The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Mirror Mirror
Review(s): 18

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-13
Reviewid: 137093Chapter: 6
Most Excellent. .,,,…. Outstanding.

Reviewer: DarcelDate: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115534Chapter: 6
I'm sad that this story ended so quickly, but I did enjoy it very much. :) I will keep an eye out for your name on future stories. And, no problem.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115462Chapter: 6
Wonderful chapter. I'm glad Stephen made the right decision. The part about the "bird" amused me- they were referring to the Order of the Phoenix, I presume. I loved the dialogue between father and son- very sharp, and it was quite sad to see to what levels their feelings for each other had deteriorated. I especially liked this part

< “Of course it must be frustrating for you to realise that I accomplished more good through deviance than you ever could through decency.”>

You've got to admire Snape's nerve, if nothing else. A wondeful conclusion to the Snape family history. And thanks for answering my question- Septimia sounds very- Ravenclawish. I'm sorry you've had flamers- I absolutely hate people who do that. Your stories are fantastic I seriously doubt the said flamer had even read them (although why anyone would want to go around insulting people they don't know is beyond me). As I've said I've really enjoyed reading your stories and I hope to see more from you soon.

Reviewer: kateydidntDate: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115417Chapter: 6
I really liked this story!

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2005-03-02
Reviewid: 115279Chapter: 1
*takes a deep breath*

Okay... Here goes.

I will raise my hand and claim full responsibility for anyone who has inadvertently been offended by the Philip Larkin poem Sigune included at the beginning of her fic. The reason it slipped by me was because, like Sigune, I have read that very poem so many times that the words have ceased to cause much offence on my part (and to be perfectly honest, they didn't cause much offence in the first place - I confess to cursing quite a bit so, to me, such words are nothing more than that). The second reason was that I was so engrossed with the story itself that I skimmed over the potentially explosive expletives in the lyrics at the beginning of Sigune's fic. If the majority of people here had even bothered to read closely (of this I absolve Ivy and Gracie completely because they have recognised the merit in Sigune's story-telling ability) they would see that Sigune has crafted a wonderful tale, kindly filling in the gaps of Severus Snape's childhood - and, if you read on - she may just tell you a little about his motivations for becoming a Death Eater. Sorry, Sigune, but I just had to let that slip out.

To cut short a long (and no doubt rambling) post, Sigune, as one of my authors, I will defend to the last and I take upon all responsibility for the oversight of including expletives in the Sugar Quill, which, as Ivy and Gracie rightly pointed out, is a family-friendly website.

My bad. Completely and utterly.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2005-03-01
Reviewid: 115226Chapter: 1
We'd like to publicly apologize for the rude way in which we voiced our objections to the quote at the beginning of the story -- we are embarassed by our own lack of tact in leaving such a harsh review. Having said that, we do like this story very much so far. You've got a great ear for dialogue.

Reviewer: SiguneDate: 2005-02-27
Reviewid: 115077Chapter: 5
Oh. Now I finally understand why some people (not you, Ivy & Gracie - you made a polite remark) felt it necessary to flame me: it is because of the classic poem by Philip Larkin, a greatly esteemed and canonised poet, that I used as a motto because I found it so poignant. I am, by the way, not a native speaker of English, and I had no idea the poem would be considered offensive, certainly not if language used in many British and American films and series that come this way are anything to judge by.
Please believe me when I say that it was certainly never my intention to upset or shock anyone, and I apologise if such a thing did happen. Ivy and Gracie, I understand your reaction, and though I doubt "Mirror Mirror" would corrupt your children, I guess that it is not a story they would enjoy - it was not written for young children. I rated this story PG-13 on the submission form, and until now I did not realise that this rating doesn't seem to appear anywhere. Maybe this is a defect of Sugar Quill's, and it certainly explains why the story has at this site received such negative reactions. Thank you, Darcel, for your support and understanding - I will certainly keep your kind advice in mind when next I post.

Reviewer: DarcelDate: 2005-02-27
Reviewid: 115052Chapter: 5
I just today found your story and started reading it, and so far I really like it. I don't agree with Ivy and Gracie's reasons, but I do think you should probably put a warning on the front: There is a curse word in the song lyrics. Or something to that effect so others do not get upset.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2005-02-26
Reviewid: 114967Chapter: 1
Umm, we are adding this post before even reading the fic, and want to register our annoyance that you are using the word "fuck" (in your intro) on a family friendly site like this. We are hardly prudish, but we have children that read fanfic here, and we don't appreciate it. We'd rather see you post on fanfic.net if you want to be tastelessly explicit like that. We can't think how in the world this slipped by a beta-reader, but shame on both of you.

Reviewer: kateydidntDate: 2005-02-24
Reviewid: 114829Chapter: 5
"whatever the situation, there’s nothing good to expect from a Dark wizard. I know that; you are young and foolish, you’ll learn" I wonder if those words ever rang true to Severus? Authors seem to be of two opinions of Severus, 1) he has truly turned from Voldemort and his ideals or 2) he has only turned from Voldemort but still treasures the darkness and only aligns himself with the light for self-preservation. I tend to like the first option better, I like an at least somewhat redeemable Snape. Fantastic chapter once again!

Reviewer: SiguneDate: 2005-02-24
Reviewid: 114824Chapter: 5
Heh - it feels a bit funny posting a review to my own story, but I felt Seaspray's question deserved an answer, and I won't be tackling it in "Mirror Mirror", so...
My story "A Lesson in Darkness and Light" provides some insight into Septimia's point of view, though it does not deal with Voldemort. Septimia is very neutral in the whole Dark/Light battle - her attitude is one of "live and let live". She takes a nuanced stance towards people, their actions and their motives because of what she has witnessed happening to her parents. She does feel grief at the death of the Boneses, whom she loved, but she will still refuse to judge their killers. She is a person who doesn't want to commit to any cause - to a fault. Her falling out with Stephen had nothing to do with his beliefs and values, but with his treatment of her as a person and the fact that he cannot separate her life and love from her (purely intellectual) interest in Dark Arts.
I hope that answers it; if not, e-mails are welcome :-).

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-02-24
Reviewid: 114822Chapter: 5
Great chapter! You portray the terror and confusion of Voldemort's rise very well- and I can just see that Stephen and Crouch would get on rather well.
And, again, we have some really nice insights into Snape's personality:
<“What?” Stephen had stared at him. “Do you have any idea what you’re saying?”

“I always do.” >

I don't know why but this really struck me. It really sums up Snape- the -teenager's attitiude. Aloof, inscrutable, ironically, self aware. And of course very angry:

“She was mine,” the boy had said, “mine. But you chased her away and she became someone else’s mother.”

This really made me sad: for all Snape is very- I wouldn't say mature but in some ways adult- he has a lost child's voice at times. I really felt angry when Snape was told off for hexing other students because he didn't have any friends to lie for him. He *is* being bullied- and Stephen is alienating the boy rather than being sympathetic to him. I cannot think of a clearer illustration of the saying "the path to hell is paved with good intentions" than your story. I look foreward to the finale.

Just a question: the Boneses adopted Septimia so how does she feel about their death and her husband's connexions? Or doesn't she know?

Reviewer: CharlotteDate: 2005-02-20
Reviewid: 114409Chapter: 4
Snape reading porno. Ugh.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114355Chapter: 4
I really liked this chapter. Stephen has really reached a low point, I mean, hitting his wife. I admire how you've made him seem so human, there can be a temptaion to portray wife beaters merely as monsters but Stephen is in his own way, a good person, or could have been. His own paranoia is destroying him.(Not to mention his insensitivity to his son. I liked the part about Snape choosing Slytherin because it was all his own- a very Snapian thought. This is a very sad story but a very human one.

Reviewer: kateydidntDate: 2005-02-10
Reviewid: 113393Chapter: 3
Oh poor Sevvie! I wonder if Septima actually was a Dark Witch before her husband's accusations. It is quite possible she dabbled in dark arts but was not necessarily a bad person but might have gone deeper into the dark arts with her husband's change in attitude. great chapter!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-02-10
Reviewid: 113380Chapter: 3
I really enjoyed this. It is amazingly well written, detailed and concise. I especially liked your interpretation of Grindelwald and his followers- very plausible, and the spcifics of the Drak Arts. Your characterisations are superb.Stephen in particular is a thoroughly well rounded character, very real and likable too (inspite of his black and white world view). Although the way you depict the Snape family situation less sensationally than some, your interpretation makes it seem just as poignant, just as heart- rending.

<When their son’s magical power finally became manifest (Septimia had already expressed worries about it taking so long), it was through his exploding their plates at the dinner table during a particularly loud fight, in an attempt to turn his parents’ attention from each other. He was successful for about five minutes, and then they carried on arguing.>

*winces* It's so horrible when parents are too wrapped up in their own concern to notice their children. It makes me want to scream at them both for being so blind.

<The boy had looked at him in bewilderment, saying that he could not obey both his parents at the same time if they expected different things from him.>

This is so sad. I can well see this torn child as the beginning of the bitter, self- loathing Snape we know. Alternately reviled, or used as a weapon by his parents in their feud.

A very realistic portrait of a family on the brink and a decent man driving his family to the brink. I can't wait for more!

Reviewer: KateDate: 2005-02-04
Reviewid: 112901Chapter: 2
excellent, I love this so far. Could you email me when you update? I don't frequent this site often so I loose track of the stories I have read.

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2005-02-03
Reviewid: 112864Chapter: 2
Wow...just wow. This is the first time I've read a story with Severus as a main character and what a wonderful job you've done. Laying the foundation for what Severus' youth would have been like...especially now with dissention among his parents. You've portrayed Stephen with a wonderful righteous mania and his wife...boy..I'm not sure what is going to happen with Septima. But, you've got me intrigued and you're writing style seems to fit in well with their dark-edged life...it is deep and rife and dark..well done!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --