!

~*SP*~

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2005-01-16
Reviewid: 111080Chapter: 1
Haha, very interesting idea. Can't wait to see where this goes! I love Parselmouth stories...

Reviewer: MinuialDate: 2005-01-16
Reviewid: 111070Chapter: 1
This is crazy! I like it!

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2005-01-16
Reviewid: 111054Chapter: 1
Oh this one is looking like it will be a lot of fun! Looking forward to the rest of the story!

Reviewer: DarogaDate: 2005-01-16
Reviewid: 111052Chapter: 1
I admire your fics, and until now I would have classed them as more serious than otherwise. This one is FUNNY, though...bravo!

Reviewer: JessDate: 2005-01-16
Reviewid: 111046Chapter: 1
Wonderful! Though i am a bit confused, this is after Harry defeated Voldemort? How old are they all?
Aside from that, i really enjoyed this story. Your characters are wonderful (as usual) and you have the setting well done. Can't wait till Chapter 2. A great story! Then again, i love all of your fan-fiction. =D

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-01-16
Reviewid: 111044Chapter: 1
"He'd be so disappointed," Ginny said drily. "They left out the 'lord.'"
-Hah! By the way, what did it way on the back?

I could do with little more Herpo! What a great character!

"And they were felled by a chicken"
-New, improved Basilisk 2.0!

Reviewer: DSDragonDate: 2005-01-16
Reviewid: 111036Chapter: 1
Oh, please, PLEASE continue this one soon! (And the one with Gryffindor and Slytherin, if the muse strikes.) I have you on author alert at FFN, so I'll know when you update. Great first chapters!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --