The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Checkmate
Review(s): 11

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2006-05-22
Reviewid: 142969Chapter: 1
That is so sad and sweet. You know, with all the information you touched on, you could make this a multi-chaptered story. There are so many things here that could be explored deeper. I like it, I just wish there was more.

~GW

Reviewer: RoDate: 2005-02-02
Reviewid: 112724Chapter: 1
I guess the best way to describe this story is super-concentrated. You didn't run the reader over with long descriptions/backstories. Kudos for that. This story is tight, well-written, emotionally-charged, and keeps just enough hidden to make the reader think about how the situation might actually play out. It also gave you enough mystique to ensure that I'll read anything you write in the future. The "hook" is set. Well done.

Reviewer: ChristaDate: 2005-01-31
Reviewid: 112615Chapter: 1
That was absolutely amazing. I love how you had a few different ideas going at once, but in the end, they all melded into one. Your writing is so beautiful, and the characterizations were spot on. Keep it up!

Reviewer: story645Date: 2005-01-31
Reviewid: 112558Chapter: 1
I had a long review typed up that my computer ate. Suffice to say, your fic is just amazing. If I started quoting my favorite lines, your entire fic would end up in this review. I loved how the war is such a presence in the fic, how it's the atmosphere and the driving force for all their actions. The emotion seeps off the page. I can almost feel Ron's hurt and Hermione's anger, and both their heartbreaks. You fit an incredible amount of backstory into such a short piece, and I'm left wanting more. I know it might wreck this piece, but I'd love to read about what happens next, or about Ron's experience as a spy, really both. I love that angle, and how you worked it in and really dealt with it. I love that the ending is so bitter, even though I'm all for fluff, it makes more sense and is more realistic for them to not be together. I love the chess metaphor, it's powerful and really fits.

Reviewer: hullyDate: 2005-01-30
Reviewid: 112539Chapter: 1
OMG! r u seriously going to end it RIGHT now????? PLEASE DONT!!!

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2005-01-30
Reviewid: 112526Chapter: 1
That was <i>so</i> amazing. Very original idea, and very well-written.

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2005-01-30
Reviewid: 112523Chapter: 1
Chess analogy is great, and used to nice effect. Sad ending, but good story!

Reviewer: Mr Flying FingersDate: 2005-01-30
Reviewid: 112507Chapter: 1
Very interesting (in a good way) idea. Nicely executed. I liked the way you revealed the backstory without long paragraphs of description. This really could be the choice for Harry's friends, couldn't it? Loyalty to Harry above all else for the sake of the wizarding world, but at a great personal cost.

"And that was the crux of it, wasn’t it? Harry needed Ron in one way and Hermione in another and their loyalties ran to him first before they ever touched the other."

Reviewer: AngharadDate: 2005-01-30
Reviewid: 112483Chapter: 1
I am crying, you can't leave it like this! Please continue! That was beautiful by the way!

Reviewer: readerDate: 2005-01-30
Reviewid: 112465Chapter: 1
interesting

brief too

Reviewer: Muggle MollyDate: 2005-01-30
Reviewid: 112421Chapter: 1
Wow! That was written with so much emotion. I loved it.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --