The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 65

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2007-06-17
Reviewid: 148277Chapter: 6
A wonderful love story, starring George and his Kittybell. After the End was the first Harry Potter fan fiction that I ever read and this fits in so well with it.

Grandma Kate

Reviewer: Mrs. GovDate: 2006-07-28
Reviewid: 144519Chapter: 6
Hee! I'm so glad I found this adorable little story!

Brava to the author, you did a spanking good job! Got me involved in the story despite my best efforts to remain indifferent. Wonderfully woven tale.

PS~I love the name Siobhan!

Reviewer: Mrs. GovDate: 2006-07-28
Reviewid: 144518Chapter: 5
siiiiiiiiiiiiiigh!

How perfectly sweet and fluffy and happy!

And the emerald for Katie...how astonishingly perfect!

Magnificent!

Reviewer: Mrs. GovDate: 2006-07-28
Reviewid: 144517Chapter: 4
Well :P to you!

And here I thought they would finally be happy...I guess I should have known better as there were still more chapters to go.

Excellent job of catching your prey, hook, line, and sinker!
Very well written...must find out how it ends!
*rushes off to finish reading*

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2006-03-04
Reviewid: 140512Chapter: 6
I really enjoyed this story. Good show. I had fun reading it, it helped liven up the mundaneness that is University work and schtuff.

~GW

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2006-03-04
Reviewid: 140510Chapter: 5
The fight was wonderfully written, I enjoyed it. And this last scene was too cute ^_^. Nice work.

~GW

Reviewer: Baron Von KroggDate: 2006-02-18
Reviewid: 140013Chapter: 6
My,Oh My what a very lovely story about the famous
twin George Weasley,and the lovely Kittybell. All of the love the anger ,the losses and finally the big
moment all written into one fantastic love fic. The
heartbreak before the final chapters and then the
very special ceremony, Lovely, And the best part the
notification of the newest members of the Weasley
family. So very touching. Just Fantastic, Congratulations on a very well thought out and written fic.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-18
Reviewid: 139988Chapter: 6
A Real Good Read. Excellent.
Thank You.

Reviewer: King of PainDate: 2006-02-10
Reviewid: 139616Chapter: 6
Well, I must say that I was thrilled to be able to read this little gem in one night. Normally, I prefer R/H and H/G stories, but this one was so well crafted and much like a breath of fresh air in my fanfic readings of late.
I would have figured that Harry would have made an appearance somewhere during the story, but your explanations are plausible so I did not feel too short-changed on that score. I will have to ask how you came up with the twin daughters first name?
Again, thank you for such a delightful fanfiction treat! I hope you will gift us again with another story in the future.
James(KoP)

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2006-02-09
Reviewid: 139587Chapter: 6
YAY!!! I thought it was done before!! but George and katie eloped, they were toasted by family and they welcomed twins into the world!!
Go G/K shippers! There aren't alot of us, you know.
Oh, yeah! You also think that George is the older twin! You're magic. That's pretty cool.

Great story, I'm glad that you finished it up so well.

:)
Angie W (just like in the story!!)

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-02-09
Reviewid: 139584Chapter: 6
These two are so cute together. Who doesn't appreciate a sense of humour like George's? I'm sure his children will keep him busy, if they are anything like their father...

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2006-02-09
Reviewid: 139574Chapter: 6
I'm torn between ohs and awwws and weepiness and I'm so happy you finished! If this beautiful story with all of its warmth and wonderfulness doesn't bring everyone out of their February blahs, I don't know what will.
And the ending (pre-epilogue, I mean)...*sniff* wah. Perfection.

Reviewer: hayhay165Date: 2006-02-09
Reviewid: 139560Chapter: 6
AWWW! That was so cute!!!

This was a lovely story...I loved Katie and George, I've always thought those two were great together, it also fits in perfectly with After the End..

Bloody Brilliant!!! (as Ron would say)

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2006-02-09
Reviewid: 139545Chapter: 6
*sob* It's perfect, Hez, it is. :D

You should be very proud of this. You have done a brilliant job with these two. I love the epilogue, I love the names, I love their family and the reactions. No one could've written this the way you did.

*big happy-ending hugs*

Jules

Reviewer: ksellersDate: 2006-01-31
Reviewid: 139075Chapter: 5
yay! I loved it.

Reviewer: starcraftDate: 2005-07-25
Reviewid: 127815Chapter: 5
Are you eery gonnna update? It's a great story you should continue and make sur and tell us hw their lives end up!!! I am really interested, you are doing such a great job!

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126253Chapter: 5
SWEET! The scene with Penny and George is so poignant. I love how you injected humour to ease the tension. Also loved the make-up scene with George groveling to the door. Wonderful! So wonderful!

Looking forward to the happy conclusion,
Eudora

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2005-07-05
Reviewid: 126101Chapter: 5
Awww...I *love* George. This George in particular is adorable. I have just read through all the chapters of this story and can't wait for the closer. I have really enjoyed all the characterizations, especially Katie, who has come to life in your fic, and is not just a "convenient" girlfriend for one of the twins because she is one of the few girls mentioned in canon. They are truly sweet together- George needs a girl with some spunk to keep him in line. ;o)

Bravo!

Reviewer: TaraDate: 2005-06-30
Reviewid: 125721Chapter: 5
are you ever going to update, Im so bored! I need your writing to help me through my boredom

Reviewer: AndyDate: 2005-06-30
Reviewid: 125719Chapter: 5
SO SWEET UPDATE ASAP!

Reviewer: softball_starDate: 2005-06-30
Reviewid: 125649Chapter: 5
I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!! UPDATE NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-06-27
Reviewid: 125413Chapter: 5
Wow, this chapter is everything it had the potential to be - which is saying something. It's really wonderful. Your characterisation is just SO good, you capture Katie and George's pain so well.

I love this line:

<<"Youíre brave, so brave, Kittybell. Braver than I was.Ē>>

Awww. Marvellous, just marvellous. And, on top of that, you have the affection and tenderness of their relationship. It's beautiful, Hez, it really is!

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-06-25
Reviewid: 125119Chapter: 5
prplhez8, you're taking us on a wonderful heartfelt romance of two people who are meant for each other. There are no silly games with these two, only true emotion and honesty. George is so doggone sweet. Even in the midst of Katie's unleashed anger, he can be nothing but loving, patient, and willing to put his heart out there. And Katie! Our little Kittybell is growing up! And so tastefully done, I might add. I love your dialogue. It flows so nicely. The interaction between George and Penny was priceless and heartbreaking. Thank goodness she knocked some sense into him. Can't wait to see what else you have in store for us.

Reviewer: LNLisaDate: 2005-06-25
Reviewid: 125111Chapter: 5
I love the added scenes, and I can't believe you wrote them so fast! So now there's only one thing left to say....Bravo! (You expected MORE there, didn't you???? Yeah, well, I want MORE too!) Every chapter is better than the last, so of course I want MORE. Great job!

Reviewer: AlexDate: 2005-06-25
Reviewid: 125091Chapter: 5
AAAAAAAAAAAWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!!!!!!! I was so looking forward to this after the snippets you posted in the fluff thread and you didn't let me down. The letter was the sweetest thing ever and I loved the banter between Lee and George too. *sigh*

Reviewer: Cindy ProhoskyDate: 2005-06-06
Reviewid: 123411Chapter: 1
I don't even know where to begin...this is a wonderful story. Please let us (the readers) know what happens with these 2 young people as they try to pick up the pieces of their lives. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: beckDate: 2005-06-02
Reviewid: 123224Chapter: 4
poor poor george great story though cant wait for the next chapter

Reviewer: LuDate: 2005-05-31
Reviewid: 123121Chapter: 4
George you moron!!!!! OMG - this story is so good. Please continue. I hope you set everything to rights and manage to put George and Katie back together. I've always shipped them from the beginning, they just seem to fit one another. Wonderful job so far!

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2005-05-30
Reviewid: 123059Chapter: 4
I was a little confused in the first scene. What happened that caused Katie to jump and draw her wand? Did George just Apparate in unexpectedly and startle her? Was he the one who said "I remember that tune..."?

The rest of the chapter was quite a roller coaster ride. Loved the scene at the Weasley's and all that followed. Things were going so well and then...Oops! Poor George! Very vivid storytelling. Nice tension and arc.

You can bet that I'll be back for the next chapter. I can't wait to see what happens next.

Eudora

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-05-29
Reviewid: 122973Chapter: 4
Nice Chapter, just reviewing to say I'm still reading, and wondering why you have three folders on the other place where you post your story, when one is perfectly fine?

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2005-05-28
Reviewid: 122914Chapter: 3
There were so many well-done scenes in this chapter, but the scene where George opens up with his grief had me in tears. And the final kiss. SWEET!

Well done, prplhez8!

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2005-05-28
Reviewid: 122913Chapter: 2
<<...he watched the jersey lift to reveal a sliver of her ivory coloured skin at the waist above her jeans, and it slammed into him like a bludger, he still loved Katie.>>
I loved this line. Nice metaphor!

<<"Are you going to be handing over those flowers or do I have to wrestle you for them?">>
And this one cracked me up! You do have a way with dialogue!

I love the way this relationship is progessing. You've got me hooked!

Eudora

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2005-05-28
Reviewid: 122904Chapter: 1
LOVE IT! I haven't read ATE, so I'm coming at this blind. But I love what you have here. Wonderful dialogue. A delightfully fleshed-out "Kittybell" and a more mature George.

My only suggestion would be to stay with one character as your main point of narration. Or at least, let one of them become the dominant narrator. The reader won't get all 360 degrees of perspective that seeing both sides of the coin brings, but it would inject more tension. That "oh, what's he thinking? Does he love me? Does he not?" kind of suspence.

Overall, nicely done! I would write more, but I have three more chapters to catch up on.

Eudora

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122833Chapter: 4
Oh no, no no no!
Did I say "no" yet? Don't *do* this to us.
I just love them, so don't you make me unhappy. This is one of the happy fics I like to read.
In fact, I almost splurted tea all over the keyboard with the "under the table" scene. But then I was nearly in tears at the end. Eagerly looking forward to the next ride on the rollercoaster.

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122832Chapter: 4
Wow! That was a cracking chapter. The work that's been put into this really shows. I couldn't find a single fault and the tone was absolutely perfect. As I've already told you, the dialogue between Molly and George is priceless and very *sob*worthy and the fight between Katie and George is all too believable and sadly well done.

You have really proven that this is a story that has to be told and that it really should be read by fans of 'After the End'. Congrats!

Reviewer: Samwise the BraveDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122829Chapter: 4
Oh no, she can't leave like that! They are so meant to be together,she needs George. Don't take too long with the next chappie, I'm dying to know what happens!
I love this story.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122822Chapter: 1
Is it wrong if I review and tell you that I love this latest chapter? Because I do!

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122793Chapter: 4
Oh my...the raw emotion! Everything - fear, caring, love, lust, jealousy, insecurity, disappointment, regret - all in one sweet chapter. Poor Kittybell. It's so easy to let ex-girlfriends eat away at you when you're not secure in the relationship yet, isn't it? Katie and George's steps toward amazing intimacy, then back to stumbling insecurity are painfully real. I can't wait to see how George fixes this one. Thanks ivy, for getting prplhez8 back into a groove with this yummy story, and thanks prplhez8 for creating this and steering it along with such a sensitive touch. I love it!

Reviewer: AlexDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122779Chapter: 4
Oooo! I'm so glad you got better help than I am with a title (sorry *blushes*) Even though I told you earlier, I don't think it would be bad for me to tell you that you are intriguing me. The dinner scene still CRAX me up. Poor George! I love that little twist of irony over the picture. Fantastic story you're weaving, you bet.

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-05-02
Reviewid: 121244Chapter: 3
Brilliant! This is very, very good and it's clever how you work it into the After the End universe. Your development of Katie's character is really well done. You must have done a lot of background research into Irish culture (one way or another) and it definitely shows. Some very nice moments and some great touches. Well done!

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2005-04-20
Reviewid: 120178Chapter: 3
just...wonderful. George's dealing with his feelings about Percy was just beautifully handled, and this line, especially, made us smile:

<<Katie tried to look meek and demure as possible on short notice.>>

Lovely

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2005-04-20
Reviewid: 120174Chapter: 2
Heather, this is so different from the first draft! And what a beautiful relationship you're building up between them. We're reading the next chapter at once, but we couldn't go on without telling you that we loved these two lines, especially:
<<Her hair had been put up in a messy twist and she was wearing Muggle jeans with a Gryffindor Quidditch jersey andÖbare feet. She looked likeÖhome.>>

<<and it slammed into him like a bludger, he still loved Katie.>>

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-04-13
Reviewid: 119548Chapter: 3
Ah, well, fine. So I've spent the afternoon reading your fic and its a good thing the kids aren't home because they'd wonder why I'm crying.
I could see it, very clearly, your scene with poor George in his flat with Katie. It was wrenching and you wrote it beautifully. >"Goodnight my sweet, sweet man"< says it all, as does its counterpart, >"Katie, love, wake up now."< Again, you do wonders with characters and emotions, veering from humor to hurt to warmth, and leaving us finally with "ahhhh."

I know the Shouldersfree gals give you a workout. If you ever consider reposting this, there are a few missing words and subject/verb tweaks you might make; but there's nothing you can do to improve the heart of this story. It is beautifully wrought.

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-04-13
Reviewid: 119545Chapter: 2
Ah, well. Ah. It's just so soft and lovely, where you go with this chapter, and at the right pace. I love how you have George getting all caught up in his thoughts, only to be interrupted by "Oi, the loo's free!" Much as you have Katie wrapped up in poetic thoughts only to catch herself and snap back to reality. Nice contrasts and realism. And I adore the intimacy you have created for George and Katie in her kitchen, with the simple task of taking out bowls for stew. :)

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-04-13
Reviewid: 119543Chapter: 1
OK, first off, what a complete IDIOT I am for not having read this before. Fanfic hiatus or not, there are some things not to be missed, and this is one of them. What a wonderful gift you have for writing people. And for coming up with great phrases. I love that you took a page from the AtE universe and ran with it, and I love how you have made Katie (Kittybell!) your own invention. Your Rosmerta shows wonderful insight, and your George is achingly real. I love everything from Katie "toeing" out of her shoes
to George's >They had stayed up talking many nights in the Gryffindor common room, really talked, strange adult words that he had hoped never to utter...<
to Katie's >"Oh do shut up. Letís go back in, Iím freezing."<

And lucky me, I get to go right to the next chapter.

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2005-03-28
Reviewid: 117944Chapter: 3
You write romance so beautifully. I love how tender George and Katie are together.

Your extra work on the scene about Percy is beautiful. Thank you for that. I really appreciate the pain inside that writing. I know that must have been tough but it really shows. I especially appreciate that you are tapping into the fact that Leo deserved his father. That situation cannot be made right. Leo can't "replace" Percy in the Weasley family.

Argh...can't say more or I'll start crying...

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-03-28
Reviewid: 117892Chapter: 3
"Iím knowing that George, I surely am."
"youíve got to be knowing that"
"Iím just needing"
"to be taking care of me"
"you are knowing"
I assume these are the way it's spoken with the British dialect, it just seems slightly odd to me, because I'm not used to it.

That was a great scene you wrote with George, about his feelings for Percy, excellently done.
A really great chapter.

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-03-24
Reviewid: 117617Chapter: 3
Woo, Katie and George!! What is it with those insane people who go off and decide that Alicia's the one for our George? Nutters.
Keep writing, can't wait for the next chapter.
Angie

Reviewer: Samwise the BraveDate: 2005-03-23
Reviewid: 117538Chapter: 3
awwww! Another lovely, lovely chapter. I just can't wait to see what happens next. I can totally relate to Goerge being in love with Katie since they were little, I've been in love with my husband since we were twelve. just an amazing story, keeping me going through these cold days till Spring finally gets here!

Reviewer: AlexDate: 2005-03-23
Reviewid: 117468Chapter: 3
*le sigh* This whole chapter was just so sweet! Of course the archive has to be updated with all of the new chapters that I have just been itching to read the night before my Spanish midterm. Oh well. I had to read anyway and I'll just be up later studying. It's worth it. Very nice job. Now I just have to go find my eyeballs, which popped out of my head after I finished reading this. I may need them.

Alex

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-03-23
Reviewid: 117462Chapter: 3
prplhez8, I'm ashamed at myself for not leaving a review for chapter 2. I'm not going to let myself slack again!

First of all--I love that song by Rascal Flatts! I'm glad that this chapter is called "the Broken Road." It has a twin meaning--the road George took to come to grips with Percy leaving and dying, and the road George and Katie took to getting together.

Second, I love how this weaves into After The End. All the little connections--it makes me want to go back and read AtE. And that's dangerous. I really will go on a fan fiction hiatus, since it will be the only thing I'd read.

I loved the sparring between Michelle and Aidan. Hilarious! And Molly muttering under her breathe about George. Imbecile!

*georgeandkatielove*

Reviewer: Kit BlackDate: 2005-03-23
Reviewid: 117437Chapter: 3
Once again, a wonderful chapter. Incredible, I love how you wrote the mother/son relationship between Molly and George. I love it, keep writing and updating.

Kit Black

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-03-23
Reviewid: 117415Chapter: 3
Oh my gosh - this was so heartbreakingly romantic. I love how their steps to becoming closer focus on true emotional connection and healing. And prplhez8 - you're certainly not one to shy away from raw emotion! That's what I love so much about your fic. I tend to write that way too, and in many other stories I read I see some great opportunities to really get to the heart of the matter, but the author just doesn't. I really respect your fearlessness, prplhez8! And I am completely in love with this fic! There are so many small gestures of intimacy. (ooh, and I love the way he calls her Kittybell.) Wonderful job!

Reviewer: WendelinDate: 2005-03-03
Reviewid: 115305Chapter: 1
Loved this SO much I have you in my signature now. Why aren't you on the Professor's Bookshelf??

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-02-22
Reviewid: 114631Chapter: 2
I like the way the story is going. Of course I have a place for any story that's set in the AtE universe, but I really like this. I can't wait to see how this story plays itself out.

Reviewer: Samwise the braveDate: 2005-02-21
Reviewid: 114600Chapter: 2
This is just the best story I've read at sugarquill since After The End, which I love. I've always been partial to Fred and George, and being Irish myself, this just felt good to read. Can't wait for the next chapter!!!!

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-02-21
Reviewid: 114562Chapter: 2
Alright! I am also a Katie/George shipper. Heh, I like the bit in the shop where Fred gets hit by blunt instruments. Ya gotta love the Twins. Great story so far, write more!

Reviewer: BlankDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114397Chapter: 2
I really like this story. It's something different from the usual ships. Is there going to be more soon?

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114384Chapter: 2
I am really getting into this story now. The beginning of this chapter was filled with lush descriptions and I feel I'm really getting to know Katie. I know one of your strengths is in interpersonal stuff - the feelings and dialogue, but boy - you do have a way with backround and atmosphere as well! I love how you write Katie's dialogue - it makes her accent so clear and her spunk jumps off the page. The awkwardness and tentative steps in their burgeoning relationship seem so real. This is stellar.

Reviewer: LNLisaDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114336Chapter: 2
I had to hurry to the end and figure out how that cliff hanger ended! You've done a really nice job with Katie and George. They've got just enough intimacy going to make it interesting, but not so much that they're doing laps around speed racer. Can't wait for the next chapter!

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114298Chapter: 2
Ohhh...if I had any artistic talent, I would draw a picture of that last bit. It's so adorable. I'm really enjoying this, hope to see more from you soon!

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2005-02-17
Reviewid: 114190Chapter: 1
Oh how I love Kittybell! She is so endearing, as is this sweet and sensitive George. I love what you are exploring here with him...how a boy makes a transition into a man and the heartbreaks - little and big.

You keep this beautiful mix of humor and hurt and romance. Write away, Walt baby!!

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-02-17
Reviewid: 114134Chapter: 1
*coyly* Who is this deep George? I think I like him! I want to read more!

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2005-02-10
Reviewid: 113369Chapter: 1
Oh, I love it! And I hate you for creating a lovely new chaptered fic for me to get obsessed with and then fall behind in reading and reviewing, you evil author, you! :-P Hee.

There's just something so sweet when the funny guys get serious. *sigh*

Great job and I look forward to more!

:wub:,
Jules

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-02-10
Reviewid: 113352Chapter: 1
Ooh. I liked this a lot. I'm coming into this blind, with all the backround of After the End missing, since I haven't read that fic yet, but this was really enjoyable. You are so good at emotionally honest but not sappy dialogue. I like how you crawl into the heads of your characters. You make them rounded and real.

"Iím the fool though, an utter fool. This war about did me in, Kittybell. And now weíre all here on the other side of hell and what is there left? What have I to look forward to now? Death? Iíve seen death. I want to live. Thatís all Iíve wanted for the last few years, and now that Iím here, Iím scared I donít know how to live anymore."

I liked that part. He was so achingly honest. That sentiment rings so true to me as what soldiers must feel when it's all over. But that doesn't excuse him from being a blind, silly man who can't see the forest for the trees. Hopefully he'll come around soon enough.

Looking forward to more. And SO GLAD you're back.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --