The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 64

Reviewer: corvidaeDate: 2005-09-15
Reviewid: 132549Chapter: 1
Absolutely hilarious and delightful! this is the sort of fic that i miss! nothing too serious nothing that focuses on harry's angst of late and all the misery in the world and not another poet who should make like sylvia plath and kill themselves. you rhyme beautifully. keep it up!

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2005-08-31
Reviewid: 131430Chapter: 1
Found this in the "G & PG-rated Story Linx" recommended by Gryfny and I have to agree, this adorable primer is just crying out for illustrations to go alongside it. :D

I'd love to see more of your work.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-08-29
Reviewid: 131162Chapter: 1
Cute

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2005-08-24
Reviewid: 130831Chapter: 1
That, my friend, is astonishingly brilliant. Amazing, excellent, and very clever!

Reviewer: chewingpixiestixDate: 2005-08-23
Reviewid: 130692Chapter: 1
HEEHEEHEEHEEHEEHEEHEEHEEHEEHEEHEE!!!!!!!!!
it grand i LIKE the






ending!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(we are not really that stupid...look for our story coming in February, which is called The Worst Day of Ron's Life (parody)!!!!!!)

Reviewer: childoftheseventhsinDate: 2005-05-12
Reviewid: 121990Chapter: 1
Haha!!! Loving the ending!!! Very cleverly done. I enjoyed reading this.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121709Chapter: 1
Adorable! And clever ~ it feels like you never had to stretch for a rhyme. I bet this took you a long time. Thanks for sharing it!

Reviewer: Swish and FlickDate: 2005-03-14
Reviewid: 116573Chapter: 1
Wow! This is fantastic! Such a simple idea and yet you carried it off so well. The rhythm was constant and the rhymes weren't predictable at all. I love the 'Potter, Patronus and PrIdeas for illustrations kept popping into my head as I read it, and I even doodled a few after I'd finished - something I have never done before.

I'm looking forward to more of your work!

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2005-02-02
Reviewid: 112730Chapter: 1
Hilarious and so well done. The cadence is perfect.

Spartina, I thought the exact same thing.

Reviewer: Miss Stephanie D.Date: 2005-01-28
Reviewid: 112302Chapter: 1
This is really very clever. I am quite impressed by how you got the rhythm constant.

Reviewer: MiriamDate: 2005-01-27
Reviewid: 112258Chapter: 1
I've heard you read this before, but it is beautiful to read through. You have done a brilliant job, and I look forward to reading the other works that you have cooking.

Sincerely,
Miriam

Reviewer: FireflashDate: 2005-01-27
Reviewid: 112254Chapter: 1
Ooh, delightful. I do love the Z one; Blaise was always such a mystery. Lovely job!

Reviewer: The CorinthianDate: 2005-01-27
Reviewid: 112251Chapter: 1
Heh heh heh...apparently you were stuck for 'Y' (I don't remember Petunia's friend named Yvonne, but you wrote it, you make the rules!). Love the Zabini on the end...

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2005-01-26
Reviewid: 112189Chapter: 1
Oh my, I think I was so excited by how adorable this was the first time I read it that I forgot to leave a review!! It's brilliant. One of those things that will be read over and over and over.

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2005-01-26
Reviewid: 112152Chapter: 1
This was SOOOO cute, I loved it, and have this mad desire to make a cross stitch piece out of it. No really, this is great, and very ingenious. Bravo!

Reviewer: ginnyDate: 2005-01-24
Reviewid: 111986Chapter: 1
Very Cute. Ron is my favourite.

Reviewer: WendelinDate: 2005-01-24
Reviewid: 111969Chapter: 1
Oh, what a marvellous little piece! Favourite lines (which were *so* perfect..) -

T is Trelawney, occasional Seer.

V is for Vol-He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named.

Loved the way you worked Zabini in.. Great, great work! Put a smile on my face. :D

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-01-24
Reviewid: 111966Chapter: 1
At first, I was like, oh, that's cute, they did an alphabet thing for Harry Potter. Then I realized it *rhymed*! Which made me especially happy. Usually rhymes don't make me very excitable, but this was good. Very good flow and creative take on this...idea.

Reviewer: AngharadDate: 2005-01-24
Reviewid: 111964Chapter: 1
Hah! cute!

Reviewer: Talyn aka SerpentprideDate: 2005-01-24
Reviewid: 111957Chapter: 1
That was AWESOME! I'm still grinning like an idiot about it. Absolutely awesome.

Reviewer: StuDate: 2005-01-24
Reviewid: 111934Chapter: 1
Oh, you've made me grin.

My favorite parts were: Letters A through Z.

No, seriously, I really liked the end. I'm a sucker for things that end "the end," even though it's a little silly. I also really enjoyed the lines with alliteration, like Errol being elderly and Snape's Slytherin sneer. I like the way they sound, and that's added cleverness, too.

Y is Yippee, you've made my day!

Reviewer: BrittneyDate: 2005-01-24
Reviewid: 111927Chapter: 1
And this is your first on the Quill? How awesome! I loved it-- it was so funny! I especially loved the part about Vol-- I mean, He-WHo-Must-Not-Be-Named. Great job, and I hope to see more of your stuff on the Quill!

Reviewer: MiaRoseDate: 2005-01-24
Reviewid: 111915Chapter: 1
Sureley there has got to be a better word for Y.....*thinks for a minute* Nope, I guess not : ). This was reaal cute and funny. It must have taken awhile to think up lines for all of these rhymes. And how long did it take you to think up X? X is a silly letter, IMO. Have you ever seen the X page in the dictionary? It's about one page long, and more than half the words are words no one ever uses. Besides, cks makes the same sound. Of course without X, nobody ROX. This rhyme ROX. So there.

Reviewer: freshwaterDate: 2005-01-23
Reviewid: 111902Chapter: 1
Very clever! Too bad that Ginny and Hermione are not included....wonder where they could be fit in?

Reviewer: CootiePatootieDate: 2005-01-23
Reviewid: 111878Chapter: 1
Very cute! I love it! It flows so nicely, and I love how you selected things that would not be immediately evident sometimes...

D is for Dursley, the great ignoramus.

L is for Lupin, the good Defense teacher.

M is for Moody, whom none dare annoy.

N is for Neville, worth twelve of Malfoy. (SO TRUE!!!!)

my favorite lines (though all are very good!)

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2005-01-23
Reviewid: 111859Chapter: 1
Great fun and not a single dodgey rhyme, well done :)

Reviewer: ShlozDate: 2005-01-23
Reviewid: 111855Chapter: 1
Very clever!

The end was especially cute!

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2005-01-23
Reviewid: 111850Chapter: 1
Oh, that's brilliant! I love it! I kept imagining what it would look like illustrated as a children's book.

Reviewer: Mr Flying FingersDate: 2005-01-23
Reviewid: 111847Chapter: 1
Great stuff!

The ending was terrific and the rest was clever.

Reviewer: lazywichDate: 2005-01-23
Reviewid: 111837Chapter: 1
Very cute. I can't rhyme that many words. Well done.

Reviewer: SpartinaDate: 2005-01-22
Reviewid: 111751Chapter: 1
Is it wrong that I'm longing to see this brisk, hilarious poem illustrated in the style of Edward Gorey's "The Gashleycrumb Tinies"?

Wicked good!

Reviewer: AlieDate: 2005-01-22
Reviewid: 111750Chapter: 1
I sang this song to my two year old in the tune of 'c is for cookie' from sesame street, I know its not supossed to be a song but it matched so perfectly

Reviewer: SinyaaDate: 2005-01-22
Reviewid: 111749Chapter: 1
Nice! This made me grin. I particularly like N, P, and R!

Reviewer: BlankDate: 2005-01-22
Reviewid: 111724Chapter: 1
LoL, that made me smile! It was cute and simple. I like it.

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2005-01-22
Reviewid: 111709Chapter: 1
Nice poem! I know it isn't easy to come up with all those lines. My favorite line is "D is for Dursley, the great ignoramus," although "Dudley" IMHO could have fit here as well. I also liked "Z is Zabini, of gender -- The end."

Congrats on becoming an official Sugar Quill author, and keep up the good work!

Reviewer: mirldaDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111695Chapter: 1
Lots of fun, and great rhyming. Nice job!

Reviewer: GraupDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111688Chapter: 1
Wow, Graup can now learn his ABCs the wizard way!

Thank you - you make Graup laugh.

Reviewer: MichelleDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111683Chapter: 1
Ha ha ha! That's awesome!

*T is Trelawney, occasional Seer.* Funny, yet oh so true.

I also loved *D is for Dursley, the great ignoramus.*

This is great, I'm printing it out to show my friends at work
~Michelle

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111677Chapter: 1
Very, well done. I really liked it a lot. I burst out laughing by "F is for Fawkes Dumbledore's fowl. And I also loved "N is for Neville worth twelve of Malfoy".

Reviewer: DorianDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111667Chapter: 1
LOL
sweeeeet

Reviewer: Tejano CeylonDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111666Chapter: 1
This was good! A touch of humor, good rhythm and rhyme...I enjoyed it immensely!

Reviewer: Janet BellDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111663Chapter: 1
This is awesome! The meter is perfect.

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111662Chapter: 1
Brilliant!! The rhythm flows perfectly and it's a lot of fun to read aloud!

Q is for Quidditch, with Quaffle and rings.

R is for Ron, who is Weasley our King.

I love it! I hope we'll hear more from you!

:wub:,
Jules

Reviewer: CelesteDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111661Chapter: 1
Loved it. Very amusing. Still not sure why folks don't know "Blaise" is a male name though;-)

Reviewer: TrulyDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111657Chapter: 1
:) one of my favourite ever potter poems.

*finally* someone who can write in a decent rhythmical structure! ur rhymes were good, the stanzas weren't painfully repetitive. good job on "X" and "z", that was gold! :P

thanks for the shot of sunshine in my night! :) i'd love to see what else you have.

Reviewer: LindaDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111656Chapter: 1
Very clever!

Reviewer: CandaceDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111655Chapter: 1
How clever. I loved the way it rhymed and just flowed when read.

Reviewer: Felina BlackDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111654Chapter: 1
How clever! Your meter and rhythm are spot on; you have quite a talent. Like the other reviewers, I especially like how you slyly worked in partiular points. "N is for Neville, worth twelve of Malfoy" and "L is for Lupin, the good Defense teacher" gave me the biggest smiles. I hope you write more.

Reviewer: emilyDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111653Chapter: 1
AWESOME! LOL! Loved it!

Reviewer: emilyDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111652Chapter: 1
AWESOME! LOL! Loved it!

Reviewer: stefanieDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111636Chapter: 1
wonderful job. it's easy to do an a-z but to make it ryhme takes talent.

"U is for Umbridge, who had Harry framed.
V is for Vol-He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named."

that is my favorite rhyme. very clever.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111634Chapter: 1
This is so clever! You've put a lot of work into getting everything just right (I had forgotten Petunia's friend Yvonne). I hope you'll share more of your poetry with us.

Reviewer: the silent speakerDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111632Chapter: 1
This was supposed to go in an author's note, but I'm not sure quite how to edit something like this.

Special thanks go to Moey, for betaing, and my friend Batya "the Toon" Wittenberg, without whom this would never have come into existence.

Reviewer: Susan LynnDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111622Chapter: 1
I love your primer! It would be great if one of our illustrous SQ artists could illustrate it. (I would do it if I could draw more than a stick figure!) I'm just wondering if the last line "Z is Zabini, of gender" isn't lacking a word or two.

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111621Chapter: 1
Very cute! I'll remember this when going over the alphabet with the Nonymous twins. :)

Reviewer: Barbara the Wallpaper-erDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111616Chapter: 1
how very clever!

Your pentameter is strong and driving and your rhymes are clever and engaging. Some of your letters have a sly point to make:
"N is for Neville, worth 12 of Malfoy..."
which gives me the giggles.

Excellently done!

Reviewer: lawesaDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111615Chapter: 1
wow, i can only imagine how long that took to right!

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111609Chapter: 1
Absolutely brilliant! Unfortunately a previous reviewer has already called 'dibbies' on illustrating it. I'd do it in a heartbeat! Very clever.

Reviewer: CatakitDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111606Chapter: 1
Bravo, I'd love to see it performed.

Reviewer: Purple Eyed WeasleyDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111603Chapter: 1
This was cute. Nice job.

Reviewer: Krypa DakayDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111602Chapter: 1
This is so clever! Each rhyme is better than the last, I am truly in awe. I also really appreciate how well you keep in rhythm, a hard thing to do sometimes. My favorites lines are definitely M, N, P, R, T, V, and Z. (Okay, I like all of the lines, but these are the ones that really made me smile.) Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: Three Sickles ShortDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111601Chapter: 1
Brilliant, brilliant! I particularly liked D and T. "Great ignoramus" to rhyme with "death bereaved Amos" is truly inspired.

TSS

Reviewer: wee meeDate: 2005-01-20
Reviewid: 111587Chapter: 1
you totally yoinked my idea out from under me! yours is soo cute. very funny. what if wizards gave these books to their children? i want to illustrate it.
'h is for house elves who want to be slaves' is my favorite line... that of course rhymes with 'brave'.
i'm pretty sure j.k.r. confirmed blaise was a boy.
i really am going to illustrate it. you can't stop me!

Reviewer: Molly WDate: 2005-01-20
Reviewid: 111586Chapter: 1
Cute! :)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --