The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The List
Review(s): 13

Reviewer: Espresso_llDate: 2006-01-26
Reviewid: 138903Chapter: 1
Oh hello
I'm a Chinese girl and I like your story very much~
I want to translate it into Chinese. After that, I will put it onto a Chinese HP website and share your story with other Chinese HP fans. Would you like to give me the authorization? And I'd like to share the feedback of the friends on that Chinese website with you.
Wait for your authorization!

Reviewer: HossDate: 2005-05-19
Reviewid: 122407Chapter: 1
That's was good fun to read now I know the rest of the story. Thanks

Reviewer: BramberDate: 2005-04-03
Reviewid: 118556Chapter: 1
I like everything that you have written, you have a simple and easy to read style with some great plots, however long they may be! Thankyou for sharing!

Reviewer: ClaudiaDate: 2005-02-14
Reviewid: 113909Chapter: 1
Great Story! The Professors were very much in character, especially Minerva.
I liked your descriptions. You didn´t just tell us how the letters are distributed but made us fell what it´s like to be a teacher at Hogwarts in the holidays.
I really enjoyed it!

Reviewer: DragonladyDate: 2005-02-05
Reviewid: 113009Chapter: 1
I love your Minerva, especially the way she interacts with Albus and Arabella. The idea of having the delivery of Harry's letters be up to her was absolute genius.

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2005-02-03
Reviewid: 112867Chapter: 1
What a wonderful story! I absolutely love the voice you've given Professor McGonagall, so very like her cannon appearance. And to leave her in charge of the task of delivering Harry's letter. There were moments in there that you truly touched my heart...like so: Sadly, she remembered two Gryffindors, the baby’s parents: The red-haired Head Girl and the cocky Chaser who would not see their first-born receive his Hogwarts letter—Lily and James’ price for bravery.

And the whimsy you bring to the story with her tartan sox and Paddington bear (reminded me of being a child too).

I truly, truly enjoyed this. Well, well done!

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-02-03
Reviewid: 112791Chapter: 1
This was so much fun to read. I love how you can pack so much into your descriptions - they are not overly long or detailed, but actually nicely efficient, yet extremely effective not only for setting a vivid picture, but enhancing your characterizations. For example:

"He excused himself with a scrape of his chair and a flourish of his dark billowing cloak."
"Wisps of her immaculate bun were falling out of thier assigned places." You get so much more than just a visual with these.

And your Trelawney characterization was wonderful. I would think it would be difficult to get the right balance of spaciness and drama without making it into a caricature (or too much of a caricature, since I guess she is one, really.)

I just love your work.

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-02
Reviewid: 112717Chapter: 1
EXCELLENT perspective piece

Reviewer: dzennkaDate: 2005-02-02
Reviewid: 112693Chapter: 1
Ooh, I quite enjoyed this! I love missing moments, I love seeing what professors do when there are no students around, and, I don't know if you know this or not, but this story answered several questions that I raised in the Philosopher's Stone discussion several months ago!

Reviewer: AlchemyUKDate: 2005-01-30
Reviewid: 112529Chapter: 1
Very impressive. Your characterisation of McGonagall is supreme, and her fastidious approach towards food (and catnip) was brilliant.

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2005-01-30
Reviewid: 112527Chapter: 1
Minerva McGonagall vs. the formidable Vernon Dursley! Very nice idea, and a great story.

Reviewer: LoriDate: 2005-01-30
Reviewid: 112517Chapter: 1
I thuroughly enjoyed this story. I must admit I'd never given any thought as to how the letter fiasco would appear to the senders, so I'm rather sorry that Minerva was stuck at Hogwarts copying letters when she could have been watching Quidditch ;) Good job.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-01-30
Reviewid: 112451Chapter: 1
Cute and quick, thanks!

It’s just Potions for Morgan’s sake; a bit of a stir here, a little dash of bat wing there.”
-Hah!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --