The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 22

Reviewer: ReynaDate: 2005-09-30
Reviewid: 133466Chapter: 1
These are awesome! Seriously. I adore broadway and I can just hear these songs set to music. Wouldn't that be cool? If there actually was a Harry Potter musical? Can't say I can picture Snape or Voldemort singing though...Vernon would be hilarious...anyway. This one's my favorite so far although I really liked Sirius'. The internal rhyme was great and the rhythm very apparent. Keep it going cuz I'm loving this. Do you have any from Book 6? Slughorn is just begging for something smarmy. And Hermione definitely needs a solo about "Won-won", Lavender, and flocks of yellow birds. Wow. It's making me laugh just thinking about it. Anyway. Excellant job. Looking forward to more. Cheers!

Reviewer: Artist in DisguiseDate: 2005-09-28
Reviewid: 133404Chapter: 1
OOOH!!!! I LOVED DUBBSIES IN THE END!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-06-23
Reviewid: 124903Chapter: 1
Nice

Reviewer: Clumsy ManiacDate: 2005-01-27
Reviewid: 112210Chapter: 1
Hee! So good, I love "You won't hear that this year." against the "That's what I'm hearing now". I have to admit though, I imagined Umbridge singing as a horrible falsetto soprano. The images created in this song are wonderful, and Dumbledore's "Thank you, Professor Umbridge, that was most illuminating." is what makes this a work of art.

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-01-24
Reviewid: 111965Chapter: 1
Very cool. I had this little movie going on in my head of Hermione and Umbridge doing the call and response thing, and it amused me. At least I think it is a call and response, if not, please ignore. I did have to look up "folderol" *is embarrassed*. According to dictionary.com, it stems "from a nonsense refrain in some old songs" which made double sense. Not that the song is nonsense...I'll stop now. Anyway, very cool and a sneaky way of getting me to do research, because now I want to know what old songs used "folderol".

Reviewer: AllieDate: 2005-01-22
Reviewid: 111766Chapter: 1
hehe. This is great, it really is.

Reviewer: david abbeyDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111595Chapter: 1
well done barbara!at this rate your going to have enough material that someone is going to have to do a school play. move over rogers and hamerstine! its funnier than the pirates of penzance!

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2005-01-20
Reviewid: 111553Chapter: 1
Heehee. I'm supposed to be working on a powerpoint in the school library right now. But I found your work to be much more entertaining. Well done.

Reviewer: NicoleDate: 2005-01-20
Reviewid: 111543Chapter: 1
I was so excited to see you had a new post. I love all of your songs and always look forward to reading the next one. Keep on writing and I'll keep reading.

Reviewer: RainbowDate: 2005-01-20
Reviewid: 111535Chapter: 1
You did it again! Amazing!

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111492Chapter: 1
Encore!

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111474Chapter: 1
Hi Barbara!

I don't know that I've ever actually reviewed one of your Song Parodies (is that what I should call them? FILKS? Anyhow...) before, but I've read them all and love them all!

This one is brilliant of course, just like the others!

Thank you for sharing with us!

:wub:,
Jules

Reviewer: WendelinDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111463Chapter: 1
Oh you genius, you! It's incredible how you manage to incorporate lines directly from canon everywhere.. and manage to make them fit perfectly, and rhyme, too. E.g. -
"All the little happy faces turning up to see"
"Preserving and perfecting and pruning what we should"
"Progress made for progress' sake must really be prevented"

I also love the way your rhymes are so original and unexpected and so just-right for the context. This is a perfect example -
"You never cared what Hogwarts did or what we learned before
You want to get to Harry and discredit Dumbledore. "

Someday I'm going to be going around and saying - I used to know Barbara when she did work for free on the internet.. :D

Reviewer: StephanieDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111460Chapter: 1
Very funny :D. No, not funny, hilarious! I laughed my head off. Especially at Dumbledore's last line: that's a stroke of genius!

Reviewer: jolene_xxDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111457Chapter: 1
I thought this was good even though at first I was only guessing what folderol meant (now I've looked it up and read it again I think it's even better)
Dumbledore's ending is hilarious.

Reviewer: redlightspecialDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111456Chapter: 1
HERMIONE:That explains a lot of what I'm reading in the papers
Admitting Harry's told the truth would give you all the vapours

Hee! It's brilliant, B the W-er-er. Though I must admit, the thought of Umbridge singing immediately forces my brain to images of Michigan J. Frog in "One Froggy Evening." (Hello, my baby. Hello, my honey. Hello, my ragtime gal . . .)

Keep up the amazing work!

Reviewer: BrielleDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111452Chapter: 1
It's just a load of waffle
Percy talks like that
Everyone ignores him
We all think he's a prat.

This is just crying out for an icon, Barbara! Wonderful wonderful song, as ever - and OotP seems so different when written as a musical, but in a very good way. Maybe we should contact JKR with the idea *ducks from flying lawsuit*

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111441Chapter: 1
Brilliant!!! I hope to find some more time in the near future. Oh, and I've got a more usable microphone now.

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111422Chapter: 1
Your songs, my dear, are fabulous.

Reviewer: Mr Flying FingersDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111408Chapter: 1
". . .and the Best Use of the Word, Folderol goes to. . .Barbara the Wallpaper-er for Folderol: Dolores Explains Educational Theory in Hogwarts: The Musical!"

(cheers)

I sure wish there was a tune. . .Very nice, especially Dumbledore's wrap at the end--just right.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111392Chapter: 1
*Claps* Bravo! Very Hermione, too.

Reviewer: cheelalaDate: 2005-01-18
Reviewid: 111378Chapter: 1
Lovely song, again. There's parts that don't quite mathc up rhthymically, but I'm sure the music makes them fit. Altogether, good show!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --