The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Beneath the Surface
Review(s): 14

Reviewer: Vega BlackDate: 2008-02-15
Reviewid: 150521Chapter: 1
I liked this piece. I'm not one of those readers who pine for "good Slytherins", but I enjoyed this story very much. Daphne makes some excellent points and I felt I understood her character from her monologue. I liked her. I don't think this story was much affected by subsequent canon. She may have simply added more explanations using the same logic.

I liked her trenchant comments on the hypocricy of other houses.

Reviewer: siriusgirlDate: 2007-09-11
Reviewid: 149228Chapter: 1
great job on this! Good monologue, it does seem like what a good slytherin would think, keep up the good work

Reviewer: monicaDate: 2005-10-23
Reviewid: 135028Chapter: 1
Brilliant! Absolutely ***-spanking brilliant! Love the way you make slytherin seem so innocent!

Reviewer: JenDate: 2005-09-06
Reviewid: 131841Chapter: 1
Wow! I had it in the back of my mind to write about a normal, non-death eater related Slytherin. It looks like you beat me to it. And I'm glad you did. I like the points that you brought up. Great job!

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-05-30
Reviewid: 123052Chapter: 1
Good - Shorter version: grow up.

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-03-13
Reviewid: 116345Chapter: 1
This ficlet flows nicely and is very well-written. I really liked some of the points that you made, including the fact that there are many Slytherins who have made beneficial contributions to the community and I can really see Moody as a Slytherin! Keep up the good work.

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: Clumsy ManiacDate: 2005-01-27
Reviewid: 112208Chapter: 1
Fantastic! This is such a good, simple idea that has been written so wonderfully. It flows well and have a very crisp, clean and concise feeling, which suits the statement piece that this is. I never even thought about Dumbledore's lack of tact until I read this, and now I highly agree! Imagine that, me disagreeing with Dumbledore. I also luaghed out loud at this:
"I doubt he discussed the matter with anyone over tea and crumpets" because it's such a hilarious mental image. I also like the 'truth' we learn about the other houses, which are supposedly so good and perfect. A very clever piece, thank you for posting it.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-01-25
Reviewid: 112059Chapter: 1
Interesting. Your writing flows well, and it is nice to see the other side of Slytherin. They can't all be evil. Is there going to be more of this? Daphne sounds like a pretty cool customer. BTW do you write for fictionpress too? I have a feeling I've seen your work somewhere before (although not this story, obviously)

Reviewer: Claire (Mystic)Date: 2005-01-25
Reviewid: 112019Chapter: 1
I couldn't help it; I've betaed this, yet I still keep coming back and reading it. It's just that good. ;) I can't say enough how great it was to finally read a fanfiction where Slytherin if put in a decent light-which brings me to my question: You're very persuasive- were you ever on a debate team? ;) Anyway, I can't wait to either work with you again or read another of your fics. You have excellent style- and now I can refer people back to this with great pride.

Reviewer: CrystalDate: 2005-01-22
Reviewid: 111726Chapter: 1
Another great fanfic! I love how you take tiny threads of canon and spin them into a story. You also do a good job of giving us the POV of minor characters who may be misunderstood (like Daphne, or Olive Hornby). Slytherins are not all bad, and there are times when the other houses "behave like Slytherins." And if I were a Slytherin, I'd be royally ticked that Dumbledore decided to give the cup to the Gryffindors in PS/SS. I think that Slytherins may well have cause to be resentful at Dumbledore's favoritism toward the Gryffindors.

You know who would be a great character for you to tackle sometime if you wish? Eloise Midgen. I'm sure there's a lot more to her than having acne and accidentally cursing her nose off. I like seeing her mentioned in this fic.

Reviewer: redlightspecialDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111478Chapter: 1
This is a fine piece of work. It's far too easy to assume that Slytherin = evil after seeing Hogwarts through Harry's glasses, or through a lot of other fanfics.

I especially like how Daphne takes care to note instances where members of the other Houses take the opportunity to behave like "Slytherins." This was well thought out. Nice job!

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111416Chapter: 1
Thanks for the reviews! Unfortunately, I left out my thank you's to Mary A. Weasley, Mystic Blueside, Elanor Gamgee and Ariana Black for their input and help. I'm really sorry!

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111406Chapter: 1
Well done! A great deal of thought went into this, I can tell. The arguments ring true. Readers must keep these thoughts in mind in the following books. Evil does not begin or end in Slytherin.

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111389Chapter: 1
I've already reviewed this but I want to reiterate that it's awesome. I hope you do do a defense of Hufflepuff- and maybe Gryffindor and Ravenclaw too.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --