The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: On Being a Weasley
Review(s): 29

Reviewer: MagicdustDate: 2006-02-25
Reviewid: 140277Chapter: 1
Wow. The was brilliant. Your life sounds completley interseting and you, not only blessed with the gift of writing, are also blessed to be able to tell such a tale. I found this interesting, and eye-opening into a realistic peek of a real life Weasley family.
To Family and Love.
Cheers-
*Magic*

Reviewer: Glowing ToadstoolDate: 2005-09-22
Reviewid: 133062Chapter: 1
Hm.. better make that a 'you' not a 'your'. ;)

Reviewer: Glowing ToadstoolDate: 2005-09-22
Reviewid: 133060Chapter: 1
Truly, deeply, inside and out.. your are beautiful.

Reviewer: LauraDate: 2005-09-16
Reviewid: 132644Chapter: 1
Wow...this is very beautifull. What can I say? I'm speechless

Reviewer: Annie Is a H/P FanDate: 2005-05-05
Reviewid: 121449Chapter: 1
CHILD, you have been blessed by the Almighty in many ways. I had always looked forward to seeing whatever art you may have done. Today I was feeling kind of blue and ended up looking at the portfolio you have here in S/Q. I do not remember, HOW, but I ended up reading this beautiful piece.
I never knew you also had talents as a writer.
I would like to say just one thing; your mother did a great job. I do not know you, or have ever seen you,; however the vibes I have felt in your art work has always something beautiful, etheral, very
pure. (I cannot seem to be able to describe it without sounding silly or childish.) And now ,I kind of picked up the same feeling as in your art work. Your Mom must have been a very, very special
human being; to bring up so many children, kin and otherwise, takes a huge heart. I am under the impression that she did an excellent job as well as character and virture forming in her children. Sorry I'm all mushy here.
Anyway, I am off to read all your stories.
Thanks for sharing your gift with us all!!! HPNana

Reviewer: Emma W.Date: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115501Chapter: 1
That was incredibly touching! Thank you for this wonderful essay and work of art.

Reviewer: RPFDate: 2005-02-11
Reviewid: 113598Chapter: 1
Thank you! This testimony of life in a big family and the parallel to the Weasley family is very beautiful and touching. It seems to me that the less people worry about money, the more time and love can they share with others. It's a great life lesson. Thanks again!
Cheers!

Reviewer: JohannaDate: 2005-02-09
Reviewid: 113280Chapter: 1
This is cool

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-02-09
Reviewid: 113245Chapter: 1
I really can't say anything that someone else hasn't said. Just, thanks for sharing this. It has that warm-chicken-noodle-soup feeling, probably the feeling Molly's chicken noodle soup has, and probably your mother's

Reviewer: AliceDate: 2005-02-08
Reviewid: 113224Chapter: 1
Awww thats so sweet!!

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2005-02-07
Reviewid: 113185Chapter: 1
Wow... a really interesting insight! Your family sounds amazingly like the Weasley's, and the Weasley's are my favorite HP family so far! :)

Reviewer: snarky muffinDate: 2005-02-06
Reviewid: 113122Chapter: 1
aww!

Reviewer: Aura Black ChanDate: 2005-02-06
Reviewid: 113082Chapter: 1
The Weasley Legacy will be this: The true definition of family.

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2005-02-05
Reviewid: 113034Chapter: 1
This was wonderful - thank you so much. I have only one sibling, and I've always wished that I could have a large family. This was very very touching. Thank you again.

Reviewer: DevonDate: 2005-02-05
Reviewid: 112997Chapter: 1
That was such a great written essay or memoir. I'm also from a family of 7 kids, and i'm the youngest and only girl but unfortunatley none of us have red hair. Thanks for sharing.
Luv, Devon

Reviewer: StephanieDate: 2005-02-04
Reviewid: 112968Chapter: 1
I read this and I had to comment. I have never made a comment on Sugarquill (even though I check it everyday for new stories) but your story touched me like nothing has in a while. Utterly wonderful and inspiring, your parents were obviously wonderful people who did not hesitate to add another "brother" or "sister" and I do not have the words to express my kudos to you and your family.

Reviewer: Robin KawickDate: 2005-02-04
Reviewid: 112948Chapter: 1
Hear! Hear! I am 7th of 10! I know what you mean. Would you have your childhood any other way?

Reviewer: Dennis Adkins (wvchemteach)Date: 2005-02-04
Reviewid: 112939Chapter: 1
Thank you for sharing your own personal 'insight' on growing up within a family similar to our own favorite family of red-heads.

One hopes that JK will love them as much as all of us do and not allow the war to touch them...but that is foolishness on our part as the odds of a family of nine that is so close to the epicenter of the war to emerge unscathed.

I love your Art and enjoyed your essay...both speak volume to me as a fan.

Dennis
wvchemteach

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-04
Reviewid: 112938Chapter: 1
homage or fiction?

Reviewer: ChristaDate: 2005-02-04
Reviewid: 112905Chapter: 1
Wow. That was absolutely beautiful.

I'm really sorry about your mother, but she sounds like an extraordinary woman. =)

"Others looked at us a one of seven; our parents looked at us as seven ones." Beautiful.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-02-03
Reviewid: 112888Chapter: 1
A heartfelt defense of the Weasleys and their philosophy, made all the stronger and more poignant for the examples drawn from your own life. The last paragraph is particularly strong and heartwarming. I think I'll come back to this piece again and again.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2005-02-03
Reviewid: 112869Chapter: 1
That was very nice. It's amazing that people think the Weasleys are an awful family. They're a normal family, with faults and failings, but they are striving to raise a good family, and for that I salute them right along with you.

Lilac, also from a family of 7 kids

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-02-03
Reviewid: 112825Chapter: 1
That was awesome. Very heart warming and I think a fitting tribute to both the Weasley's and your own family (not that I know your family, I'm merely surmising) People like that are what makes the world go round. I especially liked this quote
<Love never divides, it only multiplies.>
very wise.

Reviewer: ShlozDate: 2005-02-03
Reviewid: 112807Chapter: 1
All I can say is -

JKR ought to receive a copy of this.

Truly heart-warming.

Reviewer: MaryDate: 2005-02-03
Reviewid: 112798Chapter: 1
I just loved this!! It is a beautiful reminder to us that there are wonderful people out there. I personally grew up relatively poor and always in hand-me-downs. Unfortunatly I grew up with parents very much like the Dursleys. I did however find people along the way that were very much like the Weasley's that filled empty places in my heart and taught me that I was a person of worth and value even if my own family was too stupid to recognize it. I think that for me at least, I identify with the horrid childhood Harry has had to put up with, but I also identify with Ron and his frustrations with being poor. I wish there were more people in this world like your parents!!

Reviewer: CaseyDate: 2005-02-03
Reviewid: 112797Chapter: 1
I just don't know what else to say, other than, this was lovely.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2005-02-03
Reviewid: 112793Chapter: 1
I'm really glad you decided to post this. Thank you for sharing your memories and comparisons because it's nice to know that there really are places like "The Burrow" in real life. I think that the "Harrys" and "Hermiones" of the world definitely benefit from special places like your family home because everyone needs to find somewhere he/she can feel comfortable enough to let someone love them for whom they really are. This is beautifully written and gratefully received.

Reviewer: Muggle MollyDate: 2005-02-03
Reviewid: 112785Chapter: 1
Thanks for sharing this touching insight into your childhood. When I read the first book, the Weasleys brought back memories of my childhood friend - one of ten children. Their house was very much like the Weasley clan. Later on when I discoverd my friend was also a big Potter fan, she said MY house always reminded her of the Weasleys because she felt so welcomed there. It all comes down to just how powerful family love really is, that it can spill over and embrace all those we care about.

Reviewer: KelleypenDate: 2005-02-03
Reviewid: 112779Chapter: 1
This was lovely. What a tribute to your parents. I feel like I married a Weasley--he was the youngest of six, raised in a little house that seems impossibly small by today's standards, so I understand what you are saying. I hope you share this with your family.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --